DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5 and 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daisuke et al. (WO2021060247) in view of Yanokochi et al. (US20220206203).
Regarding claim 1, Daisuke teaches a phase difference plate (Daisuke, abstract, figs.1-21, this retardation plate comprises a first optically anisotropic layer in which the spiral axis of a stick-shaped liquid crystal compound is aligned with the direction of thickness and which has an in-plane phase difference..) comprising: at least three or more optically anisotropic layers (Daisuke, fig.2, three optically anisotropic layers, 102, 104 and 103), wherein the optically anisotropic layers are laminated in a state of being in direct contact with each other (see Daisuke, fig.2, the optically anisotropic layers 102, 104 and 103 are laminated in a state of being in direct contact with each other), and the phase difference plate includes a second optically anisotropic layer (Daisuke, fig.2, a second optically anisotropic layer has been referred as the second optically anisotropic layer 103; page 23, paragraph [0060], 103 Second optically anisotropic layer) which is a layer formed by fixing a rod-like liquid crystal compound twist-aligned along a helical axis extending in a thickness direction (Daisuke, fig.2, paragraph [0021], second optically anisotropic layers,103 is twisted and oriented with the thickness direction as the helical axis).
Daisuke does not explicitly teach wherein the phase difference plate includes a first optically anisotropic layer which is a layer formed by fixing a vertically aligned disk-like liquid crystal compound.
However, in the analogous optically anisotropic layers, Yanokochi teaches optically anisotropic layers (figs.1-13, abstract, first, a second, and a third optically anisotropic layer), and further teaches
wherein the phase difference plate (Yanokochi, figs.1-13, paragraph [0010], a circularly polarizing plate in an organic EL display device) includes a first optically anisotropic layer (Yanokochi, a first optically anisotropic layer has been referred as the optical anisotropic layer 18 of Yanokochi) which is a layer formed by fixing a vertically aligned disk-like liquid crystal compound (Yanokochi, paragraph [0121], the optically anisotropic layer 18 is preferably a layer formed by fixing an alignment state of a homeotropically aligned liquid crystal compound).
Thus it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the phase difference plate of Daisuke with the specific layer as taught by Yanokochi for the purpose to provide an optical film that has a thin thickness, is suitable in terms of continuous productivity, and exhibits suppressed tinting of black color in a front direction and an oblique direction in a case of being used as a circularly polarizing plate in an organic EL display device (Yanokochi, paragraph [0010]).
Regarding claim 3, Combination Daisuke-Yanokochi discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Daisuke further teaches wherein a product And of a refractive index anisotropy Δn of the second optically anisotropic layer at a wavelength of 550 nm and a thickness d of the second optically anisotropic layer is 120 to 240 nm (Daisuke, 137.5nm; paragraph [0024], the second optically anisotropic layer 103 used in the retardation plate which is the product (Δn2·d2) of the refractive index anisotropy Δn2 at a wavelength of 550 nm and the thickness d2 of the liquid crystal layer, is substantially 137.5 nm).
Regarding claim 4, Combination Daisuke-Yanokochi discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Daisuke further teaches wherein the phase difference plate includes a third optically anisotropic layer which is a layer formed by fixing a vertically aligned rod-like liquid crystal compound (Daisuke, fig.2, 104 Third optically anisotropic layer of Daisuke, page 7, paragraph [0013], the third optically anisotropic layer, 104 is a layer containing a vertically aligned liquid crystal compound).
Regarding claim 5, Combination Daisuke-Yanokochi discloses the invention as described in Claim 4 and Daisuke further teaches wherein a thickness direction retardation of the third optically anisotropic layer at a wavelength of 550 nm is −120 to −10 nm (see annotated image, Daisuke, Table 1, the thickness direction retardation of the third optically anisotropic layer at a wavelength of 550 nm, Rth = −120, page 2, Daisuke’s claim 1, the third optically anisotropic layer is a layer containing a vertically aligned liquid crystal compound, and the thickness direction retardation value Rth is -150 to -80 nm---further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum range or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.05 Section II, Subsection A, citing In re Aller,105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955)).
