Status of Claims
In the communication filed on 02/24/2026, claims 1-21 are pending. Claims 1, 8-9, 11, 13, 15, and 17-20 are amended. Claim 21 is new. No claims are presently cancelled.
The amended independent claims 1, 9, & 20 changed scopes by incorporating previously-unclaimed subject matter. Thus, the amended claims require new grounds of rejection.
Response to Arguments
The prior objections to the Drawings, Specification, and Claims are withdrawn due to the amendments and applicant’s explanation in the remarks (02/24/2026).
The prior rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn due to the amendments.
The prior double patenting rejections over the copending Application No. 17/480,651 are withdrawn due to the terminal disclaimer filed on 02/24/2026.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-21 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 02/24/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of Application No. 17/480,651 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 01/28/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “the mount assembly defines a lip”. However, claim 1 recites “the one or more cleats define a lip”. Thus claim 8 is indefinite as to whether a second lip is being introduced or, as interpreted for examination, the lip of claim 8 is the same lip as that of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 & 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burch et al. (US 2018/0231238 A1) in view of Velderman et al. (US 2019/0014925 A1; hereinafter “Veld”).
Regarding Claim 1, Burch discloses a charging station (“battery charger fixture 212”; see annotated Fig. 2, included infra) mountable on a structure (“job box 200”, including “base 204” and “lid 208”; Fig. 2), the charging station (212) comprising the following features.
Burch further discloses a housing (housing of “212”) defining a first side (forward side, including the charging ports, shown in Fig. 2) and a second side (rear side, including mounting features, not shown in Fig. 2) opposite the first side.
Burch further discloses a plurality of charging ports (“charging ports 216, 220”; Fig. 2) disposed on the first side (forward/visible side of “212”).
Burch further discloses each of the plurality of charging ports (216, 220) including a battery receptacle (¶ [26]: “216 for charging a first type of battery pack”; ¶ [26]: “220 for charging a second type of battery pack”) configured to receive and charge a battery pack (¶ [26]: “216 for … an 18V power tool battery pack”; ¶ [26]: “220 for … a 12V power tool battery pack”).
Burch implies (¶ [26]: “212 coupled to the base 204 adjacent an upper edge of the base 204”), but does not disclose the charging station is “removably mountable” on the structure.
Burch further does not disclose “a mount assembly disposed on the second side and engageable with the structure to removably mount the charging station thereon, the mount assembly including a first mount interface and second mount interface, the second mount interface being different than the first mount interface, wherein the first mount interface is at least partially defined by an elongate rail, the elongate rail including one or more cleats positioned thereon, and wherein the one or more cleats define a lip configured to support the charging station on the structure”.
Veld teaches a charging station (“battery charger 300”; Figs. 27-28; see annotated Fig. 27, included infra; ¶ [162]: “can be secured to the panel 55 (or an appropriate combination of panels 10, 20, 30)”) removably mountable on a structure (“panels 10, 20, 30” or “panel 55” of “wall hanging assembly 1”; Figs. 1-2, 23-24).
Veld further teaches a mount assembly (“clip 200”; Figs. 24, 27) disposed on the second side (rear/base of “300”; Figs. 27-28) and engageable (¶ [162]: “secured to the base of the battery charger 300 by screws 206 … or the clips 200 could be integrally formed with the item”) with the structure (10, 20, 30, 55) to removably mount the charging station (300) thereon.
Veld further teaches the mount assembly (200) including a first mount interface (upper two cleats “leg members 201” and the elongate rail upon which they are screwed into; see annotated Fig. 27) and second mount interface (lower two cleats “201”; see annotated Fig. 27)
Veld further teaches the second mount interface being different than the first mount interface (Fig. 27 shows the upper cleats are shaped differently than the lower cleats).
Veld further teaches the first mount interface is at least partially defined by an elongate rail (structure of “200” upon which the cleats “201” are screwed into; see annotated Fig. 27).
Veld further teaches the elongate rail including one or more cleats (“leg members 201”; Fig. 27) positioned thereon.
Veld further teaches the one or more cleats (201) define a lip (space under each “201”) configured to support the charging station (300) on the structure (10, 20, 30, 55).
