DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 5/18/2026 has been entered. Claims 3, 7, and 8 are cancelled. Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 9, and 10 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al. (US 2020/0212386, hereinafter "Jin") in view of Park et al. (US 2020/0411930, hereinafter "Park), Jang et al. (US 2022/0231355, hereinafter "Jang"), Song et al. (US 2022/0131237, hereinafter "Song"), Shi et al. (US 2020/0212518, referring to second named inventor due to first named inventor also being named Jin, hereinafter "Shi"), and Kurokawa et al. (WO 2019189354, referring to examiner-provided translation thereof, hereinafter “Kurokawa”).
Regarding claim 1, Jin teaches a battery pack (200) comprising a tray, or lower box body (210), forming an accommodation space, or accommodating chamber (250) [Jin Fig. 1, 0077, “Battery pack 200 can include a box body 20 and a plurality of battery modules 100. Box body 20 can include a lower box body 210 and an upper box cover 220, 0078, “Lower box body 210 and upper box cover 220 can cooperate with each other to form an enclosed box body having accommodating chamber 250”]. While Jin does not specifically teach a base plate and a guard beam surrounding the base plate, it can be seen from Jin Fig. 1 that the lower box body comprises a base surface, or plate, and raised edges, or a guard beam, around the base to provide an enclosure for the components in the battery pack. Jin also teaches a plurality of cell stack, or battery modules (100), arranged side by side in the accommodating chamber [Jin Fig. 1, The plurality of battery modules 100 may be arranged side by side along the length direction of battery pack 200”]. The battery modules comprise a cell array comprising a plurality of cell groups comprising one cell (1) stacked vertically [Jin Fig. 4, 0078, “Battery module 100 can have a plurality of battery cells 1”]. The large surface of the cells is parallel to the base surface of the tray [Jin Figs. 1 and 4]. Jin further teaches that the battery modules have an end cover, or end plate (2), disposed at each end of the module [Jin Fig. 10, 0104, “battery module 100 can further include two end plates 2, which can be respectively disposed at two ends in the horizontal direction of the plurality of battery cells”]. Jin is silent regarding the cell stack comprising a housing, a cooling channel, an output electrode, a tab, and a liquid inlet and liquid outlet.
Park teaches analogous art of a battery pack including a cell stack, or battery module, with a plurality of cells [Abstract, “A battery module and a battery pack having a module housing capable of effectively increasing an energy density while enhancing the heat dissipation efficiency, includes a cell assembly having a plurality of secondary batteries”]. Park teaches that the battery module comprises a plurality of cells, or batteries, in a cell array, or cell assembly, inside a module housing [Park Fig. 2, 0054, “a battery module 400 according to the present disclosure may include a cell assembly 100 and a module housing 300”]. Park teaches that the module housing has a plurality of side walls, specifically a top wall (“upper wall”), a bottom wall (“lower wall”), and a first and second side wall (“left and right walls”) [Park Fig. 2, the sidewalls 301, 302, 303, 304 may include an upper wall 301, a lower wall 302, a left wall 303 and a right wall 304”]. Park further teaches a cooling channel, or coolant flow path, may be formed in at the sidewalls, such as the left and right walls [Park Fig. 2, “three coolant flow paths 310 may be formed in each of the left wall 303 and the right wall 304”].
Park teaches that the module housing provides structural stability to the battery module and can protect the components inside from external impacts [0064, “the module housing 300 provides structural stability to the battery module 400 and protects components accommodated in the cell assembly 100 from external physical elements such as impact or material”]. Park also teaches that by forming a cooling flow path on the side walls instead of adding a separate heat sink, heat can be effectively discharged from the cell assembly, reducing the manufacturing cost and decreasing the volume of the battery module [0083].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery modules taught by Jin to include a housing with four side walls, and a coolant flow path on at least one of the side walls as taught by Park, in order to provide structural stability and protection to the battery module, and to make heat discharge more effective to reduce costs and battery module volume.
