DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues with that the prior art does not teach three fixed contacts being fixed relative to the housing. This argument is not persuasive because Kalb teaches this limitation as shown in annotated figure below (the contacts on the left side of the figure are also fixed).
The applicant further argues, on page 12, that “Claim 1 recites that the first and second contact portions of the movable contact are arranged at opposite ends of the movable contact (with the third contact portion connected to the input contact located between the first and second contact portions).” The examiner cannot find where claim 1 recites these limitations.
With respect to claim 27, the applicant argues that the prior art discloses two different plungers that do not meet the claim limitations. This argument is not persuasive because the prior art is interpreted as having one plunger that includes sections 4 and 5. Furthermore, the claims do not appear to limit the device to only having one plunger.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-21, and 23-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalb (US 5949315) in view of Baba et al. (US 5679935) and Niimi (US 8310323).
In re claim 1, Kalb, in figures 1-4, discloses a relay comprising: fixed contacts, the fixed contacts include an input contact, a first output contact, and a second output contact (labeled with + and – in the figures), the input contact receiving an input from a source (the device is inherently capable of receiving an input from a source); each fixed contact including a mating portion (in the vicinity of 22-25) and a terminating portion (away from 22-25 and in the vicinity of + and – labels), the mating portion having a mating interface (22-25), the mating and terminating portions of the fixed contact being fixed in position (as shown in figures 1-3), a relay actuator, the relay actuator including a plunger (4,5) movable in a linear actuation direction between a retracted position and an advanced position; a movable contact coupled to the plunger and movable with the plunger between a first mated position corresponding to the retracted position and a second mated position corresponding to the advanced position (shown in figures 2-3), the movable contact being electrically connected to the input contact in both the first mated position and the second mated position (by 10 and 11), the movable contact being electrically connected to the first output contact and being disconnected from the second output contact in the first mated position to connect the first output contact to the input from the source, the movable contact being electrically connected to the second output contact and being disconnected from the first output contact in the second mated position to connect the second output contact to the input from the source (inherent functionality of the shown structure). Kalb does not explicitly show a housing having a wall defining a cavity or the terminating portion being coupled to a wire. Baba however, in figures 1-10, teaches a similar device having a housing (including structures 52 and 62) with a wall defining a cavity (as best seen in figure 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have positioned the device of Kalb in a housing as taught by Baba in order to provide environmental protection for the device. Niimi teaches a switching device having terminating portions of fixed contacts being coupled to wires (12-13). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have coupled the terminating portions of Kalb/Baba to wires as taught by Niimi to connect the relay to an external device.
In re claim 2, Kalb, in figures 1-4, discloses that the input contact and the first output contact create a first circuit in the retracted position and wherein the input contact and the second output contact create a second circuit in the advanced position (inherent function of the shown structure).
In re claim 3, Kalb, in figures 1-4, discloses that the movable contact includes a flex member (10 or 11) connected to the input contact, the flex member being flexible to move with the movable contact between the first mated position and the second mated position.
In re claim 4, Kalb, in figures 1-4, discloses that the plunger is moved vertically in the linear actuation direction (as shown in figures 2-3).
In re claim 5, Kalb, in figures 1-4, discloses that the movable contact includes a contact plate (6 or 7) extending between a first end and a second end, the movable contact including a first contact tab (8 or 9) at the first end configured to engage the first output contact in the first mated position, the movable contact including a second contact tab (8 or 9; two tabs are positioned on opposite sides of the plate) at the second end configured to engage the second output contact in the second mated position (as shown in figures 2-3).
In re claim 6, Kalb, in figures 1-4, discloses that the first contact tab is upward facing and the second contact tab is downward facing (as shown in the figures, see figure 1 for best view).
In re claim 7, Kalb, in figures 1-4, discloses that first output contact is located above the contact plate and the second output contact is located below the contact plate, the movable contact movable vertically between the first mated position and the second mated position to interface with the first output contact and the second output contact, respectively (as best seen in figure 1).
In re claim 8, Kalb, in figures 1-4, discloses that the movable contact includes a flex member (10 or 11) coupled to a central portion of the contact plate, the flex member being flexible to move with the contact plate as the contact plate is moved between the first and second mated positions.
