DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 8, 10, 13-14, and 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuen US 20130044099 A1 in view of Akamatsu JP 2021187419 A (page/line numbering used for foreign references below corresponds to the machine-translation preceding the original patent, as attached to the present Office Action – note page numbers of the translation are marked as TP-1, TP-2, etc.).
Regarding independent claim 1, Yuen discloses [a user interface assembly 100 of a vehicle, comprising: a user interface (UI) device 110;] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0031) [a cradle 182 attached to the vehicle and supporting the UI device;] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0031) and [an operation member including an operating portion 180 for a user to operate,] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0048) [wherein a first engaging portion 122 is formed on one of either the UI device or the cradle,] (Fig. 8-9; Paragraph 0048) [the operation member includes a second engaging portion,] (Annotation of Fig. 8; Paragraph 0048) [the operation member is attachable to another one of either the UI device or the cradle, and is detachable from both the UI device or the cradle,] (Fig. 5 and 8; As shown in Fig. 5 and 8, Yuen illustrates wherein the operation member is attachable and detachable to the UI device.) [in a state where the operation member is attached to the other one of either the UI device or the cradle, the second engaging portion is engaged with the first engaging portion to prevent the UI device from separating from the cradle and is movable with the operating portion so that the first engaging portion and the second engaging portion are disengaged from each other.] (Fig. 8; Paragraph 0048)
Annotation of Fig. 7 of Yuen
Annotation of Fig. 8 of Yuen
Yuen does not disclose the operation member being separately formed from the UI device and cradle.
Akamatsu teaches wherein [the operation member being separately formed from the UI device and cradle;] (Fig. 7; Page 2, lines 20-25; Akamatsu discloses the operative device includes a case portion 2 and a cover portion 3, wherein a plurality of operation buttons 6 are sandwiched between the case portion 2 and cover portion 3 and retained by fixtures 82. Therefore, teaching operation buttons that are separate from the case portion and cover portion, rather than being integrally formed.) [wherein the operation member includes: a base configured to be fixed to the other one of either the UI device or the cradle in a state where the operation member is attached to the other one of either the UI device or the cradle;] (Fig. 7; Page 2, lines 20-25; Akamatsu discloses that the operation buttons 6 are mounted within the operating device and retained between the case portion 2 and the cover portion 3 by fixtures/fasteners 82. The fixtures 82 secure the operation button structure 6 relative to the housing, therefore teaching a base fixing to the device structure.) [wherein the user interface assembly further comprises a mechanism 82 that allows the operation member to be detached from the other one of either the UI device or the cradle.] (Fig. 7; Page 2, lines 20-25)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the separately formed operation buttons of Akamatsu with the user interface assembly of Yuen with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the operation member to be independently assembled and replaced with requiring replacement of the entire structure, thus improving maintainability and enabling repair of the user interface assembly while preserving its structure and functionality.
Regarding claim 2, Yuen, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the one of the UI device 110 or the cradle is the cradle, and the other one of the UI device or the cradle is the UI device.] (Fig. 1 of Yuen; Paragraph 0031 of Yuen)
Regarding claim 4, Yuen, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein a plurality of contacts 152 are provided on the UI device 110 or the cradle 182 so as to establish an electrical connection between the UI device or the cradle,] (Fig. 8 of Yuen; Paragraph 0032 of Yuen) and [the operation member 180 is disposed so as to avoid the plurality of contacts.] (Fig. 9 & 10 of Yuen; As shown in Fig. 9 & 10, Yuen illustrates wherein the operation member 180 is disposed to avoid the plurality of contacts 152.)
Regarding claim 8, Yuen, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the other one of the UI device 110 or the cradle 182 includes a first lateral side surface and a second lateral side surface,] (Annotation of Fig. 4 of Yuen; As shown in the annotation of Fig. 4 below, Yuen illustrates the cradle 182 having a first lateral side surface and a second lateral side surface.) [which is an opposite side surface of the first side surface,] (Annotation of Fig. 4 of Yuen; As shown in the annotation of Fig. 4 below, Yuen illustrates wherein the second side surface is an opposite side surface of the first side surface.) and [the operating portion is provided on the first lateral side surface and not on the second lateral side surface.] (Annotation of Fig. 4 of Yuen; As shown in the annotation of Fig. 4 below, Yuen illustrates the operating portion being provided on the first lateral side surface and not on the second lateral side surface.)
