DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a non-Final office action in merits. Claims 13, 15, and 31 are canceled. Claims 1-12, 14, 16-30, 32, are presently pending and have been elected and considered below.
Request for Continued Examination
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/14/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
nonobviousness.
Claims 1-4, 11-12, 14, 16-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0081142 A1, Hasegawa et al. (hereinafter Hasegawa) in view of US 2023/0300777 A1, Cha et al. (hereinafter Cha).
As to claim 1, Hasegawa discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a wireless device, comprising: memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory (Figs 1A-1B), the at least one processor is configured to:
receive a set of positioning signals from at least one of a user equipment (UE), a first network node, or a positioning reference unit (PRU) (Fig 3A: S303, receiving PRS (positioning reference signals) from a TRP, Fig 3B; pars 0002, 0004-0005, 0077, UE receiving multiple PRS from TRP);
measure the set of positioning signals (Fig 3A: S305, PRS measurements; pars 0005, 0082, 0093, receiving a plurality of positioning reference signals); and
transmit, for the first network node or a second network node, a PRU label assistance report comprising a set of positioning measurements based on the measured set of positioning signals and an indication of a location of the wireless device (pars 0190, 309, performing positioning measurements and calculations with known location of UE (accuracy/integrity of location), and sent in LPP message), a set of expected labels, (pars 0339-0344, UE positioning information, measurement updates, expected value of AoA/AoD associated with SRS/SRSp, etc. as a list of defined/identified labels) and comprising PRU assistance information associated with measuring the set of positioning signals (Fig 11: S1104, Fig 12: S1204, measurement report(s) being sent to a LMF (a location management function in the network); pars 0082, 0093, 0103-0104, 0118, the UE reports its position estimate to the LMF for Satellite-Assisted Positioning).
Hasegawa does not expressly disclose a PRU label assistance report comprising PRU assistance information associated with measuring the set of positioning signals.
Cha, in the same or similar field of endeavor, further teaches a PRU label assistance report comprising PRU assistance information associated with measuring the set of positioning signals (Figs12-14; pars 0031-0032, 0036-0037, 0041-0042, 0156-0157, 0162-0166).
Therefore, consider Hasegawa and Cha’s teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art before the filing date of invention to incorporate Cha’s teachings in Hasegawa’s apparatus to provide additional assistant information with respect to measurement of positioning signals.
As to claim 2, Hasegawa as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the PRU assistance information comprises at least one of: a first indication of a location of at least one PRU (Hasegawa: Figs 4, 6; pars 0043-0044, 0082-0083, 0096); a second indication of a beam angle associated with the set of positioning signals Hasegawa: pars 0025, 0064, 0143, 0221-0222, 0315, 0345, beam measurement, angle of arrival, etc.); a third indication of an antenna orientation associated with receiving the set of positioning signals (Hasegawa: pars 0044, 0344, antenna orientation); a fourth indication of a group delay associated with the set of positioning measurements (Cha: pars 0334-0335, 0339, 0359-0360, group delay measurement); a fifth indication of a sensor measurement associated with the set of positioning measurements (Cha: pars 0157, 0181, 0619); a sixth indication of a sensor type associated with at least one PRU (Hasegawa: pars 0023, 0044, wireless sensor, IoT sensors, gyroscope or accelerometer, etc.); a seventh indication of a synchronization error associated with the set of positioning measurements (Hasegawa: pars 0467, synchronization errors); an eighth indication of a timing error associated with the set of positioning measurements (Hasegawa: pars 0094, 0221, 0244, timing offset); or a ninth indication of a clock drift range associated with the set of positioning measurements (Hasegawa: pars 0131, 0221, timing drift). Note Hasegawa as modified provide information above for positioning assistance. It would have been obvious for an ordinary skill in the art to select or incorporate all or any of such information in the measurement report as needed to necessitate or improve the positioning determination accuracy and/or efficiency.
As to claim 3, Hasegawa as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, wherein, to transmit the PRU label assistance report, the at least one processor is configured to: transmit, via the transceiver, a transmission reception point (TRP) information and measurement exchange message comprising the PRU label assistance report (Hasegawa: Figs 4, 6, 10, 11A, 12A; Cha: Figs 12-13, 20-21).
