Response to Amendment
2. In response to the office action mailed on 02/24/2026, applicant filed an amendment on 06/09/2026, amending claims 5 and 13; and adding claims 22-23. Claims 1-4, 10, and 18 are cancelled. The pending claims are 5-9, 11-17, and 19-23.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed with regard to the pending claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the combination of Kakkar and Arel teaches, at best, an attention model trained for spelling/query correction and a transcoder for processing phoneme representations to identify an intent associated with an input. In contrast, the instant claims are directed to a method / system "for providing pronunciation feedback for a spoken input," where phonemes corresponding to a spoken input in a first language is determined using a second machine learning model and processed to provide pronunciation feedback via a user device. The second machine learning model is trained to recognize phonemes of a first language and phonemes of a second language, and in this case, the first language is the language to be learned by the user and the second language is the native language of the user. As should be appreciated from the foregoing, the pending claims are directed to providing pronunciation feedback to a user using the trained second machine learning model, not for spelling/query correction, language translation, or intent detection as described in Kakkar and Arel.
The examiner notes that the prior art Cheng teaches receiving, by a user device, first audio data corresponding to a first spoken input in a first language, as evidenced by paragraphs [0006], [0047], wherein, obtaining speech to be recognized from a user learning a foreign language. As to wherein the first language corresponds to a language to be learned by a user and the second language corresponds to a native language of the user, applicant is referred to Cheng’s Abstract, wherein said, the first language is a target language, and the second language is a native language of a speaker of the to-be-recognized voice.
As per the rest of the claims, and combinations of prior art reference, applicant has no further arguments beside the ones mentioned above. Therefore, all the combinations of prior art reference mentioned above are valid, and all other claims are rejected for the same reasons as set above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7, 9, 11-15, 17, 19-20, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Cheng (CN 112951208) in view of Kakkar (US 2023/0306196), and further in view of Arel (US 10573296).
As per claim 5, Cheng teaches receiving, by a user device, first audio data corresponding to a first spoken input in a first language ([0006], [0047], obtaining speech to be recognized from a user learning a foreign language), wherein the first language corresponds to a language to be learned by a user and the second language corresponds to a native language of the user (Abstract, wherein said, the first language is a target language, and the she second language is a native language of a speaker of the to-be-recognized voice);
determining, using a second machine learning model first language and a second language, first phonemes corresponding to the first spoken input in the first audio data ([0006], [0048], obtaining the classification result of the phoneme of the speech to be identified according to the neural network model; the classification result of the phoneme comprises the phoneme as which phoneme in the mixed phoneme set; the mixed phoneme set comprises all phonemes of the first language and the second language; the first language is the target language; the second language is the mother tongue of the pronunciation of the speech to be identified);
determining, from stored data, second phonemes corresponding to at least a first word included in the first spoken input ([0007], [0049], the neural network model is used to identify which phoneme in the speech to be recognized is the phoneme of the target language or the phoneme of the native language);
based at least in part on the first phonemes the second phonemes, determining first output data indicating pronunciation feedback with respect to the first spoken input ([0053]- [0078], [0100], determining whether similarity conditions are met or not to determine mispronounced phonemes, and determining, based on first and second phonemes, and the similarity data, mispronounced phonemes); and
causing presentation of the first output data ([0043], [0049], displaying processing results, and providing richer feedback to users so that users can correct and improve their pronunciation in a targeted manner).
Cheng may not explicitly disclose receiving a plurality of machine-generated words that are generated using at least one word and a first machine learning model, the plurality of machine-generated words representing at least one of grammatical errors, mispronunciations, and spelling errors corresponding to the at least one word; and training a second machine learning model to recognize phonemes of a first language and phonemes of a second language, the training using training data corresponding to the plurality of machine-generated words and the at least one word. However, Kakkar in the same field of endeavor teaches a system and method for machine translation-based spelling correction and more particularly, to machine learning assisted spelling corrections, wherein one or more spelling errors may be generated and stored as spelling error training data. Then, the processor is further configured to train the attention model with synthetically generated training data ([0044]). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the application was filed to use the above feature of Kakkar with the system of Cheng, in order to improve accuracy and minimize errors. As to wherein the plurality of words are generated by a first machine learning model and training a second machine learning model using the generated words, Arel in the same field of endeavor teaches using a machine learning model to process a synthetic training data item, wherein synthetic training data item is generated/received by a first machine learning model and may be used to train a second machine learning model that processes data output by the acoustic model (Abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the application was filed to use the above feature of Arel with the system of Cheng in view of Kakkar, in order to improve accuracy and minimize errors.
As per claim 6, Cheng teaches determining that a first portion of the first phonemes correspond to the second language, the first portion representing a second portion of the first word; determining second audio data representing the second portion of the first word in the first language; and causing presentation of the second audio data ([0050], the word "nice" includes the three phonemes "n", "ai" and "s". In Chinglish, the phoneme "n" may be pronounced as the Chinese phoneme "na", and the phoneme "ai" may be pronounced as the Chinese phoneme"~"- The neural network model in the embodiment of the present application can identify whether each phoneme in the speech is pronounced as an English phoneme or a Chinese phoneme).
