DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt is acknowledged of the Information Disclosure Statement filed 12 March 2023. The Examiner has considered the reference cited therein to the extent that each is a proper citation. Please see the attached USPTO Form.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election of Group I (claims 1-7) without traverse in the reply filed on 02 December 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-10 are withdrawn from consideration from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being withdrawn to a non-elected invention, and non-elected species of the invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claims.
Claims 1-7 are under examination and the requirement for restriction is made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choo et al (“Surface: Small Strain Stiffness and Contact Mode of Iron Oxide-Coated Sands”.
With regard to claim 1, Choo et al. teaches iron oxide particles coating, such as hematite, that are chemically sorbed onto uncemented silica sand (Abstract).
With regard to claim 2, Choo et al. teaches uncemented silica sand (Abstract).
With regard to claim 3, Choo et al. teaches iron oxide such as hematite (Abstract).
With regard to claim 5, Choo et al. teaches the desired size ranging from 0.11 to 0.72 mm (Abstract). 0.11 mm to 0.72 mm corresponds to 110μm to 720μm.
With regard to claim 7, it is noted that the claim body recites “used for heat transfer or storage media in concentrating solar power systems”. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP 2111.02
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Surface: Small Strain Stiffness and Contact Mode of Iron Oxide-Coated Sands” Choo et al, in view of "Review of solid particle materials for heat transfer fluid and thermal energy storage in solar thermal power plants" Calderon et al (already on record).
With regard to claim 4, The teachings of Choo et al are discussed above. Choo et al. fails to explicitly teach the claimed metal oxide parts by weight to the silica.
In the same field of endeavor, Calderon et al. teaches a thermal energy storage medium for concentrated solar power (Abstract) containing silica sand as a solid particle medium (3.2 TES Capacity). Calderon et al. further teaches silica sand as the first suggested for its natural abundance, inert material, fluidity, and good thermal energy storage capacity (3.2 TES Capacity). Calderon et al. further teaches the incorporation of sintered materials, such as aluminum oxide and magnesium oxide; that are easy to fluidize, have high specific heat capacity, and high density (3.3 HEX efficiency). Calderon et al. teaches an aluminum oxide at 6 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the silica sand (Table 9). Calderon et al. further teaches the incorporation of hematite (Fe2O3) and ferrous oxide (FeO) as optional additives in alternative composition (Table 9).
With regard to the metal oxide weight ratio, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize variations of metal oxide weight ratio in a thermal energy storage. The person having ordinary skill in the art would expect the ratio to improve density and heat capacity to the overall composition as taught by Calderon et al. to the base product of Choo.
With regard to claim 6, Choo et al. fails to teach the roundness and sphericity of the particles.
In the same field of endeavor, Calderon et al. teaches the desired roundness and sphericity of the particles to be a 0.9 (Table 1). Calderon et al. further teaches Table 1 suggests properties and functional parameters for solid particle material according to functional parts of the plant or to desirable behavior of the solids (3 Plant Components Interaction with Particle Media).
With regard to the roundness, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to measure the roundness and sphericity of the particles. The person having ordinary skill in the art would expect the accuracy of roundness and sphericity of the particles to improve properties for solid particle materials as taught by Calderon et al. to the base product of Choo.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-12 of copending Application No. 18/531541 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the reasons listed below.
US Application No. 18/531541 claims a thermal transfer media for a concentrating solar system comprising: a core of silica sand and a coating containing iron oxide. The particle size of the thermal transfer media is 100μm to 1000μm. It is clear that all of the elements of the instant claims are to be found in US Application No. 18/531541. The difference between the instant claims and US Application No. 18/531541 lies in the fact the US Application No. 18/531541 has the inclusion of aluminum oxide to the thermal transfer.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/A.A.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/ANGELA C BROWN-PETTIGREW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1761