DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Regarding first argument:
Applicant argues in substance that the prior art does not anticipate claims as presented after final rejection prior to filing of RCE.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant points to [¶0175] as not disclosing that the terminal reports capability of the UE for processing unicast and multicast PDSCH transmissions in a same slot. Applicant asserts that the teaching of [¶0175] refers to the maximum number of layers supportable. The text of [¶0175] is as follows: “ the terminal may report UE capability information to the base station by higher layer signaling (or RRC signaling). The UE capability information may include information indicating a function supportable by the terminal, and may include a maximum number of layers supportable at the time of transmitting a PUSCH or/and PDSCH.” While this discloses that the UE capability information may (may being the non-limiting operative term) include a supported number of layers, it also discloses the UE capability information may include information indicating a function supportable by the terminal, which as evidenced by the remainder of the prior art disclosure, [¶0110] specifically, would be seen as one of ordinary skill in the art as including a capability of UE processing of unicast and multicast (or groupcast as prior art describes it) PDSCH transmission in a same slot. Applicant also argues that while it is mentioned that multiple PDSCH transmissions can be assigned to a single slot it is not said that it is a multicast or unicast PDSCH. [¶0112] clearly discloses this: ‘Pseudo-code 1.1 may be a method of calculating up to how many unicast and multicast PDSCHs can be mapped in a single slot, by considering a unicast PDSCH-mappable set and a multicast PDSCH mappable set.” For at least these reasons, the rejection is proper and thus maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeo (US 20200106566 A1) hereafter Yeo in view of Park (US 20170303136 A1) hereafter Park.
Regarding Claim 1:
Yeo discloses:
A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, ([¶0045] a central processing unit (CPU) or an application processor (AP)) capable of performing a corresponding operation by executing one or more software programs stored in a memory device. [¶0276] FIG. 25 is a diagram of an internal structure of a terminal, according to an embodiment. As illustrated in FIG. 25, a terminal of the disclosure may include a terminal receiver 2500, a terminal transmitter 2504, and a terminal processor 2502.) configured to: transmit, to a network entity,([¶0175] the terminal may report UE capability information to the base station by higher layer signaling) capability information relating to a capability of the UE for processing unicast and multicast physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmissions in a same slot;([¶0175] The UE capability information may include information indicating a function supportable by the terminal, and may include a maximum number of layers supportable at the time of transmitting a PUSCH or/and PDSCH. [¶0110] unicast or groupcast PDSCHs can be mapped in a single slot and then received is identified [¶0112] Pseudo-code 1.1 may be a method of calculating up to how many unicast and multicast PDSCHs can be mapped in a single slot, by considering a unicast PDSCH-mappable set and a multicast PDSCH mappable set.) receive, from the network entity, configuration information that indicates unicast parameters for unicast PDSCH transmissions and multicast parameters for multicast PDSCH transmissions; ([¶0181] The base station transmits DCI scheduling uplink data or downlink data, to the terminal through a PDCCH. [¶0150] A unicast PDSCH and a groupcast PDSCH may be distinguished in a procedure of decoding DCI for scheduling the corresponding PDSCHs.) and receive at least one of one or more unicast PDSCH transmissions or one or more multicast PDSCH transmissions in a slot in a serving cell in accordance with a maximum soft buffer size associated with the UE and a maximum data rate associated with the UE,([¶0199] A maximum data rate supported by the terminal may be noted through Table 8, and an actual data rate according to an allocated TBS may be noted through Table 9. There may be occasions when an actual data rate is greater than a maximum data rate, according to scheduling information. [¶0138] The terminal determines, based on a configured HARQ process number, the size of a soft buffer for data transmission/reception through a Uu link) wherein the maximum soft buffer size and the maximum data rate are based at least in part on at least one of the unicast parameters or the multicast parameters, ([¶0138] the entire soft buffer possessed by the terminal may be determined to be used for data transmission/reception through a Uu link, [¶0198] a maximum data rate in a downlink of a cell having a frequency bandwidth of 100 MHZ and subcarrier spacing of 30 kHz may be determined according to the number of allocated PDSCH symbols) and
Yeo does not disclose:
wherein the maximum soft buffer size is for log-likelihood ratio (LLR) loading for the UE… wherein the maximum soft buffer size is an upper bound of transport block (TB) size with limited buffer rate matching (LBRM) for allocated TBs in a time duration within an active bandwidth part (BWP) on the serving cell.
Park Discloses:
wherein the maximum soft buffer size is for log-likelihood ratio (LLR) loading for the UE ([¶0182] Owing to the entire memory required for saving the Log-Likelihood Ratio (LLR) in order to support the HARQ process (throughout all HARQ processes), that is, the UE HARQ soft buffer size, the complexity in the UE implement is increased. wherein the maximum soft buffer size is an upper bound of transport block (TB) size with limited buffer rate matching (LBRM) for allocated TBs in a time duration within an active bandwidth part (BWP) on the serving cell. [¶0183] An object of the limited buffer rate matching (LBRM) is to maintain the peak data rates and to minimize the influence on the system performance, and in addition, to decrease the UE HARQ soft buffer size. The LBRM reduces the length of virtual circular buffer of the code block segments for the transmission block (TB) that has a size greater than a predetermined size. Using the LBRM, the mother code rate for the TB becomes the function of UE soft buffer size that is allocated to the TB size and the TB. For example, for the UE category that does not support the FDD operation and the UE of the lowest category (e.g., UE categories 1 and 2 that do not support the spatial multiplexing), the limit on the buffer is transparent. That is, the LBRM does not cause the reduction of the soft buffer. In the case of the UE of high category (i.e., UE categories 3, 4 and 5), the size of soft buffer is calculated by assuming the buffer decrease of 50% that corresponds to two thirds of the mother code rate for eight HARQ processes and the maximum TB. Since an eNB knows the soft buffer capacity of UE, the code bit is transmitted in the virtual circular buffer (VCB) that may be stored in the HARQ soft buffer of the UE for all of the given TB (re)transmissions.)
