DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Below is the Final Action on the Merits for claims 1 – 20. Claims 21 – 30 are cancelled.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 6, 8 – 12 and 19 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mouri et al (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2009/0313776 A1)
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Mouri teaches a substrate treating apparatus (substrate cleaning apparatus, 1) comprising: a housing (chamber, 2) having a treating space (cup, 5); a support unit (spin chuck, 3) configured to support a substrate (wafer, W) in the treating space (5); and a brush unit (cleaning device, 20) configured to clean the substrate (Paragraph [0032]) supported on the support unit (3), and wherein the brush unit (20) includes: a body (brush, 23) having a circular-shaped plan view (Fig. 1); and a plurality of contact pads (sponge-type resin, 57; Fig. 9) protruding from the body (23) and defining a plurality of groove portions (brush parts, 56 with bristle assembly, 58 which are formed as grooves between changing parts, 57; Fig. 9 and 57b; Fig. 10) for discharging foreign substances dropped from a substrate (brush part, 56 is formed as bristles, thus allowing foreign substances to be discharged through the grooves), each groove portion (56) of the plurality of groove portions defined between adjacent contact pads (57), and wherein a width of the groove portion (56) near a center (21b) of the body (23) is different from a width of a groove portion (56) of the plurality of grooves near an edge of the body (23; the groove portion is formed like a wedge as shown in Fig. 9 and is narrower toward the center and widens toward the edge).
Mouri embodiment of Fig. 8 does not explicitly teach a plurality of contact pads protruding from a bottom of the body, however, Mouri teaches an embodiment as shown in Fig. 13 wherein a plurality of contact pads (21c’) protruding from a bottom of the body (23).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Mouri to further a plurality of contact pads protruding from a bottom of the body, as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 VI).
Regarding Claim 2, Mouri, as modified, teaches the substrate treating apparatus (substrate cleaning apparatus, 1) wherein the plurality of contact pads (57) are along a circumference direction of the body (21), and the groove portion (56) has a width narrower near the center (21b) of the body than near the edge of the body (21; Fig. 9).
Regarding Claim 3, Mouri, as modified, i teaches the substrate treating apparatus (substrate cleaning apparatus, 1) wherein the width of the groove portion (56) gradually increases toward the edge of the body from the center of the body (21; Fig. 9).
Regarding Claim 4, Mouri, as modified, teaches the substrate treating apparatus (substrate cleaning apparatus, 1) wherein the brush unit (20) further includes a plurality of contact protrusions (bristles, 58; Fig. 9) protruding from a bottom of each groove portion (56; Fig. 9) of the plurality of groove portions.
Regarding Claims 5 and 20, Mouri, as modified, teaches the substrate treating apparatus (substrate cleaning apparatus, 1) of claims 4 and 19, as discussed above.
Mouri does not teach the contact protrusion protrudes from the bottom of the groove portion to flush with a bottom surface of the contact pad or less than thereof; however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Mouri to further include the contact protrusion protrudes from the bottom of the groove portion to flush with a bottom surface of the contact pad or less than thereof, as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 VI).
Regarding Claim 6, Mouri, as modified, teaches the substrate treating apparatus (substrate cleaning apparatus, 1) of claim 4, as discussed above.
Mouri does not teach the plurality of contact protrusions in each groove portion are grouped into a plurality of groups with a distance between adjacent groups being greater than a distance between adjacent contact protrusion in each group, at least one group of the contact protrusions is positioned near the center of the body, and at least one group of the contact protrusion is positioned near the edge of the body; however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Mouri to further include the plurality of contact protrusions in each groove portion are grouped into a plurality of groups with a distance between adjacent groups being greater than a distance between adjacent contact protrusion in each group, at least one group of the contact protrusions is positioned near the center of the body, and at least one group of the contact protrusion is positioned near the edge of the body, as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 VI).
Regarding Claim 8, Mouri, as modified, teaches the substrate treating apparatus (substrate cleaning apparatus, 1) wherein the plurality of contact pad (57) is more ductile than the contact protrusion (58; Paragraphs [0045] and [0049]) .
Regarding Claim 9, Mouri, as modified, teaches the substrate treating apparatus (substrate cleaning apparatus, 1) wherein a material of plurality of the contact pad (57) comprises a PVA (polyvinyl alcohol; Paragraph [0049]), and a material of the plurality of contact protrusion (58) comprises a nylon, a PP (polypropylene; Paragraph [0049]), or a silicon carbide (SiC).
