DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 13-15, filed 04/23/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-6, 13-16, 19-22, and 25-28 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20250184722-Al to Elshafie et al., from hereon Elshafie in view of US- 20240397472-Al to Li et al., from hereon Li." have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 11671224 B2 to Bao et al., from hereon Bao.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 13-15, filed 04/23/2026,with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 7-12, 17, 18, 23, 24, 29, and 30 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20250184722-Al to Elshafie et al., from hereon Elshafie and US- 20240397472-Al to Li et al., from hereon Li in view of WO-2023049575-Al to Nam et al., from hereon Nam. have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 11671224 B2 to Bao et al., from hereon Bao.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 13-16, 19-22, and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11671224 B2 to Bao et al., from hereon Bao in view of US-20240397472-A1 to Li et al., from hereon Li.
Regarding claim 1 Bao teaches…a method of operating a wireless communication device, the method comprising(Col., 50, Lns. 5-15, discloses a method performed by UE): engaging in a sidelink positioning procedure with a peer wireless communication device; and transmitting to the peer wireless communication device or receiving from the peer wireless communication device a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) transmission for the sidelink positioning procedure over an SL-PRS resource within a resource pool(Col. 31, Lns 43-52 discloses… SL resources are defined in resource pools. For example, an RRC configuration of an SL resource pool can be pre-configured (e.g., preloaded on UE) or configured (e.g. by gNB). In some designs, the minimum unit of a resource pool is one slot (time-domain) and one sub-channel (frequency-domain). Some physical slots can be unavailable for sidelink, e.g., consecutive sidelink logic slots can be discontinuous physical slots. The subchannel side can be pre-configured or configured to be {10, 15, 20, 25, 50, 75, 100} PRBs. (129) FIG. 12 illustrates SL communications 1200 in accordance with aspects of the disclosure. In Mode 1, BS 304 provides, at 1202, an allocation of resources for sidelink communications 1204 between UEs 1 and 2.), the resource pool being dedicated to SL-PRS, the resource pool being defined in frequency allocation units in a frequency domain or in time allocation units in a time domain , and the SL-PRS resource being identifiable based on(Col. 31, Lns. 35-40P. 98 discloses… SL resources are defined in resource pools. For example, an RRC configuration of an SL resource pool can be pre-configured (e.g., preloaded on UE) or configured (e.g. by gNB). In some designs, the minimum unit of a resource pool is one slot (time-domain) and one sub-channel (frequency-domain)):but does not teach… a bandwidth of the SL-PRS resource determined based on a full bandwidth of the resource pool according to a predetermined order of the frequency allocation units, and any combination of: a starting frequency allocation unit of the SL-PRS resource, a time span of the SL-PRS resource, a starting time allocation unit of the SL-PRS resource.
LI teaches… a bandwidth of the SL-PRS resource determined based on a full bandwidth of the resource pool according to a predetermined order of the frequency allocation units (Table 5, discloses the use of the entire bandwidth and allocation according to Time and or Frequency as assigned or allocated on the initial transmission ), and any combination of: a starting frequency allocation unit of the SL-PRS resource (Table 5 discloses index for indicating starting frequency of allocation unit of sidelink resources… The bits number of this field depends on the number of SL-PRS resource configurations for transmission configured by the higher layer parameter. Time offset between SL-PRS transmission and If the transmission of both SL-PRS and SL data are SCI format 1-A (the first SL data resource) triggered SL-PRS frequency resource assignment indicate the number of contiguously allocated sub- channels for each resource and the starting sub-channel indexes of resources ), a time span of the SL-PRS resource, a starting time allocation unit of the SL-PRS resource.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bao by incorporating the teachings of Li because the method and device allow for various modes of configuration of sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) for the services (Li, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 2 Bao and Li teach the method of claim 1, Bao teaches…wherein: the frequency allocation units correspond to subchannels (Fig, 13), and the bandwidth of the SL-PRS resource is determinable based on: a pre-configured bandwidth stored in a storage of the wireless communication device, a configured bandwidth provided by a network entity(Fig. 13, Col. 31, SL slot configuration 1300 in accordance with aspects of the disclosure. In FIG. 13, PSCCH and PSSCH are transmitted in the same slot. The PSCCH duration is (pre)configured to 2 or 3 symbols, and the PSCCH is (pre-) configured to span {10, 12, 15, 20, 25} PRBs, limited within a single subchannel ), or an assigned bandwidth indicated in positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration information.