Yeo and Park are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Yeo to use the soft buffer to store LLR as taught by Park in order to increase reliability of unicast and multicast PDSCH transmissions from the network entity to the UE ([¶0082] Instant Specification).
Regarding Claim 2:
Yeo in view of Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Yeo discloses:
wherein the maximum soft buffer size is an upper bound of TB size with LBRM ([¶0070] A base station notifies a terminal of a modulation scheme applied to a PDSCH to be transmitted, and the size (TBS) of data to be transmitted, through MCS among pieces of control information, which constitute the DCI. MCS may be configured by 5 bits or less or more. The TBS indicates the size of data (transport block (TB)) to be transmitted by the base station, before channel coding for correcting error is applied to the data. [¶0138] The terminal determines, based on a configured HARQ process number, the size of a soft buffer ([¶0149] A method of dividing a soft buffer and using the divided soft buffer may redefine N.sub.ref, which is required for an LBRM procedure performed when a unicast PDSCH (or PSSCH) and a groupcast PDSCH (or PSSCH) are mapped)for allocated TBs in a 14 consecutive-symbol duration for a normal cyclic prefix (CP), or a 12 consecutive-symbol duration for an extended CP, ending at a last symbol of a latest PDSCH transmission within the active BWP on the serving cell. ([¶0063] The basic unit of resources in a time-frequency domain is a resource element (RE) 112, and may be indicated by an OFDM symbol index and a subcarrier index. A resource block (RB or physical resource block (PRB)) 108 is defined as consecutive N.sub.symb OFDM symbols 102 in the time domain and consecutive N.sub.RB subcarriers 110 in the frequency domain. Therefore, one RB 108 is configured by N.sub.symb×N.sub.RB number of REs 112. Generally, the minimum transmission unit of data is the unit of the RB. In an NR system, generally, N.sub.symb is 14, N.sub.RB is 12, and N.sub.BW is proportional to the bandwidth of a system transmission band.)
Regarding Claim 3:
Yeo in view of Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Yeo discloses:
wherein the maximum soft buffer size is based at least in part on the unicast parameters. ([¶0149] soft buffer may redefine N.sub.ref, which is required for an LBRM procedure performed when a unicast PDSCH (or PSSCH) and a groupcast PDSCH (or PSSCH) are mapped.)
Regarding Claim 4:
Yeo in view of Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Yeo discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, ([¶0045] a central processing unit (CPU) or an application processor (AP)) capable of performing a corresponding operation by executing one or more software programs stored in a memory device. [¶0276] FIG. 25 is a diagram of an internal structure of a terminal, according to an embodiment. As illustrated in FIG. 25, a terminal of the disclosure may include a terminal receiver 2500, a terminal transmitter 2504, and a terminal processor 2502.) to receive the at least one of the one or more unicast PDSCH transmissions or the one or more multicast PDSCH transmissions in the slot in the serving cell, ([¶0175] The UE capability information may include information indicating a function supportable by the terminal, and may include a maximum number of layers supportable at the time of transmitting a PUSCH or/and PDSCH.) are configured to: receive the one or more multicast PDSCH transmissions in the slot in the serving cell in accordance with the maximum soft buffer size that is based at least in part on the unicast parameters;([¶0149] dividing a soft buffer and using the divided soft buffer may redefine N.sub.ref, which is required for an LBRM procedure performed when a unicast PDSCH (or PSSCH) and a groupcast PDSCH (or PSSCH) are mapped.)
Regarding Claim 5:
Yeo in view of Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Yeo discloses:
wherein the maximum data rate is based at least in part on the unicast parameters and the capability information. ([¶0195] A maximum data rate supported by the terminal in the NR system may be determined through Equation (3) below. and N.sub.PRR.sup.BW(J),μ is a maximum number of RBs in BW(j). OM.sup.(j) is an overhead value, and may be 0.14 in a downlink and 0.18 in an uplink of FR1 (a band less than or equal to 6 GHz), and 0.08 in a downlink and 0.10 in an uplink of FR2 (a band greater than 6 GHz), A maximum data rate in a downlink of a cell having a frequency bandwidth of 100 MHZ and subcarrier spacing of 30 kHz may be calculated to be as Table 8 below.)
