DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Amendment
The Amendment filed 4/30/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-23 are pending in the application with claim 11 amended, claims 1-10, 14-20, 22 withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11-13, 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaya (US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0020370) in view of Hansen et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0231179, hereinafter Hansen).
In regard to claim 11, Yamaya discloses an endoscope (10, Fig. 1) comprising:
an endoscope component (200, Figs. 4A, 4B or 4C),
wherein the endoscope component is an insert-molded body (201, the elevator is capable of being formed insert molding) in which a wire member (201) is embedded (Figs. 4A-4C each illustrate the stranded wire retained within the insert-molded body (201)),
wherein the stranded wire has a covering portion (213 in Figs. 4A and 4B, 201f in Fig. 4C), in which a gap filling member (213 in Figs. 4A and 4B, 201f in Fig. 4C) that fills a gap formed within the wire member is disposed, at one end portion of the stranded wire (Figs. 4A-4C);
wherein the covering portion is disposed at a draw-out portion of the wire member (Figs. 4A-4C); and
wherein the draw-out portion is a portion of the wire member that is drawn out from inside the endoscope component (Figs. 4A-4C).
Yamaya does not expressly teach the wire member is a stranded wire composed of a plurality of elemental wires.
Hansen teaches an analogous endoscope comprising a handle (2) and insertion tube (3) having a steerable tip (33). The handle has a control member (41) for actuating steering wires to impart force from the control member to the steerable tip to deflect the steerable tip. Hansen teaches the steering wire can have any number of configurations, which include a line, a cord, a thread, a string, a rope, a wire rope, a stranded wire rope, a cable, and a fishing line. Additionally, or alternatively, the steering wire may be a monostranded, monofilament, multistranded or multifilament wire. A multistranded wire may also be known as a wire rope. In case of a multistranded wire, the strands may be braided, twisted, woven, coiled, or coiled wound (Par. 30).
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the wire member (211) of Yamaya to be formed as a stranded wire rope as taught by Hansen as a matter of design choice since Hansen illustrates a multiple of configurations are known in the art for transmitting force from the endoscope handle to a distal end of the endoscope shaft. There being no unexpected results in modifying the wire member of Yamaya to be formed as a stranded wire rope as taught by Hansen.
In regard to claim 12, Yamaya teaches wherein the covering portion comprises an exposed portion exposed from the endoscope component (Figs. 4A-4C illustrate an exposed portion of the covering portion extending outwardly from the component).
In regard to claim 13, Yamaya teaches wherein the stranded wire comprises an extending portion on a distal end side of the stranded wire, the extending portion being exposed from the covering portion in the endoscope component (the reduced diameter portion of the coupling member (213) is considered the covering portion, wherein it can be seen in Figs. 4A and 4B the wire extends distally from the covering portion into a larger diameter covering with the endoscope component).
In regard to claim 21, Yamaya teaches wherein the gap filling member is a pipe externally fitted to an outer peripheral surface of the stranded wire (Figs. 4A-4C).
In regard to claim 23, Yamaya teaches wherein the endoscope component is a raising base (201) disposed at a distal-end-portion main body (25) provided on a distal end side of an insertion unit of the endoscope (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaya (US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0020370) in view of Hansen et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0231179, hereinafter Hansen), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Hosogoe (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0397233).
In regard to claim 15, Yamaya does not expressly teach wherein the endoscope component is an injection molded body made of a resin material.
Hosogoe teaches an analogous endoscope comprising an elevator at a distal end of the endoscope for changing an angle at which a treatment instrument exits a distal end of a working channel of the endoscope. Hosogoe teaches the elevator can be molded from a resin material (Par. 118).
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the elevator of Yamaya to be formed of a resin material as taught by Hosogoe as a matter of design choice thereby forming the elevator of a material having an appropriate tensile yield stress to withstand the forces for actuating the elevator (Par. 116-118).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 11-13, 15, 21 and 23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN N HENDERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795 May 16, 2026