Annotation of Fig. 4 of Yuen
Regarding claim 10, Yuen, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the other one of the UI device or the cradle is the UI device, the operation member includes an elastic portion supporting the operating portion and the second engaging portion, and the elastic portion extends along a lateral side surface of the UI device.] (Annotation of Fig. 10 of Yuen; Paragraph 0048 of Yuen; Yuen discloses an operation member 180 that is able to be pushed towards the moveable end of the display unit to release the latch. While Yuen does not explicitly describe the member as “elastic”, the tab can be deflected or pushed and then return to its original position. Therefore, naturally implying that it is made of a resilient or elastically deformable material. This structure supports the pushing tab and the second engaging portion, and is positioned along a lateral side of the cradle 182.)
Annotation of Fig. 10 of Yuen
Regarding claim 13, Yuen, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the operating portion of the operation member 180 is located in a front side or a rear side of the UI device.] (Fig. 1 of Yuen; As shown in Fig. 1, Yuen illustrates the operating portion of the operation member 180 being located at the rear side of the UI device 110.)
Regarding claim 14, Yuen, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the UI device 110 includes a display 114, and the operating portion is movable in a direction intersecting a surface of the display.] (Fig. 1 of Yuen; Paragraph 0032 and 0048 of Yuen; Yuen discloses that the user releases the latch by pushing the operation member 180 toward the movable end of the display unit, which causes movement into the device in a direction perpendicular to the plane of the display device.)
Regarding claim 17, Yuen, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the user interface device 110 comprises portions that can be engaged with portions of the cradle 182 for supporting the UI device on the cradle.] (Fig. 8 of Yuen; Paragraph 0048 of Yuen)
Regarding claim 18, Yuen, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including the operation member base structure recited in the rejection of claim 1 above and [a movable portion including an elastic portion extending from a base, the second engaging portion, and the operating portion.] (Annotation of Fig. 10 of Yuen; Paragraph 0048 of Yuen; Yuen discloses an operation member 180 that is able to be pushed towards the moveable end of the display unit to release the latch. While Yuen does not explicitly describe the member as “elastic”, the tab can be deflected or pushed and then return to its original position. Therefore, naturally implying that it is made of a resilient or elastically deformable material. This structure supports the pushing tab and the second engaging portion, and is positioned along a lateral side of the cradle 182.)
Regarding claim 20, Yuen, as modified, already discloses all of the claimed limitations, including the detaching mechanism recited in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Claims 3, 5-6, 9, 15-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuen in view of Akamatsu and further in view of Wattrus et al. WO 2021243133 A1 (page/line numbering used for foreign references below corresponds to the machine-translation preceding the original patent, as attached to the present and prior Office Action – note page numbers of the translation are marked as TP-1, TP-2, etc.).
Regarding claim 3, Yuen, as modified, further discloses [wherein the UI device 110 is slidable relative to the cradle 182 in a first direction.] (Fig. 5 & 6; Paragraph 0040)
Yuen, as modified, does not disclose wherein the operating portion of the operation member is movable in a second direction intersecting the first direction.
Wattrus et al. teaches [wherein the operating portion of the operation member is movable in a second direction intersecting the first direction.] (Fig. 9 & 19; As shown in Fig. 9, Wattrus illustrates wherein the operating portion of the operation member 138 is moveable in a y direction (up and down). On the other hand, as shown in Fig. 19, Wattrus illustrates the UI device being slidable relative to the cradle in an x direction (front and back). Thus, having the second direction intersect with the first direction.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the operating member configuration of Wattrus with the user interface assembly of Yuen, as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for a more intuitive user operation to disengage the UI device from the cradle, thus enhancing the mechanical separation and retention functionality of the device.
Regarding claim 5, Yuen, as modified, does not disclose a mechanism that allows the operation member to be detached from the other one of the UI device or the cradle, wherein the mechanism is exposed on an outer surface of the other one of the UI device or the cradle.
