Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,9,15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Geng et al, US 20210243637 A1, in view of Jiang et al, US 20210392035 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Geng discloses a candidate beam measurement method, comprising([0152] Based on the beam measurement result, a candidate beam applicable to communication with the terminal 200):
measuring, by a terminal, a candidate beam within a preset time period following configuration information being received([0161] Fig. 5 Step 1003: The terminal measures each beam in a measurement set within a first measurement set period based on the measurement configuration information, to obtain a first measurement result.),
wherein the configuration information comprises configuration information of a reference signal of the candidate beam([0159] The beam configuration information may include one or a combination of several of the following information: a reference signal (RS).);
and reporting, by the terminal, first indication information to a network-side device according to a measurement result, or prohibiting reporting of first indication information according to a measurement result([0167]Fig. 5 Step 1006: The terminal sends information, in a form of a measurement report, corresponding to the target beam reference signal to the base station.),
wherein the first indication information is used for indicating the measurement result([0168] Based on the measurement report sent by the terminal, one or more beams having optimal measurement results as candidate beams for communication with the terminal.);
Geng further discloses performing, by the terminal within a seventh preset time range, radio link monitoring (RLM) on a target beam on which the target beam reference signal is closed ([0076]) but Geng does not disclose wherein the preset time period comprises a fourth time period; and a start time point of the fourth time period is a time point of occurrence of beam failure being determined by the terminal or an end time point of sixth preset duration that starts from the occurrence of beam failure.
However, Jiang does disclose wherein the preset time period comprises a fourth time period; and a start time point of the fourth time period is a time point of occurrence of beam failure being determined by the terminal or an end time point of sixth preset duration that starts from the occurrence of beam failure ([0122] Start a beam failure detection timer after beam failure is determined; trigger a beam failure recovery BEF procedure after the beam failure is determined; monitor whether the beam failure detection timer times out after the BRF procedure is triggered and before the BRF procedure completes; cancel or stop the BRF procedure when the beam failure detection timer times out.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Geng with wherein the preset time period comprises a fourth time period; and a start time point of the fourth time period is a time point of occurrence of beam failure being determined by the terminal or an end time point of sixth preset duration that starts from the occurrence of beam failure as taught by Jiang. The motivation for doing so would be to save power consumption of a UE and network resources. (Jiang, [0005])
Regarding claim 9, Geng discloses the method wherein the measuring, by a terminal, a candidate beam comprises: measuring, by the terminal, quality of a reference signal resource of the candidate beam ([0159] [0161] Fig. 5 Step 1003: The terminal measures each beam in a measurement set within a first measurement set period based on the measurement configuration information, to obtain a first measurement result. The beam configuration information may include one or a combination of several of the following information: a reference signal (RS).).
Regarding claim 15, Geng discloses a terminal, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the terminal to perform ([0228] The terminal 210 includes: at least one processor 211, at least one bus 212, at least one communications interface 213, and at least one memory 214. The memory 211 is configured to store a computer executable instruction. ):
measuring a candidate beam within a preset time period following configuration information being received ([0161] Fig. 5 Step 1003: The terminal measures each beam in a measurement set within a first measurement set period based on the measurement configuration information, to obtain a first measurement result.),
wherein the configuration information comprises configuration information of a reference signal of the candidate beam ([0159] The beam configuration information may include one or a combination of several of the following information: a reference signal (RS).);
and reporting first indication information to a network-side device according to a measurement result, or prohibiting reporting of first indication information according to a measurement result ([0167] Fig. 5 Step 1006: The terminal sends information, in a form of a measurement report, corresponding to the target beam reference signal to the base station.),
wherein the first indication information is used for indicating the measurement result ([0168] Based on the measurement report sent by the terminal, one or more beams having optimal measurement results as candidate beams for communication with the terminal.);
Geng further discloses performing, by the terminal within a seventh preset time range, radio link monitoring (RLM) on a target beam on which the target beam reference signal is closed ([0076]) but Geng does not disclose wherein the preset time period comprises a fourth time period; and a start time point of the fourth time period is a time point of occurrence of beam failure being determined by the terminal or an end time point of sixth preset duration that starts from the occurrence of beam failure.
