DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8, 10, 13-14, and 17-19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuen US 20130044099 A1 in view of Akamatsu JP 2021187419 A (page/line numbering used for foreign references below corresponds to the machine-translation preceding the original patent, as attached to the present Office Action – note page numbers of the translation are marked as TP-1, TP-2, etc.).
Regarding independent claim 1, Yuen discloses [a user interface assembly 100 of a vehicle, comprising: a user interface (UI) device 110;] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0031) [a cradle 182 attached to the vehicle and supporting the UI device;] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0031) and [an operation member including an operating portion 180 for a user to operate,] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0048) [wherein a first engaging portion 122 is formed on one of either the UI device or the cradle,] (Fig. 8-9; Paragraph 0048) [the operation member includes a second engaging portion,] (Annotation of Fig. 8; Paragraph 0048) [the operation member is attachable to another one of either the UI device or the cradle, and is detachable from both the UI device or the cradle,] (Fig. 5 and 8; As shown in Fig. 5 and 8, Yuen illustrates wherein the operation member is attachable and detachable to the UI device.) [in a state where the operation member is attached to the other one of either the UI device or the cradle, the second engaging portion is engaged with the first engaging portion to prevent the UI device from separating from the cradle and is movable with the operating portion so that the first engaging portion and the second engaging portion are disengaged from each other.] (Fig. 8; Paragraph 0048)
Annotation of Fig. 7 of Yuen
Annotation of Fig. 8 of Yuen
Yuen does not disclose the operation member being separately formed from the UI device and cradle.
Akamatsu teaches wherein [the operation member being separately formed from the UI device and cradle;] (Fig. 7; Page 2, lines 20-25; Akamatsu discloses the operative device includes a case portion 2 and a cover portion 3, wherein a plurality of operation buttons 6 are sandwiched between the case portion 2 and cover portion 3 and retained by fixtures 82. Therefore, teaching operation buttons that are separate from the case portion and cover portion, rather than being integrally formed.) [wherein the operation member includes: a base configured to be fixed to the other one of either the UI device or the cradle in a state where the operation member is attached to the other one of either the UI device or the cradle;] (Fig. 7; Page 2, lines 20-25; Akamatsu discloses that the operation buttons 6 are mounted within the operating device and retained between the case portion 2 and the cover portion 3 by fixtures/fasteners 82. The fixtures 82 secure the operation button structure 6 relative to the housing, therefore teaching a base fixing to the device structure.) [wherein the user interface assembly further comprises a mechanism 82 that allows the operation member to be detached from the other one of either the UI device or the cradle;] (Fig. 7; Page 2, lines 20-25) [wherein the operating portion of the operation member is movable in a second direction intersecting the first direction.] (Fig. 7; As shown in Fig. 7, Akamatsu illustrates wherein the operating buttons 6 are configured to be pushed in a frontward and backward direction, while the UI device is movable in a left and right direction. Therefore, having both components movable in directions intersecting each other.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the separately formed operation buttons of Akamatsu with the user interface assembly of Yuen with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the operation member to be independently assembled and replaced with requiring replacement of the entire structure, thus improving maintainability and enabling repair of the user interface assembly while preserving its structure and functionality.
Regarding claim 2, Yuen, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the one of the UI device 110 or the cradle is the cradle, and the other one of the UI device or the cradle is the UI device.] (Fig. 1 of Yuen; Paragraph 0031 of Yuen)
Regarding claim 3, Yuen, as modified, further discloses all of the claimed limitation above, including [wherein the UI device 110 is slidable relative to the cradle 182 in a first direction] (Fig. 5 & 6; Paragraph 0040) and the intersecting first and second directions recited in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 4, Yuen, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein a plurality of contacts 152 are provided on the UI device 110 or the cradle 182 so as to establish an electrical connection between the UI device or the cradle,] (Fig. 8 of Yuen; Paragraph 0032 of Yuen) and [the operation member 180 is disposed so as to avoid the plurality of contacts.] (Fig. 9 & 10 of Yuen; As shown in Fig. 9 & 10, Yuen illustrates wherein the operation member 180 is disposed to avoid the plurality of contacts 152.)
Regarding claim 8, Yuen, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the other one of the UI device 110 or the cradle 182 includes a first lateral side surface and a second lateral side surface,] (Annotation of Fig. 4 of Yuen; As shown in the annotation of Fig. 4 below, Yuen illustrates the cradle 182 having a first lateral side surface and a second lateral side surface.) [which is an opposite side surface of the first side surface,] (Annotation of Fig. 4 of Yuen; As shown in the annotation of Fig. 4 below, Yuen illustrates wherein the second side surface is an opposite side surface of the first side surface.) and [the operating portion is provided on the first lateral side surface and not on the second lateral side surface.] (Annotation of Fig. 4 of Yuen; As shown in the annotation of Fig. 4 below, Yuen illustrates the operating portion being provided on the first lateral side surface and not on the second lateral side surface.)
