DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments as filed 03/02/2026 have been enter. The amendments overcome the 102 rejection as set forth in non-final office action mailed 12/02/2025. However, they do not overcome the 103 or 112(b) rejection. New grounds of rejection are set forth below as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 12,
It is not clear to the examiner if the claimed element is meant to be “Na2MnFe(CN)4”. Prussian blue materials and transition metal cyanides are commonly “Na2MnFe(CN)6” or similar compounds in the prior art (Wang, “The positive electrode active material comprises a prussian blue analogue material, a molecular formula of the prussian blue analogue material is AxM[M′(CN)6]y”, see [0006]). Further, the“Na2MnFe(CN)6” is a compound due to its balanced oxidation numbers, wherein CN’s charge is balanced by the positive charge of Na, Mn, and Fe. “Na2MnFe(CN)4” would, in contrast, be an ion of 2+ . Based on the specification on and the mention of Prussian blue (see [0052]), it is assumed for the sake of examination the applicant intends “Na2MnFe(CN)6”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-12, 14-15, 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-20170133685-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Chae’ in further view of (US-20190131625-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Wang’
Regarding Claim 1,
Chae teaches a battery comprising a positive electrode plate, a negative electrode plate, a separator is arranged between the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate (Chae, “secondary battery is composed of a structure in which an electrode assembly, in which a porous separator is disposed between a positive electrode and a negative electrode in which electrode collectors are coated with each active material, is impregnated with a non-aqueous electrolyte.”, see [0005]), and an electrolyte, the positive electrode plate comprising a positive electrode current collector (Chae, current collector, 100, Fig. 1) and a positive electrode active material layer provided on at least one surface of the positive electrode current collector (Chae, active material, 200, Fig.1 ), the negative electrode plate comprising a negative electrode current collector and a negative electrode active material layer provided on at least one surface of the negative electrode current collector (Chae, “secondary battery is composed of a structure in which an electrode assembly, in which a porous separator is disposed between a positive electrode and a negative electrode in which electrode collectors are coated with each active material, is impregnated with a non-aqueous electrolyte.”, see [0005]), wherein the negative electrode active material layer comprises a negative electrode active material, the negative electrode active material comprises one or more selected from sodium metal, soft carbon, hard carbon, synthetic graphite, natural graphite, silicon, silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon carbon composite, transition metal cyanide, metal-sodium alloy, a polyanionic compound, and sodium-containing transition metal oxide (Chae, “A carbon material, lithium metal, silicon, or tin, which may intercalate and deintercalate lithium ions, may be typically used as a negative electrode active material that is used in the negative electrode”, see [0065]), wherein at least one of the positive electrode active material layer and the negative electrode active material layer comprises a solid water-fixing agent capable of fixing water, the solid water-fixing agent comprises one or more selected from anhydrous sodium sulfate, anhydrous calcium sulfate, anhydrous calcium chloride, anhydrous magnesium sulfate, anhydrous magnesium perchlorate, anhydrous aluminum trichloride, and activated alumina and silica gel (Chae, “The hygroscopic material may include at least one selected from the group consisting of silica gel, zeolite, CaO, BaO, MgSO4, Mg(ClO4)2, MgO, P2O5, Al2O3, CaH2, NaH, LiAlH4, CaSO4, Na2SO4, CaCO3, K2CO3, CaCl2, 4A and 3A molecular sieves, Ba(ClO4)2, crosslinked poly(acrylic acid), and poly(acrylic acid), and may specifically include at least one selected from the group consisting of silica gel, zeolite, P2O5, and Al2O3.”, see [0024]), wherein when the positive electrode active material layer comprises the solid water- fixing agent, a mass percentage of the water-fixing agent in the positive electrode active material layer is 1% - 10%,wherein when the negative electrode active material layer comprises the solid water- fixing agent, a mass percentage of the water-fixing agent in the negative electrode active material layer is 0.5% - 3%. (Chae, “When the amount of the hygroscopic material is 1 part by weight or more based on 100 parts by weight of the active material”, see [0032]). (The examiner points to example 1 which teaches 86% active material, which would make the range of 0.947% or more which is within the range. The examiner notes that 1% of 86% is 0.86 grams, which in the total mass of the electrode including binder and conductive material in [0080] of the prior art would be 0.86g/90.86g=0.947% or more)
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 0.947% or more broadly overlaps the claimed range of 1% - 5% . Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 0.947% or more broadly overlaps the claimed range of 0.5% - 3%. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Chae does not teach a sodium secondary battery wherein the positive electrode active material includes a Prussian blue material
Wang teaches a sodium secondary battery wherein the positive electrode active material includes a Prussian blue material (Wang, “The positive electrode active material comprises a prussian blue analogue material, a molecular formula of the prussian blue analogue material is AxM[M′(CN)6]y”, see [0006]).