However, Jiang does disclose wherein the preset time period comprises a fourth time period; and a start time point of the fourth time period is a time point of occurrence of beam failure being determined by the terminal or an end time point of sixth preset duration that starts from the occurrence of beam failure([0122] Start a beam failure detection timer after beam failure is determined; trigger a beam failure recovery BEF procedure after the beam failure is determined; monitor whether the beam failure detection timer times out after the BRF procedure is triggered and before the BRF procedure completes; cancel or stop the BRF procedure when the beam failure detection timer times out.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Geng with wherein the preset time period comprises a fourth time period; and a start time point of the fourth time period is a time point of occurrence of beam failure being determined by the terminal or an end time point of sixth preset duration that starts from the occurrence of beam failure as taught by Jiang. The motivation for doing so would be to save power consumption of a UE and network resources. (Jiang, [0005])
Regarding claim 18, Geng discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores a program or instructions, and the program or instructions, when executed by a processor of a terminal, cause the terminal to perform ([0085] The readable storage medium includes an instruction, and when the readable storage medium is run on a computer, the computer is enabled to perform all or some of the steps):
measuring a candidate beam within a preset time period following configuration information being received ([0161] Fig. 5 Step 1003: The terminal measures each beam in a measurement set within a first measurement set period based on the measurement configuration information, to obtain a first measurement result.),
wherein the configuration information comprises configuration information of a reference signal of the candidate beam ([0159] The beam configuration information may include one or a combination of several of the following information: a reference signal (RS).);
and reporting first indication information to a network-side device according to a measurement result, or prohibiting reporting of first indication information according to a measurement result ([0167]Fig. 5 Step 1006: The terminal sends information, in a form of a measurement report, corresponding to the target beam reference signal to the base station.),
wherein the first indication information is used for indicating the measurement result ([0168] Based on the measurement report sent by the terminal, one or more beams having optimal measurement results as candidate beams for communication with the terminal.);
Geng further discloses performing, by the terminal within a seventh preset time range, radio link monitoring (RLM) on a target beam on which the target beam reference signal is closed ([0076]) but Geng does not disclose wherein the preset time period comprises a fourth time period; and a start time point of the fourth time period is a time point of occurrence of beam failure being determined by the terminal or an end time point of sixth preset duration that starts from the occurrence of beam failure.
However, Jiang does disclose wherein the preset time period comprises a fourth time period; and a start time point of the fourth time period is a time point of occurrence of beam failure being determined by the terminal or an end time point of sixth preset duration that starts from the occurrence of beam failure([0122] Start a beam failure detection timer after beam failure is determined; trigger a beam failure recovery BEF procedure after the beam failure is determined; monitor whether the beam failure detection timer times out after the BRF procedure is triggered and before the BRF procedure completes; cancel or stop the BRF procedure when the beam failure detection timer times out.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Geng with wherein the preset time period comprises a fourth time period; and a start time point of the fourth time period is a time point of occurrence of beam failure being determined by the terminal or an end time point of sixth preset duration that starts from the occurrence of beam failure as taught by Jiang. The motivation for doing so would be to save power consumption of a UE and network resources. (Jiang, [0005])
Claims 2-6,7,10,12,16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Geng et al, US 20210243637 A1, in view of Jiang et al, US 20190335387 A1, in view of Kim et al, US 20180020382 A1.
Regarding claim 2, Geng discloses and an end time point of the first time period is a time point of the first indication information being reported by the terminal, or the end time point of the first time period is determined according to first measurement stop indication information received([0156][0160] The measurement configuration information may include one or a combination of several of the following information: information about a beam measurement set including one or more beam reference signals, a measurement set measurement period. When a specified time for the measurement set measurement period or the active set measurement period is reached, the terminal may perform measurement for a period of time, and after the period of time ends, timing of a period is restarted.),
wherein the first measurement stop indication information is used for indicating the terminal to stop measurement immediately after the first measurement stop indication information is received by the terminal, or used for indicating the terminal to stop measurement in second preset duration after the first measurement stop indication information is received by the terminal ([0261] After receiving feedback information of the first indication information that is sent by the base station, the terminal may stop monitoring the beam.).