Jang teaches analogous art of a battery module (“cell stack”) comprising a module frame (“housing”) housing a battery cell stack (“cell array”) [Abstract]. Jang teaches that the module frame includes a U-shaped frame 320 (“integral structure”) including a bottom part on which the battery cell stack is placed, and side parts wrapping both side surfaces of the battery cell stack [Jang Fig. 4, 0051]. Jang further teaches a heat sink 700 comprising an upper plate and a lower plate, the lower plate constituting the upper cover 310 (“separate member”) of the module frame [Jang Fig. 4, 0052]. Fig. 4 of Jang demonstrates the three parts, or walls, of the U-shaped frame forming an integral structure separate from the upper cover. When the module frame is assembled, the upper cover must be connected to the U-shaped frame. Jang also teaches that the heat sink which is partially formed by the upper cover may form a cooling flow passage (“cooling channel”) [0053].
Jang teaches that by integrating the heat sink into the module frame, a simplified cooling structure and improved cooling performance can be provided [0030]. Jang also discloses that the integration of the heat sink in the module frame reduces the height of the battery module, thus reducing costs and increasing space utilization. Fig. 4 of Jang shows that the heat sink is disposed on a surface parallel to the stacking direction of the battery cells, thus contacting each battery cell. Park, as described previously, also teaches that by forming a cooling flow path directly on the side walls heat can be effectively discharged from the cell assembly, reducing the manufacturing cost and decreasing the volume of the battery module [0083]. Additionally, the sidewalls comprising the cooling paths taught by Park are also disposed on a plane parallel to the stacking direction of the battery cells. Thus, the structures taught by Park and Jang achieve the same result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery modules taught by Jin as modified by Park to make one of the sidewalls comprising the cooling flow paths a separate member and the other sidewall, top wall, and bottom wall a U-shaped integral structure, as taught by Jang. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute the module housing taught by Park with the known configuration of a separate member connected to an integral member taught by Jang to obtain the predictable result of a module housing with improved cooling efficiency and reduced space requirements [see MPEP 2143(I)(B)].
Song teaches analogous art of a battery pack comprising a plurality of battery cells arranged side by side [Abstract, “The battery pack comprises a plurality of battery cells and electrical connection components. the plurality of battery cells are arranged side by side”]. Song teaches that a plurality of battery cell are arranged side by side in a length direction of the battery pack [Song. Fig. 1, 0029, “ The plurality of battery cells 1 may be arranged side by side closely in the length direction or width direction of the battery pack”]. Song teaches that at the ends of the plurality of battery cells, an output electrode, or electrode receiving socket (21), is disposed [Song Fig. 2, “electrical connection components 2 are provided in the battery pack and arranged on the ends of a plurality of battery cells 1, so as to connect the battery cells 1 closely and avoid excessive space occupation; wherein, the electrical connection components 2 have electrode receiving sockets 21”]. Song further teaches that the tabs of the cell arrays, or electrode posts, are connected to the electrode receiving socket [Song. Fig. 2, The electrode posts of the battery cell 1 may be socket-jointed with the electrode receiving sockets 21 to facilitate installation”]. As can be seen in Song Figs. 1-2, the electrode receiving sockets at each end of a cell are arranged in a coplanar manner.
Song teaches that by disposing the electrode receiving sockets on the ends of the battery cells arranged side by side, rather than between the battery cells, the amount of space needed to connect the battery cells to each other is reduced, which improves the energy density of the battery pack, as well as saving assembly time and costs [0016, “ the electrical connection components are arranged on the ends of the battery cells, so as to effectively reduce the clearance between the battery cells, thereby effectively improve the energy density of the battery pack; moreover, the electrical connection components can be mounted automatically, and thereby the assembling time and cost are reduced”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery modules taught by Jin to include electrode receiving sockets connected to the electrode posts on the end covers arranged in a coplanar manner as taught by Song, in order to reduce the amount of space, costs, and time needed to assemble the battery pack and increase its energy density.
Shi teaches analogous art of a battery module comprising battery groups arranged side by side, with a cooling channel, or cooling plate, arranged at a side of the battery groups, between adjacent battery groups [Abstract, “The cooling plate is placed between the first battery group and the second battery group, and the two surfaces of the cooling plate are respectively bonded onto the first battery group and the second battery group”]. Shi teaches that the cooling plate includes a liquid inlet and a liquid outlet, or fluid passage inlet and outlet communicated with the cooling plate at the same end of the cooling plate on an extending portion, or joint end plate [Shi Figs. 7-8, 0081, “inlet 311 and outlet 312 of fluid passage 31 can be arranged at the same end of cooling plate 3”, 0012, “the cooling plate can include a joint end plate, which can include an inlet joint and an outlet joint arranged side by side along the vertical direction”]. Shi teaches that the inlets are connected to form a main liquid pipeline, or conveying pipe, and the outlets are connected to form a main liquid outlet pipeline, or return pipe [0013-0014]. Fig. 1 of Shi shows that the conveying pipe and return pipe are disposed close to one side of the battery module ends.
