DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argued that Huang does not teach the intake cabin chamber being closed from communication with the interior space of the enclosure, pointing toward the air from the intake cabin being supplied to the exhaust cabin. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. With respect to the claim limitation that the chamber is closed from fluid communication with the interior space of the enclosure, the chamber of Huang cannot fluidly communicate with its respective enclosure as there is no direct air flow from the enclosure to the chamber, as shown in FIG. 4, rather an intermediate in the form of the exhaust chamber. Therefore, claims 1 and 12 remain rejected over McAndrew in view of Huang and McAndrew in view of Huang and Shatek respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 13-17, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0376976 to McAndrew et al. (hereinafter McAndrew) in view of Chinese Patent No. 110529240 to Huang et al. (hereinafter Huang).
Regarding claim 1, McAndrew teaches an enclosure assembly for a generator set system (FIG. 2, 10) having an engine (FIG. 2, 28), comprising:
an enclosure having a plurality of walls (FIG. 2, 28);
an interior space defined by the plurality of walls, the interior space configured to accommodate the engine (Paragraph [0057]); and
a chamber (FIG. 19, 116) disposed in the interior of the enclosure, the chamber having a vent port (FIG. 18, 98) in fluid communication with an exterior of the enclosure (Paragraph [0097]) and an intake port (FIG. 19, 118) for communication with an intake of the engine.
McAndrew does not teach the chamber being closed from fluid communication with the interior space of the enclosure.
However, Huang teaches a genset enclosure with a chamber (FIG. 2, 7) having an intake port (FIG. 3, 7-2) for communication with an intake of an engine (FIG. 2, 5) being closed from fluid communication the interior space of the enclosure (Paragraph [0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the enclosure assembly of Huang with the sealed chamber of Huang as it increases the cooling efficiency of the generator (Paragraph [0050]).
Regarding claim 2, McAndrew in view of Huang teaches the enclosure assembly of claim 1, wherein McAndrew further teaches an air filter (FIG. 19, 114) attached to the intake port.
Regarding claim 3, McAndrew in view of Huang teaches the enclosure assembly of claim 2, wherein McAndrew further teaches the air filter being disposed in the chamber (Paragraph [0097]).
Regarding claim 4, McAndrew in view of Huang teaches the enclosure assembly of claim 1, wherein McAndrew further teaches the intake port being formed in a wall of the chamber (Paragraph [0098]).
Regarding claim 5, McAndrew in view of Huang teaches the enclosure assembly of claim 1, wherein McAndrew further teaches the vent port fluidly communicating with the exterior (Paragraph [0097]) via an opening (FIG. 17, 98) formed in one of the plurality of walls of the enclosure.
Regarding claim 13, McAndrew in view of Huang teaches the enclosure assembly of claim 1, wherein McAndrew further teaches the enclosure including: two sidewalls (FIG. 2, front and back sides of 28) connected to two end walls (FIG. 2, left and right sides of 28; and a roof (FIG. 2, top part of 28) connected to the two sidewalls and the two end walls.
Regarding claim 14, McAndrew teaches a generator set system (FIG. 2, 10), comprising:
an engine (FIG. 2, 12) having an intake (FIG. 19, 118);
a generator (FIG. 2, 14) operatively coupled to the engine (Paragraph [0057]);
an enclosure (FIG. 2, 28) having a plurality of walls;
an interior space defined by the plurality of walls, the interior space configured to accommodate the engine and the generator (Paragraph [0057]); and
a chamber (FIG. 19, 116) disposed in the interior space of the enclosure, the chamber having a vent port (FIG. 17, 98) in fluid communication with an exterior of the enclosure (Paragraph [0097]) and an intake port (FIG. 19, 118) for communication with the intake of the engine (Paragraph [0097]).
McAndrew does not teach the chamber being closed from fluid communication with the interior space of the enclosure.
However, Huang teaches a genset enclosure with a chamber (FIG. 2, 7) having an intake port (FIG. 3, 7-2) for communication with an intake of an engine (FIG. 2, 5) being closed from fluid communication the interior space of the enclosure (Paragraph [0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the enclosure assembly of Huang with the sealed chamber of Huang as it increases the cooling efficiency of the generator (Paragraph [0050]).
Regarding claim 15, McAndrew in view of Huang teaches the generator set of claim 14, wherein McAndrew further teaches an air filter (FIG. 19, 114) attached to the intake port and disposed in the chamber (Paragraph [0097]).