Wang teaches that the Prussian blue can have an excellent discharge performance if it can be prevented from having water collapse the cell (Wang, “prevent structure of the prussian blue analogue material from collapsing due to a coordinated water in crystal structure of the prussian blue analogue material being dried out, so that the sodium-ion battery has excellent charge-discharge performance and cycle performance.”, see [0009]).
Chae and Wang are analogous as they are both of the same field of battery materials.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the active material as taught in Chae with the Prussian blue material as taught in Wang in order to improve the cycling performance through using the hygroscopic material taught in Chae.
Regarding Claim 2,
Modified Chae teaches the sodium secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein the water-fixing agent fixes water by means of physical absorption and/or chemical bonding (Chae, “the presence of the more uniformly dispersed hygroscopic material (300) may have an effect of effectively absorbing the moisture in the battery”, see [0044]).
Regarding Claim 3,
Modified Chae teaches the sodium secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein the water-fixing agent fixes water in a form of crystal water (Chae, “The hygroscopic material may function to absorb and remove moisture included in the battery,”, see [0023]).
Regarding Claim 4,
Modified Chae teaches the sodium secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein after heat treatment at 80°C for 30 min, the water-fixing agent with water fixed has a water content WH <5% x the water absorption at saturation of the water-fixing agent; optionally, WH <1% x the water absorption at saturation of the water-fixing agent (Chae, “the active material layer may have a moisture content of 3 wt % or less, particularly 0.1 wt % to 2 wt %, and more particularly 0.5 wt % to 1.5 wt %.”, see [0053])(The examiner notes that the material is included within the active material layer and is the same material as the instant application and therefore would have the same absorption properties see MPEP 2163.07(a)).
Regarding Claim 5,
Modified Chae teaches the sodium secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein after heat treatment at 1500C for 30 min, the electrode plate has a weight loss rate RwL< 15%; optionally, RwL 1-10%; further optionally, RwL is 2% - 6% (The examiner notes that [0088] teaches RwL= (1-M2/M1)*100%, therefore looking at example one the electrode is 86% graphite if we assume that the electrode is 100 grams, the hygroscopic material is 1/10 the graphite (see [0080]). Therefore it is 8.6 grams. Assuming a 1.27% expansion with water and full drying at above the boiling point of water for 30 minutes, the electrode would be 109.5 grams swollen. Therefore the RwL= (1-100/109.5)*100) which is about 8.7% in the range as claimed).
Regarding Claim 6,
Modified Chae teaches the sodium secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein the water-fixing agent has a water absorption at saturation RSA> 40%; optionally, RSA> 80%; further optionally, RSA>100% (The examiner notes that the properties the water-fixing agent should be identical as they are the same as the instant application see MPEP 2163.07(a). However, the water of absorption at saturation was calculated based on anhydrous Na2SO4 compared to its saturated form which Na2SO4*10H2O. This is a 127% increases in mass which is within the range as calculated with the mass of the anhydrous Na2SO4).
Regarding Claim 7,
Modified Chae teaches the sodium secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein the water-fixing agent is a powder with a volume-average particle size D50 of 10 nm - 100 µm; optionally, the water- fixing agent has a Dv50 of 50 nm - 10 µm (Chae, “The hygroscopic material may have an average particle diameter (D50) of 1…., particularly 30 nm to 10 μm”, see [0027]).
Regarding Claim 8,
Modified Chae teaches the sodium secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein the water-fixing agent includes anhydrous calcium chloride (Chae, “the hygroscopic material may include at least one selected from the group consisting of… CaCl2,”, see [0024]).