Regarding Claim 6:
Yeo in view of Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Yeo discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, to receive the at least one of the one or more unicast PDSCH transmissions or the one or more multicast PDSCH transmissions in the slot in the serving cell, are configured to: receive the one or more multicast PDSCH transmissions in the slot in the serving cell in accordance with the maximum data rate that is based at least in part on the unicast parameters and the capability information; ([¶0063] A data rate may increase proportionally to the number of RBs scheduled to a terminal. [¶0190] N.sub.sc.sup.RB may be 12, and N.sub.symb.sup.sh may be the number of OFDM symbols allocated to a PDSCH [¶0150] the terminal may determine a PDSCH scheduled by the corresponding DCI to be a unicast PDSCH,) or receive the one or more unicast PDSCH transmissions and the one or more multicast PDSCH transmissions in the slot in the serving cell in accordance with the maximum data rate that is based at least in part on the unicast parameters and the capability information. ([¶0195] A maximum data rate supported by the terminal in the NR system may be determined through Equation (3) below. and N.sub.PRR.sup.BW(J),μ is a maximum number of RBs in BW(j). OM.sup.(j) is an overhead value, and may be 0.14 in a downlink and 0.18 in an uplink of FR1 (a band less than or equal to 6 GHz), and 0.08 in a downlink and 0.10 in an uplink of FR2 (a band greater than 6 GHz), A maximum data rate in a downlink of a cell having a frequency bandwidth of 100 MHZ and subcarrier spacing of 30 kHz may be calculated to be as Table 8 below.[¶0200] In a wireless communication system, particularly, in an NR system, a data rate supportable by the terminal may be arranged between the base station and the terminal. The data rate may be calculated by using a maximum frequency band, a maximum modulation order, a maximum number of layers, and the like, which are supported by the terminal. However, the calculated data rate may be different from a value calculated by the size (transport block size (TBS)) of a TB used for actual data transmission and the length of a TTI. )
Regarding Claim 7:
Yeo in view of Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Yeo discloses:
wherein the maximum soft buffer size is based at least in part on the unicast parameters,([¶0141] a terminal divides a soft buffer into a soft buffer for unicast data transmission through a sidelink and a soft buffer for groupcast data transmission through a sidelink and uses the divided soft buffer.) and wherein are the maximum data rate is based at least in part on the unicast parameters. ([¶0195] A maximum data rate supported by the terminal in the NR system may be determined through Equation (3) below. and N.sub.PRR.sup.BW(J),μ is a maximum number of RBs in BW(j). OM.sup.(j) is an overhead value, and may be 0.14 in a downlink and 0.18 in an uplink of FR1 (a band less than or equal to 6 GHz), and 0.08 in a downlink and 0.10 in an uplink of FR2 (a band greater than 6 GHz), A maximum data rate in a downlink of a cell having a frequency bandwidth of 100 MHZ and subcarrier spacing of 30 kHz may be calculated to be as Table 8 below. [¶0063] A data rate may increase proportionally to the number of RBs scheduled to a terminal. [¶0190] N.sub.sc.sup.RB may be 12, and N.sub.symb.sup.sh may be the number of OFDM symbols allocated to a PDSCH [¶0150] the terminal may determine a PDSCH scheduled by the corresponding DCI to be a unicast PDSCH,)
Regarding Claim 8:
Yeo in view of Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Yeo discloses:
wherein the one or more unicast PDSCH transmissions and the one or more multicast PDSCH transmissions are frequency division multiplexed in the slot in the serving cell. ([¶0059] a cyclic-prefix OFDM (CP-OFDM) scheme is adopted for a downlink)
Regarding Claim 9:
Yeo in view of Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Yeo discloses:
wherein the maximum soft buffer size is a maximum soft buffer size with a maximum value among a first maximum soft buffer size that is based at least in part on the unicast parameters and a second maximum soft buffer size that is based at least in part on the multicast parameters,([¶0143] The terminal determines, based on a configured HARQ process number, the size of a soft buffer for unicast data transmission/reception and the size of a soft buffer for groupcast data transmission/reception. If the number of HARQ processes for unicast data transmission/reception is configured to be 8, and the number of HARQ processes for groupcast data transmission/reception is configured to be 4, 8/12 (about 67%) of the entire soft buffer possessed by the terminal may be determined to be used for unicast data transmission/reception, and 4/12 (about 33%) of the entire soft buffer may be determined to be used for groupcast data transmission/reception.) and wherein the maximum data rate is a maximum data rate with a maximum value among a first maximum data rate that is based at least in part on the unicast parameters and a second maximum data rate that is based at least in part on the multicast parameters. ([¶0063] A data rate may increase proportionally to the number of RBs scheduled to a terminal. [¶0190] N.sub.sc.sup.RB may be 12, and N.sub.symb.sup.sh may be the number of OFDM symbols allocated to a PDSCH [¶0150] the terminal may determine a PDSCH scheduled by the corresponding DCI to be a unicast PDSCH, [¶0195] A maximum data rate supported by the terminal in the NR system may be determined through Equation (3) below. and N.sub.PRR.sup.BW(J),μ is a maximum number of RBs in BW(j). OM.sup.(j) is an overhead value, and may be 0.14 in a downlink and 0.18 in an uplink of FR1 (a band less than or equal to 6 GHz), and 0.08 in a downlink and 0.10 in an uplink of FR2 (a band greater than 6 GHz), A maximum data rate in a downlink of a cell having a frequency bandwidth of 100 MHZ and subcarrier spacing of 30 kHz may be calculated to be as Table 8 below.[¶0200] In a wireless communication system, particularly, in an NR system, a data rate supportable by the terminal may be arranged between the base station and the terminal. The data rate may be calculated by using a maximum frequency band, a maximum modulation order, a maximum number of layers, and the like, which are supported by the terminal. However, the calculated data rate may be different from a value calculated by the size (transport block size (TBS)) of a TB used for actual data transmission and the length of a TTI. )
Regarding Claim 10:
Yeo in view of Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Yeo discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, to receive the at least one of the one or more unicast PDSCH transmissions or the one or more multicast PDSCH transmissions in the slot in the serving cell, are configured to: receive only the one or more unicast PDSCH transmissions in the slot in the serving cell in accordance with a first maximum soft buffer size based at least in part on the unicast parameters and a first maximum data rate based at least in part on the unicast parameters; ([¶0141] a terminal divides a soft buffer into a soft buffer for unicast data transmission through a sidelink and a soft buffer for groupcast data transmission through a sidelink and uses the divided soft buffer.)
Regarding Claim 11:
Yeo in view of Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Yeo discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, to receive the at least one of the one or more unicast PDSCH transmissions or the one or more multicast PDSCH transmissions in the slot in the serving cell, are configured to:([¶0141] a terminal divides a soft buffer into a soft buffer for unicast data transmission through a sidelink and a soft buffer for groupcast data transmission through a sidelink and uses the divided soft buffer.) and a third maximum data rate that is a sum of the first maximum data rate and the second maximum data rate. ([¶0063] A data rate may increase proportionally to the number of RBs scheduled to a terminal. [¶0190] N.sub.sc.sup.RB may be 12, and N.sub.symb.sup.sh may be the number of OFDM symbols allocated to a PDSCH [¶0150] the terminal may determine a PDSCH scheduled by the corresponding DCI to be a unicast PDSCH)
Regarding Claim 12:
Yeo in view of Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Yeo discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, to receive the at least one of the one or more unicast PDSCH transmissions or the one or more multicast PDSCH transmissions in the slot in the serving cell, are configured to: receive the one or more unicast PDSCH transmissions and the one or more multicast PDSCH transmissions in the slot in the serving cell in accordance with a first maximum soft buffer size based at least in part on the unicast parameters([¶0141] a terminal divides a soft buffer into a soft buffer for unicast data transmission through a sidelink and a soft buffer for groupcast data transmission through a sidelink and uses the divided soft buffer.) and a first maximum data rate based at least in part on the unicast parameters; ([¶0063] A data rate may increase proportionally to the number of RBs scheduled to a terminal. [¶0190] N.sub.sc.sup.RB may be 12, and N.sub.symb.sup.sh may be the number of OFDM symbols allocated to a PDSCH [¶0150] A unicast PDSCH and a groupcast PDSCH may be distinguished in a procedure of decoding DCI for scheduling the corresponding PDSCHs. For example, when the terminal decodes DCI, the terminal checks a CRC by scrambling or descrambling an RNTI to the CRC. If the RNTI is an RNTI allocated for unicast transmission, the terminal may determine a PDSCH scheduled by the corresponding DCI to be a unicast PDSCH, and if the RNTI is an RNTI allocated for groupcast transmission, the terminal may determine a PDSCH scheduled by the corresponding DCI to be a groupcast PDSCH. A particular bit field of the DCI may indicate whether a scheduled PDSCH is for unicast or groupcast.)
