DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 01/02/2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 01/02/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-30 are pending
Claims 1, 5-9, 12, 17, 21 and 25 are amended
Claims 1-30 remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 15-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by AWONIYI-OTERI et al. (WO 2021217395 A1), hereinafter referenced as Awoniyi-Oteri.
Regarding claims 1 and 21, Awoniyi-Oteri teaches a first network entity for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory (Para. [0008]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a UE is described. The apparatus may include a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to receive, from a base station, a block feedback semi-persistent scheduling configuration for a set of semi-persistent scheduling occasions that are scheduled for downlink communications from the base station to the UE, identify a feedback window based on the block feedback semi-persistent scheduling configuration. Para. [0018]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a base station is described. The apparatus may include a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to transmit, to a UE, a block feedback semi-persistent scheduling configuration for a set of semi-persistent scheduling occasions), wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive, from a second network entity, a configuration for at least one semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) occasion (Para. [0007]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses receiving, from a base station, a block feedback semi-persistent scheduling configuration for a set of semi-persistent scheduling occasions that are scheduled for downlink communications from the base station to the UE, identifying a feedback window based on the block feedback semi-persistent scheduling configuration),
each SPS occasion of the at least one SPS occasion comprises at least one physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) occasion (Fig. 3, Para. [0087]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses a SPS configuration may include a number of SPS physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) 310 occasions during which the UE is to monitor for and attempt to decode downlink communications from the base station), and
the configuration for the at least one SPS occasion comprises information indicative of a first value equal to a quantity of SPS occasions for a transmission of a burst including the at least one SPS occasion (Para. [0011]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses receiving, from the base station, RRC signaling that configures the block feedback for the block feedback semi-persistent scheduling configuration ... the RRC signaling indicates a length of the feedback window for the block feedback semi-persistent scheduling configuration ... the length of the feedback window may be indicated as a number of semi-persistent scheduling occasions. Para. [0062]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses the smallest scheduling unit of the wireless communications system 100 may be dynamically selected (e.g., in bursts of shortened TTIs (sTTIs) ). Fig. 4, Para. [0092]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses SPS configuration may be provided to a UE (e.g., a UE 115 of FIGs. 1 or 2) by a base station (e.g., a base station 105 of FIGs. 1 or 2) in which a block feedback window 405 may be configured that spans four SPS occasions (i.e., n=4));
receive, from the second network entity, data in the at least one SPS occasion (Fig. 3, Para. [0078-0079]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses the UEs 115 and the base stations 105 may support retransmissions of data to increase the likelihood that data is received successfully … base stations 105 and UEs 115 may use SPS configurations for some communications. In some cases, block feedback of multiple SPS occasions may be provided); and
perform at least one action (Para. [0085]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses such block feedback techniques also may allow for reduced uplink loading levels, as well as reduced UE 115-a power consumption. Power consumption is reduced, for example, due to longer sleeping periods of a transmit chain at the UE 115-a. Para. [0066]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses power conservation techniques for the UEs 115 include entering a power saving deep sleep mode. Para. [0045]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses each SPS occasion has associated uplink resources block feedback techniques ... for example, reduced power consumption based on fewer uplink communications to the base station from the UE ..., block feedback techniques as discussed herein may provide for ..., reduced uplink loading level, reduced UE power consumption, or any combinations thereof, relative to per-SPS occasion feedback),
the at least one action includes: enter, based on a determination the first network entity has received a quantity of the at least one SPS occasion equal to the first value, a first power state, or remain, based on a determination the first network entity has not received a quantity of the at least one SPS occasion equal to the first value, in a second power state (Para. [0042-0043]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses the UE may determine feedback for each SPS occasion (e.g., HARQ ACK/NACK feedback) , and transmit a block feedback that indicates ACK/NACK for each of the SPS occasions within the feedback window ... the size of the feedback window may be determined based on ... periodicity of the SPS occasions {indicative of the number of SPS occasions received}. Fig. 3, Para. [0045]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses block feedback techniques as discussed herein may provide for ..., reduced uplink loading level, reduced UE power consumption, or any combinations thereof, relative to per-SPS occasion feedback. Para. [0066]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses power conservation techniques for the UEs 115 include entering a power saving deep sleep mode. Para. [0085]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses such block feedback techniques also may allow for reduced uplink loading levels, as well as reduced UE 115-a power consumption. Power consumption is reduced, for example, due to longer sleeping periods of a transmit chain at the UE 115-a. Fig. 3, Para. [0045]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses each SPS occasion has associated uplink resources block feedback techniques ... for example, reduced power consumption based on fewer uplink communications to the base station from the UE ..., block feedback techniques as discussed herein may provide for ..., reduced uplink loading level, reduced UE power consumption, or any combinations thereof, relative to per-SPS occasion feedback).
