DETAILED ACTION
This final office action is responsive to the amendments filed on 11/26/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant has amended independent claims 1, 13, 18 and dependent claims 10 to include new/old limitations in a form not previously presented necessitating new search and considerations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 10, 12, 13-15, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacob et al. (US 2016/0043967 A1, hereafter Jacob) in view of Taft et al. (US 2024/0220498 A1, hereafter Taft).
Jacob and Taft were cited in the last office action.
As per claim 1, Jacob teaches the invention substantially as claimed including method, comprising:
generating, by a data management system that supports one or more software- as-a-service products (fig. 1 SAAS: CRM services, HCM/Talent services 45 [0002] services provided under SaaS [0040] database cloud service, database-as-a service fig. 4 resource manager 300), a database for managing one or more subscriptions to a cloud service that provides the data management system access to computing resources managed by the cloud service (fig. 1 cloud management functionality 35 infrastructure resources 30 [0056] fig. 5 contribution policy-based resource allocation and management system, user 405 contribution 410 resource manager 420 [0061] order or service subscription [0063] order or service subscription, define one or more resources that may be contributed fig. 6 user computer 540 resource submission, resource manager 505 resource pool 530 resource request 535; [0030] management and allocation of the configurable computing resources, response to one or more subscription orders subscribing one or more services provided by cloud computing environment, SaaS [0031] tracking, user’s subscription for services and resources in the cloud computing environment [0040] database cloud service, database-as-a service [0108] distributed system 1000 databases 1014 1016 mechanism for storing information such as user request, demand policy-based resource correlation information [0135] order management and monitoring module 1126 [0136] access management and authorization services), wherein:
the data management system comprises one or more processors and one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors, the one or more memories storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the data management system to perform the method ([0044] resource management system 105 e.g. computing system [0050] fig. 4 resource manager 305 e.g. resource management system; fig. 15 computer system 1200 processing subsystem 1204 memory 1210); and
the one or more subscriptions to the cloud services are on behalf of the data management system ([0061] order or service subscription [0063] order or service subscription, define one or more resources that may be contributed fig. 6 user computer 540 resource submission, resource manager 505 resource pool 530 resource request 535; [0030] management and allocation of the configurable computing resources, response to one or more subscription orders subscribing one or more services provided by cloud computing environment, SaaS [0031] tracking, user’s subscription for services and resources in the cloud computing environment);
generating, by the data management system, based at least in part on generating the database ([0040] database cloud service, database-as-a service [0108] distributed system 1000 databases 1014 1016 mechanism for storing information such as user request, demand policy-based resource correlation information), a plurality of tables in the database, each table of the plurality of tables indicating a respective computing resource allotment corresponding to a different respective geographic region of a plurality of geographic regions in a geographic area (fig. 2 policy based resource allocation and management system 100 different geographical regions India, UK, USA [0048] geographic restriction e.g. location of data centers, meet requirements [0050] resource manager, topology definition [0055] resource pools 225 maintain data center index 340 resource index 345, index indicate the configurable computing resources, currently available at a particular data center and/or configurable computing resources that can be provided by each data center [0069] data center index and/or resource index [0044] computing resources, located in one or more data centers which may be located in different geographical regions);
updating, by the data management system, the plurality of tables based at least in part on the one or more subscriptions ([0040] database cloud service, database-as-a service [0055] order or service subscription, data center index, resource index [0069] datacenter index and/or resource index, resource pool, updated to indicate the availability of resources for servicing [0073] changes, from the order or service subscription for resource [0108] distributed system 1000 databases 1014 1016 mechanism for storing information such as user request, demand policy-based resource correlation information [0061] order or service subscription [0063] order or service subscription, define one or more resources that may be contributed fig. 6 user computer 540 resource submission, resource manager 505 resource pool 530 resource request 535; [0030] management and allocation of the configurable computing resources, response to one or more subscription orders subscribing one or more services provided by cloud computing environment, SaaS [0031] tracking, user’s subscription for services and resources in the cloud computing environment), wherein the plurality of tables is updated to reflect the respective computing resource allotments for respective geographic regions as allocated to the data management system by the one or more subscriptions (fig. 2 policy based resource allocation and management system 100 different geographical regions India, UK, USA [0030] management and allocation, computing resources, in response to one or more subscription orders, subscribing to the one or more services [0005] user, specify, geographical location, where the resources are provisioned [0044] computing resources, located in one or more data centers which may be located in different geographical regions [0048] geographic restriction e.g. location of data centers, meet requirements [0050] resource manager, topology definition [0069] datacenter index and/or resource index, resource pool, updated to indicate the availability of resources for servicing [0073] changes, from the order or service subscription for resource [0079] user account history, resource pool, updated, indicate changes implemented from the acceptance of the order or service subscription [0030] management and allocation of the configurable computing resources, response to one or more subscription orders subscribing one or more services provided by cloud computing environment, SaaS [0031] tracking, user’s subscription for services and resources in the cloud computing environment);