As to claim 4, Hasegawa as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein, to transmit the PRU label assistance report. The at least on processor is configured to: transmit a new radio (NR) positioning protocol (NRPP) annex (NRPPa) message comprising the PRU label assistance report (Cha: Figs 5, 9; pars 0128-0134, 0162, 0176-0177).
As to claim 11, Hasegawa as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, from at least one of the first network node or the second network node, a configuration of the set of positioning signals, wherein, to receive the set of positioning signals, the at least one processor is configured to receive the set of positioning signals based on the configuration (Hasegawa: Figs 3B, 6-8, 11A, 12A; pars 0005, 0043, 0081-0082, 0093, 0096, 0116-0117, a UE receiving plurality of positioning reference signals and performing a position estimation based on the positioning reference signals received; Cha: Figs 12-13).
As to claim 12, Hasegawa as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, from at least one of the first network node or the second network node, a request to transmit the PRU label assistance report (Hasegawa: pars 0134, 0152, 0158, the LMF may request UE to obtain one or more assistance information to be sent to the LMF; Cha: Fig 7; pars 0161, 0163, 0165), wherein, to transmit the PRU label assistance report, the at least one processor is configured to transmit the PRU label assistance report in response to receiving the request (Hasegawa: pars 0134, 0152, 0158).
13. (Canceled)
As to claim 14, Hasegawa as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first network node or the second network node comprises a location management function (LMF) (Hasegawa: Figs 3-4, 6, LMF).
15. (Canceled)
As to claim 16, Hasegawa as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit a second set of positioning signals to at least one of the UE, the first network node, or a second PRU (Hasegawa: Figs 11A, 12A; more than one PRSs being transmitted to WTRU from different TRPs ); and transmit, for at least one the first network node or the second network node, a second PRU assistance information associated with the second set of positioning signals (Hasegawa: Figs 11A, 12A, measurement report(s) being sent to LMF upon receiving PRSs and performing measurements).
As to claim 17, Hasegawa as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the second set of positioning signals comprises at least one of a positioning reference signal (PRS) or a sounding reference signal (SRS) (see rejection in claim 6).
As to claim 18, it is rejected with the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
As to claim 19, Hasegawa as modified discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor (Hasegawa: Figs 1A-1B) is configured to:
transmit a set of sounding reference signals (SRSs) for a positioning reference unit (PRU) (Hasegawa: Figs 8, SRSs being sent to TRPs; pars 0004, 0078-0079, 0215-0216, 0283; Cha: Figs 5-6; pars 0234, 0319. 0424-0426); and
receive, from a network node, a PRU label assistance report comprising a set of positioning measurements based on the set of SRSs and comprising PRU assistance information associated with the set of positioning measurements (Hasegawa: Fig 8, location being determined based on ref. device measurement report from LMF; pars 0288-0290; Cha: pars 0153, 0157, 0217, 0469).
As to claim 20, it is rejected with the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
As to claim 21, Hasegawa as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 19, further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, wherein, to receive the PRU label assistance report from the network node, the at least one processor is configured to: receive, via the transceiver, an assistance exchange message comprising the PRU label assistance report (Hasegawa: Figs 4, 6, 10, 11A, 12A; Cha: Figs 12-13, 20-21).
As to claim 22, Hasegawa as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 19, wherein, to receive the PRU label assistance report from the network node, but does not expressly disclose the at least one processor is configured to: receive a long term evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP) annex (LPPa) message comprising the PRU label assistance report (Hasegawa: pars 0103-0104, 0115, 0220; Cha: Figs 5, 8; pars 0127, 0163-0165, 0172-0175).
As to claim 23, Hasegawa as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit a request to transmit the PRU label assistance report to the network node (Hasegawa: Figs 6, 8; pars 0005, 0097, 0099-0100, 0105, 0107, 0152).
As to claim 24, Hasegawa as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 23, wherein, to transmit the request, the at least one processor is configured to: transmit an assistance exchange message comprising the request (Hasegawa: pars 0152, 0185, 0187, 0211-0212).
As to claim 25, Hasegawa as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit a request to configure a set of SRS resources to the network node (Hasegawa: pars 0097, 0152, 0157, 0211, 0215-0216; Cha: Figs 13, 21; pars 0153, 0164); and receive a configuration of the set of SRS resources from the network node, wherein, to transmit the set of SRSs to the PRU, the at least one processor is configured to transmit the set of SRSs based on the set of SRS resources (Cha: pars 0211-0213, 0217).