Regarding claims 2 and 22, Awoniyi-Oteri teaches the first network entity of claim 1 and the first network entity of claim 21 respectively,
Awoniyi-Oteri further teaches to receive the configuration for the at least one SPS occasion, the at least one processor is configured to: receive, from the second network entity, downlink control information (DCI) comprising the configuration for the at least one SPS occasion (Para. [0125]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses the feedback configuration manager 1030 may receive, from the base station, a DCI communication that indicates a starting point of the feedback window. Para. [0102]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses the base station may use the SPS activation DCI 705 to indicate the starting point of the block feedback window 720 (that spans n SPS occasions). (See also Para. [0156])),
the DCI is configured to schedule the at least one SPS occasion (Para. [0102]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses the base station may use the SPS activation DCI 705 to indicate the starting point of the block feedback window 720 (that spans n SPS occasions). (See also Para. [0156])).
Regarding claims 3 and 23, Awoniyi-Oteri teaches the first network entity of claim 1 and the first network entity of claim 21 respectively,
Awoniyi-Oteri further teaches the configuration for the at least one SPS occasion is a semi-static configuration (Para. [0083]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses the feedback window size may be indicated in the block feedback SPS configuration 215. In some cases, the feedback window size may be selected from a number of available feedback window sizes that are preconfigured by the base station 105-a (e.g., in RRC signaling during a connection establishment procedure)).
Regarding claims 4 and 24, Awoniyi-Oteri teaches the first network entity of claim 3 and the first network entity of claim 23 respectively,
Awoniyi-Oteri further teaches to receive the configuration for the at least one SPS occasion, the at least one processor is configured to: receive, from the second network entity, the semi-static configuration in a radio resource control (RRC) signaling or a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) (Para. [0090]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses the block feedback SPS configuration may be configured by the base station using RRC Signaling. In some cases, configuration information provided by RRC signaling may include a duration of the block feedback window 345, as well as SPS configuration parameters (e.g., SPS resources, SPS periodicity, etc. ) ... reconfiguration or deactivation may be via MAC (e.g., in a MAC-CE) , in physical layer signaling (e.g., in DCI) , or combinations thereof).
Regarding claim 5, Awoniyi-Oteri teaches the first network entity of claim 1,
Awoniyi-Oteri further teaches the first value is equal to one (Para. [0094]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses one out of every n associated PUCCH reporting instances will be valid and UE will report the A/N for all n SPS occasions within the block feedback window 405 at the same time. Thus, legacy cases where a UE is configured with per-SPS-occasion feedback correspond to a value of n=1), and
to enter the first power state, the at least one processor is configured to: enter the first power state after receipt of a first SPS occasion of the at least one SPS occasion (Fig. 3, Para. [0045]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses each SPS occasion has associated uplink resources block feedback techniques ... for example, reduced power consumption based on fewer uplink communications to the base station from the UE ..., block feedback techniques as discussed herein may provide for ..., reduced uplink loading level, reduced UE power consumption, or any combinations thereof, relative to per-SPS occasion feedback. Para. [0085]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses such block feedback techniques also may allow for reduced uplink loading levels, as well as reduced UE 115-a power consumption. Power consumption is reduced, for example, due to longer sleeping periods of a transmit chain at the UE 115-a. Fig. 3, Para. [0087-0088]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses per-SPS-occasion feedback configuration, as discussed herein, may consume additional uplink resources and UE power than block feedback techniques, such as illustrated in second example 320. In the second example 320, the base station may configure a block feedback SPS configuration at the UE, in which a block feedback window 345 is configured that spans multiple SPS occasions).