Shi teaches that the joint end plate protrudes past the edge of the battery module, which allows the liquid inlet and outlet to be disposed in a way that adjacent inlet and outlets can be connected to form a continuous pipeline [0013, “the battery module can include a conveying pipe coupled to the inlet joint of the joint end plate so as to establish a connection between the conveying pipe and the inlet”, 0014, “the battery module can include a return pipe coupled to the outlet joint of the joint end plate so as to establish a connection between the return pipe and the inlet”]. Shi discloses that by having a circulatory loop for the inlets and outlets, continuous cooling of the battery module is enabled, increasing the cooling efficiency [0061, “Conveying pipe 5 can convey the cooling medium to cooling plate 3, while the cooling medium outputted by cooling plate 3 can be recovered through the return pipe, and then cooled and re-input into conveying pipe 5, forming a circulatory loop among conveying pipe 5, cooling plate 3 and return pipe 6, which can enable continuous cooling of the battery module and increases the cooling efficiency”]. Shi teaches also teaches that by arranging the inlet and outlet on the same end of the cooling plate, the cooling medium is more evenly distributed in the cooling plate, guaranteeing a small temperature difference at both ends of the cooling plate, which improves its cooling effect [0081].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery modules taught by modified Jin by including a liquid inlet and outlet on a joint end plate that extends past the ends of the battery module wherein the adjacent inlet and outlets form a conveying pipe and a return pipe as taught by Shi, in order to be able to connect the liquid inlets and outlets of the battery modules in a circulatory loop to enable continuous cooling and increase the cooling efficiency of the battery module.
Kurokawa teaches analogous art of a battery pack including a plurality of first housings that house battery cells [0005]. Kurokawa further teaches a plurality of plates provided with cooling passages connected to a cooling plate inlet and outlet [0005]. Kurokawa teaches that multiple battery packs (10) are housed in the battery pack (1) [Kurokawa Fig. 3, 0014]. Each battery pack (10) comprises a bottom wall portion (12) and an upper portion (13), as well as a first side wall (31) and a second side wall (32), wherein the first side wall is provided on the upper side of the battery pack in a Z-axis direction [Kurokawa Fig. 4, 0015]. The first side wall is provided with a positive main circuit terminal and a negative main circuit terminal (14) [Kurokawa Fig. 4, 0017]. The battery pack further includes a plate (18) disposed parallel to the bottom wall portion (12) [Kurokawa Fig. 12, 0034]. The plate comprises a cooling passage (50) connected to a refrigerant inlet (50-1) and refrigerant outlet (50-2) at the bottom of the plate in the Z-axis direction, opposite the first side wall [Kurokawa Fig. 8, 0035]. The battery pack also includes main circuit lines (80) which connect the main circuit terminals (14) to the general terminals (2a, 2b) [Kurokawa Fig. 12, 0050]. The refrigerant inlet and refrigerant outlet of each plate are connected to a cooling pipe inlet and cooling pipe outlet (3a, 3b) via cooling pipes (70) [Kurokawa Fig. 11, 0046]. As shown in Figs. 3, 4, and 6 of Kurokawa, this means that all the main circuit terminals, or “output electrodes”, are disposed at opposite sides of the plate, or “cooling channel”, from the cooling pipes, or “main liquid inlet/outlet pipeline” with the bottom wall portion and upper portion, or “first and second side wall”, disposed therebetween.
1: Kurokawa Fig. 4 annotated by examiner
Kurokawa teaches that the cooling pipes, cooling pipe inlets, cooling pipe outlets, refrigerant inlets, and refrigerant outlets are located at the bottom of the battery pack in the vertical (Z-axis) direction, while the main circuit wires, main circuit terminals, and main terminals are located at the top of the battery pack in the vertical direction, thus separating them [0053]. Kurokawa teaches that this reduces the possibility of leakage from the refrigerant causing short circuits through contact with the main circuit wires [0053].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery modules taught by modified Jin to have the cooling pipes, or main liquid inlet/outlet pipes, and the main circuit terminals, or output electrodes, on opposite sides of a cooling channel and spaced apart by a first and second side wall as taught by Kurokawa, in order to reduce the possibility of short circuiting caused by leakage from the main liquid inlet/outlet pipelines.