In re claim 10, Kalb, in figures 1-4, discloses that the contact plate is oriented perpendicular to the linear actuation direction (as seen in the figures).
In re claim 11, Kalb modified by Baba discloses that the housing includes a base, the fixed contacts extending from the base (as shown by Baba), the plunger and the movable contact being movable relative to the base in the linear actuation direction (inherent function of the device).
In re claim 12, Kalb modified by Baba discloses that the first output contact has a first interface at a first distance from the base and the second output contact has a second interface at a second distance from the base, the second distance being different than the first distance (Kalb structure positioned in a housing with a base inherently has different distances between the base and the output contacts in the moving direction of the plunger).
In re claim 13, Kalb, in figures 1-4, discloses the relay actuator includes a coil (2) wound around a magnetic core (3), the coil being energized to move the plunger from the retracted position to the advanced position (in the same way as shown by the applicant).
In re claim 14, Kalb, in figures 1-4, discloses a relay comprising: fixed contacts in the cavity, the fixed contacts include an input contact, a first output contact, and a second output contact (labeled with + and – in the figures); each fixed contact including a mating portion (in the vicinity of 22-25) and a terminating portion (away from 22-25 and in the vicinity of + and – labels), the mating portion having a mating interface (22-25), the mating and terminating portions of the fixed contact being fixed in position (as shown in figures 1-3), a relay actuator in the cavity, the relay actuator including a plunger (4,5) movable in a linear actuation direction between a retracted position and an advanced position (shown in figures 2-3); a movable contact coupled to the plunger and movable with the plunger between a first mated position corresponding to the retracted position and a second mated position corresponding to the advanced position, the movable contact having a first contact portion at a first end of the movable contact (at 8 or 9), a second contact portion at a second end of the movable contact (at 8 or 9), and a third contact portion (at 10 or 11) between the first and second contact portions, the first contact portion being electrically connected to the first output contact in the first mated position, the second contact portion being electrically connected to the second output contact in the second mated position, the third contact portion being electrically connected to the input contact in both the first mated position and the second mated position (inherent function of the shown structure). Kalb does not explicitly show a housing having a wall defining a cavity or the terminating portion being coupled to a wire. Baba however, in figures 1-10, teaches a similar device having a housing (including structures 52 and 62) with a wall defining a cavity (as best seen in figure 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have positioned the device of Kalb in a housing as taught by Baba in order to provide environmental protection for the device. Niimi teaches a switching device having terminating portions of fixed contacts being coupled to wires (12-13). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have coupled the terminating portions of Kalb/Baba to wires as taught by Niimi to connect the relay to an external device.
In re claim 15, Kalb, in figures 1-4, discloses that the input contact and the first output contact create a first circuit in the retracted position and wherein the input contact and the second output contact create a second circuit in the advanced position (inherent function of the shown structure). With respect to the limitations directed to functional language associated with connection to a source, these limitations have not been given patentable weight because it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). The device disclosed by the prior art is capable to be connected to a source as claimed.
In re claim 16, Kalb, in figures 1-4, discloses that the movable contact includes a flex member (10 or 11) connected to the input contact, the flex member being flexible to move with the movable contact between the first mated position and the second mated position.
In re claim 17, Kalb, in figures 1-4, discloses that the plunger is moved along an axis in the linear actuation direction, the first and second output contacts located on opposite sides of the axis (the axis passing through the middle of the contacts meets these limitations; as shown in figures 2-3).
In re claim 18, Kalb, in figures 1-4, discloses that the movable contact includes a contact plate (6 or 7) extending between a first end and a second end, the movable contact including a first contact tab (8 or 9) at the first end configured to engage the first output contact in the first mated position, the movable contact including a second contact tab (8 or 9) at the second end configured to engage the second output contact in the second mated position (as shown in figures 2-3).
In re claim 19, Kalb, in figures 1-4, discloses that the first contact tab is upward facing and the second contact tab is downward facing (as shown in the figures, see figure 1 for best view).
In re claim 20, Kalb, in figures 1-4, discloses that first output contact is located above the contact plate and the second output contact is located below the contact plate, the movable contact movable vertically between the first mated position and the second mated position to interface with the first output contact and the second output contact, respectively (as best seen in figure 1).