Regarding Claim 13:
Yeo in view of Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Yeo discloses:
wherein the capability information includes an indication of a first data rate scaling factor relating to a unicast processing capability of the UE and an indication of a second data rate scaling factor relating to a unicast and multicast processing capability of the UE, and wherein the one or more processors, to receive the at least one of the one or more unicast PDSCH transmissions or the one or more multicast PDSCH transmissions in the slot in the serving cell, are configured to: ([¶0063] A data rate may increase proportionally to the number of RBs scheduled to a terminal. [¶0190] N.sub.sc.sup.RB may be 12, and N.sub.symb.sup.sh may be the number of OFDM symbols allocated to a PDSCH [¶0150] A unicast PDSCH and a groupcast PDSCH may be distinguished in a procedure of decoding DCI for scheduling the corresponding PDSCHs. For example, when the terminal decodes DCI, the terminal checks a CRC by scrambling or descrambling an RNTI to the CRC. If the RNTI is an RNTI allocated for unicast transmission, the terminal may determine a PDSCH scheduled by the corresponding DCI to be a unicast PDSCH, and if the RNTI is an RNTI allocated for groupcast transmission, the terminal may determine a PDSCH scheduled by the corresponding DCI to be a groupcast PDSCH. A particular bit field of the DCI may indicate whether a scheduled PDSCH is for unicast or groupcast.)
Regarding Claim 14:
Yeo in view of Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Yeo discloses:
wherein the capability information includes an indication of a first data rate scaling factor relating to a unicast processing capability of the UE and an indication of a second data rate scaling factor relating to a multicast processing capability of the UE, and wherein the one or more processors, to receive the at least one of the one or more unicast PDSCH transmissions or the one or more multicast PDSCH transmissions in the slot in the serving cell, are configured to: receive only the one or more unicast PDSCH transmissions in the slot in the serving cell in accordance with a first maximum data rate based at least in part on the unicast parameters and the first data rate scaling factor; ([¶0063] A data rate may increase proportionally to the number of RBs scheduled to a terminal. [¶0190] N.sub.sc.sup.RB may be 12, and N.sub.symb.sup.sh may be the number of OFDM symbols allocated to a PDSCH [¶0150] A unicast PDSCH and a groupcast PDSCH may be distinguished in a procedure of decoding DCI for scheduling the corresponding PDSCHs. For example, when the terminal decodes DCI, the terminal checks a CRC by scrambling or descrambling an RNTI to the CRC. If the RNTI is an RNTI allocated for unicast transmission, the terminal may determine a PDSCH scheduled by the corresponding DCI to be a unicast PDSCH, and if the RNTI is an RNTI allocated for groupcast transmission, the terminal may determine a PDSCH scheduled by the corresponding DCI to be a groupcast PDSCH. A particular bit field of the DCI may indicate whether a scheduled PDSCH is for unicast or groupcast.)
Regarding Claim 15:
Yeo discloses:
A network entity for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory,([¶0277] a base station, according to an embodiment. As illustrated in FIG. 26, a base station of the disclosure may include a base station receiver 2601, a base station transmitter 2605, and a base station processor 2603. The base station receiver 2601 and the base station transmitter 2605 may be collectively referred to as a transceiver in an embodiment. The transceiver may transmit or receive a signal to or from a terminal.[¶0278] embodiments of the present disclosure may be implemented by software including an instruction stored in a machine-readable storage media readable by a machine (e.g., a computer). The machine may be a device that calls the instruction from the machine-readable storage media and operates depending on the called instruction and may include the electronic device. When the instruction is executed by the processor, the processor may perform a function corresponding to the instruction directly or using other components under the control of the processor. The instruction may include a code generated or executed by a compiler or an interpreter. The machine-readable storage media may be provided in the form of non-transitory storage media. Here, the term “non-transitory”, as used herein, is a limitation of the medium itself (i.e., tangible, not a signal) as opposed to a limitation on data storage persistency.) configured to: receive capability information relating to a capability of a user equipment (UE) for processing unicast and multicast physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmissions in a same slot; ([¶0175] the terminal may report UE capability information to the base station by higher layer signaling [¶0175] The UE capability information may include information indicating a function supportable by the terminal, and may include a maximum number of layers supportable at the time of transmitting a PUSCH or/and PDSCH. [¶0110] unicast or groupcast PDSCHs can be mapped in a single slot and then received is identified [¶0112] Pseudo-code 1.1 may be a method of calculating up to how many unicast and multicast PDSCHs can be mapped in a single slot, by considering a unicast PDSCH-mappable set and a multicast PDSCH mappable set.) transmit configuration information that indicates unicast parameters for unicast PDSCH transmissions and multicast parameters for multicast PDSCH transmissions; ([¶0181] The base station transmits DCI scheduling uplink data or downlink data, to the terminal through a PDCCH. [¶0150] A unicast PDSCH and a groupcast PDSCH may be distinguished in a procedure of decoding DCI for scheduling the corresponding PDSCHs.) and transmit at least one of one or more unicast PDSCH transmissions or one or more multicast PDSCH transmissions in a slot in a serving cell in accordance with a maximum soft buffer size associated with the UE and a maximum data rate associated with the UE, wherein the maximum soft buffer size and the maximum data rate are based at least in part on at least one of the unicast parameters or the multicast parameters, ([¶0199] A maximum data rate supported by the terminal may be noted through Table 8, and an actual data rate according to an allocated TBS may be noted through Table 9. There may be occasions when an actual data rate is greater than a maximum data rate, according to scheduling information. [¶0138] The terminal determines, based on a configured HARQ process number, the size of a soft buffer for data transmission/reception through a Uu link) wherein the maximum soft buffer size and the maximum data rate are based at least in part on at least one of the unicast parameters or the multicast parameters, ([¶0138] the entire soft buffer possessed by the terminal may be determined to be used for data transmission/reception through a Uu link, [¶0198] a maximum data rate in a downlink of a cell having a frequency bandwidth of 100 MHZ and subcarrier spacing of 30 kHz may be determined according to the number of allocated PDSCH symbols) and
Yeo does not disclose:
wherein the maximum soft buffer size is for log-likelihood ratio (LLR) loading for the UE… wherein the maximum soft buffer size is an upper bound of transport block (TB) size with limited buffer rate matching (LBRM) for allocated TBs in a time duration within an active bandwidth part (BWP) on the serving cell.