Veld further teaches this mount assembly to enable the charging station to be removably and securely mountable on a structure, thus enabling the charging station to be easily accessible to the user alongside other tools (¶ [24, 38, 164]; Fig. 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the second side of the charging station disclosed by Burch to incorporate a mount assembly with two mount interfaces, wherein the first mount interface comprises an elongate rail with one or more cleats defining a lip, as taught by Veld, enabling the charging station to be easily accessible to the user alongside other tools.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Burch & Veld teaches the charging station of claim 1.
Burch further discloses the plurality of charging ports (216, 220) includes a first charging port (216) including a first battery receptacle (¶ [26]: “216 for charging a first type of battery pack”) configured to receive and charge a battery pack of a first type (¶ [26]: “216 for … an 18V power tool battery pack”).
Burch further discloses a second charging port (220) including a second battery receptacle (¶ [26]: “220 for charging a second type of battery pack”) configured to receive and charge a battery pack of a second type (¶ [26]: “220 for … a 12V power tool battery pack”) different (“18V” vs. “12V”) than the first type (“18V power tool battery pack”).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Burch & Veld teaches the charging station of claim 1.
Burch further discloses the structure (200) is a container (“job box” is a “storage container” per ¶ [2]) including a lid (“lid 208”; Fig. 2) and walls (walls of “base 204”; Fig. 2).
The combo of Burch & Veld further teaches the charging station (Burch: “212”; modified to incorporate mount assembly from Veld) is selectively removably mountable (Burch’s station is mountable to the walls of the container; modified to be removably mountable to a wall per Veld’s teachings) to the walls (Burch: walls of “base 204”; Veld equivalent: “wall panel system”).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Burch & Veld teaches the charging station of claim 1.
Burch discloses the structure (200) is a container (“job box” is a “storage container” per ¶ [2]) defining a rim (top edge of “base 204”; Fig. 2).
The combo of Burch & Veld teaches the mount assembly (incorporated “200” from Veld) defines a lip (Veld: space under each cleat “201”; see annotated Fig. 27, included supra) extending from the second side (rear of Burch’s charging station “212”; Veld equivalent: rear of “300”) and engageable with the rim (Veld ¶ [144]: “space 18 is formed behind the upper panel hook 16”; Fig. 23).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burch et al. (US 2018/0231238 A1) in view of Velderman et al. (US 2019/0014925 A1; hereinafter “Veld”) and Hennesy (US 2019/0199101 A1; hereinafter “Hen”).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Burch & Veld teaches the charging station of claim 2.
Burch further discloses a hub (central portion of “212”; see annotated Fig. 2, included supra).
Burch further discloses a first wing (right side of “212”, containing first charging ports “216”; see annotated Fig. 2) extending from the hub (central portion of “212”) in a first direction (right-hand direction, as viewed in Fig. 2)
Burch further discloses a second wing (left side of “212”, containing second charging ports “220”; see annotated Fig. 2) extending from the hub (central portion of “212”) in a second direction (left-hand direction, as viewed in Fig. 2) opposite the first direction (right-hand direction).
Burch further discloses the first side is a forward side (front/visible side of “212” including the charging ports; shown in Fig. 2).
Burch further discloses the second side is a rear side (rear/hidden side of “212” including mounting features; hidden from view in Fig. 2)
As addressed supra, Burch discloses a hub. However, Burch does not disclose “a hub configured to house electronics for controlling the charging station”.
Hen teaches a hub (main portion of “battery pack charger system 1000” within “housing “160”, which does not include external components such as “handles 175” and “charging ports 100”; Fig. 1A, ¶ [16]) configured to house electronics (¶ [16]: “electronic components (not shown) located within the housing 160 may provide for the supply of power …”; ¶ [52]: “electronic components may include … printed circuit boards”) for controlling the charging station (1000).
Hen further teaches the electronics for controlling the charging station to enable the transfer of power between an input supply and the battery charging ports which are located external to the hub (¶ [16, 52-53]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the hub disclosed by the combo of Burch & Veld to house electronics for controlling the charging station, as taught by Hen, to enable the transfer of power between an input supply and the battery charging ports.
Regarding Claim 4, the combo of Burch, Veld, & Hennesy teaches the charging station of claim 3.