Regarding claim 2, modified Jin teaches the battery pack of claim 1 as described in the rejection for instant claim 1.
Park teaches that the left and right walls (first and second side walls) of the housing can have a coolant flow path placed inboard of the walls [Park. Fig. 6].
Park discloses that when a heat sink, or cooling member, is disposed on the upper or lower side of a battery pack vertical height is added to the battery pack, thereby limiting the volume of the battery modules themselves if they are placed in a device with limited space available, such as a vehicle [0012]. Park teaches that that by forming a cooling flow path on the side walls instead of adding a separate heat sink, heat can be effectively discharged from the cell assembly, reducing the manufacturing cost and decreasing the volume of the battery module [0083].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery modules taught by modified Jin to include a coolant flow path on a left or right wall as taught by Park, in order to make heat discharge more efficient to reduce costs and battery module volume.
Regarding claim 4, modified Jin teaches the battery pack of claim 1 as described in the rejection for instant claim 1. Jin is silent regarding walls of a module housing and a cooling channel.
Park teaches that the at least one coolant flow path may be formed in at least one of the four sidewalls, which includes the upper wall and lower wall [0078, “at least one coolant flow path 310 may be formed in at least one of the plurality of sidewalls 301, 302, 303, 304 of the module housing”]. Park further teaches that the upper wall and lower wall may be in contact with at least one outer surface of the cell assembly [0071, “the sidewalls 301, 302, 303, 304 of the module housing 300 may be formed such that the upper and lower surfaces of the cell assembly 100 contact the upper wall 301 and the lower wall 302”].
Park teaches that when the upper wall and lower wall are in contact with at least one outer surface of the cell assembly, the heat generated in the in the cell assembly can be more effectively conducted to the module housing [0071, “That is, as the area where the sidewalls 301, 302, 303, 304 of the module housing 300 directly contact the outer surface of the cell assembly 100 increases, the heat generated in the cell assembly 100 may be more effectively conducted to the module housing 300”]. Park also teaches that as the number of coolant flow paths increases in the four side walls, the cooling effect also increases [0079, “as the number of coolant flow paths 310 formed at each of the sidewalls 301, 302, 303, 304 increases, the cooling effect of the cell assembly 100 increases”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery modules taught by modified Jin by having a coolant flow path on the upper or lower wall as well, as taught by Park, in order to effectively conduct heat to the housing and provide an increased cooling effect.
Regarding claim 5, modified Jin teaches the battery pack of claim 1 as described in the rejection for instant claim 1. Jin is silent regarding a heat-conducting structural adhesive filled between the cell array and the inner surface of the module housing.
Park teaches that the battery module may include a thermally conductive material inserted into the inner space of the module housing between the cell assembly and the inner surface of the sidewall [0093]. Park teaches that the thermally conductive material may be a thermally conductive adhesive, or heat-conducting structural adhesive”) [0096, “Here, the thermally conductive adhesive 320”].
Park teaches that by inserting thermally conductive adhesive into the module housing, the heat transfer distance through which heat is discharged can be minimized, which improves the cooling efficiency [0091, “Accordingly, in the present disclosure, it may be very easy to minimize the heat transfer distance along which heat is discharged out through the thermally conductive material 320. In addition, the present disclosure may provide a battery module 400 with improved cooling efficiency”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery modules taught by modified Jin by filling a thermally conductive adhesive between the cell assembly and the inner surface of the side walls as taught by Park, in order to minimize the heat transfer distance through which heat is discharged and improve the cooling efficiency.
Regarding claim 6, Jin, modified by Park, Jang, and Song, teaches the battery pack of claim 5 as described in the rejection for instant claim 5. Jin is silent regarding a heat-conducting structural adhesive filled between the cell array and the side wall.