As to claim 26, Hasegawa as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive a set of positioning reference signal (PRSs) from the PRU (Hasegawa: Fig 11A: S1102, receiving PRSs from TRPs; Fig 12A); measure the set of PRSs (Hasegawa: Fig 11A: S1103; Fig 12A); and calculate a position of the UE based on the measured set of PRSs and the set of positioning measurements (Hasegawa: Fig 11A: S1105-S1108; Fig 12A).
As to claim 27, Hasegawa as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 26, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, from the network node, a second PRU assistance information associated with the set of PRSs (Hasegawa: Fig 6: S613, Fig 8), wherein, to calculate the position of the UE, the at least one processor is configured to calculate the position of the UE further based on the second PRU assistance information (Hasegawa: Fig 6: S615, Fig 8).
As to claim 28, it is rejected with the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
As to claim 29, it is a method claim necessitated claim 1. Rejection of claim 1 is therefore incorporated herein.
As to claim 30, it is a method claim necessitated claim 19. Rejection of claim 19 is therefore incorporated herein.
31. (Canceled)
As to claim 32, Hasegawa as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the wireless device comprises a second PRU (Hasegawa: Fig 6: S620; Fig 8, more than one reference device), wherein, to receive the set of positioning signals from at least one of the UE, the first network node, or the PRU (Hasegawa: Abstract; Fig 6: S607; par 0005, claim 1), the at least one processor is configured to: receive a set of sounding reference signals (SRSs) from the UE (Hasegawa: Fig 8; pars 0003, 0078-0079, 0428-0429, 0431-0433, a set of sounding reference signals transmitted by UE/WTRU; Cha: pars 0211-0213, 0423); and receive a set of positioning reference signals (PRSs) from the first network node (Hasegawa: Figs 6, 8, 11A, 12A; pars 0079, 0082, 0485, 0493), wherein, to measure the set of positioning signals, the at least one processor is configured to: measure the received set of SRSs (Hasegawa: Fig 8, measurement based on SRSs; pars 0003-0004, 0079, 0299; Cha: pars 0009, 0019, 0024, 0032, measurement based on a first plurality of references, e.g. SRSs); and measure the received set of PRSs (Hasegawa: Figs 11A: S1103, 12A: S1203; pars 0486, 0500).
Claims 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Hasegawa in view of Cha and further in view of US 2023/0300782 A1, Ramamoorthy et al. (hereinafter Ramamoorthy).
As to claim 5, Hasegawa as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, for at least one of the first network node or the second network node, the PRU label assistance report (see rejection in claim 1) but does not expressly disclose the report comprises an indication of a permission to share the report.
Ramamoorthy, in the same or similar field of endeavor, further teaches location report may be shared among (Figs 2A-2B; pars 0017, 0075-0079, 0125).
Therefore, consider Hasegawa as modified and Ramamoorthy’s teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art before the filing date of invention to incorporate Ramamoorthy’s teachings in Hasegawa’s apparatus to improve network security and location information management in a wireless network.
As to claim 6, Hasegawa as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the permission to share the PRU label assistance report comprises at least one of: a set of UE identifiers (IDs) associated with a set of UEs authorized to receive the PRU label assistance report (Hasegawa: pars 0096, 0355; Ramamoorthy: Fig 3; pars 0054, 0073, 0088, 0091, 0099, MC service server/location management client checked and authorized to request the location information); a first indication of a UE vendor associated with a first set of UEs authorized to receive the PRU label assistance report; a second indication of a UE chip vendor associated with a second set of UEs authorized to receive the PRU label assistance report; a set of transmission reception point (TRP) identifiers (IDs) associated with TRPs authorized to receive the PRU label assistance report (Hasegawa: pars 0096; a third indication of a network (NW) operator associated with a first set of TRPs authorized to receive the PRU label assistance report (Ramamoorthy: Fig 3; pars 0054, 0073, 0088, 0091, 0099); or a fourth indication of a NW vendor associated with a second set of TRPs authorized to receive the PRU label assistance report (Hasegawa: pars 0121, 0166. 0229, 0246, 0252, PRS/ TRP ID).