Park Discloses:
wherein the maximum soft buffer size is for log-likelihood ratio (LLR) loading for the UE ([¶0182] Owing to the entire memory required for saving the Log-Likelihood Ratio (LLR) in order to support the HARQ process (throughout all HARQ processes), that is, the UE HARQ soft buffer size, the complexity in the UE implement is increased. wherein the maximum soft buffer size is an upper bound of transport block (TB) size with limited buffer rate matching (LBRM) for allocated TBs in a time duration within an active bandwidth part (BWP) on the serving cell. [¶0183] An object of the limited buffer rate matching (LBRM) is to maintain the peak data rates and to minimize the influence on the system performance, and in addition, to decrease the UE HARQ soft buffer size. The LBRM reduces the length of virtual circular buffer of the code block segments for the transmission block (TB) that has a size greater than a predetermined size. Using the LBRM, the mother code rate for the TB becomes the function of UE soft buffer size that is allocated to the TB size and the TB. For example, for the UE category that does not support the FDD operation and the UE of the lowest category (e.g., UE categories 1 and 2 that do not support the spatial multiplexing), the limit on the buffer is transparent. That is, the LBRM does not cause the reduction of the soft buffer. In the case of the UE of high category (i.e., UE categories 3, 4 and 5), the size of soft buffer is calculated by assuming the buffer decrease of 50% that corresponds to two thirds of the mother code rate for eight HARQ processes and the maximum TB. Since an eNB knows the soft buffer capacity of UE, the code bit is transmitted in the virtual circular buffer (VCB) that may be stored in the HARQ soft buffer of the UE for all of the given TB (re)transmissions.)
Yeo and Park are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Yeo to use the soft buffer to store LLR as taught by Park in order to increase reliability of unicast and multicast PDSCH transmissions from the network entity to the UE ([¶0082] Instant Specification).
Regarding Claim 16:
Yeo in view of Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Yeo discloses:
wherein the maximum soft buffer size is based at least in part on the unicast parameters. ([¶0149] soft buffer may redefine N.sub.ref, which is required for an LBRM procedure performed when a unicast PDSCH (or PSSCH) and a groupcast PDSCH (or PSSCH) are mapped.)
Regarding Claim 17:
Yeo in view of Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Yeo discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the at least one of the one or more unicast PDSCH transmissions or the one or more multicast PDSCH transmissions in the slot in the serving cell, are configured to: transmit the one or more multicast PDSCH transmissions in the slot in the serving cell ([¶0175] The UE capability information may include information indicating a function supportable by the terminal, and may include a maximum number of layers supportable at the time of transmitting a PUSCH or/and PDSCH.) in accordance with the maximum soft buffer size that is based at least in part on the unicast parameters; ([¶0149] dividing a soft buffer and using the divided soft buffer may redefine N.sub.ref, which is required for an LBRM procedure performed when a unicast PDSCH (or PSSCH) and a groupcast PDSCH (or PSSCH) are mapped.)
Regarding Claim 18:
Yeo in view of Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Yeo discloses:
wherein the maximum data rate is based at least in part on the unicast parameters and the capability information. ([¶0195] A maximum data rate supported by the terminal in the NR system may be determined through Equation (3) below. and N.sub.PRR.sup.BW(J),μ is a maximum number of RBs in BW(j). OM.sup.(j) is an overhead value, and may be 0.14 in a downlink and 0.18 in an uplink of FR1 (a band less than or equal to 6 GHz), and 0.08 in a downlink and 0.10 in an uplink of FR2 (a band greater than 6 GHz), A maximum data rate in a downlink of a cell having a frequency bandwidth of 100 MHZ and subcarrier spacing of 30 kHz may be calculated to be as Table 8 below.)