Annotation of Fig. 4 of Yuen
Regarding claim 10, Yuen, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the other one of the UI device or the cradle is the UI device, the operation member includes an elastic portion supporting the operating portion and the second engaging portion, and the elastic portion extends along a lateral side surface of the UI device.] (Annotation of Fig. 10 of Yuen; Paragraph 0048 of Yuen; Yuen discloses an operation member 180 that is able to be pushed towards the moveable end of the display unit to release the latch. While Yuen does not explicitly describe the member as “elastic”, the tab can be deflected or pushed and then return to its original position. Therefore, naturally implying that it is made of a resilient or elastically deformable material. This structure supports the pushing tab and the second engaging portion, and is positioned along a lateral side of the cradle 182.)
Annotation of Fig. 10 of Yuen
Regarding claim 13, Yuen, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the operating portion of the operation member 180 is located in a front side or a rear side of the UI device.] (Fig. 1 of Yuen; As shown in Fig. 1, Yuen illustrates the operating portion of the operation member 180 being located at the rear side of the UI device 110.)
Regarding claim 14, Yuen, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the UI device 110 includes a display 114, and the operating portion is movable in a direction intersecting a surface of the display.] (Fig. 1 of Yuen; Paragraph 0032 and 0048 of Yuen; Yuen discloses that the user releases the latch by pushing the operation member 180 toward the movable end of the display unit, which causes movement into the device in a direction perpendicular to the plane of the display device.)
Regarding claim 17, Yuen, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the user interface device 110 comprises portions that can be engaged with portions of the cradle 182 for supporting the UI device on the cradle.] (Fig. 8 of Yuen; Paragraph 0048 of Yuen)
Regarding claim 18, Yuen, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including the operation member base structure recited in the rejection of claim 1 above and [a movable portion including an elastic portion extending from a base, the second engaging portion, and the operating portion.] (Annotation of Fig. 10 of Yuen; Paragraph 0048 of Yuen; Yuen discloses an operation member 180 that is able to be pushed towards the moveable end of the display unit to release the latch. While Yuen does not explicitly describe the member as “elastic”, the tab can be deflected or pushed and then return to its original position. Therefore, naturally implying that it is made of a resilient or elastically deformable material. This structure supports the pushing tab and the second engaging portion, and is positioned along a lateral side of the cradle 182.)
Regarding claim 19, Yuen, as modified, Yuen, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including the operation member base structure recited in the rejection of claim 1 above and [a movable portion including an elastic portion extending from a base, the second engaging portion, and the operating portion,] (Annotation of Fig. 10 of Yuen; Paragraph 0048 of Yuen; Yuen discloses an operation member 180 that is able to be pushed towards the moveable end of the display unit to release the latch. While Yuen does not explicitly describe the member as “elastic”, the tab can be deflected or pushed and then return to its original position. Therefore, naturally implying that it is made of a resilient or elastically deformable material. This structure supports the pushing tab and the second engaging portion, and is positioned along a lateral side of the cradle 182.) [wherein the UI device 110 is slidable relative to the cradle 182 in a first direction] (Fig. 5 & 6; Paragraph 0040) and the intersecting first and second directions recited in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 20, Yuen, as modified, already discloses all of the claimed limitations, including the detaching mechanism recited in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Claims 5-6, 9, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuen in view of Akamatsu and further in view of Wattrus et al. WO 2021243133 A1 (page/line numbering used for foreign references below corresponds to the machine-translation preceding the original patent, as attached to the present and prior Office Action – note page numbers of the translation are marked as TP-1, TP-2, etc.).
Regarding claim 5, Yuen, as modified, does not disclose a mechanism that allows the operation member to be detached from the other one of the UI device or the cradle, wherein the mechanism is exposed on an outer surface of the other one of the UI device or the cradle.
Wattrus et al. teaches [a mechanism that allows the operation member to be detached from the other one of the UI device or the cradle, wherein the mechanism is exposed on an outer surface of the other one of the UI device or the cradle.] (Fig. 8 & 9; Paragraph 0061; As shown in Fig. 8 & 9, Wattrus illustrates a mechanism that allows the operation member to be detached from the cradle using fasteners. The fasteners are exposed on a bottom outer surface of the cradle.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the detachable mechanism of Wattrus et al. with the user interface assembly of Yuen, as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for simplified assembly, maintenance, or replacement of the operation member, thus providing easy access for users to remove or service the operation member and improving manufacturability of the device.