Regarding claim 6, Awoniyi-Oteri teaches the first network entity of claim 1,
Awoniyi-Oteri further teaches the quantity is equal to the first value or a second value greater than the first value (Fig. 4, Para. [0092]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses SPS configuration may be provided to a UE (e.g., a UE 115 of FIGs. 1 or 2) by a base station (e.g., a base station 105 of FIGs. 1 or 2) in which a block feedback window 405 may be configured that spans four SPS occasions (i.e., n=4)), and
at least one of: to enter the first power state based on the quantity, the at least one processor is configured to enter, based on the first value, the first power state after receipt of a single SPS occasion of the at least one SPS occasion; or to enter the first power state based on the quantity, the at least one processor is configured to enter, based on the second value, the first power state after receipt of a plurality of SPS occasions of the at least one SPS occasion (Para. [0045]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses each SPS occasion has associated uplink resources block feedback techniques ... for example, reduced power consumption based on fewer uplink communications to the base station from the UE ..., block feedback techniques as discussed herein may provide for ..., reduced uplink loading level, reduced UE power consumption, or any combinations thereof, relative to per-SPS occasion feedback. Para. [0085]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses such block feedback techniques also may allow for reduced uplink loading levels, as well as reduced UE 115-a power consumption. Power consumption is reduced, for example, due to longer sleeping periods of a transmit chain at the UE 115-a. Fig. 3, Para. [0087-0088]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses per-SPS-occasion feedback configuration, as discussed herein, may consume additional uplink resources and UE power than block feedback techniques, such as illustrated in second example 320. In the second example 320, the base station may configure a block feedback SPS configuration at the UE, in which a block feedback window 345 is configured that spans multiple SPS occasions).
Regarding claim 7, Awoniyi-Oteri teaches the first network entity of claim 1,
Awoniyi-Oteri further teaches the quantity is equal to the first value or a second value greater than the first value (Fig. 4, Para. [0092]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses SPS configuration may be provided to a UE (e.g., a UE 115 of FIGs. 1 or 2) by a base station (e.g., a base station 105 of FIGs. 1 or 2) in which a block feedback window 405 may be configured that spans four SPS occasions (i.e., n=4)), and
at least one of: to remain in the second power state based on the quantity, the at least one processor is configured to remain, based on the first value, in the second power state until receipt of a single SPS occasion of the at least one SPS occasion; or to remain in the second power state based on the quantity, the at least one processor is configured to remain, based on the second value, in the second power state until receipt of a plurality of SPS occasions of the at least one SPS occasion (Para. [0045]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses each SPS occasion has associated uplink resources block feedback techniques ... for example, reduced power consumption based on fewer uplink communications to the base station from the UE ..., block feedback techniques as discussed herein may provide for ..., reduced uplink loading level, reduced UE power consumption, or any combinations thereof, relative to per-SPS occasion feedback. Para. [0085]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses such block feedback techniques also may allow for reduced uplink loading levels, as well as reduced UE 115-a power consumption. Power consumption is reduced, for example, due to longer sleeping periods of a transmit chain at the UE 115-a. Fig. 3, Para. [0087-0088]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses per-SPS-occasion feedback configuration, as discussed herein, may consume additional uplink resources and UE power than block feedback techniques, such as illustrated in second example 320. In the second example 320, the base station may configure a block feedback SPS configuration at the UE, in which a block feedback window 345 is configured that spans multiple SPS occasions).