receiving, by the data management system and via a user interface, a request to apply a software-as-a-service product of the one or more software-as-a-service products to data ([0093] requests from users, request include resource requests, for one or more resources from the resource pool [0097] receive the request through a resource request interface 955 [0002] service delivery, enabling, access, computing resource, SaaS [0038] various SaaS services [0031] applications, middleware and database service offerings [0034] services, SaaS, user, subscription order, order one or more services provided by the cloud computing environment [0129] Cloud user interface), wherein the request originates from a geographic region of the plurality of geographic regions corresponding to a table of the plurality of tables ([0093] requests from users [0044] receive service subscription/order, users, located in one or more data centers, located in different geographical regions 125A-D; fig. 2 UK USA CHINA INDIA);
identifying, by the data management system, in response to the request and based at least in part on a computing resource allotment for the geographic region, available computing resources for the geographic region ([0047] resource allocation, placement policies, configurable computing resource request [0055] resource pool, maintain, datacenter index and resource index, computing resources, currently available at/ provided by a particular data center [0063] order/service subscription, define, one or more users and/or geographic regions from which the one or more requestable resource may be provided [0074] order/service, identify, users, geographic regions from which the one or more requestable resources may be provided [0079] user account history, resource pool, updated, indicate changes implemented from the acceptance of the order or service subscription [0097] resources, provided to the users, located in one or more data centers, located in different geographical regions), the available computing resources managed by the cloud computing service and available to the data management system via the one or more subscriptions ([0030] management and allocation of the configurable computing resources, response to one or more subscription orders subscribing one or more services provided by cloud computing environment, SaaS [0031] tracking, user’s subscription for services and resources in the cloud computing environment; [0044] computing resources, located in one or more data centers which may be located in different geographical regions [0048] geographic restriction e.g. location of data centers, meet requirements [0050] resource manager, topology definition [0069] datacenter index and/or resource index, resource pool, updated to indicate the availability of resources for servicing [0073] changes, from the order or service subscription for resource);
determining, by the data management system, based at least in part on the available computing resources, whether to configure at least a portion of the available computing resources for instantiation of an instance of the software-as-a-service product ([0132] order orchestration module, provisioning of services and resources for the order placed by the user, management, logic to determine whether an order should proceed to provisioning [0129] Cloud user interface, order, subscription for one or more services, user intends to subscribe to [0055] resource pool, maintain, datacenter index and resource index, computing resources, currently available at/ provided by a particular data center, placement policy [0057] resource manager, evaluate, current resource availability, resource, available for servicing the user [0063] acceptance of offer, based on, availability of the resources), wherein determining whether to configure at least the portion of the available computing resources comprises ([0057] resource manager, evaluate, current resource availability, resource, available for servicing the user [0063] acceptance of offer, based on, availability of the resources) determining whether to initialize a set of computing nodes to support operation of the instance of the software-as-a-service product ([0032] services, cloud computing environment, dynamically scale to meet the needs of its users, service instance [0045] POD, service instances, created on-demand [0088] percentage of resource requests include one or more secondary resources / requires one or more resources, automatically pre-create one or more additional instances of the secondary resource [0089] known dependencies, application is requested, database and enterprise manager are also provisioned and configured; demand for the resources, create the set of resources [0090] [0091] fig. 10 865);
providing, by the data management system via the user interface, an indication of whether the instance of the software-as-a-service product is instantiated ([0134] services, resources, provisioned, notification, sent, subscribing users, indicating, requested service is now ready for user); initializing, based at least in part on determining to configure at least the portion of the available computing resources for instantiation of the instance of the software-as-a-service product ([0032] services, cloud computing environment, dynamically scale to meet the needs of its users, service instance [0045] POD, service instances, created on-demand [0069] data center index and/or resource index, resource pool, availability of the contributable resource for servicing [0088] percentage of resource requests include one or more secondary resources / requires one or more resources, automatically pre-create one or more additional instances of the secondary resource [0089] known dependencies, application is requested, database and enterprise manager are also provisioned and configured; demand for the resources, create the set of resources [0090] [0091] fig. 10 865 [0118] cloud infrastructure system 1102 may be adapted to automatically provision, manage and track a user's subscription to services offered by cloud infrastructure system 1102), the set of computing nodes to support the operation of the software-as-a-service product ([0124] fig. 14 cloud infrastructure resources 1130 providing resources for services to users; infrastructure resources 1130, hardware, servers, storage, service, SaaS); and
executing the instance of the software-as-a-service product based at least in part on the initializing ([0124] fig. 14 cloud infrastructure resources 1130 providing resources for services to users; infrastructure resources 1130, hardware, servers, storage, execute, service, SaaS [0045] POD, service instances, created on-demand [0088] percentage of resource requests include one or more secondary resources / requires one or more resources, automatically pre-create one or more additional instances of the secondary resource [0089] known dependencies, application is requested, database and enterprise manager are also provisioned and configured; demand for the resources, create the set of resources).