Burch further discloses the first charging port (216) is positioned on the first wing (right side of “212”).
Burch further discloses the second charging port (220) is positioned on the second wing (left side of “212”).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burch et al. (US 2018/0231238 A1) in view of Velderman et al. (US 2019/0014925 A1; hereinafter “Veld”) and Fry et al. (US 2015/0171632 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Burch & Veld teaches the charging station of claim 2.
Burch discloses the first battery receptacle (216) and the second battery receptacle (220).
Burch does not disclose “the first battery receptacle includes a slot and a rail, and wherein the second battery receptacle includes a socket”.
Fry teaches the first battery receptacle (“second battery pack port 72”; Fig. 5; ¶ [34, 36]) includes a slot (see annotated Fig. 5, included infra) and a rail (“rails 75”; Fig. 5).
Fry further teaches the second battery receptacle (“first battery pack port 70”; Fig. 5; ¶ [34-35]) includes a socket (“insertion hole 71”; ¶ [35]: “70 includes an insertion hole 71 to receive tower style battery packs”).
Fry further teaches these configurations of the two battery receptacles to enable the charging of multiple different battery pack shapes, including “tower style” and “slide-on style” (¶ [35-36]), each of which are commonly used for power tools (¶ [3-4]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first/second battery receptacles disclosed by the combo of Burch & Veld to include a slot/rail configuration and a socket configuration, respectively, as taught by Fry, to enable the charging of a wider variety of battery packs used for power tools.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burch et al. (US 2018/0231238 A1) in view of Velderman et al. (US 2019/0014925 A1; hereinafter “Veld”)and Hansen et al. (US 2019/0296290 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Burch & Veld teaches the charging station of claim 2.
Burch discloses the battery pack of the first type (“18V power tool battery pack”) and the battery pack of the second type (“12V power tool battery pack”) are insertable into the plurality of charging ports (216, 220).
However, Burch does not disclose “the battery pack of the first type and the battery pack of the second type are insertable, in different directions, into the plurality of charging ports”.
Hansen teaches the battery pack of the first type (tower-style battery pack “182”; see annotated Fig. 10, included infra) and the battery pack of the second type (slide-on style battery pack “182”; see annotated Fig. 10) are insertable, in different directions (annotated Fig. 10 shows the two directions used to insert the two battery packs in their respective charging ports), into the plurality of charging ports (two shown in Fig. 10; one is socket-style; another is slide-on rail style).
Hansen further teaches that the battery packs of each type are insertable in different directions into the charging ports as a result of incorporating charging ports for both tower and slide-on style battery packs (Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the battery packs and charging ports disclosed by the combo of Burch & Veld such that the battery packs of each type are insertable in different directions into the charging ports, as taught by Hansen, to enable the charging of a wider variety of battery packs used for power tools, such as tower and slide-on style battery packs.
Claims 9-11 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burch et al. (US 2018/0231238 A1) in view of Velderman et al. (US 2019/0014925 A1; hereinafter “Veld”).
Regarding Claim 9, Burch discloses a charging station (“battery charger fixture 212”; see annotated Fig. 2, included supra in the claim 1 section) mountable on a structure (“job box 200”, including “base 204” and “lid 208”; Fig. 2) including a container (“job box” is a “storage container” per ¶ [2]), the charging station (212) comprising the following features.
Burch further discloses a charging portion (front/visible side of “212” including the charging ports; shown in Fig. 2).
Burch further discloses a mounting portion (rear/hidden side of “212” including mounting features; hidden from view in Fig. 2).
Burch further discloses a first charging port (“first charging ports 216”; Fig. 2) disposed on the charging portion (front/visible side of “212”).
Burch further discloses the first charging port (216) including a first battery receptacle (¶ [26]: “216 for charging a first type of battery pack”) configured to receive and charge a battery pack of a first type (¶ [26]: “216 for … an 18V power tool battery pack”).
Burch further discloses a second charging port (“second charging ports 220”; Fig. 2) disposed on the charging portion (front/visible side of “212”).
Burch further discloses the second charging port (220) including a second battery receptacle (¶ [26]: “220 for charging a second type of battery pack”) configured to receive and charge a battery pack of a second type (¶ [26]: “220 for … a 12V power tool battery pack”) different (“18V” vs. “12V”) than the first type (“18V power tool battery pack”).
