Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
3. In response to the office action mailed on 10/28/2025, applicant filed an amendment on 01/27/2026, amending claims 1, 3, 5, 9, 11-13, 17, 19, 20. Claim 21 is newly added. Claims 4, 10, 18 are cancelled. The pending claims are 1-3, 5-9, 11-17, and 19-21.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7, 9-15, and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(aa)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng (CN 112951208) in view of Kakkar (US 2023/0306196), and further in view of Arel (US 10573296).
As per claim 5, Cheng teaches receiving first audio data corresponding to a first spoken input in a first language ([0006], [0047], obtaining speech to be recognized from a user learning a foreign language);
determining, using a second machine learning model first language and a second language, first phonemes corresponding to the first spoken input in the first audio data ([0006], [0048], obtaining the classification result of the phoneme of the speech to be identified according to the neural network model; the classification result of the phoneme comprises the phoneme as which phoneme in the mixed phoneme set; the mixed phoneme set comprises all phonemes of the first language and the second language; the first language is the target language; the second language is the mother tongue of the pronunciation of the speech to be identified);
determining, from stored data, second phonemes corresponding to at least a first word included in the first spoken input ([0007], [0049], the neural network model is used to identify which phoneme in the speech to be recognized is the phoneme of the target language or the phoneme of the native language);
based at least in part on the first phonemes the second phonemes, determining first output data indicating pronunciation feedback with respect to the first spoken input ([0053]- [0078], [0100], determining whether similarity conditions are met or not to determine mispronounced phonemes, and determining, based on first and second phonemes, and the similarity data, mispronounced phonemes); and
causing presentation of the first output data ([0043], [0049], displaying processing results, and providing richer feedback to users so that users can correct and improve their pronunciation in a targeted manner).
Cheng may not explicitly disclose receiving a plurality of machine-generated words that are generated using at least one word and a first machine learning model, the plurality of machine-generated words representing at least one of grammatical errors, mispronunciations, and spelling errors corresponding to the at least one word; and training a second machine learning model to recognize phonemes of a first language and phonemes of a second language, the training using training data corresponding to the plurality of machine-generated words and the at least one word. However, Kakkar in the same field of endeavor teaches a system and method for machine translation-based spelling correction and more particularly, to machine learning assisted spelling corrections, wherein one or more spelling errors may be generated and stored as spelling error training data. Then, the processor is further configured to train the attention model with synthetically generated training data ([0044]). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the application was filed to use the above feature of Kakkar with the system of Cheng, in order to improve accuracy and minimize errors. As to wherein the plurality of words are generated by a first machine learning model and training a second machine learning model using the generated words, Arel in the same field of endeavor teaches using a machine learning model to process a synthetic training data item, wherein synthetic training data item is generated/received by a first machine learning model and may be used to train a second machine learning model that processes data output by the acoustic model (Abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the application was filed to use the above feature of Arel with the system of Cheng in view of Kakkar, in order to improve accuracy and minimize errors.
As per claim 6, Cheng teaches determining that a first portion of the first phonemes correspond to the second language, the first portion representing a second portion of the first word; determining second audio data representing the second portion of the first word in the first language; and causing presentation of the second audio data ([0050], the word "nice" includes the three phonemes "n", "ai" and "s". In Chinglish, the phoneme "n" may be pronounced as the Chinese phoneme "na", and the phoneme "ai" may be pronounced as the Chinese phoneme"~"- The neural network model in the embodiment of the present application can identify whether each phoneme in the speech is pronounced as an English phoneme or a Chinese phoneme).
As per claim 7, Cheng teaches determining that a first portion of the first phonemes are different than a second portion of the second phonemes; and based at least in part on the first portion of the first phonemes being different than the second portion of the second phonemes, determining the first output data to include at least a representation of the second portion of the second phonemes ([0113], wherein said, the evaluation result of whether the pronunciation of phonemes is biased towards Chinese phonemes or English phonemes is fed back to the user, so that the user can correct the pronunciation that is biased towards Chinese phonemes in a targeted manner, thereby effectively improving the user's pronunciation level).
