DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Invention II, Species A of Group I, Species A of Group II, Species E of Group III, readable on claims 11-13, 15, 21, 23 in the reply filed on 10/31/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed subject of “the draw-out portion of the stranded wire inside the component” in Lines 8-9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-13, 15, 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “wherein the covering portion is disposed at a draw-out portion of the stranded wire inside the endoscope component” in Lines 8-9, wherein the claim language is indefinite as to the meets and bounds of what the draw-out portion of the stranded wire entails. Additionally, it’s not clear the different between covering portion and the draw-out portion since the covering portion and draw-out portion appear to be defined as the same portion of the stranded wire. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11, 12 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hiratsuka (US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0220875).
In regard to claim 11, Hiratsuka discloses an endoscope comprising:
an endoscope component (17, Fig. 8),
wherein the endoscope component is an integrally molded body integrally molded with a stranded wire (11,12, the endoscope component (17) is capable of being integrally molded with the stranded wire since the component (17) is fixed to the stranded wire) composed of a plurality of elemental wires (Par. 24),
wherein the stranded wire has a covering portion (section of the stranded wire in which the joint member (11) is disposed)), in which a gap filling member (11) that fills a gap formed between the plurality of elemental wires is disposed (Figs. 4,6), at one end portion of the stranded wire (Figs. 5,8); and
wherein the covering portion is disposed at a draw-out portion of the stranded wire inside the endoscope component (the draw-out portion is the portion of the stranded wire (12) inside both the joint member (11) and component (17)).
In regard to claim 12, Hiratsuka teaches wherein the covering portion comprises an exposed portion exposed from the endoscope component (Fig. 8 illustrates proximal and distal portions of the gap filling member (11) of the stranded wire longitudinally extend from the endoscope component (17)).
In regard to claim 21, Hiratsuka teaches wherein the gap filling member is a pipe (11) externally fitted to an outer peripheral surface of the stranded wire (Figs. 5,8).
Claims 11-13, 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Komata (JPS59-144434A).
In regard to claim 11, Komata discloses an endoscope (1, Fig. 1) comprising:
an endoscope component (24, Fig. 3),
wherein the endoscope component is an integrally molded body integrally molded with a stranded wire (21,23, the endoscope component (24) is capable of being integrally molded with the stranded wire since the component (24) is fixed to the stranded wire) composed of a plurality of elemental wires (21’, Fig. 4),
wherein the stranded wire has a covering portion (section of the stranded wire in which the socket (23) is disposed)), in which a gap filling member (23) that fills a gap formed between the plurality of elemental wires is disposed (Figs. 3,4), at one end portion of the stranded wire (Fig. 3); and
wherein the covering portion is disposed at a draw-out portion of the stranded wire inside the endoscope component (the distal end of the stranded wire disposed in the socket (23) and component (24) is considered the draw-out portion).
In regard to claim 12, Komata teaches wherein the covering portion comprises an exposed portion exposed from the endoscope component (Figs. 2-3 illustrate a portion of the covering portion (21,23) exposed from the component (24)).
In regard to claim 13, Komata teaches wherein the stranded wire comprises an extending portion (portion of the wire (21) not covered by the socket (23), Fig. 3) on a distal end side of the stranded wire, the extending portion being exposed from the covering portion in the endoscope component (Fig. 3 shows a portion of the wire (21) not covered by the socket (23) disposed within the component (24)).
In regard to claim 21, Komata teaches wherein the gap filling member is a pipe (23) externally fitted to an outer peripheral surface of the stranded wire (Figs. 3-4).
In regard to claim 23, Komata teaches wherein the endoscope component is a raising base (24) disposed at a distal-end-portion main body provided on a distal end side of an insertion unit (3) of the endoscope (Figs. 1,3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komata (JPS59-144434A) in view of Hosogoe (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0397233).
In regard to claim 15, Komata does not expressly teach wherein the endoscope component is an injection molded body made of a resin material.
Hosogoe teaches an analogous endoscope comprising an elevator at a distal end of the endoscope for changing an angle at which a treatment instrument exits a distal end of a working channel of the endoscope. Hosogoe teaches the elevator can be molded from a resin material (Par. 118).
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the elevator of Komata to be formed of a resin material as taught by Hosogoe as a matter of design choice thereby forming the elevator of a material having an appropriate tensile yield stress to withstand the forces for actuating the elevator (Par. 116-118).
Conclusion
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795 December 23, 2025