Regarding claim 6, Yuen, as modified above, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the mechanism includes a screw 142.] (Fig. 8 & 9; Paragraph 0061)
Regarding claim 9, Yuen, as modified, does not disclose wherein the first lateral side surface faces leftward of the vehicle.
Wattrus et al. teaches [wherein the first lateral side surface faces leftward of the vehicle.] (Annotation of Fig. 2; As shown in the annotation of Fig. 2 below, Wattrus illustrates the first lateral side of the cradle facing leftward of the vehicle.)
Annotation of Fig. 2 of Wattrus et al.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the lateral side orientation of Wattrus et al. with the user interface assembly of Yuen, as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for consistent placement of the operating portion in alignment with the standard vehicle component layout, thus enabling convenient access for the rider while maintaining the structural stability of the UI device on the cradle.
Regarding independent claim 15 and 16, Yuen further discloses
[a user interface assembly of a vehicle, comprising:
a user interface (UI) device 110;] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0031)
[a cradle 182 attached to the vehicle and supporting the UI device;] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0031) and [an operation member including an operating portion 180 for a user to operate,] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0048) [wherein a first engaging portion 122 is formed on one of either the UI device or the cradle,] (Fig. 8-9; Paragraph 0048)
[the operation member includes a second engaging portion,] (Annotation of Fig. 8; Paragraph 0048)
[the operation member is attachable to another one of either the UI device or the cradle, and is detachable from both the UI device or the cradle,] (Fig. 5 and 8; As shown in Fig. 5 and 8, Yuen illustrates wherein the operation member is attachable and detachable to the UI device.)
[in a state where the operation member is attached to the other one of either the UI device or the cradle, the second engaging portion is engaged with the first engaging portion to prevent the UI device from separating from the cradle and is movable with the operating portion so that the first engaging portion and the second engaging portion are disengaged from each other.] (Fig. 8; Paragraph 0048)
Yuen does not disclose the operation member being separately formed from the UI device and cradle.
Akamatsu teaches [the operation member being separately formed from the UI device and cradle.] (Fig. 7; Page 2, lines 20-25; Akamatsu discloses the operative device includes a case portion 2 and a cover portion 3, wherein a plurality of operation buttons 6 are sandwiched between the case portion 2 and cover portion 3 and retained by fixtures 82. Therefore, teaching operation buttons that are separate from the case portion and cover portion, rather than being integrally formed.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the separately formed operation buttons of Akamatsu with the user interface assembly of Yuen with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the operation member to be independently assembled and replaced with requiring replacement of the entire structure, thus improving maintainability and enabling repair of the user interface assembly while preserving its structure and functionality.
Yuen, as modified, does not disclose an electric assisted bicycle comprising a drive system which comprises: an electric motor; a control device that controls the electric motor; and a battery that supplies power to the electric motor.
Wattrus et al. teaches [an electric assisted bicycle] (Page 18-19, Paragraph 00115) comprising
[a drive system 100] (Page 18-19, Paragraph 00115) which comprises: [an electric motor; a control device that controls the electric motor; and a battery that supplies power to the electric motor.] (Page 18-19, Paragraph 00115)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the electric motor, controller, and battery system of Wattrus et al. with the user interface assembly of Yuen, as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the integration of the UI assembly into an electric-powered vehicle platform, such as an e-bike, thus facilitating vehicle operation, monitoring, or customization through the UI device.
Claim 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuen in view of Wattrus et al., Akamatsu and further in view of Kaneko US 20230150073 A1.
Regarding claim 7, Yuen et al., as modified, does not disclose wherein the mechanism includes a snap fit.
Kaneko teaches [wherein the mechanism includes a snap fit.] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0025)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the snap-fit structure of Kaneko with the user interface assembly of Yuen, as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for easier assembly and disassembly of the operation member, thus simplifying manufacturing, reducing component cost, and improving ease of maintenance/replacement.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11-12 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 11 contains the limitation wherein the other one of the UI device or the cradle includes a first lateral side surface, an opening is formed in the first lateral side surface, and the operation member is fitted into the opening. The closest prior art, Yuen US 20130044099 A1, discloses wherein the other one of the UI device or the cradle includes a first lateral side surface, but does not disclose an opening being formed in the first lateral side surface, and the operation member is fitted into the opening.
