DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments filed 17 June 2026 have been entered.
Claim 1 has been amended; Claims 15-20 were previously withdrawn. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 17 June 2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding “§I. 35 U.S.C. §102 and §103 Rejections” (pg. 6-7), Applicant argues the prior art OCHI fails to teach or suggest the as-amended limitation whereby water enters the water inlet of the filtration housing, flows through at least a portion of the inlet passageway, then flows in a direction normal to the inner surface of the outermost shell of the filtration housing” (pg. 6, par. 2). Applicant further references FIGs. 4 and 5 of the pending application showing a water flow into the assembly 102 via inlet 108 in a horizontal manner then in a direction perpendicular to the horizontal manner through walls 134 of the media block 114 (par. spanning pg. 6-7). Applicant further explains OCHI fails to teach such a perpendicular flow of water to the inner surface of the outermost shell (pg. 7, par. 1) and concludes that the cited references fail to teach each and every limitation of the pending claims (pg. 7, par. 2).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The claimed invention only requires “an inner surface” of the outermost shell, i.e., any surface of a shell is construed as an inner surface, i.e., using Applicant’s FIG. 5, the outermost shell being the area delineated by the hatched lines having a horizontal inner surface 152 and a vertical inner surface on the left side. There is no requirement by the claimed invention that the water flow must be flowing in a direction normal to one specific orientation of the inner surface as envisioned by the Applicant. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). OCHI certainly discloses an inner surface of an outermost shell whereby water flow is normal to such a surface; for instance, the inflow of water at inlet 21 presumably passes through the hollow fibers 42 in a generally left-to-right direction in FIG. 1; this flow of water, after leaving the inlet, is normal to the inner surface of the wall of the shell that shares the inlet port and the wiring hole 28. Thus, the claimed invention is indeed taught by or obvious over the cited art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by OCHI et al. (US 2018/0244543 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, OCHI discloses a fluid sterilization device 10 including an overall housing 12 (i.e., a an outermost shell) defining a flow passage 13, a filter 40 (i.e., a filtration media block positioned within the filtration housing), and a light source 50 (i.e., an electromagnetic radiation module positioned within the filtration housing… positioned adjacent to the filtration media block; FIG. 1, copied below; p0024; the combined elements define the filtration housing). The housing 12 further includes first housing 20 and second housing 30 encompassing first and second flow passages 23 and 33, respectively (i.e., surfaces in the first and second flow passages 23 and 33 define an inner surface; p0025); first housing 20 includes inflow end 21 (i.e., a water inlet), and second housing 30 includes outflow end 31 (i.e., a water outlet; p0025).
The filter 40 comprises hollow fibers 42 (i.e., the filtration media block having a hollow cylindrical configuration) with a potted end 44 ending at the second housing 30 (p0029). Wiring/power for the light source 50 extends through the first housing and the potted hollow fibers 42 and through the potted end 44 (i.e., the filtration media block… defining a radiation passageway; p0030). As can be further seen in the provided figure, influent water through inflow end 21 can flow between the hollow fibers 42 of the filter 40 and the cylindrical walls of the overall housing 12 (i.e., the filtration media block being spaced apart from the inner surface of the outermost shell of the filtration housing to define an inlet passageway adjacent to the inner surface of the outermost shell and radially exterior of the radiation passageway). Light source 50 includes a light emitting device 52 (i.e., an electromagnetic radiation source), sealing window 44, and reflector 56 and provides ultraviolet light toward any fluid flow in the second housing 30 (p0020). The claimed “radiation passageway” is broadly interpreted to include the support structure 26 carrying the wiring for the light source 50 and extending along the axial direction through the second flow passage 33 to the outflow end 31 (see dashed line indicated in the annotated figure).
During operation, fluid flowing in via the inflow end 21 enters the overall housing 12 in a direction normal to the proximal and distal ends of the housing and normal to the potted end 44 and passes through filter 40 in first flow passage 23; then, filtered fluid passes through the second flow passage 33 and is sterilized by UV irradiation from light source 50 and exits through the outflow end 31 (i.e., wherein water enters the water inlet of the filtration housing, flows through at least a portion of the inlet passageway, then flows in a direction normal to the inner surface of the outmost shell of the filtration housing and through one or more walls of the filtration media block for treatment, then into the radiation passageway for further treatment by the electromagnetic radiation source, before exiting the water outlet of the filtration housing; p0034-0035).
