DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 13 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 13 (line 1) “wherein” should recite –wherein: --.
In claim 17 (line 3) “seconds” should recite –second ends--.
For the purpose of examining the application, it is assumed that appropriate correction has been made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 9-12 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oneseat (GB 2 589 408) in view of Worth et al. (US 3,851,980).
As to claims 1, 15 and 16, Oneseat discloses a tube connector comprising:
a cylindrically shaped body 4 having a hollow interior defining a cylindrical inner surface therein, the cylindrically shaped body having a first end with a first opening and a second end with a second opening, the first
and second openings both being open to the hollow interior, the cylindrically shaped body having a pipe aligning structure 2,3 within the hollow interior spaced apart from the cylindrical inner surface dimensioned and shaped to receive a hollow pipe 8,9 and center the hollow pipe with the hollow interior (Figures 1-13).
Oneseat fails to disclose a tube connector having a compressible resilient elastic material disposed in a recessed portion of the cylindrical inner surface; wherein the compressible material is configured to be disposed between the hollow pipe and the cylindrical inner surface to eliminate vibrations and enable correction of misalignments.
Worth et al. teach a tube connector having a compressible resilient elastic material 48 disposed in a recessed portion 47 of a cylindrical inner surface of a cylindrically shaped body 22; wherein the compressible material is configured to be disposed between a hollow pipe 21 and the cylindrical inner surface to eliminate vibrations and enable correction of misalignments; the compressible elastic bushing enabling the hollow pipe to be securely removably coupled within the cylindrically shaped body and ensuring concentric alignment between the members (Figures 1-2). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tube connector disclosed by Oneseat to comprise a compressible elastic bushing, as taught by Worth et al., disposed between the hollow pipe and a recessed portion in the cylindrical inner surface, in order to enable the hollow pipe to be securely removably coupled within the cylindrically shaped body and to ensure concentric alignment between the members.
As to claim 2, Oneseat discloses a tube connector wherein the hollow interior of the cylindrically shaped body 4 includes a wall 5 dividing a first portion of the hollow interior from a second portion of the hollow interior, the wall being perpendicular to a lengthwise direction of the cylindrically shaped body (Figures 1-13).
As to claim 3, Oneseat discloses a tube connector wherein the wall 5 divides the hollow interior into a first hollow area accessed by the first opening and a second hollow area accessed by the second opening (Figures 1-13).
As to claim 4, Oneseat discloses a tube connector wherein the pipe aligning structure 2,3 includes a projection 2 extending from the wall 5 within the first hollow area of the hollow interior (Figures 1-13).
As to claim 7, Oneseat discloses a tube connector wherein the pipe aligning structure 2,3 includes a third elongated projection 3 extending from the wall 5 within the second hollow area of the hollow interior (Figures 1-13).
As to claim 9, Oneseat discloses a tube connector wherein the cylindrically shaped body 4 is made of a plastic/nylon material (P6 L7-10).
As to claim 10, Oneseat discloses a tube connector wherein the cylindrically shaped body 4 is made of plastic (P6 L7-10).
Oneseat fails to disclose that the plastic is polyamide 6. Oneseat does not disclose any structural or functional significance as to the specific plastic material of the connector.
Applicant is reminded that the selection of a known material based upon its suitability for the intended use, wherein there is no structural or functional significance disclosed as to the specific material of an element, is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector disclosed by Oneseat wherein the cylindrically shaped body is made of polyamide 6, as Oneseat does not disclose any structural or functional significance as to the specific plastic material of the connector, and as such selection of material is a design consideration within the skill of the art which would yield expected and predictable results.
As to claim 11, Oneseat discloses a tube connector wherein the cylindrically shaped body 4 is made of metal (P6 L7-10).
Oneseat fails to disclose that the metal is aluminum or an aluminum alloy. Oneseat does not disclose any structural or functional significance as to the specific metal material of the connector.
Applicant is reminded that the selection of a known material based upon its suitability for the intended use, wherein there is no structural or functional significance disclosed as to the specific material of an element, is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector disclosed by Oneseat wherein the cylindrically shaped body is made of aluminum or an aluminum alloy, as Oneseat does not disclose any structural or functional significance as to the specific metal material of the connector, and as such selection of material is a design consideration within the skill of the art which would yield expected and predictable results.
As to claim 12, Oneseat discloses a tube connector wherein the first opening of the first end of the cylindrically shaped body 4 is dimensioned and shaped to receive a first hollow pipe 8 and the second opening of the second end of the cylindrically shaped body is dimensioned and shaped to receive a second hollow pipe 9 (Figures 1-13).