Regarding Claim 9,
Chae teaches the electrode plate according to claim 1, wherein a mass percentage of the water-fixing agent in the active material layer is 2.5% to 7.5% (Chae, “When the amount of the hygroscopic material is 1 part by weight or more based on 100 parts by weight of the active material”, see [0032))(The examiner points to example 1 which teaches 86% active material, which would make the range of 0.947% or more which is within the range. The examiner notes that 1% of 86% is 0.86 grams, which in the total mass of the electrode including binder and conductive material in [0080] of the prior art would be 0.86g/90.86g=0.947% or more)
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 0.947% or more broadly overlaps the claimed range of is 2.5% to 7.5%. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding Claim 11,
Chae teaches the electrode plate according to claim 1, wherein a mass percentage of the water-fixing agent in the positive electrode active material layer is 1% - 5% (Chae, “When the amount of the hygroscopic material is 1 part by weight or more based on 100 parts by weight of the active material”, see [0032]). (The examiner points to example 1 which teaches 86% active material, which would make the range of 0.947% or more which is within the range. The examiner notes that 1% of 86% is 0.86 grams, which in the total mass of the electrode including binder and conductive material in [0080] of the prior art would be 0.86g/90.86g=0.947% or more)
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 0.947% or more broadly overlaps the claimed range of 1% - 5% . Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding Claim 12,
Chae teaches wherein the positive electrode active material comprises one or more of Na2MnFe(CN)4, Na2FeFe(CN)4, Na2NiFe(CN)4, and Na2CuFe(CN)4 (Wang, “The positive electrode active material comprises a prussian blue analogue material, a molecular formula of the prussian blue analogue material is AxM[M′(CN)6]y”, see [0006]).
Regarding Claim 14,
Chae teaches the electrode plate according to claim 1, wherein a mass percentage of the water-fixing agent in the negative electrode active material layer is 1% - 3% (Chae, “When the amount of the hygroscopic material is 1 part by weight or more based on 100 parts by weight of the active material”, see [0032 (The examiner points to example 1 which teaches 86% active material, which would make the range of 0.947% or more which is within the range. The examiner notes that 1% of 86% is 0.86 grams, which in the total mass of the electrode including binder and conductive material in [0080] of the prior art would be 0.86g/90.86g=0.947% or more).
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 0.947% or more broadly overlaps the claimed range of 1% - 3%. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding Claim 15,
Modified Chae teaches the sodium secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein the negative electrode active material includes one or more of sodium metal, soft carbon, hard carbon, synthetic graphite, natural graphite, silicon, silicon oxides, silicon nitrides, silicon carbon composites, transition metal cyanides, a metal that can form an alloy with sodium, polyanionic compounds, and sodium-containing transition metal oxides (Chae, “A carbon material, lithium metal, silicon, or tin, which may intercalate and deintercalate lithium ions, may be typically used as a negative electrode active material that is used in the negative electrode”, see [0065]).
Regarding Claim 17,
Chae teaches a method for preparing a secondary battery, comprising: providing a positive electrode slurry comprising a positive electrode active material and a first water-fixing agent; coating the positive electrode slurry on at least one surface of a positive electrode current collector (Chae, “coating a slurry including an active material on a current collector to form an active material layer; and (2) infiltrating a dispersion solution comprising a hygroscopic material into the active material layer to allow the hygroscopic material to be disposed in pores which are formed by arranging the active material.”, see [0013]), followed by drying and cold pressing an to obtain positive electrode plate, comprising a positive electrode active material layer formed from the positive electrode slurry, wherein the first water-fixing agent in the positive electrode plate is in a solid state and the first water- fixing agent can fix water (Chae, “After the infiltration of the dispersion solution, the active material layer may be further subjected to a process of compressing and drying, and, before the infiltration of the dispersion solution, the active material layer may be preferentially subjected to a process of drying.”, see [0043]).