As to claim 7, Hasegawa as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 5, wherein, to transmit the indication of the permission to share the PRU label assistance report, the at least one processor is configured to: transmit a transmission reception point (TRP) information indication message comprising the indication of the permission to share the PRU label assistance report (Hasegawa: Figs 4, 6; Ramamoorthy: Figs 2A-2B).
As to claim 8, Hasegawa as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 5, wherein, to transmit the indication of the permission to share the PRU label assistance report, the at least one processor is configured to: transmit a new radio (NR) positioning protocol (NRPP) annex (NRPPa) message comprising the indication of the permission to share the PRU label assistance report (Cha: Figs 5, 9; pars 0128-0134, 0162, 0176-0177; Ramamoorthy: Figs 2A-2B; pars 0017, 0075-0079, 0125).
As to claim 9, Hasegawa as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 5, wherein, to transmit the indication of the permission to share the PRU label assistance report, the at least one processor is configured to: transmit a capability message comprising the indication of the permission to share the PRU label assistance report (Hasegawa: pars 0140, 0250, 0306, 0309-0310; Ramamoorthy: Figs 2A-2B; pars 0017, 0075-0079, 0125).
As to claim 10, Hasegawa as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 5, wherein, to transmit the indication of the permission to share the PRU label assistance report, the at least one processor is configured to: transmit a long term evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP) annex (LPPa) message comprising the indication of the permission to share the PRU label assistance report (Hasegawa: pars 0103-0104, 0115, 0220; Cha: Figs 5, 8; pars 0127, 0163-0165, 0172-0175; Ramamoorthy: Figs 2A-2B; pars 0017, 0075-0079, 0125).
Response to Arguments
See additional citations and rejections for amended limitations as well as responses provided in last office action indicated below.
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant essentially argues neither Hasegawa nor Cha teaches UE receiving a PRU label assistance report comprising a set of positioning measurements based on the measured set of positioning signals and comprising PRU assistance information associated with measuring the set of positioning signals and it wouldn’t be reasonable or motivated to combine Hasegawa and Cha’s teachings for the limitation in question in claim 1.
In responding to applicant’s arguments, examiner would like to point out that: first,
the instant application, Hasegawa as well as Cha all relate to positioning methods in a wireless communication system for determining location of a mobile device. More specifically, such positioning determination relies on assistance from a plurality of reference signals from known locations measured by the mobile device (WTRU, UE, the like) with its position to be determined, see Hasegawa: Figs 3-4; Cha: Figs 5, 10, as well as various citations in merit rejection above. Such measurement is essentially based on the same triangulation principal when traditionally involves a plurality of base stations. As to the contents included in a positioning reference assistant report, there exists no mandate as to what to be included or not included, which more likely depend on measurement accuracy, latency, quality, as well as the balance between performance and complexity involved. Therefore, an ordinary skill in the art would not have concluded Hasegawa and Cha’s positioning reports are for different purposes simply because in some embodiment or application, Cha includes additional QoS related information to indicate the quality of measurement. They are indeed for the same positioning technique or application utilizing reference signals. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skill in the art to combine Hasegawa and Cha’s teachings with respect to a set of positioning measurements based on the measured set of positioning signals and comprising PRU assistance information associated with measuring the set of positioning signals.
Furthermore, the limitation recited: “a PRU label assistance report comprising a set of positioning measurements based on the measured set of positioning signals and comprising PRU assistance information associated with measuring the set of positioning signals” is rather broad in its claim language. What is the difference between “a set of positioning measurements based on the measured set of positioning signals” and “PRU assistance information associated with measuring the set of positioning signals”? the measurement of reference signals itself serves the purpose of assisting information as well. Therefore, it would be beneficial to clarify further with respect to PRU assistance information to better distinguish claimed information from prior art of record.
Above discussion and rationale also apply to independent claims 19 and 29 as they recite similar or some variations of claim 1, as well as dependent claims depending from their respective base claims.
Applicant is encouraged to further clarify and distinguish claimed invention from prior art of record.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has cited particular column, line number, paragraphs and/or figure(s) in the reference(s) as applied to the claims for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the reference(s) in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Contact Information
/QUN SHEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2662