Geng and Jiang do not disclose the method wherein the preset time period further comprises a first time period, wherein a start time point of the first time period is a time point of the configuration information being received, or the start time point of the first time period is a time point following first preset duration that starts from the configuration information being received;
However, Kim does disclose the method wherein the preset time period further comprises a first time period, wherein a start time point of the first time period is a time point of the configuration information being received, or the start time point of the first time period is a time point following first preset duration that starts from the configuration information being received ([0356-0357] The eNB 2j-10 transmits to the UE 2j-01 at least one of beam-based measurement configuration information and DRX configuration information in a RRC message at step 2-20. Upon receipt of the RRC message, the UE applies the configuration information to perform beam measurement.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Geng and Jiang with the method wherein the preset time period further comprises a first time period, wherein a start time point of the first time period is a time point of the configuration information being received, or the start time point of the first time period is a time point following first preset duration that starts from the configuration information being received as taught by Kim. The motivation for doing so would be reducing the data interruption time during the handover of a UE and handling failure data interruption time reduction. (Kim, [0022])
Regarding claim 3, Geng discloses and an end time point of the second time period is determined according to second measurement stop indication information received, or the end time point of the second time period is a time point of the first indication information being reported by the terminal ([0156][0160] The measurement configuration information may include one or a combination of several of the following information: information about a beam measurement set including one or more beam reference signals, a measurement set measurement period. When a specified time for the measurement set measurement period or the active set measurement period is reached, the terminal may perform measurement for a period of time, and after the period of time ends, timing of a period is restarted.);
and the second measurement stop indication information is used for indicating the terminal to stop measurement immediately after the second measurement stop indication information is received by the terminal, or used for indicating the terminal to stop measurement in fourth preset duration after the second measurement stop indication information is received by the terminal ([0280] After receiving the feedback information of the first indication information that is sent by the base station, the terminal may stop monitoring the beam 1.).
Geng and Jiang do not disclose the method wherein the preset time period further comprises a second time period, wherein a start time point of the second time period is determined according to measurement start indication information received, wherein the measurement start indication information is used for indicating the terminal to start measurement immediately after the measurement start indication information is received by the terminal, or used for indicating the terminal to start measurement in third preset duration after the measurement start indication information is received by the terminal;
However, Kim does disclose the method wherein the preset time period further comprises a second time period, wherein a start time point of the second time period is determined according to measurement start indication information received ([0366] The UE may acquire the configuration information from an RRC message transmitted by the eNB. The UE receives the configuration information and starts beam measurement.),
wherein the measurement start indication information is used for indicating the terminal to start measurement immediately after the measurement start indication information is received by the terminal, or used for indicating the terminal to start measurement in third preset duration after the measurement start indication information is received by the terminal ([0366] The UE may acquire the configuration information from an RRC message transmitted by the eNB. The UE receives the configuration information and starts beam measurement.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Geng and Jiang with the method wherein the preset time period further comprises a second time period, wherein a start time point of the second time period is determined according to measurement start indication information received, wherein the measurement start indication information is used for indicating the terminal to start measurement immediately after the measurement start indication information is received by the terminal, or used for indicating the terminal to start measurement in third preset duration after the measurement start indication information is received by the terminal as taught by Kim. The motivation for doing so would be reducing the data interruption time during the handover of a UE and handling failure data interruption time reduction. (Kim, [0022])
Regarding claim 4, Geng discloses and duration of the third time period is the fifth preset duration; and an end time point of the third time period is a time point of the first indication information being reported by the terminal ([0156] [0160] The measurement configuration information may include one or a combination of several of the following information: information about a beam measurement set including one or more beam reference signals, a measurement set measurement period. When a specified time for the measurement set measurement period or the active set measurement period is reached, the terminal may perform measurement for a period of time, and after the period of time ends, timing of a period is restarted.).