Claim 12 contains the limitation wherein the other one of the UI device or the cradle is the UI device, the UI device includes a first lateral side surface, an opening is formed in the first lateral side surface, and the operating portion is fitted into the opening. The closest prior art, Yuen US 20130044099 A1, discloses wherein the other one of the UI device or the cradle is the UI device, the UI device includes a first lateral side surface, but does not disclose an opening being formed in the first lateral side surface, and the operating portion is fitted into the opening.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments (pages 2-7 on Remarks) filed 09/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues (Pages 2-3 on Remarks) that Yuen does not disclose an operation member formed separately from both the UI device and the cradle, and that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to modify Yuen in view of Akamatsu to provide such a separate component. Applicant particularly argues that the problem addressed by the present application was not generally recognized in the art and that the skilled artisan would instead have strengthened Yuen’s integrated latch rather than introduce an additional component. This argument is not persuasive. The motivation to combine is not required to be based on recognition of the specific problem identified by Applicant. Akamatsu expressly demonstrates that separately formed operation buttons are a known configuration for a user-operated device. Applying this known configuration to Yuen would provide the predictable benefit of allowing the operating component to be separately assembled and serviced. The proposed modification therefore does not depend upon recognition of the particular latch-malfunction problem identified in Applicant’s specification.
Applicant further argues (Page 4 on Remarks) that adding a separately formed operation member would increase manufacturing and assembly costs and introduce additional potential points of failure, and therefore a skilled artisan would have sought to strengthen Yuen’s integral latch instead. This argument is not persuasive. Although cost and part count may be considerations in designing a device, such considerations do not preclude the use of separately formed components where other known advantages, such as ease of assembly, servicing, and replacement, are desired. Akamatsu demonstrates that separately formed operation buttons were known in the art, and the proposed modification represents the application of a known component arrangement to Yuen for its known functions.
Applicant additionally argues (Page 5 on Remarks) that the proposed combination would require substantial reconstruction and redesign of Yuen because Yuen includes an integrated latch mechanism and the proposed modification would require separating portions of the latch from the cradle and redesigning the components to interface with a newly created operation member. This argument is not persuasive. The fact that a modification may require some structural changes does not, by itself, render the modification non-obvious. The rejection does not require wholesale reconstruction of Yuen, but rather modification of the manner in which the operating member is supported so that it is provided as a separately formed component, as taught by Akamatsu. The resulting arrangement continues to perform Yuen’s existing function of releasing the engagement between the display unit and cradle. Thus, the modification would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art and would have yielded predictable results.
Applicant further argues (Pages 5-6 on Remarks) that Akamatsu’s operation buttons 6 perform a different function from Yuen’s finger-operable tab 180, because Akamatsu’s buttons actuate tactile switches whereas Yuen’s tab releases engagement between the display unit and cradle. Applicant therefore argues that a skilled artisan would not have applied Akamatsu’s separately formed button structure to Yuen’s finger-operable tab. This argument is not persuasive. The rejection does not rely on Akamatsu for teaching the particular engagement and release function performed by Yuen’s tab 180. Yuen continues to provide the engagement and release functionality, while Akamatsu is relied upon for teaching the known structural arrangement of providing a user-operated member as a separately formed component. The fact that the operation buttons of Akamatsu and the tab of Yuen perform different functions does not preclude applying the structural of Akamatsu to the corresponding user-operated member of Yuen.
Applicant additionally argues (Pages 5-6 on Remarks) that, even if Akamatsu’s operation button structure were applied to Yuen, the resulting configuration would merely place operation buttons on a side surface of the display unit rather than provide the finger-operable tab itself as an operation member separate from both the UI device and the cradle. This argument is not persuasive. The proposed modification is not limited to merely placing Akamatsu’s buttons on Yuen’s display unit. Rather, Akamatsu’s buttons on Yuens’s display unit. Rather, Akamatsu is relied upon for teaching that a user-operated member can be provided as a separate component from the surrounding housing structure. Applying this teaching to Yuen’s finger-operable tab would result in the tab being separately formed from the cradle while retaining its engagement and release function taught by Yuen.
Regarding claim 19, Applicant argues (Pages 6-7 on Remarks) that Wattrus does not disclose the claimed intersecting directions because the alleged operating portion 138 is merely an end portion of plate 136 that is rigid and is not an operating portion for a user to operate. Applicant further argues that element 138 therefore does not move in the claimed second direction. This argument is not persuasive. Akamatsu teaches operation buttons 6 that are pushed in a frontward and backward direction, as illustrated in Fig. 7. This movement direction intersects the leftward and rightward sliding of the UI device. Accordingly, Akamatsu teaches an operating portion movable in a second direction intersecting the first direction, as recited in claim 19. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the user-operable member of Yuen with the button arrangement and movement direction taught by Akamatsu, while retaining Yuen’s engagement and release functionality.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Mohamed M Medani/Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/VALENTIN NEACSU, Ph.D./Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611