a mass percentage of the first water-fixing agent in the positive electrode active material layer is 1% - 10% (Chae, “When the amount of the hygroscopic material is 1 part by weight or more based on 100 parts by weight of the active material”, see [0032]). (The examiner points to example 1 which teaches 86% active material, which would make the range of 0.947% or more which is within the range. The examiner notes that 1% of 86% is 0.86 grams, which in the total mass of the electrode including binder and conductive material in [0080] of the prior art would be 0.86g/90.86g=0.947% or more)
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 0.947% or more broadly overlaps the claimed range of 1% - 10% . Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
providing a negative electrode slurry comprising a negative electrode active material and a second water-fixing agent, wherein the negative electrode active material comprises one or more selected from sodium metal, soft carbon, hard carbon, synthetic graphite, natural graphite, silicon, silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon carbon composite, transition metal cyanide, metal- sodium alloy, a polyanionic compound, and sodium-containing transition metal oxide (Chae, “A carbon material, lithium metal, silicon, or tin, which may intercalate and deintercalate lithium ions, may be typically used as a negative electrode active material that is used in the negative electrode”, see [0065]) ;coating the negative electrode slurry on at least one surface of a negative electrode current collector, followed by drying and cold pressing (Chae, “after the infiltration of the dispersion solution, the active material layer may be further subjected to a process of compressing and drying, and, before the infiltration of the dispersion solution, the active material layer may be preferentially subjected to a process of drying.”, see [0043]) an to obtain a negative electrode plate comprising a negative electrode active material layer formed from the negative electrode slurry, wherein the second water-fixing agent in the negative electrode plate is in a solid state, and the second water-fixing agent can fix water, a mass percentage of the second water-fixing agent in the negative electrode active material layer is 0.5% - 3% (Chae, “When the amount of the hygroscopic material is 1 part by weight or more based on 100 parts by weight of the active material”, see [0032]). (The examiner points to example 1 which teaches 86% active material, which would make the range of 0.947% or more which is within the range. The examiner notes that 1% of 86% is 0.86 grams, which in the total mass of the electrode including binder and conductive material in [0080] of the prior art would be 0.86g/90.86g=0.947% or more)
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 0.947% or more broadly overlaps the claimed range of 1% - 5% . Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 0.947% or more broadly overlaps the claimed range of 0.5% - 3%. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
laminating the positive electrode plate, a separator, and the negative electrode plate in sequence and forming an electrode assembly by winding (Chae, “When the infiltration of the mixed solution was completed, the active material layer was dried and rolled, and a negative electrode was then prepared by punching into a predetermined size.”, see [0080]), placing the electrode assembly into a package, and filling the package with an electrolyte solution to obtain the secondary battery (Chae, “A lithium secondary battery is composed of a structure in which an electrode assembly, in which a porous separator is disposed between a positive electrode and a negative electrode in which electrode collectors are coated with each active material, is impregnated with a non-aqueous electrolyte.”, see [0005]), wherein the first water-fixing agent and second water-fixing agent each independently comprise one or more selected from anhydrous sodium sulfate, anhydrous calcium sulfate, anhydrous calcium chloride, anhydrous magnesium sulfate, anhydrous magnesium perchlorate, anhydrous aluminum trichloride, and activated alumina and silica gel (Chae, “The hygroscopic material may include at least one selected from the group consisting of silica gel, zeolite, CaO, BaO, MgSO4, Mg(ClO4)2, MgO, P2O5, Al2O3, CaH2, NaH, LiAlH4, CaSO4, Na2SO4, CaCO3, K2CO3, CaCl2, 4A and 3A molecular sieves, Ba(ClO4)2, crosslinked poly(acrylic acid), and poly(acrylic acid), and may specifically include at least one selected from the group consisting of silica gel, zeolite, P2O5, and Al2O3.”, see [0024]),.
Chae does not teach a sodium secondary battery wherein the positive electrode active material.
Wang teaches a sodium secondary battery wherein the positive electrode active material includes a transition metal cyanide (Wang, “The positive electrode active material comprises a prussian blue analogue material, a molecular formula of the prussian blue analogue material is AxM[M′(CN)6]y”, see [0006]).
Wang teaches that the Prussian blue can have an excellent discharge performance if it can be prevented from having water collapse the cell (Wang, “prevent structure of the prussian blue analogue material from collapsing due to a coordinated water in crystal structure of the prussian blue analogue material being dried out, so that the sodium-ion battery has excellent charge-discharge performance and cycle performance.”, see [0009]).
Chae and Wang are analogous as they are both of the same field of battery materials.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the active material as taught in Chae with the Prussian blue material as taught in Wang in order to improve the cycling performance through using the hygroscopic material taught in Chae.