Park teaches that the battery module may include a thermally conductive material inserted into the inner space of the module housing between the cell assembly and the inner surface of the sidewall at which the coolant flow path is formed [0091, “the thermally conductive material 320 may be very easily injected through the sidewall 304 of the module housing 300 at which the coolant flow path 310 is formed”].
Park teaches that by inserting thermally conductive adhesive into the module housing, the heat transfer distance through which heat is discharged can be minimized, which improves the cooling efficiency [0091, “Accordingly, in the present disclosure, it may be very easy to minimize the heat transfer distance along which heat is discharged out through the thermally conductive material 320. In addition, the present disclosure may provide a battery module 400 with improved cooling efficiency”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery modules taught by modified Jin by filling a thermally conductive adhesive between the cell assembly and the inner surface of the side wall with a coolant flow path as taught by Park, in order to minimize the heat transfer distance through which heat is discharged and improve the cooling efficiency.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin (US 2020/0212386) in view of Park (US 2020/0411930), Jang (US 2022/0231355), Song (US 2022/0131237), Shi (US 2020/0212518), and Kurokawa (WO 2019189354) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Qu et al. (CN 111564589, referring to previously-provided English translation thereof, hereinafter "Qu").
Regarding claim 9, modified Jin teaches the battery pack of claim 1, as described in the rejection for instant claim 1. Jin teaches a structural adhesive, or bottom glue, disposed between the bottom portion of the battery module and the lower box body [0079]. Jin is silent regarding a heat-conducting structural adhesive filled between the adjacent battery modules.
Qu teaches analogous art of a battery pack comprising multiple battery modules and a cooling mechanism [Qu Fig. 2, 0008]. Qu teaches that a heat-conducting structural adhesive, or a thermal conductive glue/adhesive, is provided between adjacent battery modules [0011, “thermal conductive glue is provided between any two adjacent battery modules in each column of the module assemblies”].
Qu teaches that the thermal conductive adhesive can bond adjacent battery modules together, providing structural strength to the module assembly [0066, “The thermal conductive adhesive can bond the two adjacent battery modules 20 together, thereby improving the structural strength of the module assembly 208”]. Furthermore, Qu teaches that the thermal conductive adhesive transfers heat between battery modules so that heat can be dissipated from both ends [0066, “the thermal conductive adhesive can transfer heat between the two battery modules 20, so that the heat in the module assembly 208 can be transferred to the two battery modules 20 located at both ends of the module assembly 208, so that the heat in the module assembly 208 can be dissipated from both ends”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery modules taught by modified Jin by filling a thermal conductive adhesive between adjacent battery modules as taught by Qu, in order to improve the structural strength and heat dissipation of the module assembly.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin (US 2020/0212386) in view of Park (US 2020/0411930), Jang (US 2022/0231355), Song (US 2022/0131237), Shi (US 2020/0212518), Kurokawa (WO 2019189354), and Qu (CN 11564589) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Newnham et al. (GB 2593187, hereinafter "Newnham").
Regarding claim 10, modified Jin teaches the battery pack of claim 9, as described in the rejection for instant claim 9. Jin is silent regarding a hot-pressing film between the battery modules and structural adhesive.
Newnham teaches analogous art of a battery pack comprising a plurality of battery modules and cooling plates [Newnham Fig. 1, page 11, lines 6-7]. Newnham teaches a hot-pressing film, or thermally conductive pad (54), disposed at the bottom of a battery module [Newnham Fig. 4, page 14, lines 5-9]. Newnham teaches that the thermally conductive pad comprises a thermally conductive putty material on the top of the pad, and that the pad is non-tacky, allowing it to be removed [page 22, lines 5-10].
Newnham teaches that the thermally conductive pad is deformable, allowing it to conform to the underside of the battery module [page 22, lines 11-14]. Newnham also discloses that the pad can conduct heat away from electrical components [page 22, lines 6-7, “Such pads are known in the art and are typically used to aid the conduction of heat away from CPUs”], which can aid with cooling the battery modules. Furthermore, by making the pad removable, it is easier and more cost effective to service and repair the battery module [page 22, lines 30-32].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery modules taught by modified Jin by adding a removable thermally conductive pad in between the battery module and the structural adhesive as taught by Newnham, in order to provide some cushioning between the battery module and the battery pack tray, make servicing and repair easier and more cost effective, and improve the heat conduction away from the battery module.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/M.F.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729