DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9-18, 20 and 22-23 of copending Application No. 18/170,009, respectively. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the present limitations are anticipated by these claims of the copending application. The mere removal of limitations does not obviate double patenting.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations "the contact parts" in Line 8; "the contacting parts" in Line 11; "the coating" in Line 11.
Claim 4 recites the limitation ""the axis" in Line 2.
Claim 12 recites the limitation ""the elements" in Line 1.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims.
As far as understood by the Examiner, the rejection stands as follows:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moulin et al. (CH 705906). Regarding Claim 1, Moulin discloses a device for guiding a rotary shaft (120) of a sprung balance, the device comprising: the rotary shaft; a guide bearing (101, 102) for guiding an end or a pivot (122) fastened to one end of the rotary shaft of the sprung balance, the guide bearing comprising a blade (126d) and a support part (126c) for corning into contact with and holding the end or the pivot of the rotary shaft of the sprung balance, wherein an one end part of the rotary shaft or of the pivot, contact parts of the guide bearing being made of a material (126 is made of glass) with a Young's modulus of less than or equal to 100 GPa and/or with a coefficient of friction of materials of contacting parts or of a coating of the contacting parts of less than or equal to 0.15.
Regarding Claim 2, Moulin discloses the support part is a support surface (126d) of any geometric shape adapted to make a single contact point or a contact line with the rotary shaft or the pivot mounted on the rotary shaft..
Regarding Claim 3, Moulin discloses the support part being a support surface (126d).
Regarding Claim 4, Moulin discloses two support parts including contact blades (126d) so as to have three contact blades in order to centre an axis of rotation of the sprung balance..
Regarding Claim 5, Moulin discloses the device including three contact blades (126d), each of said three blades being coil-shaped, and in that a first end of each blade is fastened to a ring coaxial with the rotary shaft, whereas a second end of each blade comes into contact with one end of the rotary shaft of the balance to hold it axially.
Regarding Claim 6, Moulin discloses each of the contact blades being rectilinear in shape, and wherein a first end of each blade is fastened to a ring coaxial (125) with the rotary shaft, whereas a second end of each blade comes into contact with one end of the rotary shaft of the balance to hold it axially.
Regarding Claim 7, Moulin discloses all of the blades being evenly spaced 120° apart from one another around the ring (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 8, Moulin discloses at least one blade (126d) or a support part comprising a contact portion (126c) making contact with the shaft or the pivot and formed so as to have only a single point of contact with the shaft or the pivot.
Regarding Claim 9, Moulin discloses each blade comprising a contact portion (126c) making contact with the shaft or the pivot and formed so as to have only a single point of contact in order to reduce friction.
Regarding Claim 10, Moulin discloses a contact part (122) of the shaft, the contact blade and the support part being made of the same ceramic, glass or filled or non-filled polymer material.
Regarding Claim 11, Moulin discloses a contact part (122) of the shaft, the contact blade and the support part of the guide bearing being made of two different ceramic, glass or filled or non-filled polymer materials.
Regarding Claim 12, Moulin discloses the elements of the guide bearing being made in one piece (Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 13, Moulin discloses the coefficient of friction of the materials of the contacting parts or of the coating of the contacting parts is less than or equal to 0.1, or at least an end part of the shaft or of the pivot or at least the contact parts of the guide bearing being made of a material (126 is made of glass) with a Young's modulus of less than or equal to 100 GPa.
Regarding Claim 14, Moulin discloses a horological movement (Fig. 3) equipped with the device.
Regarding Claim 15, Moulin discloses a timepiece (Fig. 3) provided with a movement (Fig. 3) equipped with the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art discloses timepieces, similar to Applicant’s claimed invention, having balances, rotary shafts and solid bodies to reduce gravity effects.
/EDWIN A. LEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833