Geng and Jiang do not disclose the method wherein the preset time period further comprises a third time period, wherein a start time point of the third time period is a start time point of fifth preset duration preceding the first indication information being reported by the terminal,
However, Kim does disclose the method wherein the preset time period further comprises a third time period, wherein a start time point of the third time period is a start time point of fifth preset duration preceding the first indication information being reported by the terminal ([0356-0357] The eNB 2j-10 transmits to the UE 2j-01 at least one of beam-based measurement configuration information and DRX configuration information in a RRC message at step 2j-20. Upon receipt of the RRC message, the UE applies the configuration information to perform beam measurement.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Geng and Jiang with the method wherein the preset time period further comprises a third time period, wherein a start time point of the third time period is a start time point of fifth preset duration preceding the first indication information being reported by the terminal as taught by Kim. The motivation for doing so would be reducing the data interruption time during the handover of a UE and handling failure data interruption time reduction. (Kim, [0022])
Regarding claim 5, Geng discloses the method wherein duration of the fourth time period is the sixth preset duration; or an end time point of the fourth time period is an end time point of seventh preset duration that starts from the occurrence of beam failure being determined by the terminal, or the end time point of the fourth time period is a time point of the first indication information being reported by the terminal ([0156][0160] The measurement configuration information may include one or a combination of several of the following information: information about a beam measurement set including one or more beam reference signals, a measurement set measurement period. When a specified time for the measurement set measurement period or the active set measurement period is reached, the terminal may perform measurement for a period of time, and after the period of time ends, timing of a period is restarted.).
Regarding claim 6, Geng discloses receiving, by the terminal, the measurement start indication information and the measurement stop indication information that are sent by the network-side device ([0156] [0160] The measurement configuration information may include one or a combination of several of the following information: information about a beam measurement set including one or more beam reference signals, a measurement set measurement period. When a specified time for the measurement set measurement period or the active set measurement period is reached, the terminal may perform measurement for a period of time, and after the period of time ends, timing of a period is restarted.),
wherein the measurement stop indication information comprises the first measurement stop indication information or the second measurement stop indication information ([0160] When a specified time for the measurement set measurement period or the active set measurement period is reached, the terminal may perform measurement for a period of time, and after the period of time ends, timing of a period is restarted.);
and measuring, by the terminal, the candidate beam within the preset time period according to indications of the measurement start indication information and the measurement stop indication information ([0160][0161] The active set measurement period is used by the terminal to measure each beam in the beam active set, to obtain a candidate beam for communication with the terminal. Step 1003: The terminal measures each beam in a measurement set within a first measurement set period based on the measurement configuration information, to obtain a first measurement result.).
Geng and Jiang do not disclose the method wherein the measuring, by a terminal, a candidate beam within a preset time period following configuration information being received comprises.
However, Kim does disclose the method wherein the measuring, by a terminal, a candidate beam within a preset time period following configuration information being received comprises ([0356-0357] The eNB 2j-10 transmits to the UE 2j-01 at least one of beam-based measurement configuration information and DRX configuration information in a RRC message at step 2j20. Upon receipt of the RRC message, the UE applies the configuration information to perform beam measurement.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Geng and Jiang with the method wherein the measuring, by a terminal, a candidate beam within a preset time period following configuration information being received comprises as taught by Kim. The motivation for doing so would be reducing the data interruption time during the handover of a UE and handling failure data interruption time reduction. (Kim, [0022])
Regarding claim 7, Geng discloses the method wherein the measurement start indication information and the measurement stop indication information are carried by at least one of: radio resource control (RRC) signaling, media access control control element (MAC CE) signaling, or downlink control information (DCI) ([0260-0261] The terminal may send the first indication information by using a MAC layer or an RRC layer. The base station may stop communicating with the terminal by using the beam.).