Regarding claim 8, Awoniyi-Oteri teaches the first network entity of claim 1,
Awoniyi-Oteri further teaches to enter the first power state, the at least one processor is configured to: enter the first power state after a last SPS occasion of the at least one SPS occasion (Para. [0045]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses each SPS occasion has associated uplink resources block feedback techniques ... for example, reduced power consumption based on fewer uplink communications to the base station from the UE ..., block feedback techniques as discussed herein may provide for ..., reduced uplink loading level, reduced UE power consumption, or any combinations thereof, relative to per-SPS occasion feedback. Para. [0085]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses such block feedback techniques also may allow for reduced uplink loading levels, as well as reduced UE 115-a power consumption. Power consumption is reduced, for example, due to longer sleeping periods of a transmit chain at the UE 115-a. Fig. 3, Para. [0087-0088]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses per-SPS-occasion feedback configuration, as discussed herein, may consume additional uplink resources and UE power than block feedback techniques, such as illustrated in second example 320. In the second example 320, the base station may configure a block feedback SPS configuration at the UE, in which a block feedback window 345 is configured that spans multiple SPS occasions).
Regarding claims 9 and 25, Awoniyi-Oteri teaches the first network entity of claim 1 and the first network entity of claim 21 respectively,
Awoniyi-Oteri further teaches the first value is greater than one (Fig. 4, Para. [0092]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses SPS configuration may be provided to a UE (e.g., a UE 115 of FIGs. 1 or 2) by a base station (e.g., a base station 105 of FIGs. 1 or 2) in which a block feedback window 405 may be configured that spans four SPS occasions (i.e., n=4)), and
to receive the data, the at least one processor is configured to: receive, from the second network entity, first downlink control information (DCI) configured to schedule an initial SPS occasion of the at least one SPS occasion (Para. [0125]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses the feedback configuration manager 1030 may receive, from the base station, a DCI communication that indicates a starting point of the feedback window. Para. [0102]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses the base station may use the SPS activation DCI 705 to indicate the starting point of the block feedback window 720 (that spans n SPS occasions). (See also Para. [0156])); and
receive, from the second network entity based on the first value, second DCI configured to schedule a subsequent SPS occasion of the at least one SPS occasion (Para. [0090]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses the base station may configure a range of block feedback window 345 durations (e.g., 1 to N SPS periods) , and may activate one duration at a time (e.g., where the duration may be indicated in a DCI that activates the SPS configuration) ... In some cases, the block feedback may be activated or deactivated for each of a number of particular configured SPS configurations or groups of SPS configurations. Activation, reconfiguration ... may be via MAC (e.g., in a MAC-CE) , in physical layer signaling (e.g., in DCI) , or combinations thereof).
Regarding claims 10 and 26, Awoniyi-Oteri teaches the first network entity of claim 9 and the first network entity of claim 25 respectively,
Awoniyi-Oteri further teaches the at least one processor is configured to: transmit, to the second network entity in a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission, a first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback associated with the initial SPS occasion (Para. [0006]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses the UE may determine feedback for each SPS occasion (e.g., hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgment/negative-acknowledgment (ACK/NACK) feedback) , and transmit a block feedback that indicates ACK/NACK for each of the SPS occasions within the feedback window. Para. [0087]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses a number of PUCCH resources may be configured as ACK/NACK resources 315, in which each SPS PDSCH 310 occasion has a corresponding ACK/NACK resource 315); and
transmit, to the second network entity in a second PUCCH transmission, a second HARQ feedback associated with the subsequent SPS occasion (Para. [0087]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses a number of PUCCH resources may be configured as ACK/NACK resources 315, in which each SPS PDSCH 310 occasion has a corresponding ACK/NACK resource 315).