Regarding claim 7, Combination Daisuke-Yanokochi discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Daisuke further teaches wherein a refractive index of the optically anisotropic layer is more than 1.53 (1.6725; page 20, n<sub>z</sub> = 1.6725; paragraph [0048], the refractive index components, n<sub>z</sub>).
Regarding claim 8, Combination Daisuke-Yanokochi discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Daisuke further teaches wherein a phase difference plate with a temporary support (Daisuke, page 14, paragraph [0032], The polarizing element preferably includes a base material, also called a support or a supporting film) for protecting the polarizing element), comprising: the phase difference plate according to claim 1 (see claim 1); and a temporary support (Daisuke, described above).
Regarding claim 9, Combination Daisuke-Yanokochi discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Daisuke further teaches wherein a circularly polarizing plate (Daisuke page 23, paragraph [0060], 105 Circularly polarizing plate) comprising: the phase difference plate according to claim 1; and a polarizer (Daisuke, page 23, paragraph [0060], 106 Polarizing element, polarizing plate).
Regarding claim 10, Combination Daisuke-Yanokochi discloses the invention as described in Claim 9 and Daisuke further teaches wherein a luminosity corrected single transmittance of the polarizer is 42% or more (Daisuke, page 20, Polarizing element: using spectral data of luminous-corrected single transmittance Ys = 41.5%).
Regarding claim 11, Combination Daisuke-Yanokochi discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Daisuke further teaches wherein a display device (Daisuke, page 23, an organic EL display device) comprising: the phase difference plate according to claim 1 (see claim 1).
Regarding claim 12, Combination Daisuke-Yanokochi discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Yanokochi further teaches wherein further teaches wherein the phase difference plate (figs.1-13, abstract, first, a second, and a third optically anisotropic layer) includes only one optically anisotropic layer (paragraph [0016], the second optically anisotropic layer) which is a layer formed by fixing a rod-like liquid crystal compound twist-aligned along a helical axis extending in a thickness direction (paragraph [0016] the second optically anisotropic layer is a layer formed by fixing a twist-aligned liquid crystal compound having a helical axis in a thickness direction).
Thus it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the phase difference plate of Daisuke with the specific layer as taught by Yanokochi for the purpose to provide an optical film that has a thin thickness, is suitable in terms of continuous productivity, and exhibits suppressed tinting of black color in a front direction and an oblique direction in a case of being used as a circularly polarizing plate in an organic EL display device (Yanokochi, paragraph [0010]).
Regarding claim 13, Combination Daisuke-Yanokochi discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Daisuke further teaches wherein at least one layer selected from the group consisting of the first optically anisotropic layer and the second optically anisotropic layer (described in claim 1)includes a photo-alignment polymer (Daisuke, paragraph [0027], photo-alignment film may be used in which an alignment film is formed by imparting anisotropy to a polymer film by applying linearly polarized ultraviolet light).
Regarding claim 14, Combination Daisuke-Yanokochi discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Daisuke further teaches wherein the phase difference plate includes a third optically anisotropic layer which is a layer formed by fixing a vertically aligned rod-like liquid crystal compound (Daisuke, fig.2, 104 Third optically anisotropic layer of Daisuke, page 7, paragraph [0013], the third optically anisotropic layer, 104 is a layer containing a vertically aligned liquid crystal compound),
at least one layer selected from the group consisting of the first optically anisotropic layer, the second optically anisotropic layer and the third optically anisotropic layer (described in claim 1) includes a photo-alignment polymer (Daisuke, paragraph [0027], photo-alignment film may be used in which an alignment film is formed by imparting anisotropy to a polymer film by applying linearly polarized ultraviolet light).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daisuke et al. (WO2021060247) in view of Yanokochi et al. (US20220206203), and further in view of Takahashi et al. (US20240118474, hereafter call Takahashi’474’).