Regarding claim 10, Geng discloses the method wherein the reporting, by the terminal, first indication information to a network-side device according to a measurement result comprises: or in a case that no reference signal that is of the candidate beam and meets a preset condition is detected, reporting, by the terminal to the network-side device, the first indication information for indicating that the terminal detects no reference signal that is of the candidate beam and meets the preset condition (optional element no citation is required).
Geng and Jiang do not disclose in a case that a reference signal that is of the candidate beam and meets a preset condition is detected, reporting, by the terminal to the network-side device, the first indication information for indicating an identifier of the reference signal that is of the candidate beam and meets the preset condition;
However, Kim does not disclose in a case that a reference signal that is of the candidate beam and meets a preset condition is detected, reporting, by the terminal to the network-side device, the first indication information for indicating an identifier of the reference signal that is of the candidate beam and meets the preset condition([0356-0357] The eNB 2j-10 transmits to the UE 2j-01 at least one of beam-based measurement configuration information and DRX configuration information in a RRC message at step 2j-20. Upon receipt of the RRC message, the UE applies the configuration information to perform beam measurement.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Geng and Jiang with in a case that a reference signal that is of the candidate beam and meets a preset condition is detected, reporting, by the terminal to the network-side device, the first indication information for indicating an identifier of the reference signal that is of the candidate beam and meets the preset condition as taught by Kim. The motivation for doing so would be reducing the data interruption time during the handover of a UE and handling failure data interruption time reduction. (Kim, [0022])
Regarding claim 12, Geng discloses the method wherein after the end time point of the fourth time period, the method further comprises: continuing to measure, by the terminal, a reference signal resource of the candidate beam ([0159] The beam configuration information may include one or a combination of several of the following information: a reference signal (RS).);
or in a case that no reference signal that is of the candidate beam and meets a preset condition is detected, reporting, by the terminal to the network-side device, the first indication information for indicating that the terminal detects no reference signal that is of the candidate beam and whose quality meets the preset condition (optional element no citation is required).
Geng and Jiang do not disclose in a case that a reference signal that is of the candidate beam and meets a preset condition is detected, reporting, by the terminal to the network-side device, the first indication information for indicating an identifier of the reference signal that is of the candidate beam and meets the preset condition;
However, Kim does disclose in a case that a reference signal that is of the candidate beam and meets a preset condition is detected, reporting, by the terminal to the network-side device, the first indication information for indicating an identifier of the reference signal that is of the candidate beam and meets the preset condition ([0356-0357] The eNB 2j-10 transmits to the UE 2j-01 at least one of beam-based measurement configuration information and DRX configuration information in a RRC message at step 2j-20. Upon receipt of the RRC message, the UE applies the configuration information to perform beam measurement.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Geng and Jiang with in a case that a reference signal that is of the candidate beam and meets a preset condition is detected, reporting, by the terminal to the network-side device, the first indication information for indicating an identifier of the reference signal that is of the candidate beam and meets the preset condition as taught by Kim. The motivation for doing so would be reducing the data interruption time during the handover of a UE and handling failure data interruption time reduction. (Kim, [0022])
Regarding claim 16, Geng discloses the terminal wherein duration of the fourth time period is the sixth preset duration ([0156] The measurement configuration information may include one or a combination of several of the following information: information about a beam measurement set including one or more beam reference signals, a measurement set measurement period.);
or an end time point of the fourth time period is an end time point of seventh preset duration that starts from the occurrence of beam failure being determined by the terminal, or the end time point of the fourth time period is a time point of the first indication information being reported by the terminal ([0156][0160] The measurement configuration information may include one or a combination of several of the following information: information about a beam measurement set including one or more beam reference signals, a measurement set measurement period. When a specified time for the measurement set measurement period or the active set measurement period is reached, the terminal may perform measurement for a period of time, and after the period of time ends, timing of a period is restarted.).