Regarding claim 3 Bao and Li teach the method of claim 1, Bao teaches…wherein the frequency allocation units correspond to physical resource blocks (PRBs) (Col. 21, Lns. 22-30 discloses… 87) A collection of resource elements that are used for transmission of PRS is referred to as a “PRS resource.” The collection of resource elements can span multiple PRBs in the frequency domain and N (e.g., 1 or more) consecutive symbol(s) 460 within a slot 430 in the time domain. In a given OFDM symbol 460, a PRS resource occupies consecutive PRBs. A PRS resource is described by at least the following parameters: PRS resource identifier (ID), sequence ID, comb size-N, resource element offset in the frequency domain), Li teaches…and the bandwidth of the SL-PRS resource is further determined based on: a range from the starting frequency allocation unit of the SL-PRS resource, according to a predetermined order of the PRBs (Table 1, discloses the order the PRB allocated according to a predetermined configuration loaded upon initialization), Bao teaches…to an end of the resource pool in the frequency domain, a pre-configured size stored in a storage of the wireless communication device(Col P. 22, Lns. 45-55), a configured size provided by a network entity, or a comb size provided by the network entity.
Regarding claim 4 Bao and Li teach the method of claim 1, Bao teaches…wherein: the frequency allocation units correspond to subchannels or physical resource blocks (PRBs) (Col 31, Lns. 34-44), and the starting frequency allocation unit of the SL-PRS resource is determinable based on: a pre-configured frequency domain location stored in a storage of the wireless communication device, a configured frequency domain location provided by a network entity (Fig. 15, Col. 32, Lns. 9-18 ), a mapping between frequency domain locations and the bandwidth of the SL-PRS resource, an assigned frequency domain location indicated in positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration information, or a signaled frequency domain location indicated in a message from the peer wireless communication device that transmit the SL-PRS transmission in a case that the wireless communication device is configured to receive the SL-PRS transmission.
Regarding claim 5 Bao and Li teach the of claim 1, Bao teaches…wherein: the wireless communication device is configured to transmit the SL-PRS transmission over the SL-PRS resource to the peer wireless communication device (Col. 33, Lns. 21-25), and the method further comprises sending a message to the peer wireless communication device, the message indicating a signaled frequency domain location that is the starting frequency allocation unit of the SL-PRS resource (Col. 33, Lns. 2-7).
Regarding claim 6 Bao and Li teach the method of claim 5, Li teaches…wherein the message is a first-stage sidelink control information (SCI-1) message (F. 7, P. 90 ).
Regarding claim 13 Bao teaches…a wireless communication device, comprising: a memory; at least one transceiver; and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor configured toCol. 40, Lns. 28-35): engage (note: engaged was interpreted as participating/involved ) in a sidelink positioning procedure with a peer wireless communication device(Col. 2, Lns. 65-67); and transmit to the peer wireless communication device or receive from the peer wireless communication device, via the at least one transceiver, a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) transmission for the sidelink positioning procedure over an SL-PRS resource within a resource pool Col. 31, Lns 43-52 discloses… SL resources are defined in resource pools. For example, an RRC configuration of an SL resource pool can be pre-configured (e.g., preloaded on UE) or configured (e.g. by gNB). In some designs, the minimum unit of a resource pool is one slot (time-domain) and one sub-channel (frequency-domain). Some physical slots can be unavailable for sidelink, e.g., consecutive sidelink logic slots can be discontinuous physical slots. The subchannel side can be pre-configured or configured to be {10, 15, 20, 25, 50, 75, 100} PRBs. (129) FIG. 12 illustrates SL communications 1200 in accordance with aspects of the disclosure. In Mode 1, BS 304 provides, at 1202, an allocation of resources for sidelink communications 1204 between UEs 1 and 2.), the resource pool being dedicated to SL-PRS, the resource pool being defined in frequency allocation units in a frequency domain or intime allocation units in a time domain, and the SL-PRS resource being identifiable based on(Col. 31, Lns. 35-40P. 98 discloses… SL resources are defined in resource pools. For example, an RRC configuration of an SL resource pool can be pre-configured (e.g., preloaded on UE) or configured (e.g. by gNB). In some designs, the minimum unit of a resource pool is one slot (time-domain) and one sub-channel (frequency-domain)):but does not teach… a bandwidth of the SL-PRS resource determined based on a full bandwidth of the resource pool according to a predetermined order of the frequency allocation units, and any combination of: a starting frequency allocation unit of the SL-PRS resource, a time span of the SL-PRS resource, a starting time allocation unit of the SL-PRS resource.