Regarding claims 11 and 27, Awoniyi-Oteri teaches the first network entity of claim 1 and the first network entity of claim 21 respectively,
Awoniyi-Oteri further teaches the at least one processor is configured to: transmit, to the second network entity in a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission, a single hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback associated with the at least one SPS occasion (Para. [0006]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses the UE may determine feedback for each SPS occasion (e.g., hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgment/negative-acknowledgment (ACK/NACK) feedback) , and transmit a block feedback that indicates ACK/NACK for each of the SPS occasions within the feedback window. Para. [0087]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses a number of PUCCH resources may be configured as ACK/NACK resources 315, in which each SPS PDSCH 310 occasion has a corresponding ACK/NACK resource 315).
Regarding claim 15, Awoniyi-Oteri teaches the first network entity of claim 1,
Awoniyi-Oteri further teaches the at least one processor is configured to: receive, from the second network entity, information indicative of medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) or downlink control information (DCI) on every Kth PDSCH occasion in the at least one SPS occasion (Para. [0100-0101]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses an example of SPS resources and associated feedback resources 700 that support block feedback techniques for semi-persistent scheduling … a SPS configuration may be provided to a UE (e.g., a UE 115 of FIGs. 1 or 2) by a base station (e.g., a base station 105 of FIGs. 1 or 2) in which a block feedback window 720 may be configured that spans four SPS occasions (i.e., n=4) ... an activation DCI 705 may activate a SPS configuration, and be followed by an initial SPS PDSCH 710 occasion),
K is a positive integer (Para. [0100-0101]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses a SPS configuration may be provided to a UE (e.g., a UE 115 of FIGs. 1 or 2) by a base station (e.g., a base station 105 of FIGs. 1 or 2) in which a block feedback window 720 may be configured that spans four SPS occasions (i.e., n=4)); and
monitor the MAC-CE or the DCI based on the information indicative of the MAC-CE or the DCI (Para. [0087]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses a SPS configuration may include a number of SPS physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) 310 occasions during which the UE is to monitor for and attempt to decode downlink communications from the base station).
Regarding claim 16, Awoniyi-Oteri teaches the first network entity of claim 1,
Awoniyi-Oteri further teaches the at least one processor is configured to: receive, from the second network entity, downlink control information (DCI) configured to schedule the at least one SPS occasion (Fig. 10, Para. [0126]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses the feedback configuration manager 1030 may receive, from the base station, a DCI communication that indicates a starting point of the feedback window. In some examples, the feedback configuration manager 1030 may transmit, responsive to the DCI, an immediate feedback indication to acknowledge the DCI, and where the feedback window associated with the block feedback starts at the starting point and spans an indicated number of semi-persistent scheduling occasions),
the DCI is associated with a radio resource control (RRC) configuration (Para. [0090]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses the block feedback SPS configuration may be configured by the base station using RRC Signaling. In some cases, configuration information provided by RRC signaling may include a duration of the block feedback window 345, as well as SPS configuration parameters (e.g., SPS resources, SPS periodicity, etc. ) ..., the base station may configure a range of block feedback window 345 durations (e.g., 1 to N SPS periods) , and may activate one duration at a time (e.g., where the duration may be indicated in a DCI that activates the SPS configuration)).
Regarding claim 17, Awoniyi-Oteri teaches the first network entity of claim 1,
Awoniyi-Oteri further teaches to enter the first power state, the at least one processor is configured to: enter the first power state based on the RRC configuration (Para. [0083-0085]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses the feedback window size may be selected from a number of available feedback window sizes that are preconfigured by the base station 105-a (e.g., in RRC signaling during a connection establishment procedure) ... Such block feedback techniques also may allow for reduced uplink loading levels, as well as reduced UE 115-a power consumption. Power consumption is reduced, for example, due to longer sleeping periods of a transmit chain at the UE 115. Para. [0066]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses power conservation techniques for the UEs 115 include entering a power saving deep sleep mode when not engaging in active communications).