Regarding Claim 10, Mouri, as modified, teaches the substrate treating apparatus (substrate cleaning apparatus, 1) wherein the body (21) has a through-hole (21a) at the center thereof (Fig. 9), and the plurality of contact pads(57) protrude from the body to operationally contact a surface of the substrate supported on the substrate (W: Paragraph [0061]).
Regarding Claim 11, Mouri, as modified, teaches the substrate treating apparatus (substrate cleaning apparatus, 1) wherein the brush unit (20) further comprises a plurality of polishing pads (57b) in the groove portion (Fig. 10; groove portion formed between adjacent 57a) operationally contacting a surface of the substrate (W) supported on the support unit (Fig. 10).
Regarding Claim 12, Mouri, as modified, teaches the substrate treating apparatus (substrate cleaning apparatus, 1) wherein the brush unit (20) further comprises a cleaning nozzle (cleaning liquid nozzle, 11) for discharging a cleaning liquid on a substrate supported on the support unit (Paragraph [0052]).
Regarding Independent Claim 19, Mouri teaches a brush unit (cleaning device, 20) for removing foreign substances attached to a substrate (Wafer, W) by contacting the substrate comprising: a circular disc shaped body (23); and a plurality of contact pads (sponge-type resin, 57; Fig. 9) protruding from the circular disc shaped body (23) protruding from the body along a circumferential direction of the circular disc shaped body (Fig. 9) and defining a plurality of groove portions (brush parts, 56 with bristle assembly, 58 which are formed as grooves between changing parts, 57; Fig. 9) for discharging the foreign substances, each groove portion (56) of the plurality of groove portions defined between adjacent contact pads (57; Fig. 9); and at least one contact protrusion (58) protruding in a groove portion (56) of the plurality of groove portions from a bottom of the groove portion (Fig. 9), and wherein the groove portion has a fan shape when seen from above (Fig. 9).
Mouri embodiment of Fig. 8 does not explicitly teach a plurality of contact pads protruding from a bottom of the body, however, Mouri teaches an embodiment as shown in Fig. 13 wherein a plurality of contact pads (21c’) protruding from a bottom of the body (23).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Mouri to further a plurality of contact pads protruding from a bottom of the body, as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 VI).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mouri et al (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2009-0313776 A1) in view of Choi (KR20100060680 A).
Regarding Claim 7, Mouri, as modified, teaches the substrate treating apparatus (substrate cleaning apparatus, 1) of claim 4, as discussed above.
Mouri does not teach a bottom end of the plurality of contact protrusion is convex.
Choi, however, teaches the substrate treating apparatus (single wafer polishing system, Fig. 3) wherein a bottom end of the plurality of contact protrusion (613b) is convex (Fig. 15).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Mouri to further include a bottom end of the contact protrusion is convex as taught by Choi, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. (MPEP 2144.04 IV B).
Claims 13 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mouri et al (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2009/0313776 A1) in view of Kurusu (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2013/0206171 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, Mouri, as modified, teaches the substrate treating apparatus (substrate cleaning apparatus, 1) wherein the brush unit (20) further comprises: an arm (rotating arm, 25) for supporting the body (21); an arm driver for moving the arm (Paragraph [0034]); a holder (24a; Fig. 3) for supporting a side of the body (21); a support rod (22) penetrating the arm (25) and connecting to the holder (24a; Fig. 3), and having an elastic member (33) positioned therein; and a holder driver (motor, 34) for rotating the holder (24; Paragraph [0036]).
Mouri does not teach an arm for supporting the cleaning nozzle.
Kurusu, however, teaches an arm (41) for supporting the cleaning nozzle (cleaning nozzle, 42; Paragraph [0058]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Mouri to further include an arm for supporting the cleaning nozzle, as taught by Kurusu, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 VI).
Regarding Claim 14, Mouri, as modified, teaches the substrate treating apparatus (substrate cleaning apparatus, 1) wherein arm (Paragraph [0034]) drivers moves the body between a central region and an edge region of the substrate supported on the support unit (Paragraphs [0034] – [0038]).