Jacob doesn’t specifically teach wherein the request originates from a geographic region.
Taft, however, teaches wherein the request originates from a geographic region ([0007] receiving from a client, at a gateway node, query, gateway node is geographically located in a first database region);
plurality of tables in the database, each table of the plurality of tables corresponding to a different respective geographic region of a plurality of geographic regions in a geographic area ([0064] multi-region databases, regional tables; regional tables, optimization for particular geographic locations, corresponding to configured geographic regions of the regional tables).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Jacob with the teachings of Taft of receiving query from a client at a gateway node geographically located in first database region to improve efficiency and provide the request originates from a geographic region to the method of Jacob as in the instant invention. The combination would have been obvious because applying the method of receiving query from a client with known geographical region to the subscription based cloud resource management and allocation method taught by Jacob to yield expected result with reasonable expectation of success and improved efficiency.
As per claim 2, Jacob teaches requesting, from the cloud service, an indication of the respective computing resource allotments for the respective geographic regions ([0061] user, submit, order, resources, define, user, geographic region [0074] identify users, one or more geographic regions from which the one or more resources, provided i.e. indication [0108] databases, relational, adapted to store, update and retrieve data in response to command); and
receiving, in response to the requesting, the indication of the respective computing resource allotments for the respective geographic regions ( ([0061] user, submit, order, resources, define, user, geographic region [0074] identify users, one or more geographic regions from which the one or more resources, provided i.e. indication [0108] databases, relational, adapted to store, update and retrieve data in response to command),
wherein the plurality of tables is updated based at least in part on the indication of the respective computing resource allotments for the respective geographic regions ( [0069] datacenter index and/or resource index, resource pool, updated to indicate the availability of resources for servicing [0097] resources, users, located in one or more data centers, different geographical region [0108] databases, relational, adapted to store, update and retrieve data in response to command).
As per claim 4, Jacob teaches requesting, from the cloud service, an indication of a current usage of the respective computing resource allotments for the respective geographic regions ([0061] user, submit, order, resources, define, user, geographic region; [0055] resource pool, maintain, datacenter index and resource index, computing resources, currently available at/ provided by a particular data center [0083] determining, resource, usage [0108] databases, relational, adapted to store, update and retrieve data in response to command); and
receiving, in response to the requesting, the indication of the current usage of the respective computing resource allotments for the respective geographic regions ([0055] resource pool, maintain, datacenter index and resource index, computing resources, currently available at/ provided by a particular data center [0083] current demand and resource usage, determining, resource, usage; [0108] databases, relational, adapted to store, update and retrieve data in response to command), wherein the plurality of tables is updated based at least in part on the indication of the current usage of the respective computing resource allotments for the respective geographic regions ([0069] datacenter index and/or resource index, resource pool, updated to indicate the availability of resources for servicing [0073] changes, from the order or service subscription for resource [0079] user account history, resource pool, updated, indicate changes implemented from the acceptance of the order or service subscription [0083] resources, managed, based current demand and resource usage, determining, resource, usage [0108] databases, relational, adapted to store, update and retrieve data in response to command).