The limitation of “[a] water filtration assembly for an appliance” is directed toward a preamble limitation that is considered to have no patentable weight. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999) (MPEP 2111.02 II).
Regarding Claim 2, OCHI discloses the water filtration assembly of Claim 1. OCHI further discloses the filter 40 comprises hollow fibers 42 (i.e., the filtration media block comprises at least one of an activated carbon (AC) block, a zeolite, a non-woven and textile block, an immobilized granulated media, an ion exchange resin block, a membrane, a hollow fiber, or a composite block; p0029).
Regarding Claims 3 and 9, OCHI discloses the water filtration assembly of Claim 1. OCHI further discloses the LED emits wavelength 260-270 nm (p0031), which is recognized as UVC light (i.e., the electromagnetic radiation source is an electromagnetic radiation emitter that emits germicidal radiation via at least one of an ultraviolet-C (UVC) emitting diode, a blue light emitting diode (LED), an ultraviolet-A (UV A) emitting diode, or an ultraviolet-B (UVB) emitting diode (Claim 3); the electromagnetic radiation source emits germicidal radiation via an ultraviolet-C (UVC) bulb positioned within the radiation passageway (Claim 9)).
Regarding Claim 4, OCHI discloses the water filtration assembly of Claim 3. As shown in the below annotated FIG. 1, a first end cap is generally located toward the left end of the housing 12 (i.e., a first end cap secured to a first end of the filtration media block).
OCHI further discloses the hollow fibers 42 ending at a potted end 44 fixed with sealant 46 (i.e., a second end cap secured to a second end of the filtration media block, the second end cap extending from an inner surface of the filtration housing to divide an inner volume of the filtration housing into a first region and a second region, wherein the electromagnetic radiation module is positioned within the first region and the filtration media block is situated within the second region; p0029).
Regarding Claim 5, OCHI discloses the water filtration assembly of Claim 4. OCHI further discloses the light source 50 includes sealing window 54 having the shape a lens to adjust light distribution from the LED 52 before passing downstream through the second fluid passage 33 (i.e., a lens arranged adjacent to the electromagnetic radiation emitter such that electromagnetic radiation emitted by the electromagnetic radiation emitter passes through the lens before treating the water in the radiation passageway; p0032).
Regarding Claim 8, OCHI discloses the water filtration assembly of Claim 4. As shown in FIG. 1, light source 50 protrudes from the potted end 44 and sealant 46 of the hollow fibers 42 (i.e., the electromagnetic radiation source is positioned at least partially through the second end cap; p0029).
Regarding Claim 10, OCHI discloses the water filtration assembly of Claim 1. As shown in FIG. 1, the housing 12 includes a first end and a second end generally indicated at inflow end 21 and at potted end 44 at which the light source 50 is located (i.e., the filtration housing comprises a first end and a second end; the second end receiving at least a portion of the electromagnetic radiation module).
The limitation requiring that “the first end [secures] to a wall of the appliance” is directed toward an intended use of the claimed water filtration assembly. If a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited, then it meets the limitations of the claim (In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997); MPEP §2111.02 II). Whether the disclosed device is attached to an appliance or not, the disclosed device will function as claimed and as taught by the prior art, i.e., there is no criticality or non-obvious effect in requiring the first end be secured to the wall of an appliance.
Regarding Claim 11, OCHI discloses the water filtration assembly of Claim 1. OCHI further discloses a reflector 56 within the light source 50 within the second housing 30 and in the second flow passage 33 (i.e., a reflective
sleeve positioned within the radiation passageway; p0030, 0033). Reflector 56 reflects UV light from the LED 52 toward the downstream side of the second flow passage 33 (i.e., the reflective sleeve configured to reflect radiation rays; p0033).
Regarding Claim 12, OCHI discloses the water filtration assembly of Claim 11. OCHI further discloses the reflector 56 comprises a material with high UV reflectivity, including aluminum and polytetrafluoroethylene (i.e., the reflective sleeve is constructed of at least one of polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) or aluminum; p0033).
