Summary
Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments submitted November 25, 2025 have been entered into the file. Currently, claim 3 is canceled, claim 1 is amended, resulting in claims 1-2 and 4 pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Netz (DE 102017201233 A1, English translation used for text citations and original document used for Figure citations).
Regarding claims 1-2, Netz teaches a battery cell comprising:
a negative electrode layer (element 21, Fig. 3)
an electrolyte layer (element 24, Fig. 3)
a positive electrode layer (element 22, Fig. 3)
the negative electrode layer comprising a negative electrode active material layer that has at least one recess portion (conical recesses in element 21, Fig. 3) and at least one planar portion (shown on annotated Fig. 3 below) on a surface of the negative electrode active material layer, the surface being adjacent to the electrolyte layer
the electrolyte layer being a solid electrolyte layer comprising a solid electrolyte (pg. 5)
each of the recess portions being a cone or pyramid shaped recess portion having a slant portion (Fig. 3)
the solid electrolyte being present within each of the recess portions (Fig. 3)
wherein the negative electrode active material layer comprises lithium metal (lithium metal layer, pg. 4 paragraphs 1-5)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (Park, J. et al. Size effects of micro-pattern on lithium metal surface on the electrochemical performance of lithium metal secondary batteries. Journal of Power Sources. 408, 136-142 (2018)) in view of Doux (Doux, J.M. et al. Pressure effects of sulfide electrolyte for all solid-state batteries. Journal of Materials Chemistry A. 8, 5049-5055 (2020)) and Katoh (US 2009/0197182 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches a battery cell (LiNi0.6Co0.2Mn0.2O2/Li cell, pg. 137 right column) having a negative electrode layer (micro-patterned lithium metal), an electrolyte layer (liquid electrolyte), and a positive electrode layer (cathode), the negative electrode layer comprising a negative electrode active material layer that has at least one recess portion and at least one planar portion on a surface of the negative electrode active material layer (Fig. 2), the surface being adjacent to the electrolyte layer (electrolyte between cathode and lithium metal; recess portions on the lithium metal surface, abstract), and the at least one recess portion being a cone or pyramid-shaped recess portion having a slant portion (Fig. 2).
Park does not teach the electrolyte layer being a solid electrolyte layer comprising a solid electrolyte and the solid electrolyte being present within each of the recess portions.
Doux teaches that all solid-state batteries are safer due to the use of solid electrolytes instead of liquid electrolytes, wherein this safety can be attributed to solid electrolytes being non-flammable (Doux abstract).
Since Doux teaches that using a solid electrolyte layer comprising a solid electrolyte can improve safety of secondary batteries, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a solid electrolyte layer comprising a solid electrolyte instead of the liquid electrolyte in the battery cell of Park in order to improve safety performance.
Katoh teaches that solid-state batteries may be formed by laminating a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a solid electrolyte, followed by pressing (Katoh [62]), which is also a method disclosed by the instant application (instant specification [43]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use lamination followed by pressing to fabricate the solid-state battery of Park in view of Doux, thus resulting in the solid electrolyte being present within each of the recess portions.
Additionally, the ordinary artisan would recognize that pressing would result in some of the solid electrolyte layer being present within each of the recess portions. It is noted that the limitation “present within each of the recess portions” does not limit the amount of or require a certain amount of solid electrolyte be present in the recess portions.
Regarding claim 2, Park in view of Doux teaches all features of claim 1 and further teaches the negative electrode active material layer comprising lithium metal (micro-patterned lithium metal, pg. 137 right column).
Regarding claim 4, Park in view of Doux teaches all features of claim 1 and further teaches the at least one recess portion and the at least one planar portion comprising a plurality of recess portions and a plurality of planar portions, and each of the planar portions being formed between the plurality of recess portions (Fig. 2).
Response to Arguments
Response – Claim Rejections 35 USC § 112
The rejections of claims 1-4 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention are overcome by applicant’s amendments to claim 1 in the response received on November 25, 2025. These rejections of claims 1-4 are withdrawn.
Response – Claim Rejections 35 USC § 102 and 103
Applicant’s arguments regarding Park in view of Doux filed November 25, 2025 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
On page 5 of the response, applicant recites that “Park does not disclose the use of a solid electrolyte layer as the electrolyte layer” and provides an explanation of “the object of the present application”. On pages 5-6 of the response, applicant appears to further allege that the technical concept of the present application is different than that of Park and that Doux does not “disclose or suggest the problem of the present application”. Thus, applicant appears to allege that due Park and Doux not expressly disclosing the problem of short circuits caused by dendrite formation in solid-state batteries, “it would not be easy to conceive of a configuration in which a solid electrolyte is present within the recess portions, and the present invention is non-obvious”.
The structure of Park in view of Doux meets the limitations of instant claim 1, as described above.
In response to applicant's argument that Park and Doux do not disclose the problem of the present invention, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
On page 5 of the response, applicant recites “In contrast, Park’s opening abstract states that “during the repeated Li…without resulting Li dendrite growth”.
It is noted that Park (Park, J. et al. Size effects of micro-pattern on lithium metal surface on the electrochemical performance of lithium metal secondary batteries. Journal of Power Sources. 408, 136-142 (2018)) was the reference cited to reject claim 1 in the Non-Final Office Action dated August 26, 2025. It does not appear that this quote provided by applicant is present in the abstract of Park or in the remaining text of Park (2018), rather it is present in the reference (Park, J. et al. Micro-Patterned Lithium Metal Anodes with Suppressed Dendrite Formation for Post Lithium-Ion Batteries. Advanced Materials Interfaces. 3, 1600140 (2016) which was cited as pertinent prior art not relied upon in the Non-Final Office Action dated August 26, 2025.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bae (Bae, H.S. et al. Large-area surface-patterned Li metal anodes fabricated using large, flexible patterning stamps for Li metal secondary batteries. Journal of Power Sources. 514, 230553 (2021)): appears to disclose a lithium metal layer comprising planar portions and cone or pyramid shaped recesses (Fig. 1, Fig. 3).
Joonam Park (Park, J. et al. Micro-Patterned Lithium Metal Anodes with Suppressed Dendrite Formation for Post Lithium-Ion Batteries. Advanced Materials Interfaces. 3, 1600140 (2016)): appears to disclose a lithium metal layer comprising planar portions and cone or pyramid shaped recesses (Fig. 2).
Kim (Kim, D. Hybrid Effect of Micropatterned Lithium Metal and Three Dimensionally Ordered Macroporous Polyimide Separator on the Cycle Performance of Lithium Metal Batteries. ACS Applied Energy Materials. 3, 3721-3727 (2020)): appears to disclose a lithium metal layer comprising planar portions and cone or pyramid shaped recesses (Fig. 1).
/J.S.C./
Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789