As per claim 9, Cheng teaches determining training data including: second words corresponding to the first language, the second words labeled with third phonemes, and third words corresponding to the second language, the third words labeled with fourth phonemes ([0013], training the neural network model based on phoneme samples with labels, where the labels are similarities with respect to phonemes in the mixed phoneme set). As to receiving audio data corresponding to the first data, the plurality of machine-generated words, and the at least one word, wherein the training data includes the audio data, Cheng teaches a speech recognition system (Abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the application was filed for the system of Cheng in view of Kakkar and Arel to receive the claimed audio data. This would improve accuracy in speech recognition results.
As per claim 11, Cheng teaches wherein determining the similarity data representing a difference between the first phonemes and the second phonemes; determining that the similarity data satisfies a condition; and in response to the similarity data satisfying the condition, determining the first output data ([0100], determining, based on first and second phonemes similarity/difference, mispronounced phonemes. [0114]- [0116], the score of the phoneme relative to the correct phoneme can also be obtained through a neural network model. This score serves as a score for the phoneme, used to feedback the pronunciation quality of the phoneme. See more in claim 5 rejection).
As per claim 12, Cheng teaches determining a first value representing a difference between the first phonemes and the second phonemes, determining that the first value satisfies a first condition; in response to the first value satisfying the first condition, determining the first output data ([0057]- [0078], [0100]) ; receiving second audio data corresponding to a second spoken input in the first language and including at least the first word; determining, using the machine learning model, third phonemes corresponding to the second audio data; determining a second value representing a difference between the third phonemes and the second phonemes; and based at least in part on the second spoken input succeeding the first spoken input, determining that the second value satisfies a second condition different than the first condition ([0038], wherein said, input device 120 can input a section of voice can also input multiple sections of voice; and [0050], [0057]- [0078], [0100] for determining, based on first and second phonemes similarity, mispronounced phonemes).
As per claims 13-15, 17-20, system claims 13-15, 17-20 and method claims 5-7, 9-12 are related as apparatus and the method of using same, with each claimed element's function corresponding to the claimed method step. Accordingly claims 13-15, 17-20 are similarly rejected under the same rationale as applied above with respect to method claims 5-7, 9-12. Furthermore, Cheng teaches one or more processors; and memory storing thereon instructions, as claimed ([0039]- [0040]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(aa)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng in view of Kakkar and Arel, and further in view of Cobo Rus (US 20220254330).
As per claim 21, may not explicitly disclose wherein the second machine learning model is an autoregressive model. Cobo Rus in the same field of endeavor teaches a speech processing system training an autoregressive model ([0035], [0087]). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the application was filed to use the above feature of Cobo Rus with the system of Cheng in view of Kakkar and Arel, in order to provide efficient results.
Claims 1-3, 8, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Kakkar and Arel, and further in view of Shpiro (US 2004/0176960).
As per claim 1, Cheng teaches causing presentation of first output data requesting a user to speak a first word in a first language (Abstract);
receiving, in response to the first output data, first audio data corresponding to a first spoken input including the first word ([0006], [0047], obtaining speech to be recognized from a user learning a foreign language);
determining, using a machine learning model, first phonemes corresponding to the first word in the first audio data ([0006], [0048], obtaining the classification result of the phoneme of the speech to be identified according to the neural network model; the classification result of the phoneme comprises the phoneme as which phoneme in the mixed phoneme set; the mixed phoneme set comprises all phonemes of the first language and the second language; the first language is the target language; the second language is the mother tongue of the pronunciation of the speech to be identified);
determining, from stored data, second phonemes corresponding to the first word as represented in first output data, the second phonemes being pronunciation reference phonemes for the first word ([0007], [0049], the neural network model is used to identify which phoneme in the speech to be recognized is the phoneme of the target language or the phoneme of the native language");
determining similarity data representing a similarity between the first phonemes and the second phonemes paragraph [0053]- [0054], determining similarity between phonemes of speech to be identified and phonemes samples representing reference data used by the neural network model to identify whether an input phoneme is an English phoneme or Chinese phoneme. The similarity is determined for the phonemes with obvious difference as 0 and for different phonemes, the intersection ratio of the pronunciation mode feature set can be used as the similarity of them ([0076]). Furthermore, paragraph [0105] of Cheng teaches, after training the neural network model, when speech recognition, firstly obtaining the phoneme characteristic of speech to be identified; then according to the characteristic of the phoneme and the neural network model, obtaining the classification result of the phoneme. The obtaining way of the character of the phoneme can adopt the obtaining way which is the same as the aforementioned training stage);
determining that the similarity data satisfies a condition indicating that at least a first phoneme of the first word is mispronounced in the first spoken input (in addition to paragraphs [0057]- [0078], [0100], wherein Cheng teaches setting similarity condition, applicant is referred to paragraph [0108], wherein the evaluation result of the speech to be identified comprises whether the pronunciation of the phoneme is correct, whether the pronunciation of the phoneme is biased to Chinese phonemes or English phonemes. More, applicant is referred to paragraphs [0114]- [0119], wherein similarity score of each phoneme in the speech to be recognized is used to determine whether the pronunciation is correct or incorrect, biased to the target language phonemes or the native language phonemes);
determining second output data indicating that the at least first phoneme of the first word is mispronounced in the first spoken input ([0100], determining, based on first and second phonemes similarity, mispronounced phonemes); and
causing presentation of the second output data ([0043], [0049], displaying processing results, and providing richer feedback to users so that users can correct and improve their pronunciation in a targeted manner).
