DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 11, 12, and 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gou et al. (US 20240407010 A1) in view of Ko et al. (US 20260106705 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gou et al. disclose an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one processor; and memory coupled with the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to: receive an indication that an occasion of a set of one or more occasions for a message occurs over a plurality of symbols (paragraph [0047] and claim 12; obtaining by the UE an occasion (RO) configuration for transmission. The RO spans the UL subband and flexible in the time domain. The RO may start from a subband full duplex (SBFD) symbol configured with the UL subband and ending in a non-SBFD symbol), wherein the plurality of symbols comprises a set of full-duplex symbols and a set of non-full-duplex symbols (fig. 8A-C; RO spans a plurality of symbols from SBFD to non-SBFD); and communicate the message via the occasion in accordance with a set of rules and based at least in part on the occasion being across at least one full-duplex symbol of the set of full-duplex symbols and at least one non-full-duplex symbol of the set of non-full-duplex symbols (paragraph [0109]; RO spans the UL subband and symbols not allocated to the UL subband in the time domain) (paragraphs [0058-0059]; the validity of RO for transmission is determined based on a set of predetermined rules. The set of predetermined rules comprises one of the RO spans the UL subband and an uplink symbol in the time domain, that the RO spans the UL subband and a flexible symbol in the time domain). However, Gou et al. may not explicitly suggest the plurality of symbols is within a same slot, wherein the plurality of symbols comprises a set of full-duplex symbols and a set of non-full-duplex symbols within the same slot; and wherein communicating the message in accordance with the set of rules comprises dropping one or more resource blocks of the message. Ko et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor suggest a plurality of symbols is within a same slot, wherein the plurality of symbols comprises a set of full-duplex symbols and a set of non-full-duplex symbols within the same slot (paragraph [0246]; transmission/reception occasion of a physical channel/signal can be mapped to SBFD and non-SBFD symbols within a slot for a UE); and wherein communicating the message in accordance with the set of rules comprises dropping one or more resource blocks of the message (paragraphs [0276-0280] [0244]; CORESET and a search space are configured that the MOs of the search space occur in both SBFD and non-SBFD symbols and the associated CORESET overlaps the boundary of a DL subband in SBFD symbols, at least the following options can be considered for SBFD-aware UE such as dropping search space(s) when the associated CORESET overlaps with RBs outside DL subband(s). DL/UL channel/signal overlapping with RBs outside DL/UL subbands in a SBFD slot is dropped). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate in Gou et al.’s method/system where a plurality of symbols is within a same slot, wherein the plurality of symbols comprises a set of full-duplex symbols and a set of non-full-duplex symbols within the same slot, and wherein communicating the message in accordance with the set of rules comprises dropping one or more resource blocks of the message as suggested by Ko et al. The motivation would have been to reduce delay time and provide efficient resource utilization (paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 2, Gou et al. further suggest wherein the set of rules indicate that communication of the message via the occasion is allowed based at least in part on the message being a first type of message and the occasion comprising a multi-symbol resource having a transmission direction that conflicts with at least one subband of the at least one full-duplex symbol of the set of full-duplex symbols (paragraph [0059]; the set of predefined rules comprises that the RO is valid. The RO is configured in the UL subband in at least one downlink symbols, the base station configures/schedules uplink transmission in the UL subband, the base station configures/schedules a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) associated with the PRACH transmission in the UL subband) (fig. 8C; RO 835 spans the UL subband and an uplink symbol in the time domain. RO comprises multi-symbol resource having UL subband (UL transmission) in DL symbols 841-844 (transmission direction conflicts with a least one subband (DL)).
Regarding claim 3, Gou et al. further suggest wherein the first type of message comprises a physical uplink shared channel, or a physical downlink shared channel, or one or more reference signals (paragraph [0062]; RO is configured for PUSCH associated with PRACH transmission in the UL subband).
Regarding claim 11, Gou et al. further suggest wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to: determine that the message corresponds to a downlink transmission and the occasion comprises a multi-symbol resource having a transmission direction that corresponds to a transmission direction of a first subband of the at least one full-duplex symbol, wherein the message is non-overlapping with one or more other subbands of the at least one full-duplex symbol, and wherein communicating the message comprises receiving the downlink transmission via the first subband (paragraph [0131]; downlink reception is scheduled in the UL subband) (fig. 8A-C; RO (815, 825, 835) in the UL subband is not overlapping with other subbands (DL)).
Regarding claim 12, Gou et al. further suggest wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to: determine that the message corresponds to an uplink transmission and the occasion comprises a multi-symbol resource having a transmission direction that corresponds to a transmission direction of a first subband of the at least one full-duplex symbol, wherein the message is non-overlapping with one or more other subbands of the at least one full-duplex symbol, and wherein communicating the message comprises transmitting the uplink transmission via the first subband (paragraph [0061]; uplink transmission is scheduled in the UL subband, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) associated with the PRACH transmission is scheduled in the UL subband) (fig. 8A-C; RO (815, 825, 835) in the UL subband is not overlapping with other subbands (DL)).