Regarding Claim 19:
Yeo in view of Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Yeo discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the at least one of the one or more unicast PDSCH transmissions or the one or more multicast PDSCH transmissions in the slot in the serving cell, are configured to: transmit the one or more multicast PDSCH transmissions in the slot in the serving cell in accordance with the maximum data rate that is based at least in part on the unicast parameters and the capability information; ([¶0070] A base station notifies a terminal of a modulation scheme applied to a PDSCH to be transmitted, and the size (TBS) of data to be transmitted, through MCS among pieces of control information, which constitute the DCI. MCS may be configured by 5 bits or less or more. The TBS indicates the size of data (transport block (TB)) to be transmitted by the base station, before channel coding for correcting error is applied to the data. [¶0138] The terminal determines, based on a configured HARQ process number, the size of a soft buffer [¶0149] A method of dividing a soft buffer and using the divided soft buffer may redefine N.sub.ref, which is required for an LBRM procedure performed when a unicast PDSCH (or PSSCH) and a groupcast PDSCH (or PSSCH) are mapped [¶0203] LBRM may be applied to unicast and groupcast)
or transmit the one or more unicast PDSCH transmissions and the one or more multicast PDSCH transmissions in the slot in the serving cell in accordance with the maximum data rate that is based at least in part on the unicast parameters and the capability information. ([¶0070] A base station notifies a terminal of a modulation scheme applied to a PDSCH to be transmitted, and the size (TBS) of data to be transmitted, through MCS among pieces of control information, which constitute the DCI. MCS may be configured by 5 bits or less or more. The TBS indicates the size of data (transport block (TB)) to be transmitted by the base station, before channel coding for correcting error is applied to the data. [¶0138] The terminal determines, based on a configured HARQ process number, the size of a soft buffer [¶0149] A method of dividing a soft buffer and using the divided soft buffer may redefine N.sub.ref, which is required for an LBRM procedure performed when a unicast PDSCH (or PSSCH) and a groupcast PDSCH (or PSSCH) are mapped [¶0203] LBRM may be applied to unicast and groupcast [¶0195] A maximum data rate supported by the terminal in the NR system may be determined through Equation (3) below. and N.sub.PRR.sup.BW(J),μ is a maximum number of RBs in BW(j). OM.sup.(j) is an overhead value, and may be 0.14 in a downlink and 0.18 in an uplink of FR1 (a band less than or equal to 6 GHz), and 0.08 in a downlink and 0.10 in an uplink of FR2 (a band greater than 6 GHz), A maximum data rate in a downlink of a cell having a frequency bandwidth of 100 MHZ and subcarrier spacing of 30 kHz may be calculated to be as Table 8 below.)
Regarding Claim 20:
Yeo in view of Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Yeo discloses:
wherein the maximum soft buffer size is based at least in part on the unicast parameters, and wherein are the maximum data rate is based at least in part on the unicast parameters. ([¶0070] A base station notifies a terminal of a modulation scheme applied to a PDSCH to be transmitted, and the size (TBS) of data to be transmitted, through MCS among pieces of control information, which constitute the DCI. MCS may be configured by 5 bits or less or more. The TBS indicates the size of data (transport block (TB)) to be transmitted by the base station, before channel coding for correcting error is applied to the data. [¶0138] The terminal determines, based on a configured HARQ process number, the size of a soft buffer [¶0149] A method of dividing a soft buffer and using the divided soft buffer may redefine N.sub.ref, which is required for an LBRM procedure performed when a unicast PDSCH (or PSSCH) and a groupcast PDSCH (or PSSCH) are mapped [¶0203] LBRM may be applied to unicast and groupcast)
Regarding Claim 21:
Yeo discloses:
A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), ([¶0141] disclosure provides a method in which a terminal) comprising: transmitting, to a network entity, capability information relating to a capability of the UE for processing unicast and multicast physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmissions in a same slot; ([¶0175] The UE capability information may include information indicating a function supportable by the terminal, and may include a maximum number of layers supportable at the time of transmitting a PUSCH or/and PDSCH. [¶0110] unicast or groupcast PDSCHs can be mapped in a single slot and then received is identified [¶0112] Pseudo-code 1.1 may be a method of calculating up to how many unicast and multicast PDSCHs can be mapped in a single slot, by considering a unicast PDSCH-mappable set and a multicast PDSCH mappable set.) receiving, from the network entity, configuration information that indicates unicast parameters for unicast PDSCH transmissions and multicast parameters for multicast PDSCH transmissions; and receiving at least one of one or more unicast PDSCH transmissions or one or more multicast PDSCH transmissions in a slot in a serving cell in accordance with a maximum soft buffer size associated with the UE and a maximum data rate associated with the UE, ([¶0149] dividing a soft buffer and using the divided soft buffer may redefine N.sub.ref, which is required for an LBRM procedure performed when a unicast PDSCH (or PSSCH) and a groupcast PDSCH (or PSSCH) wherein the maximum soft buffer size and the maximum data rate are based at least in part on at least one of the unicast parameters or the multicast parameters, ([¶0199] A maximum data rate supported by the terminal may be noted through Table 8, and an actual data rate according to an allocated TBS may be noted through Table 9. There may be occasions when an actual data rate is greater than a maximum data rate, according to scheduling information. [¶0138] The terminal determines, based on a configured HARQ process number, the size of a soft buffer for data transmission/reception through a Uu link) and
Yeo does not disclose:
wherein the maximum soft buffer size is for log-likelihood ratio (LLR) loading for the UE… wherein the maximum soft buffer size is an upper bound of transport block (TB) size with limited buffer rate matching (LBRM) for allocated TBs in a time duration within an active bandwidth part (BWP) on the serving cell.
Park Discloses:
wherein the maximum soft buffer size is for log-likelihood ratio (LLR) loading for the UE ([¶0182] Owing to the entire memory required for saving the Log-Likelihood Ratio (LLR) in order to support the HARQ process (throughout all HARQ processes), that is, the UE HARQ soft buffer size, the complexity in the UE implement is increased. wherein the maximum soft buffer size is an upper bound of transport block (TB) size with limited buffer rate matching (LBRM) for allocated TBs in a time duration within an active bandwidth part (BWP) on the serving cell. [¶0183] An object of the limited buffer rate matching (LBRM) is to maintain the peak data rates and to minimize the influence on the system performance, and in addition, to decrease the UE HARQ soft buffer size. The LBRM reduces the length of virtual circular buffer of the code block segments for the transmission block (TB) that has a size greater than a predetermined size. Using the LBRM, the mother code rate for the TB becomes the function of UE soft buffer size that is allocated to the TB size and the TB. For example, for the UE category that does not support the FDD operation and the UE of the lowest category (e.g., UE categories 1 and 2 that do not support the spatial multiplexing), the limit on the buffer is transparent. That is, the LBRM does not cause the reduction of the soft buffer. In the case of the UE of high category (i.e., UE categories 3, 4 and 5), the size of soft buffer is calculated by assuming the buffer decrease of 50% that corresponds to two thirds of the mother code rate for eight HARQ processes and the maximum TB. Since an eNB knows the soft buffer capacity of UE, the code bit is transmitted in the virtual circular buffer (VCB) that may be stored in the HARQ soft buffer of the UE for all of the given TB (re)transmissions.)