Claims 15 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amano (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0300734 A1) in view of Mouri et al (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2009/0313776 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 15, Amano teaches substrate treating apparatus (Fig. 4) comprising: an index block (carry-in/out block, 2); and a treating block (delivery block, 4 and processing block, 3) adjacent to the index block (2), and wherein the index block (2) includes: at least one load port (mounting unit,, 11) on which a container (cassettes, C) for a substrate is placed (Paragraph [0048]); and an index frame in which an index robot (transfer unit, 12) for transferring the substrate between the container and the treating block is disposed (Paragraph [0049]), and wherein the treating block (4/3) includes: a buffer unit (buffer unit, 21U; Fig. 2) configured to temporarily store the substrate (Paragraph [0092]); an inversion unit (reversing devices 23a and b) stacked over or under the buffer unit (21U; Fig. 2) and configured to turn over the substrate (Paragraph [0123]); a treating chamber (first processing unit, 18; Fig. 2) for treating the substrate (Paragraph [0096]); and a transfer chamber (delivery devices, 15a and b) having a transfer robot (Fig. 1) for transferring the substrate (W) between the buffer unit (Fig. 1), the inversion unit (23a), and the treating chamber (18), and wherein the treating chamber (18) includes: a housing (101) having a treating space (103, 203); a support unit (102, 202) configured to support the substrate (W) in the treating space (103, 203); a liquid supply unit (discharging unit, 205) configured to supply a treating liquid to a substrate supported on the support unit; (Fig. 7) and a brush unit (cleaning unit, 104) configured to clean the substrate supported on the support unit (Fig. 4), and wherein the brush unit (104) includes: a body (bevel brush, 141) having a circular-shaped cross-section (Fig. 4) plan view and having a through-hole (through hole that shaft, 142 is mounted in) at a center thereof (Fig. 4); and a cleaning nozzle (nozzle, 251; Figs. 6 and 7) for discharging a cleaning liquid onto the substrate supported on the support unit (Fig. 7).
Amano does not explicitly teach a plurality of contact pads protruding from a bottom of the body the plurality of contact pads being spaced apart from each other along a circumference direction of the body and defining a groove portion between adjacent contact pads for discharging foreign substances dropped from the substrate; at least one contact protrusion within the groove portion and protruding from a bottom of the grove.
Mouri, however, teaches a plurality of contact pads (57; Fig. 9) protruding from a bottom of the body the body (21); the plurality of contact pads (57) being spaced apart from each other along a circumference direction of the body (21) and defining a groove portion (brush parts, 56 with bristle assembly, 58 which are formed as grooves between changing parts, 57; Fig. 9) between adjacent contact pads (57) for discharging foreign substances dropped from the substrate; at least one contact protrusion (58) within the groove portion (Fig. 9) and protruding from a bottom of the grove (Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Mouri to further include a plurality of contact pads protruding from the body the plurality of contact pads being spaced apart from each other along a circumference direction of the body and defining a groove portion between adjacent contact pads for discharging foreign substances dropped from the substrate; at least one contact protrusion within the groove portion and protruding from a bottom of the grove, as taught by Mouri, to provide a brush where the property of the changing part is changed along a diameter of the periphery cleaning part to distribute cleaning performance.
Mouri embodiment of Fig. 8 does not explicitly teach a plurality of contact pads protruding from a bottom of the body, however, Mouri teaches an embodiment as shown in Fig. 13 wherein a plurality of contact pads (21c’) protruding from a bottom of the body (23).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Mouri to further a plurality of contact pads protruding from a bottom of the body, as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 VI).
Regarding Claim 16, Amano, as modified, teaches the substrate treating apparatus of claim 15 as discussed above.
Amano does not teach a width of the groove portion becomes gradually wider radially outward in the body.
Mouri, however, teaches a width of the groove portion (56) becomes gradually wider radially outward in the body (21; Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Mouri to further include a width of the groove portion becomes gradually wider radially outward in the body, as taught by Mouri, to provide a brush where the property of the changing part is changed along a diameter of the periphery cleaning part to distribute cleaning performance.
Regarding Claim 17, Amano, as modified, teaches the substrate treating apparatus of claim 15 as discussed above.
Amano does not teach the groove portion has a fan shape when seen from above.
Mouri, however, teaches the groove portion (56) has a fan shape when seen from above (Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Mouri to further include the groove portion has a fan shape when seen from above, as taught by Mouri, to provide a brush where the property of the changing part is changed along a diameter of the periphery cleaning part to distribute cleaning performance.
Regarding Claim 18, Amano, as modified, teaches the substrate treating apparatus of claim 15 as discussed above.
Amano does not teach substrate treating apparatus wherein the contact pad is more ductile than the contact protrusion.
Mouri, however, teaches the substrate treating apparatus (substrate cleaning apparatus, 1) wherein the contact pad (57) is more ductile than the contact protrusion (58; Paragraphs [0045] and [0049]) .
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Mouri to further include the contact pad is more ductile than the contact protrusion, as taught by Mouri, to provide a brush where the property of the changing part is changed along a diameter of the periphery cleaning part to distribute cleaning performance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants Arguments/Remarks dated February 16, 2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1 – 20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 in regards to Mouri – embodiment of Figs. 8 and 9 have been fully considered and are persuasive as . Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Mouri – embodiment of Figs. 13 and 14.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723