DETAILED ACTION
STATUS OF THE CLAIMS: Claims 1-4, 7-10, 13-19, 42, 63-65, 68 and 70 are pending in this application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election of species in the reply filed on September 3, 2025 is acknowledged. All claims were examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, second paragraph
Claims 1-4, 7-10, 13-19, 42, 63-65, 68 and 70 (including claims dependent thereon and claims that relate back to dependent claims) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
(a) Claims 1, 3, 7-10, 13, 19, and 42 are defined variables (where applicable) as heteroaryl, heteroalkyl, heterocyclic, and/or aryl. The terms are indefinite since the specification does not define the ring size, heteroatom, number and nature of substituents, and the exact point of contact with the atom(s) for the substituents. Correction is required.
(b) Claim 65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph for reciting reaction mixture. The claim is indefinite because the claim does not include elements disclosed (i.e., what reaction mixture), thereby rendering the scope of the claim unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 8-9 and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dhammika et al. (J’nal of Org. Chem.’2017).
This reference discloses compounds on pages 8199-8205. (See Abstract and entire document). These compounds read on the instant claim. Since this reference teaches the exact compounds, Applicant’s claims are anticipated, and thus, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102.
Claims 1-3, 8-12, and 14-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anzalone et al. (ACI Verlag Chemie, Hoboken’2012).
This reference discloses compounds on pages 650-653. (See Abstract and entire document). These compounds read on the instant claim. Since this reference teaches the exact compounds, Applicant’s claims are anticipated, and thus, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8, 10-11 and 14-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kolmakov et al. (Chem, Eur. J’nal’2015).
This reference discloses compounds on pages 650-653. (See Abstract and entire document). These compounds read on the instant claim. Since this reference teaches the exact compounds, Applicant’s claims are anticipated, and thus, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-9, 10, 14-15, 19, 42, 63-65, 68 and 70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schoetzau et al. (J’nal Chem. Soc., PT’2000).
This reference discloses compounds on pages 1411-1415. (See Abstract and entire document). These compounds read on the instant claim. Since this reference teaches the exact compounds, Applicant’s claims are anticipated, and thus, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-9, 10, 14-15, 19, 42, 63-65, 68 and 70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Augustin et al. (J’nal Biotech’2001).
This reference discloses compounds on pages 289-301. (See Abstract and entire document). These compounds read on the instant claim. Since this reference teaches the exact compounds, Applicant’s claims are anticipated, and thus, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-9, 10, 14-15, 19, 42, 63-65, 68 and 70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Muehlegger et al. (WO00/68422).
This reference discloses compounds on pages 1-18. (See Abstract and entire document). These compounds read on the instant claim. Since this reference teaches the exact compounds, Applicant’s claims are anticipated, and thus, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-9, 10, 14-15, 19, 42, 63-65, 68 and 70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beckenkamp et al. (EP2876166).
This reference discloses compounds on pages 1-4. (See Abstract and entire document). These compounds read on the instant claim. Since this reference teaches the exact compounds, Applicant’s claims are anticipated, and thus, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-9, 10, 14-15, 19, 42, 63-65, 68 and 70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stolz et al. (Hel.Chim.ACTA, vol. 82’1999).
This reference discloses compounds on pages 1311-1319. (See Abstract and entire document). These compounds read on the instant claim. Since this reference teaches the exact compounds, Applicant’s claims are anticipated, and thus, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8, 10-11 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Toutchkine et al. (WO2009/152024).
This reference discloses compounds on pages 1-32. (See Abstract and entire document). These compounds read on the instant claim. Since this reference teaches the exact compounds, Applicant’s claims are anticipated, and thus, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102.
Conclusion
Claims 1-4, 7-10, 13-19, 42, 63-65, 68 and 70 are pending. Claims 1-4, 7-10, 13-19, 42, 63-65, 68 and 70 are rejected. No claims are allowed.
/PAUL V WARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1622