Yeo and Park are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Yeo to use the soft buffer to store LLR as taught by Park in order to increase reliability of unicast and multicast PDSCH transmissions from the network entity to the UE ([¶0082] Instant Specification).
Regarding Claim 22:
Yeo in view of Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Yeo discloses:
wherein the maximum soft buffer size is based at least in part on the unicast parameters. ([¶0149] soft buffer may redefine N.sub.ref, which is required for an LBRM procedure performed when a unicast PDSCH (or PSSCH) and a groupcast PDSCH (or PSSCH) are mapped.)
Regarding Claim 23:
Yeo in view of Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Yeo discloses:
wherein receiving the at least one of the one or more unicast PDSCH transmissions or the one or more multicast PDSCH transmissions in the slot in the serving cell comprises: receiving the one or more multicast PDSCH transmissions in the slot in the serving cell in accordance with the maximum soft buffer size that is based at least in part on the unicast parameters; ([¶0149] dividing a soft buffer and using the divided soft buffer may redefine N.sub.ref, which is required for an LBRM procedure performed when a unicast PDSCH (or PSSCH) and a groupcast PDSCH (or PSSCH) or receiving the one or more unicast PDSCH transmissions and the one or more multicast PDSCH transmissions in the slot in the serving cell in accordance with the maximum soft buffer size that is based at least in part on the unicast parameters. ([¶0149] dividing a soft buffer and using the divided soft buffer may redefine N.sub.ref, which is required for an LBRM procedure performed when a unicast PDSCH (or PSSCH) and a groupcast PDSCH (or PSSCH)
Regarding Claim 24:
Yeo in view of Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Yeo discloses:
wherein the maximum data rate is based at least in part on the unicast parameters and the capability information. ([¶0063] A data rate may increase proportionally to the number of RBs scheduled to a terminal. [¶0190] N.sub.sc.sup.RB may be 12, and N.sub.symb.sup.sh may be the number of OFDM symbols allocated to a PDSCH [¶0150] A unicast PDSCH and a groupcast PDSCH may be distinguished in a procedure of decoding DCI for scheduling the corresponding PDSCHs. For example, when the terminal decodes DCI, the terminal checks a CRC by scrambling or descrambling an RNTI to the CRC. If the RNTI is an RNTI allocated for unicast transmission, the terminal may determine a PDSCH scheduled by the corresponding DCI to be a unicast PDSCH, and if the RNTI is an RNTI allocated for groupcast transmission, the terminal may determine a PDSCH scheduled by the corresponding DCI to be a groupcast PDSCH. A particular bit field of the DCI may indicate whether a scheduled PDSCH is for unicast or groupcast.)
Regarding Claim 25:
Yeo in view of Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Yeo discloses:
wherein receiving the at least one of the one or more unicast PDSCH transmissions or the one or more multicast PDSCH transmissions in the slot in the serving cell comprises: receiving the one or more multicast PDSCH transmissions in the slot in the serving cell in accordance with the maximum data rate that is based at least in part on the unicast parameters and the capability information; ([¶0063] A data rate may increase proportionally to the number of RBs scheduled to a terminal. [¶0190] N.sub.sc.sup.RB may be 12, and N.sub.symb.sup.sh may be the number of OFDM symbols allocated to a PDSCH [¶0150] A unicast PDSCH and a groupcast PDSCH may be distinguished in a procedure of decoding DCI for scheduling the corresponding PDSCHs. For example, when the terminal decodes DCI, the terminal checks a CRC by scrambling or descrambling an RNTI to the CRC. If the RNTI is an RNTI allocated for unicast transmission, the terminal may determine a PDSCH scheduled by the corresponding DCI to be a unicast PDSCH, and if the RNTI is an RNTI allocated for groupcast transmission, the terminal may determine a PDSCH scheduled by the corresponding DCI to be a groupcast PDSCH. A particular bit field of the DCI may indicate whether a scheduled PDSCH is for unicast or groupcast.)
Regarding Claim 26:
Yeo discloses:
A method of wireless communication performed by a network entity([Abstract] disclosure relates to a communication method), comprising: receiving capability information relating to a capability of a user equipment (UE) ([¶0175] the terminal may report UE capability information to the base station by higher layer signaling) for processing unicast and multicast physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmissions in a same slot; ([¶0175] The UE capability information may include information indicating a function supportable by the terminal, and may include a maximum number of layers supportable at the time of transmitting a PUSCH or/and PDSCH. [¶0110] unicast or groupcast PDSCHs can be mapped in a single slot and then received is identified [¶0112] Pseudo-code 1.1 may be a method of calculating up to how many unicast and multicast PDSCHs can be mapped in a single slot, by considering a unicast PDSCH-mappable set and a multicast PDSCH mappable set.) transmitting configuration information that indicates unicast parameters for unicast PDSCH transmissions and multicast parameters for multicast PDSCH transmissions; and transmitting at least one of one or more unicast PDSCH transmissions or one or more multicast PDSCH transmissions in a slot in a serving cell in accordance with a maximum soft buffer size associated with the UE and a maximum data rate associated with the UE, ([¶0199] A maximum data rate supported by the terminal may be noted through Table 8, and an actual data rate according to an allocated TBS may be noted through Table 9. There may be occasions when an actual data rate is greater than a maximum data rate, according to scheduling information. [¶0138] The terminal determines, based on a configured HARQ process number, the size of a soft buffer for data transmission/reception through a Uu link) wherein the maximum soft buffer size and the maximum data rate are based at least in part on at least one of the unicast parameters or the multicast parameters, ([¶0138] the entire soft buffer possessed by the terminal may be determined to be used for data transmission/reception through a Uu link, [¶0198] a maximum data rate in a downlink of a cell having a frequency bandwidth of 100 MHZ and subcarrier spacing of 30 kHz may be determined according to the number of allocated PDSCH symbols) and
Yeo does not disclose:
wherein the maximum soft buffer size is for log-likelihood ratio (LLR) loading for the UE… wherein the maximum soft buffer size is an upper bound of transport block (TB) size with limited buffer rate matching (LBRM) for allocated TBs in a time duration within an active bandwidth part (BWP) on the serving cell.