Burch implies (¶ [26]: “212 coupled to the base 204 adjacent an upper edge of the base 204”), but does not disclose the charging station is “removably mountable” on the structure. Burch further does not disclose “a mount assembly coupled to the mounting portion and selectively couplable with the container, the mount assembly including a rail, wherein the charging station has a length, and wherein the rail extends along a majority of the length”.
Veld teaches (see annotated Fig. 27, included supra in the claim 1 section) a mount assembly (“clip 200”; Figs. 24, 27) coupled to the mounting portion (rear/base of charging station “battery charger 300”; Figs. 27-28; ¶ [162]: “secured to the base of the battery charger 300 by screws 206 … or the clips 200 could be integrally formed with the item”) and selectively couplable (¶ [162]: “can be secured to the panel 55 (or an appropriate combination of panels 10, 20, 30)”) with the structure (“panels 10, 20, 30” or “panel 55” of “wall hanging assembly 1”; Figs. 1-2, 23-24; see note 9-1, included infra).
NOTE 9-1: Veld’s teachings are with respect to mounting a charging station to a structure, rather than to a container. However, one of ordinary skill in the art understands that a container is a structure. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that Veld’s teachings regarding the structure can be applied to a container.
Veld further teaches the mount assembly (200) including a rail (structure of “200” upon which the cleats “201” are screwed into; see annotated Fig. 27).
Veld further teaches the charging station (300) has a length, and the rail extends along a majority of the length (Fig. 27 shows the rail extends along the length of the rear face of “300”; see annotated Fig. 27).
Veld further teaches this mount assembly to enable the charging station to be removably and securely mountable on a structure, thus enabling the charging station to be easily accessible to the user alongside other tools (¶ [24, 38, 164]; Fig. 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the mounting portion of the charging station disclosed by Burch to incorporate a rail along the length of the charging station, wherein the rail enables mounting features such as cleats to be mounted, as taught by Veld, enabling the charging station to be easily accessible to the user alongside other tools.
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Burch & Veld teaches the charging station of claim 9.
The combo of Burch & Veld teaches the mount assembly (incorporated from Veld: “200”) includes one or more hooks (Veld’s upper cleats “201” are hook-shaped; see annotated Fig. 27, included supra in the claim 1 section).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Burch & Veld teaches the charging station of claim 9.
The combo of Burch & Veld teaches the mount assembly (incorporated from Veld: “200”) includes a cleat (Veld: “leg member 201”; Fig. 27) removably coupled to one or more of the charging station (Burch: “212”; Veld equivalent: “300”) and the container (Burch container: “200”; analogous Veld structure: “10”, “20”, “30”, “55”).
The combo of Burch & Veld teaches the cleat (Veld: “leg member 201”) is adjustable (Veld ¶ [160]: “201 have some flexibility … to aid in the securing and removal of the clip 200 to the panel 55”).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Burch & Veld teaches the charging station of claim 9.
Burch further discloses (see annotated Fig. 8, included infra) the length (annotated as “L1”; approximately the depth of the container) of the charging station (previously mapped to “212”; however, for this claim, considering the alternatively-shaped embodiment “812”, which does not negate any of the teachings previously relied upon herein) is approximately half a length (annotated as “L2”) of the container (800).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Burch & Veld teaches the charging station of claim 18.
Burch further discloses (see annotated Fig. 8, included supra in the claim 18 section) the length (L1) of the charging station (previously mapped to “212”; however, for this claim, considering the alternatively-shaped embodiment “812”, which does not negate any of the teachings previously relied upon herein) is less than a length (L2) of a side wall of the container (800).
Claims 12-13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burch et al. (US 2018/0231238 A1) in view of Velderman et al. (US 2019/0014925 A1; hereinafter “Veld”) and Hennesy (US 2019/0199101 A1; hereinafter “Hen”).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Burch & Veld teaches the charging station of claim 9.
The combo of Burch & Veld teaches the mount assembly (incorporated from Veld: “200”).
Regarding claim 12, Burch does not disclose “the mount assembly includes one or more adjustable clips integrally formed with the charging station”.