Regarding claim 19, Geng discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium wherein duration of the fourth time period is the sixth preset duration ([0156] The measurement configuration information may include one or a combination of several of the following information; information about a beam measurement set including one or more beam reference signals, a measurement set measurement period.);
or an end time point of the fourth time period is an end time point of seventh preset duration that starts from the occurrence of beam failure being determined by the terminal, or the end time point of the fourth time period is a time point of the first indication information being reported by the terminal ([0156][0160] The measurement configuration information may include one or a combination of several of the following information: information about a beam measurement set including one or more beam reference signals, a measurement set measurement period. When a specified time for the measurement set measurement period or the active set measurement period is reached, the terminal may perform measurement for a period of time, and after the period of time ends, timing of a period is restarted.).
Claims 8,13,14,17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Geng et al, US 20210243637 A1., in view of Jiang et al, US 20210392035 A1, in view of Kim et al, US 20180020382 A1., in further view of Matsumura et al, US 20210076442 A1.
Regarding claim 8, Geng, Jiang, and Kim do not disclose the method wherein the time point of the first indication information being reported further is a sending time point of reporting a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) that carries beam failure recovery request (BFRQ) information.
However, Matsumura does disclose the method wherein the time point of the first indication information being reported further is a sending time point of reporting a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) that carries beam failure recovery request (BFRQ) information ([0043-0044] Step 5104 The UE that has identified the new candidate beam transmits a beam recovery request (BFRQ (Beam Failure Recovery reQuest). The BFRQ may be transmitted by using at least one of an uplink control channel a UL grant free PUSCH (Physical Uplink Shared Channel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Geng, Jiang, and Kim with the method wherein the time point of the first indication information being reported further is a sending time point of reporting a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) that carries beam failure recovery request (BFRQ) information as taught by Matsumura. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce occurrence of RLF. (Matsumura, [0030]).
Regarding claim 13, Geng, Jiang, and Kim do not disclose the method wherein the meeting a preset condition means that reference signal received power or signal to interference plus noise ratio of the reference signal of the candidate beam is greater than or equal to a preset threshold configured by the network-side device.
However, Matsumura does disclose the method wherein the meeting a preset condition means that reference signal received power or signal to interference plus noise ratio of the reference signal of the candidate beam is greater than or equal to a preset threshold configured by the network-side device ([0180] The measurement section 305 may measure a received power (for example, RSRP (Reference Signal Received Power)), a received quality (for example, RSRQ (Reference Signal Received Quality)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Geng, Jiang, and Kim with the method wherein the meeting a preset condition means that reference signal received power or signal to interference plus noise ratio of the reference signal of the candidate beam is greater than or equal to a preset threshold configured by the network-side device as taught by Matsumura. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce occurrence of RLF. (Matsumura, [0030])
Regarding claim 14, Geng, Jiang, and Kim do not disclose the method further comprising: determining, by the terminal by performing beam failure detection on a cell and/or a bandwidth part, whether a beam failure occurs in the cell and/or the bandwidth part.
However, Matsumura does disclose the method further comprising: determining, by the terminal by performing beam failure detection on a cell and/or a bandwidth part, whether a beam failure occurs in the cell and/or the bandwidth part([0055] The BFRQ and the beam reconfiguration completion, the base station can identify an identifier (for example, a cell-radio RNTI (C-RNTI)) of the UE to which the preamble is transmitted.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Geng, Jiang, and Kim with the method further comprising: determining, by the terminal by performing beam failure detection on a cell and/or a bandwidth part, whether a beam failure occurs in the cell and/or the bandwidth part as taught by Matsumura. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce occurrence of RLF. (Matsumura, [0030])
Regarding claim 17, Geng, Jiang, and Kim do not disclose the terminal wherein the time point of the first indication information being reported further is a sending time point of reporting a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) that carries beam failure recovery request (BFRQ) information.