Regarding claim 2, combination Daisuke-Yanokochi discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Daisuke does not explicitly teach wherein an in-plane retardation of the first optically anisotropic layer at a wavelength of 550 nm is 120 to 240 nm.
However, in the analogous the phase difference plate, Takahashi’474’ teaches (Takahashi’474’, abstract, a phase difference film), and further wherein
an in-plane retardation of the first optically anisotropic layer (Takahashi’474’, the optically anisotropic layer 14A has been referred to as the first optically anisotropic; paragraph [0100], the optically anisotropic layer 14A is not particularly limited as long as it is a negative A-plate, and examples thereof include a layer formed by fixing a disk-like liquid crystal compound that is vertically aligned and whose optical axis) at a wavelength of 550 nm is 120 to 240 nm (paragraph [0024] (8) The phase difference film according to (1), in which the optically anisotropic layer X is a positive A-plate or a negative A-plate; paragraph [0027], (9) The phase difference film according to (8), in which an in-plane retardation of the optically anisotropic layer X at a wavelength of 550 nm is 120 to 240 nm).
Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum range or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.05 Section II, Subsection A, citing In re Aller,105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955)).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the phase difference plate of combination Daisuke-Yanokochi with the specific layer as taught by Takahashi’474’ for the purpose to provide a phase difference film that has a small change in tint in a case where the phase difference film is applied to a display device as a circularly polarizing plate in combination with a polarizer, and the display device is observed from an oblique direction at all azimuthal angles (Takahashi’474’, paragraph [0006]).
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daisuke et al. (WO2021060247) in view of Yanokochi et al. (US20220206203), and further in view of Takahashi et al. (US20110063547).
Regarding claim 6, Combination Daisuke-Yanokochi discloses the invention as described in Claim 4, but Daisuke does not explicitly teach wherein the phase difference plate includes the first optically anisotropic layer, the second optically anisotropic layer, and the third optically anisotropic layer in this order.
However, in the analogous the phase difference plate, Takahashi teaches (Takahashi, abstract, The present invention provides an elliptical polarizer with excellent viewing angle characteristics. the elliptical polarizer comprises at least a first polarizer, a first optically anisotropic layer, a second optically anisotropic layer, and a third optically anisotropic layer, laminated in this order, the first optically anisotropic layer satisfying [1] 50≦Re1≦500, [2] 30≦Rth1≦750, and [3] 0.6≦Rth1/Re1≦1.5, the second optically anisotropic layer satisfying [4] 0≦Re2≦20 and [5] −500≦Rth2≦−30, and the third optically anisotropic layer satisfying [6] 100≦Re3≦180, [7] 50≦Rth3≦600, and [8] 0.5≦Rth3/Re3≦3.5, wherein Re indicates the retardation value in the plane of each optically anisotropic layer and Rth indicates the retardation value in the thickness direction of each optically anisotropic layer), and further wherein
the phase difference plate (Takahashi, abstract, the phase difference plate has been referred as the elliptical polarizer) includes the first optically anisotropic layer, the second optically anisotropic layer, and the third optically anisotropic layer in this order (Takahashi, abstract, the elliptical polarizer comprises at least a first polarizer, a first optically anisotropic layer, a second optically anisotropic layer, and a third optically anisotropic layer, laminated in this order).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the phase difference plate of combination Daisuke-Yanokochi with the specific layers in this order as taught by Takahashi for the purpose to provide an elliptical polarizer which is inexpensive and excellent in viewing angle characteristics, for a vertical alignment type liquid crystal display device and a vertical alignment type liquid crystal display device. (Takahashi, paragraph [0012]).
Response to argument
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references or portions of the reference being used in the current rejections.
Conclusion
/KUEI-JEN L EDENFIELD/
Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/THOMAS K PHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872