DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5 and 8-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 8-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of copending Application No. 16/569,694 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Application ‘694 has been found to anticipate each and every element of the present invention for instance both provide an electrical stimulator including: a base wire configured with a core wire having an insulating film, and an outer winding wire wound around the core wire with the core wire serving as a winding axis; wherein an annulus is formed by winding the base wire in a loop shape (helical shape includes loops and thus is considered “a loop shape”), a first end of the core wire is electrically connected to a first end of the outer winding wire, a second end of the core wire is connected to a first terminal of an external circuit, and a second end of the outer winding wire is connected to a second terminal of the external circuit, and treating the living body by holding the living body or a part of the living body of a subject in the annulus and generating a current in the external circuit for a therapeutically effective time period to apply an electrical stimulation to the living body or the part of the living body.
As set forth above, the present invention is not viewed to be patentably distinct from the co-pending application 16/569,694. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodwin et al. (US 8,795,147 B1).
As to claim 1, Goodwin et al. discloses treating a disorder related to an articular cartilage of an arthritis patient using an electrical stimulator (Abstract) , the electrical stimulator including: a base wire configured with a core wire having an insulating film (Figures 3 and 6), and an outer winding wire wound around the core wire with the core wire serving as a winding axis (col. 14, lines 32-55); an annulus formed by winding the base wire one turn or a plurality of turns, a target part having the articular cartilage of the arthritis patient (col. 8, lines 15-21) being configured to be inserted in an inner space of the annulus (Figures 3 and 6); a first end of the core wire is electrically connected to a first end of the outer winding wire (col. 14, lines 32-55; Figures 3 and 6); a second end of the core wire is connected to a first terminal of an external circuit (Figure 3); and a second end of the outer winding wire is connected to a second terminal of the external circuit (Figure 3), the method comprising the steps of: holding the target part in the inner space of the annulus (Figure 6); and generating an alternating current in the external circuit for a therapeutically effective time period to apply an electrical stimulation to the target part (Figure 6).
Goodwin et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed, but does not explicitly disclose “an intensity of an electric field in the inner space of the annulus is in a range of 0.17 to 0.27 V/m, and the therapeutically effective time period is at least 30 minutes/day for at least one week to observe a state of the arthritis patient in which an amount of proteoglycan in the articular cartilage is increased compared with a pre-treatment state of the arthritis patient”. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the parameters of the stimulation therapy, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (see MPEP 2144.05). Furthermore, such a modification would provide the predictable results of modifying the treatment to meet specific patient therapeutic needs and requirements.
As to claim 2, Goodwin et al, and thus the modified Goodwin et al., disclose the target part is a joint of the arthritis patient (col. 8, lines 15-21).
As to claim 3, Goodwin et al, and thus the modified Goodwin et al., disclose the joint is a knee joint of the arthritis patient in need of treatment for osteoarthritis of a knee (Figure 6).
As to claim 4, Goodwin et al, and thus the modified Goodwin et al., disclose a frequency of the alternating current is in a range of 10 to 50 kHz (col. 8, lines 35-50).
As to claim 5, the modified Goodwin et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed but does not explicitly disclose “a frequency of the alternating current is approximately 20 kHz”. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the frequency of the alternating current, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (see MPEP 2144.05). Furthermore, such a modification would provide the predictable results of modifying the treatment to meet specific patient therapeutic needs and requirements.
As to claim 8, the modified Goodwin et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed but does not explicitly discloses the intensity of the electric field
As to claim 9, Goodwin et al, and thus the modified Goodwin et al., disclose the annulus is formed in a concentric shape of multiple layers (Figures 3 and 6).
/ALYSSA M ALTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796