As to claim 17, Oneseat discloses a tube connector wherein the cylindrically shaped body 4 includes a first end and second end, and the pipe aligning structure 2,3 is disposed between the first and second ends of the cylindrically shaped body (Figures 1-13).
Claims 5, 6, 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oneseat in view of Worth et al., as applied to claims 1, 4 and 7 above, and further in view of Poissant et al. (US 5,690,446).
As to claims 5 and 6, Oneseat discloses a tube connector wherein the projection 2 includes first and second elongated projections that extends from the wall through the first opening such that the first and second elongated projections define an X shape as viewed through the first opening (Figures 1-13).
Oneseat fails to disclose a tube connector wherein the first and second elongated projections extend from the wall to proximate the first opening. Oneseat does not disclose any structural or functional significance as to the specific length the projections extend from the first opening.
Poissant et al. teach a tube connector wherein first and second elongated projections 56 extend from a wall to proximate a first opening (Figures 10-13).
Applicant is reminded that a change in the size of a prior art device, wherein there is no structural or functional significance disclosed as to the specific size of an element, is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector disclosed by Oneseat wherein the first and second elongated projections extend from the wall to proximate the first opening, as taught by Poissant et al., as Oneseat does not disclose any structural or functional significance as to the specific length the projections extend from the first opening, and as such change in size is a design consideration within the skill of the art that would yield expected and predictable results; and as it would be expected that one of ordinary skill in the art would routinely experiment to arrive at the optimum or workable dimensions for a given application.
As to claim 8, Oneseat discloses a tube connector wherein the pipe aligning structure includes a fourth elongated projection 3 that extends from the wall through the second opening such that the third and fourth elongated projections define an X shape as viewed through the second opening (Figures 1-13).
Oneseat fails to disclose a tube connector wherein the fourth elongated projection extends from the wall to proximate the second opening. Oneseat does not disclose any structural or functional significance as to the specific length the projections extend from the second opening.
Poissant et al. teach a tube connector wherein third and fourth elongated projections 56 extend from a wall to proximate a second opening (Figures 10-13).
Applicant is reminded that a change in the size of a prior art device, wherein there is no structural or functional significance disclosed as to the specific size of an element, is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector disclosed by Oneseat wherein the fourth elongated projection extends from the wall to proximate the second opening, as taught by Poissant et al., as Oneseat does not disclose any structural or functional significance as to the specific length the projections extend from the second opening, and as such change in size is a design consideration within the skill of the art that would yield expected and predictable results; and as it would be expected that one of ordinary skill in the art would routinely experiment to arrive at the optimum or workable dimensions for a given application.
As to claim 18, Oneseat fails discloses a tube connector wherein the pipe aligning structure is disposed entirely withing the hollow interior of the cylindrically shaped body. Oneseat does not disclose any structural or functional significance as to the specific length the projections of the pipe aligning structure extend from the first and second openings of the hollow interior.
Poissant et al. teach a tube connector wherein a pipe aligning structure A is disposed entirely withing a hollow interior of a cylindrically shaped body 28 (Figure 10 reprinted below with annotations; engagement portion A of projections 56 of the pipe aligning structure is disposed entirely within the hollow interior of cylindrically shaped body 28; Figures 10-13).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A)]
Applicant is reminded that a change in the size of a prior art device, wherein there is no structural or functional significance disclosed as to the specific size of an element, is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector disclosed by Oneseat wherein the pipe aligning structure is disposed entirely within the hollow interior of the cylindrically shaped body, as taught by Poissant et al., as Oneseat does not disclose any structural or functional significance as to the specific length the projections of the pipe aligning structure extend from the first and second openings of the hollow interior, and as such change in size is a design consideration within the skill of the art that would yield expected and predictable results; and as it would be expected that one of ordinary skill in the art would routinely experiment to arrive at the optimum or workable dimensions for a given application.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oneseat in view of Worth et al., as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Kee Klamp (GB 2 413 605).
As to claim 13, Oneseat fails to disclose a tube connector wherein the cylindrically shaped body includes a first fastening structure that retains the first hollow pipe within a first hollow area of the cylindrically shaped body, and a second fastening structure that retains the second hollow pipe within a second hollow area of the cylindrically shaped body.
Kee Klamp teaches a tube connector wherein a cylindrically shaped body 15 includes a first fastening structure 18,20 that retains a first hollow pipe 13 within a first hollow area of the cylindrically shaped body, and a second fastening structure 18,20 that retains a second hollow pipe 14 within a second hollow area of the cylindrically shaped body; the fastening structures more securely retaining the pipes within the connector (Figures 1-2). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector disclosed by Oneseat to comprise first and second fastening structures, as taught by Kee Klamp, in order to more securely retain the pipes within the connector.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
02/04/26
/MICHAEL P FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619