Cheng may not explicitly disclose causing presentation of first output data representing a prompt for a user to speak a first word in a first language. Shpiro in the same field of endeavor teaches causing presentation of first output data representing a prompt for a user to speak a first word in a first language ([0019] FIG. 3 shows the display screen of the FIG. 1 system providing a prompt for a user to speak a word and thereby provide the system with a user utterance for analysis). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the application was filed to use the above feature of Shpiro with the system of Cheng, in order to improve articulation and sound production and benefit individuals learning foreign languages.
Chengin view of Shpiro may not explicitly disclose receiving a plurality of machine-generated words that are generated using at least one word and a first machine learning model, the plurality of machine-generated words representing at least one of grammatical errors, mispronunciations, and spelling errors corresponding to the at least one word; and training a second machine learning model to recognize phonemes of a first language and phonemes of a second language, the training using training data corresponding to the plurality of machine-generated words and the at least one word. However, Kakkar in the same field of endeavor teaches a system and method for machine translation-based spelling correction and more particularly, to machine learning assisted spelling corrections, wherein one or more spelling errors may be generated and stored as spelling error training data. Then, the processor is further configured to train the attention model with synthetically generated training data ([0044]). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the application was filed to use the above feature of Kakkar with the system of Cheng in view of Shpiro, in order to improve accuracy and minimize errors. As to wherein the plurality of words are generated by a first machine learning model and training a second machine learning model using the generated words, Arel in the same field of endeavor teaches using a machine learning model to process a synthetic training data item, wherein synthetic training data item is generated/received by a first machine learning model and may be used to train a second machine learning model that processes data output by the acoustic model (Abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the application was filed to use the above feature of Arel with the system of Cheng in view of Shpiro and Kakkar, in order to improve accuracy and minimize errors.
As per claim 2, Cheng teaches determining a second portion of the first phonemes corresponding to a first portion of the first word; determining that the second portion of the first phonemes correspond to the second language; determining a third portion of the second phonemes corresponding to the first portion of the first word; based at least in part on determining that the second portion of the first phonemes correspond to the second language, determining second output data indicating pronunciation of the third portion of the second phonemes; and causing presentation of the second output data ([0050], the word "nice" includes the three phonemes "n", "ai" and "s". In Chinglish, the phoneme "n" may be pronounced as the Chinese phoneme "na", and the phoneme "ai" may be pronounced as the Chinese phoneme"~"- The neural network model in the embodiment of the present application can identify whether each phoneme in the speech is pronounced as an English phoneme or a Chinese phoneme).
As per claim 3, Cheng teaches training the machine learning model using: a first plurality of words corresponding to the first language, the first plurality of words labeled with third phonemes, and a second plurality of words corresponding to the second language, the second plurality of words labeled with fourth phonemes ([0013], training the neural network model based on phoneme samples with labels, where the labels are similarities with respect to phonemes in the mixed phoneme set. See also rejection of claim 1).
As per claims 8 and 16, Cheng may not explicitly disclose determining the first output data indicating a first portion of the second phonemes to be stressed during pronunciation. Shpiro in the same field of endeavor teaches determining the first output data indicating a first portion of the second phonemes to be stressed during pronunciation ([0015], [0039]). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the application was filed to use the above feature of Shpiro with the system of Cheng, in order to improve speech recognition system by identifying, quantifying, and correcting pronunciation errors that may affect the accuracy and reliability of speech recognition results
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/ABDELALI SERROU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2659