DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because in Fig. 3A, the direction of the positive z-axis in the leftmost and rightmost views should be the same, so that elements (205) line up in order to provide the function of passing light through them. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, and claims 2-22 dependent on it, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation of claim 1, “light reflected in the reflective region without going through the object among the illumination light from the first deflection unit” is unclear. Since light is reflected from the object but does not go through the object, this part of the limitation does not make sense; further it is not clear what is meant by “among the illumination light from the first deflection unit”. The claims are interpreted as best understood by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “deflection unit”, “first light guiding unit”, “second light guiding unit”, and “light receiving unit” in claims 1-22, “optical system” in claims 4 and 8-9, and “control unit” in claims 17-19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 11-13,a dn 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brandewie et al. (US 4,042,822).
With regard to claim 1 Brandewie discloses an optical apparatus comprising: (see Fig. 6 reproduced below)
an optical apparatus comprising:
a first deflection unit (3rd col. lines 12-20, rotating scanning mirror 28, shown in Fig. 2) configured to deflect illumination light from a light source (from laser beam expander and ultimately laser (23)) unit to scan an object, and deflect reflected light from the object (from targets);
a first light guiding unit (mirror 29) configured to guide the illumination light from the light source unit to the first deflection unit, and guide the reflected light from the first deflection unit to a light receiving unit; and
a second light guiding unit (corner reflector 34) configured to guide the illumination light from the light source unit to the light receiving unit (detector 40),
wherein the first light guiding unit includes a first passing region (29c) through which the illumination light from the light source unit passes and a reflective region (29b) in which the reflected light (32a) from the first deflection unit is reflected, and
wherein the second light guiding unit is configured to guide, to the light receiving unit (40), light reflected in the reflective region without going through the object among the illumination light from the first deflection unit.
With regard to claim 2, light from the second light guiding unit (34) is incident on the light receiving unit (40) via the (holes in the) first light guiding unit(29).
With regard to claim 3, the first deflection unit is rotatable and non-parallel to an optical axis of the light source (laser), Fig. 2.
With regard to claim 4, an optical system such as a lens guides the illumination light from the first deflection unit to the object and the reflected light from the object to the first deflection unit (2nd col. lines 64-67).
With regard to claim 11, the exit surface (longest side of corner reflector 34) is on the opposite side of the light receiving unit (40) with respect to the first light guiding unit (29).
With regard to claims 12-13, the first light guiding unit includes a second passing region (29d) through which light from the second light guiding unit passes and is incident on the light receiving unit (40), after passing through the first passing region (29c).
With regard to claim 16, the light receiving unit includes optical element (lens 43) and light from the second light guiding unit is incident on the light receiving element via the optical element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandewie et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dussan et al. (US 2017/0307876).
With regard to claims 7-9, Brandewie do not specifically disclose, but Dussan teaches, a second deflection unit configured to deflect the illumination light from the first deflection unit to scan the object and deflect the reflected light from the object to guide the reflected light to the first deflection unit (Fig. 2B, para. [0051], rotating mirrors (250) and (252) about rotational axes (258) and (260) respectively). Dussan further teaches an optical system (relay imaging optics such as a unity magnification telescope, [0055]) configured to guide the illumination light from the first mirror to the second mirror and guide the reflected light from the second mirror to the first mirror. It was well-known in the art to configured the mirror at a position of an exit pupil of the optical system, for an afocal system. These elements taught by Dussan would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, e. g. an optical engineer, before the effective filing date of the application, for the advantage of scanning a two-dimensional area (para. [0052]).
With regard to claims 20-22, Brandewie et al. do not disclose, but Dussan teaches, that the laser range-finding system is part of a moving vehicle, and the vehicle is for example an automonous vehicle configured to determine a possibility of collision between the vehicle and an object based on distance information acquired by the laser range-finding system (paragraphs [0004, 0091, 0102]). This application of laser range-finding is advantageous for autonomous vehicles and therefore mounting the optical system of Brandewie on a vehicle would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, e. g. an optical engineer, before the effective filing date of the application.
Claim(s) 15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandewie et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yoshida ( JP2010204015A, cited in Applicant’s IDS).
With regard to claim 15, Brandewie et al do not disclose that the second light guiding unit is an optical fiber; rather it is the corner reflector. However, in the same field of endeavor, Yoshida teach (Fig. 1) a laser radar device with a light illuminator (10), a first light guiding unit (30) with an area for passing light (32) and a second light guiding unit which is a fiber (74).The fiber provides the same function as the corner reflector in the optical system of Brandewie; furthermore the fiber is more compact because “it is easy to bend and arrange in the apparatus”, Yoshida; therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, e. g. an optical engineer, before the effective filing date of the application, to replace the corner reflector in the optical system of Brandewie with the optical fiber taught by Yoshida.
With regard to claim 17, Brandewie does not disclose, but Yoshida teaches, that a LIDAR (Fig. 1) including a light source, an optical beam steering system, and a light receiving unit (detector) comprises a controller circuit configured to acquire distance information about the object based on an output from the light receiving unit corresponding to the reflected light from the object. Further, Yoshida teaches that the control circuit (80) acquires the distance measurement about the object based on an output from the reflected light from the object.
With regard to claim 18, a part of the laser light from the laser light generating means is guided by the light guide member and emitted to the light detecting means. Further, the correction value calculating means guides the light guide time from the generation of the laser light by the laser light generating means until a part of the laser light is guided by the light guide member and detected by the light detecting means, and the light guide (fiber). A distance correction value is calculated according to the light guide direction distance of the member. Then, the controller corrects the distance to the detected object detected by the distance measurement unit based on the distance correction value calculated by the correction value calculation unit. These elements of Yoshida would have been obvious to include in the system of Brandwie before the effective filing date of the application in order to improve accuracy when the detected light intensity is high.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 10, 14, and 19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on Feb. 13, 2023 and Oct. 7, 2025 have been considered by the Examiner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Okano and Talty et al. disclose LIDAR systems with light guiding systems.
/ERIC L BOLDA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645