Regarding claim 13, Burch further does not disclose “the one or more adjustable clips are retractable into the mounting portion of the charging station”.
Hen teaches the mount assembly (“mating surface 210”; Figs. 4A-4E; mounts to “latching wall 115”) includes one or more adjustable clips (“latching mechanism 250”, including “latching portion 252”; Figs. 4A-4E; adjustable to “rotate about a pivot 251” per ¶ [27, 29]) integrally formed (“250” is part of “200” per ¶ [27-29] and as drawn in Figs. 4A-4E) with the portable electronic device (“battery pack 200”; Figs. 4A-4E).
Hen further teaches the one or more adjustable clips (250) are retractable (retracted position of “250” shown in Fig. 4D; rotation about “251” results in “252” being within “210”) into the mounting portion (210) of the portable electronic device (200).
NOTE 12-1: Hen teaches a mounting structure on the rear side of a portable electronic device to mount to a stationary structure (“latching wall 115”). The portable electronic device taught by Hen is analogous to the charging station disclosed by the combo of Burch & Veld because they are both portable electronic assemblies which are mounted to a more stationary structure. Further, the structure taught by Hen is analogous to the container disclosed by the combo of Burch & Veld because they are each stationary structures which are intended to support a portable electronic device. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art understands that Hen’s teachings regarding the portable electronic device and structure would also be applicable to a charging station and container, respectively.
Hen further teaches mount assembly including one or more adjustable clips that are retractable to ensure a secure coupling with a locked position that ensures stability during movement and/or transport (¶ [28])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the mount assembly disclosed by the combo of Burch & Veld to incorporate one or more adjustable clips that are retractable into the mounting portion of the charging station, as taught by Hen, to ensure a secure mounting interface that ensures stability during movement and/or transport of the container.
NOTE 12-2: The structure of claims 12-13 appears to be disclosed in ¶ [46-47] and Figs. 7A-7C of the instant application. As written, these claims are broad and can be taught by different clip structures that may be adjustable via different mechanisms. The instant application includes significantly more details and features for this disclosed interface that are not currently claimed.
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Burch & Veld teaches the charging station of claim 9.
Burch does not disclose “the mounting portion includes a plurality of through-holes each configured to receive a fastener secured to one or more of the mount assembly and the container”.
Hen teaches the mounting portion (rear portion of “charger system 1000”; Figs. 1A, 7A-7D) includes a plurality of through-holes (“mounting apertures 740”; Figs. 7A-7D) each configured to receive a fastener (“fasteners 750A-750D”; Figs. 7A-7D) secured to one or more of the mount assembly (Figs. 7A-7B show each “750” secured through each “740”, including through the rear portion of “1000”) and the structure (“support structure 710”; Fig. 7A).
NOTE 17-1: Though Hen does not teach the “structure” being a container, it would have been obvious to apply the teachings of Hen to a container. It was previously established in the claim 9 section herein that the structure is a container, as taught by the combo of Burch & Veld.
Hen teaches the mount portion structure with through-holes for fasteners to secure the charging station to the structure improve support and stability (¶ [49-50]), which avoids introducing a hazard associated with an unstably mounted station (¶ [51]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the mounting portion disclosed by the combo of Burch & Veld to incorporate through-holes for fasteners to secure the charging station to the container, as taught by Hen, to improve support and stability for the mounted charging station, which improves safety.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burch et al. (US 2018/0231238 A1) in view of Velderman et al. (US 2019/0014925 A1; hereinafter “Veld”) and Rothbaum et al. (US 2011/0192857 A1; hereinafter “Roth”).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Burch & Veld teaches the charging station of claim 9.
The combo of Burch & Veld teaches the mount assembly (incorporated from Veld: “200”).
Burch does not teach “the mount assembly includes one or more clips magnetically coupled to the charging station”.
Roth teaches the mount assembly (“vehicle mount 6502”; see annotated Fig. 65A, included infra; ¶ [274]) includes one or more clips (“clip 6504”) magnetically coupled (via “magnetic attachment element 6510”) to the portable electronic device (“case 102” for a “portable electronic device”).
Roth further teaches the magnetically coupled clip to enable convenient mounting, as removal of the mount assembly to minimize clutter, prevent loss of the mounted device, and provide a convenient structure to store the device (¶ [4-5]).