Regarding claim 18, Awoniyi-Oteri teaches the first network entity of claim 1,
Awoniyi-Oteri further teaches the data comprises extended reality (XR) burst data (Para. [0062]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses the smallest scheduling unit of the wireless communications system 100 may be dynamically selected (e.g., in bursts of shortened TTIs (sTTIs) )).
Regarding claim 19, Awoniyi-Oteri teaches the first network entity of claim 1,
Awoniyi-Oteri further teaches the at least one SPS occasion carries a single XR burst of the XR burst data (Para. [0081]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses base station 105-a and UE 115-a may employ HARQ feedback techniques to indicate whether data has been received correctly at UE 115-a, in which block feedback may be provided from multiple SPS occasions. Para. [0087]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses a SPS configuration may include a number of SPS physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) 310 occasions).
Regarding claim 20, Awoniyi-Oteri teaches the first network entity of claim 1,
Awoniyi-Oteri further teaches the at least one PDSCH occasion includes a plurality of PDSCH occasions (Para. [0087]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses a SPS configuration may include a number of SPS physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) 310 occasions).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-13 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AWONIYI-OTERI et al. (WO 2021217395 A1), hereinafter referenced as Awoniyi-Oteri, in view of LIANG et al. (CN 115699646 A), hereinafter referenced as Liang.
Regarding claims 12 and 28, Awoniyi-Oteri teaches the first network entity of claim 1 and the first network entity of claim 21 respectively,
Awoniyi-Oteri fails to teach to enter the first power state, the at least one processor is configured to: receive, from the second network entity, a sleep indication.
However, Liang teaches to enter the first power state, the at least one processor is configured to: receive, from the second network entity, a sleep indication (Page 2, Lines [3]-Liang discloses receiving downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCH). Page 10, Lines [16-23]-Liang discloses PDSCH scheduling through the multi-TTI DCI, the alternative scheme 1) is in only one PDSCH (e.g. a single SLIV) is always configured to be 1-bit DNI and 2-bit RV corresponding to one indicated PDSCH and can be re-interpreted as SCell dormant indication information by the constraint indicated by the TDRA field of the DCI, ..., The first or last 2 bits of the plurality of RV field sets may be reinterpreted as the SCell sleep indication information).
Awoniyi-Oteri and Liang are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication system, dealing with method and apparatus for transmitting/receiving uplink/downlink wireless signals in a wireless communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Awoniyi-Oteri to incorporate the teachings of Liang on device power state for uplink/downlink transmission, with a motivation to receive sleep indication, and ultimately guarantee efficient wireless signal transmission and reception, (Liang, Page 1, Line [54]).
Regarding claims 13 and 29, Awoniyi-Oteri in view of Liang teaches the first network entity of claim 12 and the first network entity of claim 28 respectively,
Awoniyi-Oteri fails to teach the sleep indication is multiplexed with a last PDSCH occasion in a last SPS occasion of the at least one SPS occasion.
However, Liang teaches the sleep indication is multiplexed with a last PDSCH occasion in a last SPS occasion of the at least one SPS occasion (Page 12, Lines [32-35]-Liang discloses the multi-TTI DCI indicating the A/N timing corresponding to the last (or the first) PDSCH transmission time slot as the same time slot, and for the multi-TTI The A/N feedback of all the PDSCH scheduled by the DCI (indicating the A/N timing corresponding to the last (or the first) PDSCH transmission time slot as the same time slot) may be multiplexed. Page 10, Lines [16-23]-Liang discloses PDSCH scheduling through the multi-TTI DCI, the alternative scheme 1) is in only one PDSCH (e.g. a single SLIV) is always configured to be 1-bit DNI and 2-bit RV corresponding to one indicated PDSCH and can be re-interpreted as SCell dormant indication information by the constraint indicated by the TDRA field of the DCI, ..., The first or last 2 bits of the plurality of RV field sets may be reinterpreted as the SCell sleep indication information).