As per claim 10, Jacob teaches wherein a first table of the plurality of tables comprises one or more of:
a first unique identifier of the first table, a first identifier of a first subscription associated with the first table, a first identifier of a first geographic region associated with the first table (fig. 2 UK, INDIA, CHINA, USA 125), a first indication of a first computing resource allotment for the first geographic region under the first subscription ([0055] resource pool, maintain, datacenter index and resource index, computing resources, currently available at/ provided by a particular data center, determine the configurable resources that are requested according to placement policy), a first indication of a current usage of the first computing resource allotment for the first geographic region under the first subscription ([0055] resource pool, maintain, datacenter index and resource index, computing resources [0083] determining, resource, usage) or, a first indication of a first software-as-a-service product of the one or more software-as-a-service products that is associated with the first subscription (fig. 1 SAAS 15 CRM services 40 HCM/Talent services 45 fig. 2 hypervisors [0056] fig. 5 hypervisors, storage nodes).
As per claim 12, Jacob teaches wherein the computing resources managed by the cloud service are configurable to support a remote operation of one or more instances of the one or more software-as-a-service products ([0115] service, access to remote storage on the cloud [0054] resource pools, distributed across multiple remote data centers).
Claim 13 recites an apparatus, comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to perform elements similar to claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected for the same rationale.
Claim 14 recites the apparatus for elements similar to claim 2. Therefore, it is rejected for the same rationale.
Claim 15 recites the apparatus for elements similar to claim 4. Therefore, it is rejected for the same rationale.
Claim 18 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code, the code comprising instructions executable by a processor to perform elements similar to claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected for the same rationale.
Claim 19 recites the non-transitory computer-readable medium for elements similar to claim 2. Therefore, it is rejected for the same rationale.
Claim 20 recites the non-transitory computer-readable medium for elements similar to claim 4. Therefore, it is rejected for the same rationale.
Claims 3, 5-6, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacob in view of Taft, as applied to above claims, and further in view of Chakrapani Rangarajan et al. (US 2021/0144056 A1, hereafter Chakrapani Rangarajan).
Chakrapani Rangarajan was cited in the last office action.
As per claim 3, Jacob teaches determining, based at least in part on the indication of the respective computing resource allotments, a quantity of available processing unit resources for the geographic region ([0074] identify users, one or more geographic regions from which the one or more resources, provided [0069] datacenter index and/or resource index, resource pool, updated to indicate the availability of resources for servicing); and
calculating a threshold quantity of clusters that is available to support operation of the software-as-a-service product within the geographic region based at least in part on (fig. 1 SAAS 15 CRM services 40 HCM/Talent services 45; fig. 2 China, India, UK, US 125 ):
dividing the quantity of the available processing unit resources for the geographic region ([0055] resource pool, maintain, datacenter index and resource index, computing resources, currently available at/ provided by a particular data center, placement policy [0057] resource manager, evaluate, current resource availability, resource, available for servicing the user) by an average quantity of processing unit resources allocated to a cluster ([0050] topology definition, requirement, individual configurable computing resources e.g. compute nodes such as memory, number of CPUs storage requirement).
Jacob and Taft, in combination, do not specifically teach calculating a threshold quantity of clusters based at least in part of dividing the quantity of available resources by average quantity of allocated resource to a cluster.
Chakrapani Rangarajan, however, teaches calculating a threshold quantity of clusters based at least in part of dividing the quantity of available resources by average quantity of allocated resource to a cluster ([0049] calculates the number of VM by dividing the hosts remaining resource capacity with the resource needs of the VM flavor ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Jacob and Taft with the teachings of Chakrapani Rangarajan of calculates the number of VMs by dividing the host's remaining resource capacity with the resource needs of the VM flavor to improve efficiency and allow calculating a threshold quantity of clusters based at least in part of dividing the quantity of available resources by average quantity of allocated resource to a cluster to the method of Jacob and Taft as in the instant invention. The combination would have been obvious because applying the method of calculates the number of VMs by dividing the host's remaining resource capacity with the resource needs of the VM to the subscription based cloud resource management and allocation method taught by Jacob and Taft to yield expected result of determining threshold number of cluster with reasonable expectation of success and improved efficiency.