Wattrus et al. teaches [a mechanism that allows the operation member to be detached from the other one of the UI device or the cradle, wherein the mechanism is exposed on an outer surface of the other one of the UI device or the cradle.] (Fig. 8 & 9; Paragraph 0061; As shown in Fig. 8 & 9, Wattrus illustrates a mechanism that allows the operation member to be detached from the cradle using fasteners. The fasteners are exposed on a bottom outer surface of the cradle.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the detachable mechanism of Wattrus et al. with the user interface assembly of Yuen, as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for simplified assembly, maintenance, or replacement of the operation member, thus providing easy access for users to remove or service the operation member and improving manufacturability of the device.
Regarding claim 6, Yuen, as modified above, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the mechanism includes a screw 142.] (Fig. 8 & 9; Paragraph 0061)
Regarding claim 9, Yuen, as modified, does not disclose wherein the first lateral side surface faces leftward of the vehicle.
Wattrus et al. teaches [wherein the first lateral side surface faces leftward of the vehicle.] (Annotation of Fig. 2; As shown in the annotation of Fig. 2 below, Wattrus illustrates the first lateral side of the cradle facing leftward of the vehicle.)
Annotation of Fig. 2 of Wattrus et al.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the lateral side orientation of Wattrus et al. with the user interface assembly of Yuen, as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for consistent placement of the operating portion in alignment with the standard vehicle component layout, thus enabling convenient access for the rider while maintaining the structural stability of the UI device on the cradle.
Regarding independent claim 15 and 16, Yuen further discloses
[a user interface assembly of a vehicle, comprising:
a user interface (UI) device 110;] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0031)
[a cradle 182 attached to the vehicle and supporting the UI device;] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0031) and [an operation member including an operating portion 180 for a user to operate,] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0048) [wherein a first engaging portion 122 is formed on one of either the UI device or the cradle,] (Fig. 8-9; Paragraph 0048)
[the operation member includes a second engaging portion,] (Annotation of Fig. 8; Paragraph 0048)
[the operation member is attachable to another one of either the UI device or the cradle, and is detachable from both the UI device or the cradle,] (Fig. 5 and 8; As shown in Fig. 5 and 8, Yuen illustrates wherein the operation member is attachable and detachable to the UI device.)
[in a state where the operation member is attached to the other one of either the UI device or the cradle, the second engaging portion is engaged with the first engaging portion to prevent the UI device from separating from the cradle and is movable with the operating portion so that the first engaging portion and the second engaging portion are disengaged from each other.] (Fig. 8; Paragraph 0048)
Yuen does not disclose the operation member being separately formed from the UI device and cradle.
Akamatsu teaches [the operation member being separately formed from the UI device and cradle.] (Fig. 7; Page 2, lines 20-25; Akamatsu discloses the operative device includes a case portion 2 and a cover portion 3, wherein a plurality of operation buttons 6 are sandwiched between the case portion 2 and cover portion 3 and retained by fixtures 82. Therefore, teaching operation buttons that are separate from the case portion and cover portion, rather than being integrally formed.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the separately formed operation buttons of Akamatsu with the user interface assembly of Yuen with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the operation member to be independently assembled and replaced with requiring replacement of the entire structure, thus improving maintainability and enabling repair of the user interface assembly while preserving its structure and functionality.
Yuen, as modified, does not disclose an electric assisted bicycle comprising a drive system which comprises: an electric motor; a control device that controls the electric motor; and a battery that supplies power to the electric motor.
Wattrus et al. teaches [an electric assisted bicycle] (Page 18-19, Paragraph 00115) comprising
[a drive system 100] (Page 18-19, Paragraph 00115) which comprises: [an electric motor; a control device that controls the electric motor; and a battery that supplies power to the electric motor.] (Page 18-19, Paragraph 00115)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the electric motor, controller, and battery system of Wattrus et al. with the user interface assembly of Yuen, as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the integration of the UI assembly into an electric-powered vehicle platform, such as an e-bike, thus facilitating vehicle operation, monitoring, or customization through the UI device.