Regarding Claim 18,
Modified Chae teaches the sodium-ion secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein in the positive electrode plate, the positive electrode active material comprises Na2MnFe(CN)4, the water-fixing agent comprises anhydrous sodium sulfate (Chae, “The hygroscopic material may include at least one selected from the group consisting of silica gel, zeolite, CaO, BaO, MgSO4, Mg(ClO4)2, MgO, P2O5, Al2O3, CaH2, NaH, LiAlH4, CaSO4, Na2SO4, CaCO3, K2CO3, CaCl2, 4A and 3A molecular sieves, Ba(ClO4)2, crosslinked poly(acrylic acid), and poly(acrylic acid), and may specifically include at least one selected from the group consisting of silica gel, zeolite, P2O5, and Al2O3.”, see [0024]) (Chae, “In a case in which the hygroscopic material is included in an active material layer, the positive electrode may be prepared by the above-described method of preparing an electrode according to the position of the hygroscopic material included”, see [0057])
Regarding Claim 19,
Modified Chae teaches the sodium-ion secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein in the negative electrode plate, the negative electrode active material comprises hard carbon, the water- fixing agent comprises anhydrous sodium sulfate (Chae, “The hygroscopic material may include at least one selected from the group consisting of…, Na2SO4.”, see [0024])(Chae, “Example 1: Preparation of Negative Electrode for Lithium Secondary Battery Including Hygroscopic Material”, see [0079]) (Wang, “The positive electrode active material comprises a prussian blue analogue material, a molecular formula of the prussian blue analogue material is AxM[M′(CN)6]y”, see [0006]).
Regarding Claim 20,
Modified Chae teaches the sodium-ion secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein the positive electrode active material layer comprises the solid water-fixing agent capable of fixing water (Chae, “The hygroscopic material may include at least one selected from the group consisting of silica gel, zeolite, CaO, BaO, MgSO4, Mg(ClO4)2, MgO, P2O5, Al2O3, CaH2, NaH, LiAlH4, CaSO4, Na2SO4, CaCO3, K2CO3, CaCl2, 4A and 3A molecular sieves, Ba(ClO4)2, crosslinked poly(acrylic acid), and poly(acrylic acid), and may specifically include at least one selected from the group consisting of silica gel, zeolite, P2O5, and Al2O3.”, see [0024]).
Regarding Claim 21,
Modified Chae teaches the sodium-ion secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein both the positive electrode active material layer and the negative electrode active material layer comprise the solid water-fixing agent capable of fixing water (Chae, “The hygroscopic material may include at least one selected from the group consisting of silica gel, zeolite, CaO, BaO, MgSO4, Mg(ClO4)2, MgO, P2O5, Al2O3, CaH2, NaH, LiAlH4, CaSO4, Na2SO4, CaCO3, K2CO3, CaCl2, 4A and 3A molecular sieves, Ba(ClO4)2, crosslinked poly(acrylic acid), and poly(acrylic acid), and may specifically include at least one selected from the group consisting of silica gel, zeolite, P2O5, and Al2O3.”, see [0024]) (Chae, “Example 1: Preparation of Negative Electrode for Lithium Secondary Battery Including Hygroscopic Material”, see [0079])(Chae, “In a case in which the hygroscopic material is included in an active material layer, the positive electrode may be prepared by the above-described method of preparing an electrode according to the position of the hygroscopic material included”, see [0057])
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pg. 8, the applicant states,
“The specification is amended throughout to correct informalities and clarify that
transition metal cyanide includes one or more of Na2MnFe(CN)6, Na2FeFe(CN)6, Na2NiFe(CN)6, and Na2CuFe(CN)6.
Applicant respectfully requests that the amendments to the specification be entered.”
The examiner acknowledges changes to the specification, but claim 12 remains unamended with the (CN)4 compounds. Therefore, the 112(b) rejection remains.
On pg. 9, the applicant states,
“when the positive electrode active material layer comprises the solid water-fixing agent, a mass percentage of the water-fixing agent in the positive electrode active material layer is 1% - 10%," and "when the negative electrode active material layer comprises the solid water-fixing agent, a mass percentage of the water-fixing agent in the negative electrode active material layer is 0.5% - 3%." By contrast, the cited references Chae and Wang fail to teach or suggest at least these features.”
33. However, this is not convincing. The teachings of Chae and Wang in combination teach an overlapping range with the claimed ranges, as outlined above. Chae teaches both a positive and negative electrode material with a water fixing agent.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.P.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752