Regarding claim 28, Gou et al. disclose an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: at least one processor; and memory coupled with the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to: transmit, to a user equipment (UE), an indication that an occasion of a set of one or more occasions for a message occurs over a plurality of symbols (paragraph [0047] and claim 12; obtaining by the UE an occasion (RO) configuration for transmission. The RO spans the UL subband and flexible in the time domain. The RO may start from a subband full duplex (SBFD) symbol configured with the UL subband and ending in a non-SBFD symbol), wherein the plurality of symbols comprises a set of full-duplex symbols and a set of non-full-duplex symbols (fig. 8A-C; RO spans a plurality of symbols from SBFD to non-SBFD); and communicate the message via the occasion in accordance with a set of rules and based at least in part on the occasion being across at least one full-duplex symbol of the set of full-duplex symbols and at least one non-full-duplex symbol of the set of non-full-duplex symbols (paragraph [0109]; RO spans the UL subband and symbols not allocated to the UL subband in the time domain) (paragraphs [0058-0059]; the validity of RO for transmission is determined based on a set of predetermined rules. The set of predetermined rules comprises one of the RO spans the UL subband and an uplink symbol in the time domain, that the RO spans the UL subband and a flexible symbol in the time domain). However, Gou et al. may not explicitly suggest the plurality of symbols is within a same slot, wherein the plurality of symbols comprises a set of full-duplex symbols and a set of non-full-duplex symbols within the same slot; and wherein communicating the message in accordance with the set of rules comprises dropping one or more resource blocks of the message. Ko et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor suggest a plurality of symbols is within a same slot, wherein the plurality of symbols comprises a set of full-duplex symbols and a set of non-full-duplex symbols within the same slot (paragraph [0246]; transmission/reception occasion of a physical channel/signal can be mapped to SBFD and non-SBFD symbols within a slot for a UE); and wherein communicating the message in accordance with the set of rules comprises dropping one or more resource blocks of the message (paragraphs [0276-0280] [0244]; CORESET and a search space are configured that the MOs of the search space occur in both SBFD and non-SBFD symbols and the associated CORESET overlaps the boundary of a DL subband in SBFD symbols, at least the following options can be considered for SBFD-aware UE such as dropping search space(s) when the associated CORESET overlaps with RBs outside DL subband(s). DL/UL channel/signal overlapping with RBs outside DL/UL subbands in a SBFD slot is dropped). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate in Gou et al.’s method/system where a plurality of symbols is within a same slot, wherein the plurality of symbols comprises a set of full-duplex symbols and a set of non-full-duplex symbols within the same slot; and wherein communicating the message in accordance with the set of rules comprises dropping one or more resource blocks of the message as suggested by Ko et al. The motivation would have been to reduce delay time and provide efficient resource utilization (paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 29, Gou et al. disclose a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving an indication that an occasion of a set of one or more occasions for a message occurs over a plurality of symbols (paragraph [0047] and claim 12; obtaining by the UE an occasion (RO) configuration for transmission. The RO spans the UL subband and flexible in the time domain. The RO may start from a subband full duplex (SBFD) symbol configured with the UL subband and ending in a non-SBFD symbol), wherein the plurality of symbols comprises a set of full-duplex symbols and a set of non-full-duplex symbols (fig. 8A-C; RO spans a plurality of symbols from SBFD to non-SBFD), and communicating the message via the occasion in accordance with a set of rules and based at least in part on the occasion being across at least one full-duplex symbol of the set of full-duplex symbols and at least one non-full-duplex symbol of the set of non-full-duplex symbols (paragraph [0109]; RO spans the UL subband and symbols not allocated to the UL subband in the time domain) (paragraphs [0058-0059]; the validity of RO for transmission is determined based on a set of predetermined rules. The set of predetermined rules comprises one of the RO spans the UL subband and an uplink symbol in the time domain, that the RO spans the UL subband and a flexible symbol in the time domain). However, Gou et al. may not explicitly suggest the plurality of symbols is within a same slot, wherein the plurality of symbols comprises a set of full-duplex symbols and a set of non-full-duplex symbols within the same slot; and wherein communicating the message in accordance with the set of rules comprises dropping one or more resource blocks of the message. Ko et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor suggest a plurality of symbols is within a same slot, wherein the plurality of symbols comprises a set of full-duplex symbols and a set of non-full-duplex symbols within the same slot (paragraph [0246]; transmission/reception occasion of a physical channel/signal can be mapped to SBFD and non-SBFD symbols within a slot for a UE); and wherein communicating the message in accordance with the set of rules comprises dropping one or more resource blocks of the message (paragraphs [0276-0280] [0244]; CORESET and a search space are configured that the MOs of the search space occur in both SBFD and non-SBFD symbols and the associated CORESET overlaps the boundary of a DL subband in SBFD symbols, at least the following options can be considered for SBFD-aware UE such as dropping search space(s) when the associated CORESET overlaps with RBs outside DL subband(s). DL/UL channel/signal overlapping with RBs outside DL/UL subbands in a SBFD slot is dropped). