DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 and 15 recite, A battery pack comprising: a battery housing comprising a plurality of crossbeams dividing an interior space of the battery housing into a plurality of separated accommodation chambers; a plurality of cell units arranged within the battery housing, each of the cell units comprising a plurality of stacked battery cells, each of the accommodation chambers accommodating at least two of the cell units separated by a spacer stacked between the at least two cell units; and a plurality of venting paths respectively arranged per each of the cell units, each of the venting paths connecting the respective cell unit with a respective venting device of the corresponding accommodation chamber, the respective venting paths terminating at a corresponding venting device such that the venting paths do not pass over any other ones of the cell units. However as shown in figure 4 of the instant specification vent gas (35) flows over adjacent cell units along venting path (32) towards vent gas guide (34). Further paragraph [0076] of the instant specification discloses,” …the venting path 32 is arranged such that the vent gas 35 cannot pass an adjacent accommodation chamber 17a, 17c. Thus, the venting path 32 connects the respective cell unit 30b with the venting device 33 of the corresponding accommodation chamber 17b,” so while the respective individual accommodation chambers are not connected to each other by the venting path (32) the cells are connected to venting path (32) and the vent gas (35) would consequently pass over cells along venting paths (32). Which does not support “…the venting paths do not pass over any other ones of the cell units.” The spacer of claim (10) seems to contradict the spacer of claim (1).
Claims 1, 2-8, and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 15 recite, A battery pack comprising: a battery housing comprising a plurality of crossbeams dividing an interior space of the battery housing into a plurality of separated accommodation chambers; a plurality of cell units arranged within the battery housing, each of the cell units comprising a plurality of stacked battery cells, each of the accommodation chambers accommodating at least two of the cell units separated by a spacer stacked between the at least two cell units; and a plurality of venting paths respectively arranged per each of the cell units, each of the venting paths connecting the respective cell unit with a respective venting device of the corresponding accommodation chamber, the respective venting paths terminating at a corresponding venting device such that the venting paths do not pass over any other ones of the cell units. However it is unclear if the “other ones” refers to the venting paths or the cell units, and therefore indefinite. For the purpose of examination the venting paths of individual accommodation chambers will be applied.
The term “partial series connection” in claims 2, 3, and 5 is unclear how a partial series connection is constructed. Either the connection is made or no connection exist, which renders the claim indefinite. The term “partial series connection” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purpose of examination “partial series connection,” will be treated as a “series connection, “ and “at least one,” cell connected in series will be applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, 9-14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ejiri et al.(US2013/0330579A1), in view of Nishihara et al. (WO2012042913A1).
As to claim 1, Ejiri discloses a battery pack (Battery block (1) [0024] fig. 1) comprising: a battery housing (Power supply device (20) [0044] fig. 9) comprising a plurality of crossbeams dividing an interior space of the battery housing into a plurality of separated accommodation chambers (Section plates (5), fig. 1); a plurality of cell units arranged within the battery housing (Sections S1 to S4, fig. 1), each of the cell units comprising a plurality of stacked battery cells (Battery cells (2), fig. 1), each of the accommodation chambers accommodating at least two of the cell units separated by a spacer stacked between the at least two cell units (Battery holder (4), fig. 2); and a plurality of venting paths respectively arranged per each of the cell units *(the vent duct 15 communicating with the gas vent valve 2f of each battery cell 2 [0040], Ejiri does not explicitly disclose, “each of the venting paths connecting the respective cell unit with a respective venting device of the corresponding accommodation chamber, the respective venting paths terminating at a corresponding venting device such that the venting paths do not pass over any other ones of the cell units.”
However in the same field of endeavor Nishihara discloses a battery block [Abstract] and teaches each of the venting paths connecting the respective cell unit (Gas discharge from each battery (10) is guided to the outside by the gas ducts [0148-0153]) with a respective venting device (Gas duct (GDp) [1000-1003] fig. 26) of the corresponding accommodation chamber (Gas ducts GDa to GDd (GDa-d corresponding to Sections S1 to S4 respectively, fig. 1 of Ejiri), fig. 26 [0977]), the respective venting paths terminating at a corresponding venting device such that the venting paths do not pass over any other ones of the cell units (Dashed arrows indicating gas flow path of GDa-d not passing over each other, and terminating at GDp fig. 26)
Nishihara further teaches the gas is discharged through any of the gas vent valves of the plurality of battery cells, the gas can be efficiently guided to the outside of the casing. [1123-1125]
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify Ejiri with the gas ducts as taught by Nishihara to more efficient gas discharge and prevent battery damage.