Park Discloses:
wherein the maximum soft buffer size is for log-likelihood ratio (LLR) loading for the UE ([¶0182] Owing to the entire memory required for saving the Log-Likelihood Ratio (LLR) in order to support the HARQ process (throughout all HARQ processes), that is, the UE HARQ soft buffer size, the complexity in the UE implement is increased. wherein the maximum soft buffer size is an upper bound of transport block (TB) size with limited buffer rate matching (LBRM) for allocated TBs in a time duration within an active bandwidth part (BWP) on the serving cell. [¶0183] An object of the limited buffer rate matching (LBRM) is to maintain the peak data rates and to minimize the influence on the system performance, and in addition, to decrease the UE HARQ soft buffer size. The LBRM reduces the length of virtual circular buffer of the code block segments for the transmission block (TB) that has a size greater than a predetermined size. Using the LBRM, the mother code rate for the TB becomes the function of UE soft buffer size that is allocated to the TB size and the TB. For example, for the UE category that does not support the FDD operation and the UE of the lowest category (e.g., UE categories 1 and 2 that do not support the spatial multiplexing), the limit on the buffer is transparent. That is, the LBRM does not cause the reduction of the soft buffer. In the case of the UE of high category (i.e., UE categories 3, 4 and 5), the size of soft buffer is calculated by assuming the buffer decrease of 50% that corresponds to two thirds of the mother code rate for eight HARQ processes and the maximum TB. Since an eNB knows the soft buffer capacity of UE, the code bit is transmitted in the virtual circular buffer (VCB) that may be stored in the HARQ soft buffer of the UE for all of the given TB (re)transmissions.)
Yeo and Park are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Yeo to use the soft buffer to store LLR as taught by Park in order to increase reliability of unicast and multicast PDSCH transmissions from the network entity to the UE ([¶0082] Instant Specification).
Regarding Claim 27:
Yeo in view of Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Yeo discloses:
wherein the maximum soft buffer size is based at least in part on the unicast parameters. ([¶0149] soft buffer may redefine N.sub.ref, which is required for an LBRM procedure performed when a unicast PDSCH (or PSSCH) and a groupcast PDSCH (or PSSCH) are mapped.)
Regarding Claim 28:
Yeo in view of Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Yeo discloses:
wherein transmitting the at least one of the one or more unicast PDSCH transmissions or the one or more multicast PDSCH transmissions in the slot in the serving cell comprises: transmitting the one or more multicast PDSCH transmissions in the slot in the serving cell in accordance with the maximum soft buffer size that is based at least in part on the unicast parameters; ([¶0149] dividing a soft buffer and using the divided soft buffer may redefine N.sub.ref, which is required for an LBRM procedure performed when a unicast PDSCH (or PSSCH) and a groupcast PDSCH (or PSSCH) or transmitting the one or more unicast PDSCH transmissions and the one or more multicast PDSCH transmissions in the slot in the serving cell in accordance with the maximum soft buffer size that is based at least in part on the unicast parameters. ([¶0149] dividing a soft buffer and using the divided soft buffer may redefine N.sub.ref, which is required for an LBRM procedure performed when a unicast PDSCH (or PSSCH) and a groupcast PDSCH (or PSSCH)
Regarding Claim 29:
Yeo in view of Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Yeo discloses:
wherein the maximum data rate is based at least in part on the unicast parameters and the capability information. ([¶0195] A maximum data rate supported by the terminal in the NR system may be determined through Equation (3) below. and N.sub.PRR.sup.BW(J),μ is a maximum number of RBs in BW(j). OM.sup.(j) is an overhead value, and may be 0.14 in a downlink and 0.18 in an uplink of FR1 (a band less than or equal to 6 GHz), and 0.08 in a downlink and 0.10 in an uplink of FR2 (a band greater than 6 GHz), A maximum data rate in a downlink of a cell having a frequency bandwidth of 100 MHZ and subcarrier spacing of 30 kHz may be calculated to be as Table 8 below.)
Regarding Claim 30:
Yeo in view of Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Yeo discloses:
wherein transmitting the at least one of the one or more unicast PDSCH transmissions or the one or more multicast PDSCH transmissions in the slot in the serving cell comprises: transmitting the one or more multicast PDSCH transmissions in the slot in the serving cell in accordance with the maximum data rate that is based at least in part on the unicast parameters and the capability information; ([¶0063] A data rate may increase proportionally to the number of RBs scheduled to a terminal. [¶0190] N.sub.sc.sup.RB may be 12, and N.sub.symb.sup.sh may be the number of OFDM symbols allocated to a PDSCH [¶0150] A unicast PDSCH and a groupcast PDSCH may be distinguished in a procedure of decoding DCI for scheduling the corresponding PDSCHs. For example, when the terminal decodes DCI, the terminal checks a CRC by scrambling or descrambling an RNTI to the CRC. If the RNTI is an RNTI allocated for unicast transmission, the terminal may determine a PDSCH scheduled by the corresponding DCI to be a unicast PDSCH, and if the RNTI is an RNTI allocated for groupcast transmission, the terminal may determine a PDSCH scheduled by the corresponding DCI to be a groupcast PDSCH. A particular bit field of the DCI may indicate whether a scheduled PDSCH is for unicast or groupcast.)
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUGH MARK ASHLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463