Regarding claim 16, McAndrew in view of Huang teaches the generator set of claim 14, wherein McAndrew further teaches the intake port being formed in a wall of the chamber (Paragraph [0098]).
Regarding claim 17, McAndrew in view of Huang teaches the generator set of claim 14, wherein McAndrew further teaches the vent port fluidly communicating with the exterior of the enclosure (Paragraph [0097]) via an opening (FIG. 17, 98) formed in one of the walls of the enclosure.
Regarding claim 21, McAndrew in view of Huang teaches the enclosure assembly of claim 4, wherein Huang further teaches the intake port sealingly connecting to the intake of the engine (Paragraph [0049]-[0050])
Claims 6-7, 9-12, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McAndrew in view of Huang and in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0230654 to Shatek et al. (hereinafter Shatek).
Regarding claim 6, McAndrew in view of Huang teaches the enclosure assembly of claim 5.
McAndrew in view of Huang does not teach the chamber including two vent ports.
However, Shatek teaches a genset enclosure having an inlet chamber (FIG. 8, 120) with two vent ports (FIG. 8, front and back of 120).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the enclosure assembly of McAndrew in view of Huang with the vent ports of Shatek to increase the air intake capacity of the genset of Shatek.
Regarding claim 7, McAndrew in view of Huang and Shatek teaches the enclosure assembly of claim 6, wherein Shatek further teaches each of the vent ports communicating with a respective opening in the enclosure (Paragraph [0054]).
Regarding claim 9, McAndrew in view of Huang teaches the enclosure assembly of claim 5.
McAndrew in view of Huang does not teach a louver for controlling fluid communication through the opening in the enclosure.
However, Shatek teaches a genset enclosure having an inlet chamber having an opening with a louver (FIG. 17, 720) controlling fluid communication (Paragraph [0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the enclosure assembly of McAndrew in view of Huang with the louver of Shatek to prevent further ingress of foreign debris into the interior of the enclosure (Paragraph [0070]).
Regarding claim 10, McAndrew in view of Huang and Shatek teaches the enclosure assembly of claim 9, wherein Shatek further teaches a secondary filter (FIG. 18, 765) for controlling fluid communication through the opening in the enclosure (Paragraph [0070]).
Regarding claim 11, McAndrew in view of Huang and Shatek teaches the enclosure assembly of claim 10, wherein Shatek further teaches the secondary filter being attached to the louver and movable with the louver (Paragraph [0070]).
Regarding claim 12, McAndrew in view of Huang Shatek teaches the enclosure assembly of claim 11, wherein Shatek further teaches the secondary filter and the louver are configured to prevent foreign objects having different sizes from entering the chamber (Paragraph [0070]).
Regarding claim 18, McAndrew in view of Huang teaches the generator set of claim 17.
McAndrew in view of Huang does not teach the chamber including two vent ports, each of the vent ports communicating with a respective opening in the enclosure.
However, Shatek teaches an inlet chamber (FIG. 8, 120) with two vent ports (FIG. 8, front and back of 120), each of the vent ports communicating with a respective opening in the enclosure (Paragraph [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the generator set of McAndrew in view of Huang with the vent ports of Shatek to increase the air intake capacity of the genset of Shatek.
Regarding claim 19, McAndrew in view of Huang and Shatek teaches the generator set of claim 18, wherein Shatek further teaches the openings being located in different walls of the enclosure (FIG. 8, 120, front and back walls of 120).
Regarding claim 20, McAndrew in view of Huang teaches the generator set of claim 17.
McAndrew in view of Huang does not teach a louver for controlling fluid communication through the opening in the enclosure.
However, Shatek teaches a genset enclosure having an inlet chamber having an opening with a louver (FIG. 17, 720) controlling fluid communication (Paragraph [0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the generator set of McAndrew in view of Huang with the louver of Shatek to prevent further ingress of foreign debris into the interior of the enclosure (Paragraph [0070]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McAndrew in view of Huang and Shatek and in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0098886 to More et al. (hereinafter More).
Regarding claim 8, McAndrew in view of Huang and Shatek teaches the enclosure assembly of claim 7.
McAndrew in view of Huang and Shatek does not teach the size of the two vent ports being different.
However, More teaches a genset enclosure having an air inlet (FIG. 1, 114) having two vent ports with different sizes (FIG. 1: the side port is two panels wide and the end port is three panels wide).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the enclosure assembly of McAndrew in view of Huang and Shatek with the vent ports of More to adapt to the design geometries of the enclosure and maximize air flow.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA KIEL M RODRIGUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834