DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Responsive to the amendment filed 11 May 2026, claim 1 and 5-7 are amended. Claims 1, and 4-7 are currently under examination.
Status of Previous Rejections
Responsive to the amendment filed 11 May 2026, new grounds of rejection are presented corresponding to the changes to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sokoluk, Maximilian, Jie Yuan, Shuaihang Pan, and Xiaochun Li. "Nanoparticles Enabled Mechanism for Hot Cracking Elimination in Aluminum Alloys." Metallurgical & Materials Transactions. Part A 52, no. 7 (2021): 3083 (hereinafter “Sokoluk”).
Regarding claim 1, Sokoluk teaches a material that solves hot cracking problems in aluminum cast aluminum (See Abstract, or II. Materials and Methods). Sokoluk teaches that the aluminum alloy including the nanoparticle TiC is provided by MetaLi (p. 3084). Sokoluk teaches that a 7075NT-C alloy is formed, meaning a 7075 alloy with TiC nanoparticles (p. 3084). Sokoluk teaches that the metal with the TiC nanoparticles is cast (p. 3084).
Sokoluk teaches that the hot cracking problem is solved (V. Conclusions). Sokoluk does not teach a prevention of cracking at 100 – 300 C/s cooling rate. Regarding the limitations of wherein the nanoparticle enhances the fluidity of the metal alloy to fill a die at a pressure of 30 to 100 MPa, Sokoluk does not teach this feature. Sokoluk teaches that the alloy may be made by casting.
The properties not disclosed in the prior art would have been inherently present in the prior art. The same structure, the same composition, used for casting, and to solve problems of hot cracking (though at different cooling rates), would have had the same properties as claimed inherently. Applicant is directed to MPEP 2112.
Regarding claim 4, Sokoluk teaches that the TiC nanoparticles can coat 7075 aluminum metal powders (see pp. 3083-3084). The disclosure reads on a core of Al and a shell of the nanoparticles. Thus the TiC nanoparticles are in the structure of an aluminum core-TiC shell particle.
Regarding claims 5-6, Sokoluk teaches that metal with 0.8% TiC is provided by MetaLi (p. 3084). The amount falls within each of the claimed ranges, anticipating the entire range. Applicant is directed to MPEP 2131.03.
Regarding claim 7, Sokoluk teaches that a 6061 alloy is prepared (II. Materials and Methods, Table 1).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 4-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 18/364334 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because applicant’s copending application does not disclose a “high pressure” die casting in claim 1. However, the material is considered to be essentially the same material of a metal matric with less than 4.0% silicon, and having a nanoparticle, and used for die casting. Corresponding features of the claims are met by the copending dependent claims, such as copending claim 2, copending claim 3, copending claim 4, and so on. The combination of the features of the different claims would require no more than an ordinary level of skill in the art.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 4-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of copending Application No. 18/489543 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because applicant’s copending application does not disclose a “high pressure” die casting in claim 1. However, the material is considered to be essentially the same material of one of the selected aluminum alloys from copending claim 2 (inherently having less than 4% silicon), and having a nanoparticle, and used for casting. Corresponding features of the claims are met by the copending dependent claims, such as copending claim 2, copending claim 3, copending claim 4, and so on. The combination of the features of the different claims would require no more than an ordinary level of skill in the art.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that a terminal disclaimer has been filed. However no terminal disclaimer is in the file. The rejections under obviousness double patenting still stand.
Applicant argues that the prior art Martin does not make obvious the invention of claim 1. While not necessarily agreeing to applicant’s arguments, the arguments are moot in view of new grounds of rejection, which are accordingly NON-final.
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER S. KESSLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/CHRISTOPHER S KESSLER/ Examiner, Art Unit 1759