Awoniyi-Oteri is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communication system, dealing with method and apparatus for transmitting/receiving uplink/downlink wireless signals in a wireless communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Awoniyi-Oteri to incorporate the teachings of Liang on multiplexing, with a motivation to multiplex sleep indication and PDSCH occasion, and ultimately guarantee efficient wireless signal transmission and reception, (Liang, Page 1, Line [54]).
Claims 14 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AWONIYI-OTERI et al. (WO 2021217395 A1), hereinafter referenced as Awoniyi-Oteri, in view of LIANG et al. (CN 115699646 A), hereinafter referenced as Liang, and further in view of KUANG et al. (EP 3826369 A1), hereinafter referenced as Kuang.
Regarding claims 14 and 30, Awoniyi-Oteri in view of Liang teaches the first network entity of claim 12 and the first network entity of claim 28 respectively,
Awoniyi-Oteri further to teaches the sleep indication is indicative of an end of the data (Para. [0066]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses power conservation techniques for the UEs 115 include entering a power saving deep sleep mode when not engaging in active communications. Para. [0085]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses power consumption is reduced, for example, due to longer sleeping periods of a transmit chain at the UE).
Awoniyi-Oteri fails to teach the sleep indication is included in a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE).
However, Kuang teaches the sleep indication is included in a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) (Para. [0247-0248]-Kuang discloses the indication signal indicates go-to-sleep, the indication signal includes the go-to-sleep indication information ... the signal may be in a form of a physical layer sequence, downlink control information (downlink control information, DCI), a medium access control (medium access control, MAC) control element (control elements, CE) (MAC CE)).
Kuang is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communications technologies, dealing with sleep method for a terminal device and an apparatus.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Awoniyi-Oteri in view of Laing to incorporate the teachings of Kuang on MAC-CE, with a motivation to include the sleep indication in a MAC-CE, and ultimately guarantee meeting power consumption reduction requirement., (Kuang, Para. [0217]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Arguments/Remarks, filed on 12/01/2025, with respect to the 35 USC § 102 and 103 rejection of Claims 1-30 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
In the remarks, on page 10, Lines [27-35], Applicant argues that, “the Office's identification ... does not disclose "wherein the configuration for the at least one SPS occasion comprises information indicative of a first value equal to a quantity of SPS occasions for a transmission of a burst including the at least one SPS occasion," as recited in amended claim 1.”
However, Awoniyi-Oteri teaches the configuration for the at least one SPS occasion comprises information indicative of a first value equal to a quantity of SPS occasions for a transmission of a burst including the at least one SPS occasion (Para. [0011]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses receiving, from the base station, RRC signaling that configures the block feedback for the block feedback semi-persistent scheduling configuration ... the RRC signaling indicates a length of the feedback window for the block feedback semi-persistent scheduling configuration ... the length of the feedback window may be indicated as a number of semi-persistent scheduling occasions. Para. [0062]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses the smallest scheduling unit of the wireless communications system 100 may be dynamically selected (e.g., in bursts of shortened TTIs (sTTIs) ). Fig. 4, Para. [0092]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses SPS configuration may be provided to a UE (e.g., a UE 115 of FIGs. 1 or 2) by a base station (e.g., a base station 105 of FIGs. 1 or 2) in which a block feedback window 405 may be configured that spans four SPS occasions (i.e., n=4)).
In the remarks, on page 11, Lines [7-12], Applicant argues that, “the Office's identification ... does not disclose at least one processor configured to "perform at least one action, wherein the at least one action includes: enter, based on a determination the first network entity has received a quantity of the at least one SPS occasion equal to the first value, a first power state, or remain, based on a determination the first network entity has not received a quantity of the at least one SPS occasion equal to the first value, in a second power state," as recited in amended claim 1.”
