DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5 have been amended. Claims 1-5 are currently pending and presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments filed July 29th, 2025 with respect to the Objection to the Specification have been fully considered and are therefore withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed July 29th, 2025 with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant has not provided any reasoning as to why the 112(f) interpretation is improper therefore the interpretation is maintained.
Applicant's amendments filed July 29th, 2025 with respect to the Objection have been fully considered and are therefore withdrawn.
Applicant's amendments filed July 29th, 2025 with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection have been fully considered and are therefore withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. In view of Applicant’s amendments, a new rejection in view of Zhang et al., CN112543723A is made.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
Claim 1
“a candidate route searching unit”
“a determination unit”
“a recommended route searching unit”
“an output unit”
Claim 4
“a traveling information acquiring unit”
The last paragraph of the Specifications discloses that each of the candidate route searching unit 50, the determination unit 60, the recommended route searching unit 70, the output unit 80, and the traveling information acquiring unit 91 illustrated in Figures 1 and 11 are implementable by circuitry including at least one semiconductor integrated circuit such as at least one processor (e.g., a central processing unit (CPU)). Therefore, these limitations are interpreted as parts of a processor, per the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al., CN112543723A, hereinafter referred to as Zhang (see English Translation).
As per Claims 1 and 5, Zhang discloses a method and system comprising:
a first map storage configured to store navigation map information including a navigation map (see at least Page 2, “combining high precision map and traditional map”);
a second map storage configured to store high-precision map information including a high-precision map (see at least Page 2, “combining high precision map and traditional map”);
a position information detector configured to acquire position information of the vehicle (see at least Page 5 and 7, “the device can according to the current position of the vehicle” and “GPS”);
an information receiver configured to accept information comprising destination information from a user of the vehicle (see at least Page 18, “wherein the target position can be the user input the into the vehicle-mounted device”);
a candidate route searching unit configured to perform searching of the navigation map information for one or more candidate routes, on a basis of the destination information and the position information of the vehicle (see at least Page 14, “Because the road section richness and accuracy of the traditional map, and the traditional map can obtain the updated real-time traffic information, therefore, the first traditional path calculated in the traditional map is the path planning the most reasonable current path, namely the first traditional path meets the following characteristics: less congestion; the driving time is short; the road condition is smooth, and the total length is short.”);
a determination unit configured to make a determination as to, regarding the one or more candidate routes retrieved by the searching, effectiveness of driving assistance control or automatic driving control on a basis of the high-precision map information, wherein the determination unit is configured to determine that a route satisfies the effectiveness of the driving assistance control or the automatic driving control when the route is included in both the navigation map and the high-precision map (see at least Pages 2-3, “starting the real-time navigation broadcast based on the first traditional path’ and starting the automatic driving mode using the target high precision path as the path navigation”; see at least Page 9, “first/second matching types”, Examiner notes that the Zhang’s teaching of selecting the path that encompasses the closest match of both maps is determining the most effective path).
a recommended route searching unit configured to perform searching through the one or more candidate routes for a recommended route, on a basis of a result of the determination made by the determination unit (see at least Page 28, “S809b: the human-computer interaction module receives the first path selection instruction input by the user from the human-computer interaction input and output component, and sends the first path selection instruction to the driving control module. wherein the first path selection instruction is used for determining the target high precision path selected”);
an output unit configured to output information on the recommended route to a driving assistance control apparatus or an automatic driving control apparatus (see at least page 22, “automatically driven”);
a display configured to display the recommended route (see least page 3, “display screen”); and
a driving control apparatus configured to execute the driving assistance control or the automatic driving to control the vehicle to travel along the recommended route (see at least page 22, “automatically driven”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Kim, WO2020235814A1, hereinafter referred to as Kim.
As per Claims 2-4, Zhang discloses the determination unit is configured to make a re-determination as to, regarding the one or more candidate routes retrieved by the re-searching, the effectiveness of the driving assistance control or the automatic driving control (see at least Page 19-20, “because the first traditional path is path planning optimal traffic route, but the high precision map component re-performing path calculation to obtain each first to-be-selected high precision path is not similar to the first traditional path or similarity is low, therefore, in fact each first to-be-selected high precision path may have a winding path ; the driving time is long; the total length is long and soon.”).
Zhang fails to disclose wherein, in a case where, before the vehicle arrives at a destination, the information receiver accepts a change request for the destination and new destination information from the user, the candidate route searching unit is configured to perform re-searching of the navigation map information for one or more candidate routes, on a basis of the new destination information, and the recommended route searching unit is configured to perform re-searching through the one or more candidate routes for a recommended route, on a basis of a result of the re- determination made by the determination unit.
However, Kim teaches the above limitation (see at least Page 50, “At this time, the processor 1580 uses information transmitted from the vehicle to determine whether an event (for example, an accident, construction, etc.) has occurred on the optimal route, or whether there is a request for a route change by the driver, or deviates from the optimum route. You can determine whether or not….As another example, the processor 1580 may determine whether a route change request has been received at the request of a user (driver), based on information received from the vehicle (S1940). For example, when there is a user's route change request (e.g., a destination change request or a destination is the same, but a driving route change request, etc.), the vehicle may transmit information informing it to the route providing device provided in the server…. In this case, the vehicle 100 may delete the existing data and autonomously drive the vehicle using the newly received optimal route and EHP information, or output a route to which the vehicle should travel in units of lanes.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Zhang and include allowing a user to enter a new destination and providing a new route as taught by Kim, with a reasonable expectation of success because it provides the driver flexibility and convenience in being able to avoid accident or construction (see Kim Page 50).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
FADEY S. JABR
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668