Regarding Claim 14, OCHI discloses the water filtration assembly of Claim 1. The instant limitation requiring that “the appliance comprises at least one of a refrigerator appliance, an icemaker appliance, a dishwasher appliance, a water purifier appliance, a beverage system appliance, or washing machine appliance” is directed toward a limitation that has no patentable weight. The claimed invention is directed toward a “water filtration assembly”, not the appliance to which the water filtration assembly is connected, i.e., the intended use of the claimed assembly for a specific appliance is not subject to patentability. If a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited, then it meets the limitations of the claim (In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997); MPEP §2111.02 II). In any case, the limitation lists “a water purifier appliance” as one of the possible options—whatever surface the prior art-disclosed device is attached to or associated with is broadly considered to be a “water purifier appliance”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is alternatively rejected and Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OCHI et al. (US 2018/0244543 A1), as applied to Claim 4 above, and further in view of SMETONA et al. (US 2017/0101328 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, OCHI discloses the water filtration assembly of Claim 4. OCHI further discloses the light source 50 includes sealing window 54 having the shape a lens to adjust light distribution from the LED 52 before passing downstream through the second fluid passage 33 (p0032). OCHI is deficient in disclosing a lens arranged adjacent to the electromagnetic radiation emitter such that electromagnetic radiation emitted by the electromagnetic radiation emitter passes through the lens before treating the water in the radiation passageway.
SMETONA ‘328 discloses an ultraviolet transparent enclosure for disinfecting a fluid; the enclosure includes an inlet and an outlet and is transparent to a set of ultraviolet radiation sources located adjacent the enclosure (abstract). To maximize the ultraviolet disinfection of the fluid, SMETONA ‘328 teaches that the total internal reflectance (TIR) of the UV radiation requires a degree of collimation of the UV radiation, e.g., through the use of a lens (p0051). For instance, an ultraviolet transparent domain 110 of an ultraviolet transparent enclosure 108 is fitted with a lens opposite a reflective domain 112 to focus UV radiation onto whatever matter that requires disinfection (i.e., a lens arranged adjacent to the electromagnetic radiation emitter such that electromagnetic radiation emitted by the electromagnetic radiation emitter passes through the lens before treating the water in the radiation passageway; p0068; FIG. 15). Advantageously, the use of a collimating lens allows for the TIR of UV radiation, i.e., a more effective treatment (p0051). Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to provide a lens arranged adjacent to the electromagnetic radiation emitter such that electromagnetic radiation emitted by the electromagnetic radiation emitter passes through the lens before treating the water in the radiation passageway as taught by SMETONA ‘328 for the water filtration assembly disclosed by OCHI
Regarding Claim 6, modified OCHI makes obvious the water filtration assembly of Claim 5. SMETONA ‘328 discloses matter being treated in the ultraviolet transparent enclosure 108 is separated from the set of ultraviolet radiation sources by an ultraviolet transparent domain 110 comprising a lens (i.e., the lens is configured to fluidly isolate the filtration media block from the electromagnetic radiation module; p0068; FIG. 15).
Regarding Claim 7, modified OCHI makes obvious the water filtration assembly of Claim 5. SMETONA ‘328 discloses the use of a lens to provide collimation of UV light (i.e., the lens is one of a collimating lens or a converging lens; p0051).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OCHI et al. (US 2018/0244543 A1) in view of SMETONA et al. (US 2019/0135659 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, OCHI discloses the water filtration assembly of Claim 1. OCHI is deficient in disclosing the assembly further comprises one or more flow barriers arranged within the radiation passageway to direct the water exiting the one or more walls of the filtration media block towards the electromagnetic radiation source and back through a length of the radiation passageway.
SMETONA ‘659 discloses a UV disinfection system comprising a disinfection chamber, the chamber further comprising a set of ultraviolet radiation sources configured to emit ultraviolet radiation toward an inner chamber (p0012). As shown in FIGs. 5A and 6C, the disinfection chamber 30A comprises an inner cylindrical chamber 34 formed of a UV transparent material inserted into an outer cylindrical chamber 32 comprising a reflective material, e.g. aluminum-based material or polytetrafluoroethylene (p0062; FIG. 5A). SMETONA ‘659 further shows in FIG. 12A a plurality of wall barriers 68 that cause fluid to flow in a serpentine path 70 through disinfection chamber 30J (i.e., further comprising one or more flow barriers arranged within the radiation passageway to direct the water exiting the one or more walls of the filtration media block towards the electromagnetic radiation source and back through a length of the radiation passageway; p0073; FIG. 12A). Advantageously, such flow barriers prolong the disinfection treatment of fluid by the UV light to provide a more efficient disinfection (p0073). Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to provide flow barriers as taught by SMETONA ‘659 in the radiation passageway of the water filtration assembly taught by OCHI.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Ryan B Huang/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772