The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Double Patenting
overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with the examined application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. See MPEP § 717.02 for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP § 2146 et seq. for applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b).
www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer.
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claim 4, 8, 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,585,097 since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the “right to exclude” already granted in the patent.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows: the patent discloses the foil isolator and claims everything else. Furthermore, there is no apparent reason why applicant was prevented from presenting claims corresponding to those of the instant application during prosecution of the application which matured into a patent. See In re Schneller, 397 F.2d 350, 158 USPQ 210 (CCPA 1968). See also MPEP § 804.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 10, 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sullivan US 5,277,573 in view of Gehring US 2004/0245234.
Sullivan discloses a heated, hollow ramp assembly (104, 120, 210) comprising:
A ramp (104), A raised platform (128), At least one guardrail (210) secured to a side of the ramp, A plurality of interconnectable heating elements (424) embedded within said ramp and raised platform. See figs, 3-6, 8, 10; Col. 4, ln. 60-Col. 6, ln. 5. Sullivan illustrates a matt type heater element (424) in Fig 10. What Sullivan does not disclose is the use of a foil isolator. However, Gehring teaches an outdoor heated mat for use with ramps, porches walkways and other surfaces subjected to pedestrian traffic. See [0004]. The mat comprising: a base layer (12), a heating element (14), a thermal conductor layer (18), a flooring covering layer (20) and an aluminum foil layer configured to “more uniformly distribute heat across mat (10)”. See [0030-0033, 0048].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the heated ramp of Sullivan with the aluminum foil layer taught by Gehring, in order to stop heat transfer to the base.
With respect to claims 10, 14 Sullivan discloses the heater (424) can be connected to an electric power source using an electric cable and that adjacent ramp elements (120, 128) can be fastened together and electrically connected together. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention that the electric power source could be 125VAC.
Claim(s) 4, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sullivan US 5,277,573 in view of Gehring US 2004/0245234 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nelson CA 2474125. Sullivan in view of Gehring disclose a heated ramp assembly but do not disclose making the base from PVC. However, Nelson teaches an interconnecting flooring system comprising a top wear surface, and middle reinforcing substrate, a laminate backing layer, and resilient aluminum sheet. Wherein the reinforcing substrate and the laminate backing layer can comprise filled and unfilled plastics, fiber reinforced compositions and PVC. See pages 27-29. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the heated ramp of Sullivan in view of Gehring with a plastic base as taught by Nelson, in order to reduce weight and prevent damage to the ground/driveway/sidewalk where the ramp is used.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 11, 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chris Sebesta can be reached on 571-272-0547. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you need help from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/RAYMOND W ADDIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671 1/15/2026