DETAILED ACTION
Response to amendment and Argument
Claims 1-7 and 11-12 are pending and under examination in this office action.
Claims 8-10 remain withdrawn per Applicant’s election.
Modified Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 necessitated by amendment
Claim(s) 1-7 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2018/0236215) in view of in view of Ronca et al. (Materials (Basel) 2018 ii(12):2454) and further in view of Tsanaktsidou et al. (European Polymer J. 114, 2019; 47-56) and Choi et al. (Biotechniques 66; 40-53 (2019) from IDS
With regards to instant claims 1 and 10, Liu teaches a composition comprising a modified hyaluronic acid (see 0016), comprising poly(ethylene glycol) (see 0072), wherein the average molecular weight of hyaluronic acid is from 10- 6000 kDa (see 0060 and 0072 as required by instant claim 4).
However Liu fails to teach that the poly(ethylene)glycol is a poly(ethylene glycol) diacrylate) and also fails to teach that the hyaluronic acid is modified using methacrylic anhydride..
Ronca teaches a double network hydrogel comprising hyaluronic acid, wherein the hyaluronic acid is a modified hyaluronic acid) and poly(ethylene glycol)diacrylate (see heading and abstract) and water (see para. above sec. 2.2 and 2.3) having a weight percent from 1 to 10 wt % (see para. above sec. 2.3, last line) and the poly(ethylene glycol is 1 kDa (see sec 2.3) and comprises a photo-initiator (see para 2.2, as required by instant claims 5-7). Additionally, Ronca teaches that the ratios of the metaacrylic acid /and hyaluronic acid varies (see sec 2.1)
With regards to claim 11, wherein the Young’s module, will be based or controlled by the starting by the molecular weight of the hyaluronic acid and the poly(ethylene glycol). Therefore It is reasonable that the Young’s modulus will of the hydrogel material will have the same modulus based on the molecular weight of the starting material.
Tsanaktsidou teaches methacrylated hyaluronic acid wherein the hyaluronic acid can be easily modified via the incorporation of functional groups (e.g., methacrylates and acrylates, via its reaction with methacrylic anhydride (see intro rt col. and sec. 2.2).
Choi teaches poly(ethylene )diacrylate are derivatives through substitution of hydroxyl groups of PEG and has varying molecular weight ranging from 1-50 kDa (see rt. Col. pg. 34, last para)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have expanded the teachings of Liu, substitute the polymer used in modification of the hyaluronic acid (see 0017) with the poly(ethylene )diacrylate of Ronca obtained from the teaching of Tsanaktsidou and Choi to result in the instant claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success that the modified hyaluronic acid and the poly(ethylene glycol)diacrylate and water would yield success. Additionally, both Ronca and Choi, teaches that PEG-DA based on the molar ratio of the hyaluronic acid and methyl acrylic acid , one would reasonable expect the molecular weight of the poly(ethylene )diacrylate to vary. Therefore it is within the purview of the skilled artisan to decide the appropriate molecular weight for the poly(ethylene )diacrylate to be used in the hydrogel.
One would have been motivated to combine these references and make the modification because they are drawn to same technical fields (constituted with same ingredients and share common utilities, and pertinent to the problem which applicant concerns about. MPEP 2141.01(a).
Applicant’s argument was considered . Due to the newly cited reference Applicant’s argument is moot.
No Claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIRLEY V GEMBEH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615 11/13/25