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate in Gou et al.’s method/system where a plurality of symbols is within a same slot, wherein the plurality of symbols comprises a set of full-duplex symbols and a set of non-full-duplex symbols within the same slot; and wherein communicating the message in accordance with the set of rules comprises dropping one or more resource blocks of the message as suggested by Ko et al. The motivation would have been to reduce delay time and provide efficient resource utilization (paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 30, Gou et al. disclose a method for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), an indication that an occasion of a set of one or more occasions for a message occurs over a plurality of symbols (paragraph [0047] and claim 12; obtaining by the UE an occasion (RO) configuration for transmission. The RO spans the UL subband and flexible in the time domain. The RO may start from a subband full duplex (SBFD) symbol configured with the UL subband and ending in a non-SBFD symbol), wherein the plurality of symbols comprises a set of full-duplex symbols and a set of non-full-duplex symbols (fig. 8A-C; RO spans a plurality of symbols from SBFD to non-SBFD); and communicating the message via the occasion in accordance with a set of rules and based at least in part on the occasion being across at least one full-duplex symbol of the set of full-duplex symbols and at least one non-full-duplex symbol of the set of non-full-duplex symbols (paragraph [0109]; RO spans the UL subband and symbols not allocated to the UL subband in the time domain) (paragraphs [0058-0059]; the validity of RO for transmission is determined based on a set of predetermined rules. The set of predetermined rules comprises one of the RO spans the UL subband and an uplink symbol in the time domain, that the RO spans the UL subband and a flexible symbol in the time domain). However, Gou et al. may not explicitly suggest the plurality of symbols is within a same slot, wherein the plurality of symbols comprises a set of full-duplex symbols and a set of non-full-duplex symbols within the same slot; and wherein communicating the message in accordance with the set of rules comprises dropping one or more resource blocks of the message. Ko et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor suggest a plurality of symbols is within a same slot, wherein the plurality of symbols comprises a set of full-duplex symbols and a set of non-full-duplex symbols within the same slot (paragraph [0246]; transmission/reception occasion of a physical channel/signal can be mapped to SBFD and non-SBFD symbols within a slot for a UE); and wherein communicating the message in accordance with the set of rules comprises dropping one or more resource blocks of the message (paragraphs [0276-0280] [0244]; CORESET and a search space are configured that the MOs of the search space occur in both SBFD and non-SBFD symbols and the associated CORESET overlaps the boundary of a DL subband in SBFD symbols, at least the following options can be considered for SBFD-aware UE such as dropping search space(s) when the associated CORESET overlaps with RBs outside DL subband(s). DL/UL channel/signal overlapping with RBs outside DL/UL subbands in a SBFD slot is dropped). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate in Gou et al.’s method/system where a plurality of symbols is within a same slot, wherein the plurality of symbols comprises a set of full-duplex symbols and a set of non-full-duplex symbols within the same slot; and wherein communicating the message in accordance with the set of rules comprises dropping one or more resource blocks of the message as suggested by Ko et al. The motivation would have been to reduce delay time and provide efficient resource utilization (paragraph [0004]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10 and 13-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On page 14 of the Applicant’s remarks regarding the amended independent claims 1 and 28-30, Applicant submits that Gou and Ko, alone or in any combination, do not teach or suggest wherein communicating the message in accordance with the set of rules comprises dropping one or more resource blocks of the message. In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s assertion that Gou and Ko, alone or in any combination, do not teach or suggest wherein communicating the message in accordance with the set of rules comprises dropping one or more resource blocks of the message. Ko, in paragraphs [0276-0280], discloses that CORESET and a search space are configured that the MOs of the search space occur in both SBFD and non-SBFD symbols and the associated CORESET overlaps the boundary of a DL subband in SBFD symbols, at least the following options can be considered for SBFD-aware UE such as dropping search space(s) when the associated CORESET overlaps with RBs outside DL subband(s). Ko further suggests that DL/UL channel/signal overlapping with RBs outside DL/UL subbands in a SBFD slot is dropped (paragraph [0244]). Thus, Ko discloses communicating the message in accordance with the set of rules comprises dropping one or more resource blocks of the message. Therefore, the claims have been rejected for at least the reasons discussed above.
Conclusion
HOANG-CHUONG Q. VU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2476
/HOANG-CHUONG Q VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476