NOTE 14-1: Though Roth does not teach the portable electronic device being a charging station, it would have been obvious to apply the teachings of Roth to a charging station because the charging station is an electronic device that is portable. Roth states that its teachings can be applied to “a case for another type of device or object” (¶ [140]). It was previously established in claim 1’s rejection that it would be obvious for the charging station to include a mount assembly. Thus, Roth is not relied upon to teach the charging station including the mount assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the charging station’s mount assembly disclosed by the combo of Burch & Veld to incorporate one or more magnetically coupled clips, as taught by Roth, to enable convenient mounting, as removal of the mount assembly to minimize clutter, prevent loss of the mounted charging station, and provide a convenient structure to store the charging station.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burch et al. (US 2018/0231238 A1) in view of Velderman et al. (US 2019/0014925 A1; hereinafter “Veld”) and Sergyeyenko (US 2019/0058339 A1; hereinafter “Serg”).
Regarding Claims 15-16, the combination of Burch & Veld teaches the charging station of claim 9.
Regarding claim 15, Burch does not disclose “the mounting portion includes a plurality of apertures each configured to receive a fastener secured to one or more of the mount assembly and the container”.
Regarding claim 16, Burch further does not disclose “each aperture is keyed and configured to receive a head of the fastener”.
Serg teaches the mounting portion (“back surface 58”; ¶ [60]: “mounting devices 83 may be integrally molded to the back surface 58 of the housing 55 of the charger 50”) includes a plurality of apertures (“opening 84”; Fig. 8) each configured to receive a fastener (“rivet 86”; Fig. 8) secured to the mount assembly (“two mounting device 83”; Fig. 8; ¶ [60]: “83 to attach the charger 50 to the inner front side of the storage case 10”) and the container (“storage case 10”, including “inner front side 13”; Figs. 6-8).
Serg further teaches each aperture (84) is keyed (¶ [61]: “84 may include a first opening 87 on a lower portion … and a second opening 88 on an upper portion”; ¶ [61]: “87 may be larger than the second opening 88”; thus, each “84” is specially keyed by the shapes of “87” and “88” to receive the “rivet 86”).
Serg further teaches each aperture (84, including 87 + 88) is configured (¶ [61]: “86 may be inserted into the first opening 87 and slid upwardly to the second opening 88”) to receive a head (head of “86” shown in Fig. 8) of the fastener (86).
Serg further teaches the mounting interface’s structure, including apertures and fasteners, to provide a secure fit/attachment to the container (¶ [60-62]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the charging station’s mounting portion disclosed by the combo of Burch & Veld to include apertures that receive fasteners between the mount assembly and the container, as taught by Serg, to more securely attach the charging station to the container.
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Burch et al. (US 2018/0231238 A1) in view of Hennesy (US 2019/0199101 A1; hereinafter “Hen”), the Battery University article (BU-411: Charging from a USB Port, last updated 10/27/2021, Battery University; hereinafter “BU”), and Velderman et al. (US 2019/0014925 A1; hereinafter “Veld”).
Regarding Claim 20, Burch discloses a charging station (“battery charger fixture 212”; see annotated Fig. 2, V02, included supra) comprising the following features.
Burch further discloses a hub (central portion of “212”).
Burch further discloses a first wing (right side of “212”, containing first charging ports “216”; see annotated Fig. 2) extending from the hub (central portion of “212”) in a first direction (right-hand direction, as viewed in Fig. 2)
Burch further discloses a second wing (left side of “212”, containing second charging ports “220”; see annotated Fig. 2) extending from the hub (central portion of “212”) in a second direction (left-hand direction, as viewed in Fig. 2) opposite the first direction (right-hand direction).
Burch further discloses a first charging port (“first charging ports 216”; Fig. 2) disposed on the first wing (right side of “212”).
Burch further discloses the first charging port (216) including a first battery receptacle (¶ [26]: “216 for charging a first type of battery pack”) configured to receive and charge a battery pack of a first type (¶ [26]: “216 for … an 18V power tool battery pack”).
Burch further discloses a second charging port (“USB ports 228”; Fig. 2) disposed on the hub (central portion of “212”).