As per claim 7, Cheng teaches determining that a first portion of the first phonemes are different than a second portion of the second phonemes; and based at least in part on the first portion of the first phonemes being different than the second portion of the second phonemes, determining the first output data to include at least a representation of the second portion of the second phonemes ([0113], wherein said, the evaluation result of whether the pronunciation of phonemes is biased towards Chinese phonemes or English phonemes is fed back to the user, so that the user can correct the pronunciation that is biased towards Chinese phonemes in a targeted manner, thereby effectively improving the user's pronunciation level).
As per claim 9, Cheng teaches determining training data including: second words corresponding to the first language, the second words labeled with third phonemes, and third words corresponding to the second language, the third words labeled with fourth phonemes ([0013], training the neural network model based on phoneme samples with labels, where the labels are similarities with respect to phonemes in the mixed phoneme set). As to receiving audio data corresponding to the first data, the plurality of machine-generated words, and the at least one word, wherein the training data includes the audio data, Cheng teaches a speech recognition system (Abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the application was filed for the system of Cheng in view of Kakkar and Arel to receive the claimed audio data. This would improve accuracy in speech recognition results.
As per claim 11, Cheng teaches wherein determining the similarity data representing a difference between the first phonemes and the second phonemes; determining that the similarity data satisfies a condition; and in response to the similarity data satisfying the condition, determining the first output data ([0100], determining, based on first and second phonemes similarity/difference, mispronounced phonemes. [0114]- [0116], the score of the phoneme relative to the correct phoneme can also be obtained through a neural network model. This score serves as a score for the phoneme, used to feedback the pronunciation quality of the phoneme. See more in claim 5 rejection).
As per claim 12, Cheng teaches determining a first value representing a difference between the first phonemes and the second phonemes, determining that the first value satisfies a first condition; in response to the first value satisfying the first condition, determining the first output data ([0057]- [0078], [0100]) ; receiving second audio data corresponding to a second spoken input in the first language and including at least the first word; determining, using the machine learning model, third phonemes corresponding to the second audio data; determining a second value representing a difference between the third phonemes and the second phonemes; and based at least in part on the second spoken input succeeding the first spoken input, determining that the second value satisfies a second condition different than the first condition ([0038], wherein said, input device 120 can input a section of voice can also input multiple sections of voice; and [0050], [0057]- [0078], [0100] for determining, based on first and second phonemes similarity, mispronounced phonemes).
As per claims 13-15, 17, 19-20, system claims 13-15, 17, 19-20 and method claims 5-7, 9, 11-12 are related as apparatus and the method of using same, with each claimed element's function corresponding to the claimed method step. Accordingly claims 13-15, 17, 19-20 are similarly rejected under the same rationale as applied above with respect to method claims 5-7, 9, 11-12. Furthermore, Cheng teaches one or more processors; and memory storing thereon instructions, as claimed ([0039]- [0040]).
As per claim 22, Cheng teaches prior to receiving the first audio data, causing, by the user device, presentation of second output data requesting that the user speak a first word in the first language; and receiving, by the user device, the first audio data in response to the second output data, wherein the first audio data represents at least the first word. Cheng at [0006], [0047], teaches a device obtaining speech to be recognized from a user learning a language. The speech received from the learner could be based on text displayed on a screen of device for the user to read (Kakkar, [0057]). Presenting a text to be read by a user learning pronunciation is well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the application was filed for Cheng’s obtained speech to be read from a device screen as the one of Kakkar, in order for the user to learn a foreign language.
As per claim 23, Cheng teaches determining a second portion of the first phonemes corresponding to a first portion of a first word; determining that the second portion of the first phonemes correspond to the second language; determining a third portion of the second phonemes corresponding to the first portion of the first word; based at least in part on determining that the second portion of the first phonemes correspond to the second language, determining second output data indicating pronunciation of the third portion of the second phonemes; and causing presentation of the second output data ([0050], the word "nice" includes
the three phonemes "n", "ai" and "s". In Chinglish, the phoneme "n" may be pronounced as the Chinese phoneme "na", and the phoneme "ai" may be pronounced as the Chinese phoneme "~”. The neural network model in the embodiment of the present application can identify whether each phoneme in the speech is pronounced as an English phoneme or a Chinese phoneme).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Kakkar and Arel, and further in view of Cobo Rus (US 20220254330).
As per claim 21, Cheng in view of Kakkar and Arel may not explicitly disclose wherein the second machine learning model is an autoregressive model. Cobo Rus in the same field of endeavor teaches a speech processing system training an autoregressive model ([0035], [0087]). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the application was filed to use the above feature of Cobo Rus with the system of Cheng in view of Kakkar and Arel, in order to provide efficient results.
Claims 8, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Kakkar and Arel, and further in view of Shpiro (US 2004/0176960).
As per claims 8 and 16, Cheng may not explicitly disclose determining the first output data indicating a first portion of the second phonemes to be stressed during pronunciation. Shpiro in the same field of endeavor teaches determining the first output data indicating a first portion of the second phonemes to be stressed during pronunciation ([0015], [0039]). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the application was filed to use the above feature of Shpiro with the system of Cheng, in order to improve speech recognition system by identifying, quantifying, and correcting pronunciation errors that may affect the accuracy and reliability of speech recognition results
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABDELALI SERROU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2659