In re claim 21, Kalb, in figures 1-4, discloses that the movable contact includes a flex member (10 or 11) coupled to a central portion of the contact plate, the flex member being flexible to move with the contact plate as the contact plate is moved between the first and second mated positions.
In re claim 23, Kalb, in figures 1-4, discloses that the contact plate is oriented perpendicular to the linear actuation direction (as seen in the figures).
In re claim 24, Kalb modified by Baba discloses that the housing includes a base, the fixed contacts extending from the base (as shown by Baba), the plunger and the movable contact being movable relative to the base in the linear actuation direction (inherent function of the device).
In re claim 25, Kalb modified by Baba discloses that the first output contact has a first interface at a first distance from the base and the second output contact has a second interface at a second distance from the base, the second distance being different than the first distance (Kalb structure positioned in a housing with a base inherently has different distances between the base and the output contacts in the moving direction of the plunger).
In re claim 26, Kalb, in figures 1-4, discloses the relay actuator includes a coil (2) wound around a magnetic core (3), the coil being energized to move the plunger from the retracted position to the advanced position (in the same way as shown by the applicant).
In re claim 27, Kalb, in figures 1-4, discloses right side fixed contacts proximate to the right side, the right side fixed contacts include a right side input contact, a first right side output contact, and a second right side output contact (labeled with + and – in the figures on the right side); left side fixed contacts in the cavity proximate to the left side, the left side fixed contacts include a left side input contact, a first left side output contact, and a second left side output contact (labeled with + and – in the figures on the left side); each right and left side fixed contact including a mating portion (in the vicinity of 22-25) and a terminating portion (away from 22-25 and in the vicinity of + and – labels), the mating portion having a mating interface (22-25), the mating and terminating portions of the fixed contact being fixed in position (as shown in figures 1-3), a relay actuator in the cavity, the relay actuator including a plunger (4,5) movable in a linear actuation direction between a retracted position and an advanced position; a movable contact assembly coupled to the plunger and movable with the plunger between a first mated position corresponding to the retracted position and a second mated position corresponding to the advanced position, the movable contact assembly including a contact holder (part of 6 and 7 coupled to the plunger comprises the contact holder) having a base coupled to the plunger, a right side mounting arm at a right side of the contact holder, and a left side mounting arm at a left side of the contact holder (as seen in the figures), the movable contact assembly including a right side movable contact coupled to the right side mounting arm and movable with the plunger and a left side movable contact coupled to the left side mounting arm and movable with the plunger; wherein the right side movable contact is electrically connected to the right side input contact in both the first mated position and the second mated position, the right side movable contact being electrically connected to the first right side output contact and being disconnected from the second right side output contact in the first mated position, the right side movable contact being electrically connected to the second right side output contact and being disconnected from the first right side output contact in the second mated position (inherent function of the shown structure); and wherein the left side movable contact is electrically connected to the left side input contact in both the first mated position and the second mated position, the left side movable contact being electrically connected to the first left side output contact and being disconnected from the second left side output contact in the first mated position, the left side movable contact being electrically connected to the second left side output contact and being disconnected from the first left side output contact in the second mated position (inherent function of the shown structure). Kalb does not explicitly show a housing having a wall defining a cavity or the terminating portion being coupled to a wire. Baba however, in figures 1-10, teaches a similar device having a housing (including structures 52 and 62) with a wall defining a cavity (as best seen in figure 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have positioned the device of Kalb in a housing as taught by Baba in order to provide environmental protection for the device. Niimi teaches a switching device having terminating portions of fixed contacts being coupled to wires (12-13). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have coupled the terminating portions of Kalb/Baba to wires as taught by Niimi to connect the relay to an external device.
Claim(s) 9 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalb (US 5949315) in view of Baba et al. (US 5679935), Niimi, and Adams et al. (US 3484729).
In re claims 9 and 22, Kalb/Baba/Niimi discloses the claimed device except for backup blades. Adams however, in figures 1-4, discloses a relay having a backup blade (78-80). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adapted a backup blade as taught by Adams to the device of Kalb/Baba/Niimi to increase contact pressure and reduce vibrations.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Alexander Talpalatski/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837