As per claim 5, Jacob teaches requesting, from the cloud service, an indication of the respective computing resource allotments for the respective geographic regions and an indication of a current usage of available processing unit resources for the respective geographic regions ([0061] user, submit, order, resources, define, user, geographic region; [0055] resource pool, maintain, datacenter index and resource index, computing resources, currently available at/ provided by a particular data center [0083] determining, resource, usage [0108] databases, relational, adapted to store, update and retrieve data in response to command);
determining, based at least in part on the indication of the respective computing resource allotments, a quantity of available processing unit resources for the geographic region, a current usage of the available processing unit resources for the geographic region, and a current usage of clusters for the geographic region ([0055] resource pool, maintain, datacenter index and resource index, computing resources, currently available at/ provided by a particular data center [0083] determining, resource, usage [0108] databases, relational, adapted to store, update and retrieve data in response to command); and
calculating a threshold quantity of clusters that is available to support operation of the software-as-a-service product within the geographic region based at least in part on (fig. 1 SAAS 15 CRM services 40 HCM/Talent services 45; fig. 2 China, India, UK, US 125 ):
dividing a difference between the quantity of the available processing unit resources ([0055] resource pool, maintain, datacenter index and resource index, computing resources, currently available at/ provided by a particular data center, placement policy [0057] resource manager, evaluate, current resource availability, resource, available for servicing the user) and the current usage of the available processing unit resources ([0083] determining, resource, usage) by an average quantity of processing unit resources allocated to a cluster, and combining a result of the dividing with the current usage of clusters for the geographic region.
Chakrapani Rangarajan teaches remaining claim elements of calculating a threshold quantity of clusters based at least in part of dividing a difference between the quantity of available resources and the current usage by average quantity of allocated resource to a cluster ([0049] calculates the number of VM that a host can support, host capacity, deduct the needs of the hypervisor, host OS, calculates the number of VM by dividing the hosts remaining resource capacity with the resource needs of the VM flavor ), and combining a result of the dividing with the current usage of clusters for the geographic region ([0049] number of VM host can support, [0052] availability and resource usage).
As per claim 6, Jacob teaches wherein identifying the available computing resources for the geographic region comprises:
determining the computing resource allotment for the geographic region and a current usage of the computing resource allotment based at least in part on reading a table of the plurality of tables that is associated with the geographic region ([0055] resource pool, maintain, datacenter index and resource index, computing resources, currently available at/ provided by a particular data center [0083] determining, resource, usage [0108] databases, relational, adapted to store, update and retrieve data in response to command); and
determining a difference between the computing resource allotment and the current usage of the computing resource allotment ([0083] determining, resource, usage [0055] resource pool, maintain, datacenter index and resource index, computing resources, currently available at/ provided by a particular data center, determine the configurable resources that are requested according to placement policy) wherein the available computing resources corresponds to the difference ([0055] resource pool, maintain, datacenter index and resource index, computing resources, currently available at/ provided by a particular data center).
Chakrapani Rangarajan teaches remaining claim elements of determining a difference between resource allotment and current usage, wherein available resources corresponds to the difference ([0049] resource capacity, deducts, needs, remaining resources).
Claim 16 recites the apparatus for elements similar to claim 5. Therefore, it is rejected for the same rationale.
Claim 17 recites the apparatus for elements similar to claim 6. Therefore, it is rejected for the same rationale.
Claim 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacob in view of Taft, as applied to above claims, and further in view of Fernandes (US 2012/0102185 A1).
Fernandes was cited in the last office action.
As per claim 7, Jacob teaches determining, based at least in part on identifying the available computing resources for the geographic region (([0055] resource pool, maintain, datacenter index and resource index, computing resources, currently available at/ provided by a particular data center), that the available computing resources for the geographic region comprises computing capacity that exceeds a threshold ([0057] resource manager, evaluate, current resource availability, resource, available for servicing the user [0063] acceptance of offer, based on, availability of the resources),
wherein determining whether to configure at least the portion of the available computing resources comprises:
determining to configure at least the portion of the available computing resources based at least in part on the computing capacity of the available computing resources exceeding the threshold ([0057] resource manager, evaluate, current resource availability, resource, available for servicing the user [0063] acceptance of offer, based on, availability of the resources).
Jacob and Taft, in combination, do not specifically teach available capacity exceeds a threshold.
Fernandes, however, teaches remaining claim elements of available capacity exceeds a threshold ([0006]thresholds, over capacity of server hosts).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Jacob and Taft with the teachings of Fernandes with configurable thresholds and metrics data indicating the over or under capacity of server host to improve efficiency and allow determining available capacity exceeds a threshold to the method of Jacob and Taft as in the instant invention. The combination would have been obvious because applying the method of monitoring data including configurable threshold and determining metrics indicating over and under capacity as taught by Fernandes to the subscription based cloud resource management and allocation method taught by Jacob and Taft to yield expected result of determining available exceeds a threshold with reasonable expectation of success and improved efficiency.