NOTE 20-1: A different claim mapping for the second charging port is provided for claim 20 than for the prior claims because claim 20 requires the second charging port to be disposed on the hub. Reference the “V02” annotated Fig. 2, included infra.
As addressed supra, Burch discloses a hub. However, Burch does not disclose “a hub configured to house electronics for controlling the charging station”.
As addressed supra, Burch discloses a second charging port disposed on the hub. However, Burch further does not disclose “the second charging port including a second battery receptacle configured to receive and charge a battery pack of a second type different than the first type”.
Burch implies (¶ [26]: “212 coupled to the base 204 adjacent an upper edge of the base 204”) but further does not disclose “a mount assembly coupled to one or more of the hub, the first wing, and the second wing, the mount assembly including a rail having one or more cleats protruding therefrom, wherein the mount assembly is configured to selectively mount the charging station on a structure”.
Hen teaches a hub (main portion of “battery pack charger system 1000” within “housing “160”, which does not include external components such as “handles 175” and “charging ports 100”; Fig. 1A, ¶ [16]) configured to house electronics (¶ [16]: “electronic components (not shown) located within the housing 160 may provide for the supply of power …”; ¶ [52]: “electronic components may include … printed circuit boards”) for controlling the charging station (1000).
Hen further teaches the electronics for controlling the charging station to enable the transfer of power between an input supply and the battery charging ports which are located external to the hub (¶ [16, 52-53]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the hub disclosed Burch to house electronics for controlling the charging station, as taught by Hen, to enable the transfer of power between an input supply and the battery charging ports.
BU teaches the charging port (“standard A” configuration of “USB port”; Fig. 1) including a battery receptacle (“USB port” is a receptacle which can charge batteries, as taught) configured to receive and charge a battery pack of a second type (per the first page, fourth paragraph: “small single-cell Li-ion battery” which is a “3.6V pack”).
The battery pack of a second type (“3.6V pack”), taught by BU, is different than the first type (“18V power tool battery pack”) disclosed by Burch.
BU teaches the second charging port, also a USB port, configured to receive and charge a battery pack of a second type to expand the variety of battery types that can be charged, such as to include Apple products (pp. 2, 2nd para.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the second charging port (USB port) disclosed by the combo of Burch & Hen to be configured to receive and charge a battery pack of a second type different than the first type, as taught by BU, to expand the variety of batteries that the charging station is capable of charging to include lower voltage batteries, such as those in Apple products, which improves convenience to the users.
Veld teaches (see annotated Fig. 27, included supra in the claim 1 section) a mount assembly (“clip 200”; Figs. 24, 27; ¶ [162]) coupled to one or more of the hub (body of charging station “battery charger 300”; Figs. 27-28; ¶ [162]: “can be secured to the panel 55 (or an appropriate combination of panels 10, 20, 30)”).
Veld further teaches the mount assembly (200) including a rail (structure of “200” upon which the cleats “201” are screwed into; see annotated Fig. 27) having one or more cleats (“leg members 201”; Fig. 27) protruding therefrom.
Veld further teaches the mount assembly (200) is configured to selectively mount (¶ [162]: “can be secured to the panel 55 (or an appropriate combination of panels 10, 20, 30)”) the charging station (300) on a structure (“panels 10, 20, 30” or “panel 55” of “wall hanging assembly 1”; Figs. 1-2, 23-24).
Veld further teaches this mount assembly to enable the charging station to be removably and securely mountable on a structure, thus enabling the charging station to be easily accessible to the user alongside other tools (¶ [24, 38, 164]; Fig. 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the charging station disclosed by the combo of Burch, Hen, & BU to incorporate a mount assembly with two mount interfaces, wherein the first mount interface comprises an elongate rail with one or more cleats defining a lip, as taught by Veld, enabling the charging station to be easily accessible to the user alongside other tools.
Regarding Claim 21, the combo of Burch, Hen, BU, & Veld teaches the charging station of claim 20.
The combo of Burch, Hen, BU, & Veld teaches the one or more cleats (Veld: “201”; see annotated Fig. 27, included supra in the claim 1 section) includes a plurality of cleats positioned discretely along the rail (Veld’s Fig. 27 shows two cleats positioned discretely along the upper rail).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL P MCFARLAND/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859