However, Matsumura does disclose the terminal wherein the time point of the first indication information being reported further is a sending time point of reporting a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) that carries beam failure recovery request (BFRQ) information([0036] [0043-0044] Information related to the RS for beam failure detection and information related to beam failure detection may be configured for the UE. Step S104 The UE that has identified the new candidate beam transmits a beam recovery request (BFRQ (Beam Failure Recovery reQuest). The BFRQ may be transmitted by using at least one of an uplink control channel a UL grant free PUSCH (Physical Uplink Shared Channel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Geng, Jiang, and Kim with the terminal wherein the time point of the first indication information being reported is at least one of: a time point of assembling a media access control protocol data unit (MAC PDU), or a sending time point of reporting a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) that carries beam failure recovery request (BFRQ) information as taught by Matsumura. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce occurrence of RLF. (Matsumura, [0030]).
Regarding claim 20, Geng, Jiang, and Kim do not disclose the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium wherein the time point of the first indication information being reported is a sending time point of reporting a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) that carries beam failure recovery request (BFRQ) information.
However, Matsumura does disclose the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium wherein the time point of the first indication information being reported is a sending time point of reporting a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) that carries beam failure recovery request (BFRQ) information ([0038] The MAC signaling may use MAC control elements (MAC CEs), MAC PDUs (Protocol Data Units). Step S105, a period for the UE to monitor the response from the base station (for example, a gNB) for the BFRQ may be configured.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Geng, Jiang, and Kim with the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium wherein the time point of the first indication information being reported further is sending time point of reporting a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) that carries beam failure recovery request (BFRQ) information as taught by Matsumura. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce occurrence of RLF. (Matsumura, [0030]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Geng et al, US 20210243637 A1., in view of Jiang et al, US 20210392035 A1, in view of Uchino et al, US 20220352959 A1. in further view of Matsumura et al, US 20210076442 A1.
Regarding claim 11, Geng and Jiang do not disclose the method wherein the prohibiting, by the terminal, reporting of first indication information according to a measurement result comprises: in a case that no reference signal that is of the candidate beam and meets a preset condition is detected, prohibiting, by the terminal, reporting of the first indication information.
However, Uchino does disclose the method wherein the prohibiting, by the terminal, reporting of first indication information according to a measurement result comprises ([0123] The terminal 200 may notify a value outside a set range as a channel quality indicator (CQl). The terminal 200 may notify the radio base station 100 that the monitoring of a candidate of a new beam and the report of a candidate of a new beam are stopped.):
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Geng and Jiang with the method wherein the prohibiting, by the terminal, reporting of first indication information according to a measurement result comprises as taught by Uchino. The motivation for doing so would be to increase a load on the network. (Uchino, [0008]).
Geng, Jiang, and Uchino do not disclose in a case that no reference signal that is of the candidate beam and meets a preset condition is detected, prohibiting, by the terminal, reporting of the first indication information.
However, Matsumura does disclose in a case that no reference signal that is of the candidate beam and meets a preset condition is detected, prohibiting, by the terminal, reporting of the first indication information ([0035] [0041] [0417] When all the configured RSs for beam failure detection have a BLER (Block Error Rate) equal to or less than a threshold, the UE may detect the occurrence of the beam failure. Instead of the RS measurement or in addition to the RS measurement, the beam failure detection may be performed based on a PDCCH and so on. The UE may determine that a beam corresponding to an RS satisfying certain conditions is the new candidate beam. For example, the UE may determine the new candidate beam, based on an RS having L1-RSRP (reference signal received power (RSRP) in a physical layer) exceeding a threshold among the configured RSs for new candidate beam identification. The UE does not transmit beam recovery unsuccessful indication to a higher layer.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Geng, Yang, and Uchino with in a case that no reference signal that is of the candidate beam and meets a preset condition is detected, prohibiting, by the terminal, reporting of the first indication information as taught by Matsumura. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce occurrence of RLF. (Matsumura, [0030]).
Conclusion
/RYA TEON NELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/PAO SINKANTARAKORN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409