As per claim 8, Jacob teaches monitoring, using the plurality of tables, respective computing capacities of available computing resources within the respective geographic regions ([0055] resource pool, maintain, datacenter index and resource index, computing resources, currently available at/ provided by a particular data center [0083] determining, resource, usage [0011] track utilization [0031] tracking a user’s subscription for services and resources; [0048] geographic restriction e.g. location of data centers, meet requirements [0050] resource manager, topology definition [0055] resource pools 225 maintain data center index 340 resource index 345, index indicate the configurable computing resources, currently available at a particular data center and/or configurable computing resources that can be provided by each data center [0044] computing resources, located in one or more data centers which may be located in different geographical regions); and
Fernandes teaches remaining claim elements of issuing, based at least in part on monitoring the respective computing capacities, an alert that a computing capacity of available computing resources for a second geographic region is below a threshold ([0006] determining whether the metrics data indicates an over or under capacity of the server hosts, sending a first/second request).
As per claim 9, Jacob teaches requesting, from the cloud service, based at least in part on the computing capacity of the available computing resources for the second geographic region being below the threshold ([0055] resource pool, maintain, datacenter index and resource index, computing resources, currently available at/ provided by a particular data center [0083] determining, resource, usage [0011] track utilization [0031] tracking a user’s subscription for services and resources), additional computing resources for the second geographic region ([0082] additional resources requested).
Fernandes teaches requesting, from the cloud service, based on capacity being below threshold, additional computing resources for the second geographic region ([0006] determining whether the metrics data indicates an over or under capacity of the server hosts, sending a first/second request; locate/deploy/connect/register additional game servers).
Claim 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacob in view of Taft, as applied to above claims, and further in view of Venkatesh (US 2018/0046586 A1).
Venkatesh was cited in the last office action.
As per claim 11, Jacob teaches wherein a table of the plurality of tables corresponds to a unique combination of the one or more subscriptions and the plurality of geographic regions ([0055] data center index, resource index, computing resources, currently available at a particular data center [0044] service subscription, user, located resources, located, different regions).
Jacob and Taft, in combination, do not specifically teach a unique combination.
Venkatesh, however, teaches a unique combination of the one or more subscriptions and the plurality of geographic regions ([0003] unique combination of subscription account, storage location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Jacob and Taft with the teachings of Venkatesh of unique combination of subscription and storage location to improve efficiency and a unique combination of the one or more subscriptions and the plurality of geographic regions to the method of Jacob and Taft as in the instant invention. The combination would have been obvious because applying the known method of unique combination of subscription and storage location as taught by Venkatesh to the subscription based cloud resource management and allocation method taught by Jacob and Taft to yield expected result of providing unique combination of subscription and region with reasonable expectation of success and improved efficiency.
Examiners Note
Applicant is further reminded of that the cited paragraphs and in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant(s) and although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider all of the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
The previous specification objections have been withdrawn.
The previous claim interpretation under 112(f) has been withdrawn.
The previous 112(b) objections have been withdrawn.
The previous 101 objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed on 11/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In Applicant’s response filed on 11/26/2025, Applicant argues the following:
Jacob doesn’t teach or suggest any “a plurality of table in the database” where each table of the plurality of tables indicates “a respective computing resource allotment corresponding to a different respective geographic region of a plurality of geographic regions in a geographic area”.
Examiner has thoroughly considered Applicant’s arguments, but respectfully, find them unpersuasive for at least the following reasons:
With respect to point a: Examiner respectfully disagree. First arguments moot in view newly cited portion of the cited prior arts. However, following explains the portion of cited prior art teachings that meet the required claim elements. Argued claim elements requires i.) plurality of table in the database, ii.) each table corresponding to a different geographic regions; iii.) each table indicating computing resource allotted to respective geographic region, according to the plane meaning of the claim elements. Jacob teaches SaaS model for database cloud services providing database as a service ([0040] [0108]), which by definition contains one or more tables as required by i.). Jacob further resource allocation and management system for different geographic regions (fig. 2 [0048] [0050] ) resource pools maintaining data center index and resource index indicating configurable computing resources currently available at a particular data center that can be provided by each data center and each datacenter may be located in different geographical regions ([0044] [0055]), which teaches for every geographic region containing one or more data center and different indices i.e. listing/tables indicating available computing resources at that data center. One of ordinary skills in the art would realize that information in the index corresponds to resource available at different geographic regions. In addition, Tuft teaches similar arrangement as recited in the claim of multi-regional database comprising regional tables corresponding different geographic regions ([0064]), which can be combined with the information of available/allotted resources in each data center of different regions as taught by Jacob would yield in expected result and efficiency.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABU ZAR GHAFFARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2195