Regarding claim 19, Yuen, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including the operation member base structure recited in the rejection of claim 1 above and [a movable portion including an elastic portion extending from a base, the second engaging portion, and the operating portion,] (Annotation of Fig. 10 of Yuen; Paragraph 0048 of Yuen; Yuen discloses an operation member 180 that is able to be pushed towards the moveable end of the display unit to release the latch. While Yuen does not explicitly describe the member as “elastic”, the tab can be deflected or pushed and then return to its original position. Therefore, naturally implying that it is made of a resilient or elastically deformable material. This structure supports the pushing tab and the second engaging portion, and is positioned along a lateral side of the cradle 182.) [wherein the UI device 110 is slidable relative to the cradle 182 in a first direction.] (Fig. 5 & 6; Paragraph 0040)
Yuen, as modified, does not disclose wherein the operating portion of the operation member is movable in a second direction intersecting the first direction.
Wattrus et al. teaches [wherein the operating portion of the operation member is movable in a second direction intersecting the first direction.] (Fig. 9 & 19; As shown in Fig. 9, Wattrus illustrates wherein the operating portion of the operation member 138 is moveable in a y direction (up and down). On the other hand, as shown in Fig. 19, Wattrus illustrates the UI device being slidable relative to the cradle in an x direction (front and back). Thus, having the second direction intersect with the first direction.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the operating member configuration of Wattrus with the user interface assembly of Yuen, as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for a more intuitive user operation to disengage the UI device from the cradle, thus enhancing the mechanical separation and retention functionality of the device.
Claim 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuen in view of Wattrus et al., Akamatsu and further in view of Kaneko US 20230150073 A1.
Regarding claim 7, Yuen et al., as modified, does not disclose wherein the mechanism includes a snap fit.
Kaneko teaches [wherein the mechanism includes a snap fit.] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0025)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the snap-fit structure of Kaneko with the user interface assembly of Yuen, as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for easier assembly and disassembly of the operation member, thus simplifying manufacturing, reducing component cost, and improving ease of maintenance/replacement.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11-12 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 11 contains the limitation wherein the other one of the UI device or the cradle includes a first lateral side surface, an opening is formed in the first lateral side surface, and the operation member is fitted into the opening. The closest prior art, Yuen US 20130044099 A1, discloses wherein the other one of the UI device or the cradle includes a first lateral side surface, but does not disclose an opening being formed in the first lateral side surface, and the operation member is fitted into the opening.
Claim 12 contains the limitation wherein the other one of the UI device or the cradle is the UI device, the UI device includes a first lateral side surface, an opening is formed in the first lateral side surface, and the operating portion is fitted into the opening. The closest prior art, Yuen US 20130044099 A1, discloses wherein the other one of the UI device or the cradle is the UI device, the UI device includes a first lateral side surface, but does not disclose an opening being formed in the first lateral side surface, and the operating portion is fitted into the opening.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 1-7 of Remarks, filed 02/24/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-10 and 13-17 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Akamatsu JP 2021187419 A.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that Yuen does not disclose an operation member that includes a second engaging portion and is formed separately from both the UI device and the cradle. Applicant further argues that Yuen’s finger-operable tab 180 is integral with the cradle assembly and is not a separately formed, attachable, and detachable operation member. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive under the new grounds of rejection. As set forth in the rejection, Yuen discloses the claimed engaging and disengaging functionality, while Akamatsu teaches operation buttons 6 that are formed separately from the surrounding case portion 2 and cover portion 3 and are retained therebetween (Fig. 7).
Applicant argues that reliance on MPEP 2144.04(V)(C) in re Dulberg is improper because no reason has been identified to make the operation member removable or separately formed. This argument is moot in view of the modified rejection. The rejection no longer relies on design choice to establish the separable operation member. Rather Akamatsu expressly teaches operation buttons that are separate components from the surrounding housing.
Applicant additionally argues that Yuen’s tab spans the cradle structure and replacing it would require substantial disassembly. This argument is not persuasive because the rejection relies on the combination of Yuen and Akamatsu, rather than on Yuen alone. Akamatsu teaches a separately formed operating member formed with the cradle structure, thus providing an explicit teaching of the structural modification relied upon in the rejection.
Conclusion
/Mohamed M Medani/Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU, Ph.D./Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611