However, Awoniyi-Oteri teaches perform at least one action (Para. [0066]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses power conservation techniques for the UEs 115 include entering a power saving deep sleep mode. Para. [0045]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses each SPS occasion has associated uplink resources block feedback techniques ... for example, reduced power consumption based on fewer uplink communications to the base station from the UE ..., block feedback techniques as discussed herein may provide for ..., reduced uplink loading level, reduced UE power consumption, or any combinations thereof, relative to per-SPS occasion feedback. Para. [0085]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses such block feedback techniques also may allow for reduced uplink loading levels, as well as reduced UE 115-a power consumption. Power consumption is reduced, for example, due to longer sleeping periods of a transmit chain at the UE 115-a), wherein the at least one action includes: enter, based on a determination the first network entity has received a quantity of the at least one SPS occasion equal to the first value, a first power state, or remain, based on a determination the first network entity has not received a quantity of the at least one SPS occasion equal to the first value, in a second power state (Para. [0042-0043]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses the UE may determine feedback for each SPS occasion (e.g., HARQ ACK/NACK feedback) , and transmit a block feedback that indicates ACK/NACK for each of the SPS occasions within the feedback window ... the size of the feedback window may be determined based on ... periodicity of the SPS occasions {indicative of the number of SPS occasions received}. Fig. 3, Para. [0045]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses block feedback techniques as discussed herein may provide for ..., reduced uplink loading level, reduced UE power consumption, or any combinations thereof, relative to per-SPS occasion feedback. Para. [0066]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses power conservation techniques for the UEs 115 include entering a power saving deep sleep mode. Para. [0085]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses such block feedback techniques also may allow for reduced uplink loading levels, as well as reduced UE 115-a power consumption. Power consumption is reduced, for example, due to longer sleeping periods of a transmit chain at the UE 115-a. Fig. 3, Para. [0045]-Awoniyi-Oteri discloses each SPS occasion has associated uplink resources block feedback techniques ... for example, reduced power consumption based on fewer uplink communications to the base station from the UE ..., block feedback techniques as discussed herein may provide for ..., reduced uplink loading level, reduced UE power consumption, or any combinations thereof, relative to per-SPS occasion feedback).
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
ISLAM et al. (US 20220150950 A1)-discloses Para. [0062]-Islam discloses if DL SPS with PDSCH occasions with sub-slot periodicity is introduced, then for semi-static HARQ-ACK codebook determination, the corresponding PUCCH occasions may also be defined at a sub-slot level or at a slot level. Then, the HARQ-ACK codebook construction can be adapted so as to map a number of HARQ-ACK bits for the one or more DL SPS occasions that have corresponding HARQ-ACK feedback in the current UL slot or PUCCH occasion…. …Fig. 1-2
Xue et al. (US20220416955A1)-discloses A method, a computer-readable medium, and an apparatus are provided for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) and a base station. The UE receives a configuration for a plurality of semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) occasions each SPS occasion including multiple opportunities for a downlink transmission by a base station. The UE monitors for the downlink transmission during one or more opportunities of an SPS occasion. The base station transmits a packet to the UE in an opportunity of an SPS occasion based on an arrival time of the packet. In various configurations, a base station may transmit first information via a first communication opportunity and second information via a second communication opportunity of that same SPS occasion. A wireless communication device may monitor all communication opportunities of an SPS occasion to decode the information sent in two or more of the communication opportunities of the SPS occasion…. …Fig. 1-2
SHIN et al. (US20210321413A1)-discloses a method for transmitting uplink data by using a preset uplink resource (PUR) in a wireless communication system. More specifically, the method, which is performed by a terminal, includes: a step for receiving setting information from a base station in an RRC connected state, the setting information being for transmitting uplink data by using the PUR in an RRC idle state; a step for transitioning from the RRC connected state to the RRC idle state; and a step for using the PUR to transmit the uplink data to the base station in the RRC idle state on the basis of the setting information.… …Fig. 1-5
/OO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472