As to claim 2, Ejiri discloses the cell units are connected between a positive battery pack terminal and a negative battery pack terminal such that the cell units are electrically connected in series, and wherein the series connection comprises a plurality of partial series connections, each connecting a number of cell units to each other in series. [0034]
As to claim 5, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated, modified Ejiri discloses the cell units of each partial series connection are arranged in different accommodation chambers (S1-S4, fig. 1 of Ejiri corresponding to GDa-d fig. 26 of Nishihara).
As to claim 6, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated, modified Ejiri discloses a vent gas guide (GDa-d, [996-997], fig. 26) configured to direct vent gas from one of the cell units to the respective venting device (GDp, {1000-1003], fig. 26).
As to claim 7, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated, modified Ejiri discloses each of the accommodation chambers (gas is discharged through the gas vent valve 10v of any battery cell 10 of the battery modules 100a to 100d, the gas can be efficiently guided to the outside of the casing 550 through the gas ducts GDa to GDd and GDp.[1106-1108]) comprises at least one of the venting devices per each cell unit. (In the combination, gas vent valve (10v) fig. 13 of Nishihara corresponding to gas vent valve 2f [Ejiri, 0030])
As to claim 9, Ejiri discloses the battery cells of each of the cell units are electrically connected to each other in series. [0034]
As to claim 10, modified Ejiri discloses the venting paths of two adjacent ones of the cell units within the same accommodation chamber (As shown in fig. 13, gas vent valves (10v)/2f of Ejiri communicating with gas duct (GD) or accommodation chamber) extend through the spacer stacked between the two adjacent ones of the cell units (Spacers (SP) [0545-0550] fig. 13).
As to claim 11, Ejiri discloses a lateral extension of each of the crossbeams (Connecting rods (7)) defines a lateral extension of the battery housing (fig. 1).
As to claim 12, modified Ejiri discloses a battery housing (casing (housing) CA, [0825]) comprises an interior separation member forming a collecting chamber (Gas Duct (GD) fig. 19) within the housing (Gas Duct (GD) attached to the lower surface of the lid member 80 fig. 19), and wherein each of the venting paths is arranged to extend into the collecting chamber ((10v)/2f overlapped by opening GH of gas duct (GD) [0619-0622] figs. 16 and 19.)
As to claim 13, the rejection of claim 12 is incorporated, modified Ejiri discloses the battery housing (casing (housing) CA, [0825]) comprises a duct member (GDp) for fluid communication between the collecting chamber (Gas Duct GD, GDa-d, fig. 26) and an exterior of the battery pack.( Gas discharged from each battery cell 10 of the battery modules 100a to 100d is guided to the outside of the casing 550 through the inside of the gas ducts GDa to GDd and GDp,[1006-1008]).
As to claim 14, modified Ejiri discloses a vehicle comprising the battery pack according to claim 1. (The electric vehicle according to the present invention includes the battery system 500 [1177-1178]).
As to claim 16, modified Ejiri discloses the venting paths of two adjacent ones of the cell units within the same accommodation chamber (Cell gas vent (10v)/2f to gas duct GDa-d (accommodation chamber) to gas duct GDp [1108]) terminate at a same spacer between the two adjacent ones of the cell units (fig. 26)
As to claim 15, Ejiri discloses a method for assembling a battery pack (Assembly of the above-constructed battery block 1 and power supply device 20 according to the present embodiment [0049]), the method comprising:
providing a battery housing (power supply device 20) comprising a plurality of crossbeams (section plates (5) , [0026]) defining an interior space (fig. 1),
a plurality of cell units (battery cells (2), fig. 1), a plurality of spacers (battery holders (4) fig. 1), and a plurality of venting devices (gas vent valve 2f [0030]); arranging the plurality of crossbeams to divide the interior space of the battery housing into a plurality of separated accommodation chambers (S1-S4, [0050] fig. 1); and arranging the plurality of cell units, the spacers, and the venting devices within the battery housing (Battery box 1 is accommodated in power supply device (20) [0044] fig. 10) ,
wherein each of the cell units (S1-S4) comprises a plurality of stacked battery cells (fig. 1), wherein each of the accommodation chambers accommodates at least two of the cell units separated by the spacer (Holder (4)) stacked therebetween (fig. 1), wherein the plurality of crossbeams (Section plates (5), [0025]) and the plurality of cell units (battery cells (2)) are arranged so that at least one venting path is provided per each of the cell units (gas vent valve 2f [0030])
Ejiri does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the venting paths connects the respective cell unit with a respective venting device of the corresponding accommodation chamber, the respective venting paths terminating at a corresponding venting device such that the venting paths do not pass over any other ones of the cell units.
However in the same field of endeavor Nishihara discloses a battery block [Abstract] and teaches each of the venting paths connecting the respective cell unit (Gas discharge from each battery (10) is guided to the outside by the gas ducts [0148-0153]) with a respective venting device (Gas duct (GDp) [1000-1003] fig. 26) of the corresponding accommodation chamber (Gas ducts GDa to GDd (GDa-d), fig. 26 [0977]), the respective venting paths terminating at a corresponding venting device such that the venting paths do not pass over any other ones of the cell units (Dashed arrows indicating gas flow path of GDa-d not passing over each other fig. 26)
Nishihara further teaches the gas is discharged through any of the gas vent valves of the plurality of battery cells, the gas can be efficiently guided to the outside of the casing. [1123-1125]
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify Ejiri with the gas ducts as taught by Nishihara to more efficient gas discharge and prevent battery damage.
Claim(s) 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ejiri et al.(US2013/0330579A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Ohshiba et al. (US2015/0280189A1).
As to claim 3, Ejiri discloses (printed circuit boards 10A to 10H [0053], and battery cells are connected in series [0051] but does not explicitly disclose a disconnecting member configured to selectively interconnect the partial series connections.
In the same field of endeavor Ohshiba discloses an energy storage apparatus [Abstract] and teaches printed circuit boards may be used to acquire, monitor (voltage and temperature), and control states of a plurality of energy storage devices by turning on/off relays [0073-0074]. Where monitoring, controlling by turning on/off relays provide a selection of a disconnecting member (relay).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify Ejiri with the printed circuit board controlling relays as taught by Ohshiba to control the states of the battery cells and prevent potential battery cell overheating.
As to claim 4, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated, modified Ejiri discloses the battery pack is configured to open the disconnecting member in case of a thermal runaway, a short between the positive battery pack terminal and the negative battery pack terminal (Fuses blow in case of electrical interconnection trouble such as short-circuiting, so an abnormality of the battery block 1 can be rapidly sensed and appropriately processed as well. [0053] and where in the combination modified Ejiri would turn off the relay of Ohshiba or open the disconnecting member.) , and/or an accident of a vehicle comprising the battery pack.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ejiri et al.(US2013/0330579A1) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Han et al. (US2015/0132618A1).
As to claim 8, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated, Ejiri discloses the venting devices (15f) but does not explicitly disclose comprises a burst membrane configured to burst when a pressure within one of the accommodation chambers exceeds a reference pressure.
In the same field of endeavor Han discloses battery module [Abstract] and teaches battery module (10) with duct (300) [0043] fig. 1, whereby battery cells (100) vent gases into the duct (300) via safety vents (151) [0049], and duct (300) has vents (320) which open when an internal pressure exceeds a predetermined level to release gases [0050], and allows a more uniform operating pressure improving safety [0058].
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify Ejiri with the ducts as taught by Han to improve safety.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/10/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, page 5, applicant is entitled to be their own lexicographer with regard to the meaning of “partial series connection,” and it should be construed as a series connection between some of the battery cell units within the battery pack. However “partial” refers to the series connection not the battery cells within the battery pack, and it is unclear how as partial series connection is made. Connecting the battery cells within the module may be made clear by “at least one,” series connection referring to the battery pack as a whole.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Jiang et al. (US2021/0104798A1) Battery pack with gas discharge in case of thermal event.
Huang et al. (US2022/0021063A1) Battery pack with box body divided into compartments with plurality of box beams.
JuzKow et al. (US2021/0218079A1) Early detection of thermal event incident within a battery pack.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BART HORNSBY
Examiner
Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728