Li teaches… a bandwidth of the SL-PRS resource determined based on a full bandwidth of the resource pool according to a predetermined order of the frequency allocation units, (Table 5, discloses the use of the entire bandwidth and allocation according to Time and or Frequency as assigned or allocated on the initial transmission ), and any combination of: a starting frequency allocation unit of the SL-PRS resource (Table 5 discloses index for indicating starting frequency of allocation unit of sidelink resources… The bits number of this field depends on the number of SL-PRS resource configurations for transmission configured by the higher layer parameter. Time offset between SL-PRS transmission and If the transmission of both SL-PRS and SL data are SCI format 1-A (the first SL data resource) triggered SL-PRS frequency resource assignment indicate the number of contiguously allocated sub- channels for each resource and the starting sub-channel indexes of resources ), a time span of the SL-PRS resource, a starting time allocation unit of the SL-PRS resource.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bao by incorporating the teachings of Li because the method and device allow for various modes of configuration of sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) for the services (Li, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 14 Bao and Li teach the wireless communication device of claim 13, Elshafie teaches…wherein: the frequency allocation units correspond to subchannels (Fig. 13), and the bandwidth of the SL-PRS resource is determinable based on: a pre-configured bandwidth stored in a storage of the wireless communication device, a configured bandwidth provided by a network entity(Fig. 13, Col. 31, SL slot configuration 1300 in accordance with aspects of the disclosure. In FIG. 13, PSCCH and PSSCH are transmitted in the same slot. The PSCCH duration is (pre)configured to 2 or 3 symbols, and the PSCCH is (pre-) configured to span {10, 12, 15, 20, 25} PRBs, limited within a single subchannel ), or an assigned bandwidth indicated in positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration information.
Regarding claim 15 Bao and Li teach the wireless communication device of claim 13, Bao teaches…wherein: the frequency allocation units correspond to physical resource blocks (PRBs) (Col. 21, Lns. 22-30 discloses… 87) A collection of resource elements that are used for transmission of PRS is referred to as a “PRS resource.” The collection of resource elements can span multiple PRBs in the frequency domain and N (e.g., 1 or more) consecutive symbol(s) 460 within a slot 430 in the time domain. In a given OFDM symbol 460, a PRS resource occupies consecutive PRBs. A PRS resource is described by at least the following parameters: PRS resource identifier (ID), sequence ID, comb size-N, resource element offset in the frequency domain), LI teaches…and the bandwidth of the SL-PRS resource is further determined based on: a range from the starting frequency allocation unit of the SL-PRS resource (Fig. 6, P. 115), according to a predetermined order of the PRBs(Table 1, discloses the order the PRB allocated according to a predetermined configuration loaded upon initialization), to an end of the resource pool in the frequency domain, a pre-configured size stored in a storage of the wireless communication device(Col P. 22, Lns. 45-55), a configured size provided by a network entity, a full bandwidth of the resource pool, or a comb size provided by the network entity, or a comb size provided by the network entity.
Regarding claim 16 Bao and Li teach the wireless communication device of claim 13, Bao teaches…wherein: the frequency allocation units correspond to subchannels or physical resource blocks (PRBs) (Col 31, Lns. 34-44), and the starting frequency allocation unit of the SL-PRS resource is determinable based on: a pre-configured frequency domain location stored in a storage of the wireless communication device, a configured frequency domain location provided by a network entity (Fig. 15, Col. 32, Lns. 9-18 ), a mapping between frequency domain locations and the bandwidth of the SL-PRS resource, an assigned frequency domain location indicated in positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration information, or a signaled frequency domain location indicated in a message from the peer wireless communication device that transmit the SL-PRS transmission in a case that the wireless communication device is configured to receive the SL-PRS transmission.
Regarding claim 19 Bao teaches…a wireless communication device(Col. 40, Lns. 28-35), comprising: means for engaging note: engaged was interpreted as participating/involved )in a sidelink positioning procedure with a peer wireless communication device(Col. 2, Lns. 65-67); and means for transmitting to the peer wireless communication device or receiving from the peer wireless communication device a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) transmission for the sidelink positioning procedure over an SL-PRS resource within a resource pool Col. 31, Lns 43-52 discloses… SL resources are defined in resource pools. For example, an RRC configuration of an SL resource pool can be pre-configured (e.g., preloaded on UE) or configured (e.g. by gNB). In some designs, the minimum unit of a resource pool is one slot (time-domain) and one sub-channel (frequency-domain). Some physical slots can be unavailable for sidelink, e.g., consecutive sidelink logic slots can be discontinuous physical slots. The subchannel side can be pre-configured or configured to be {10, 15, 20, 25, 50, 75, 100} PRBs. (129) FIG. 12 illustrates SL communications 1200 in accordance with aspects of the disclosure. In Mode 1, BS 304 provides, at 1202, an allocation of resources for sidelink communications 1204 between UEs 1 and 2.), the resource pool being dedicated to SL-PRS, the resource pool being defined in frequency allocation units in a frequency domain or in time allocation units in a time domain, and the SL- PRS resource being identifiable based on(Col. 31, Lns. 35-40P. 98 discloses… SL resources are defined in resource pools. For example, an RRC configuration of an SL resource pool can be pre-configured (e.g., preloaded on UE) or configured (e.g. by gNB). In some designs, the minimum unit of a resource pool is one slot (time-domain) and one sub-channel (frequency-domain)):but does not teach……a bandwidth of the SL-PRS resource determined based on a full bandwidth of the resource pool according to a predetermined order of the frequency allocation units, and any combination of: a starting frequency allocation unit of the SL-PRS resource, a time span of the SL-PRS resource, a starting time allocation unit of the SL-PRS resource.
Li teaches… a bandwidth of the SL-PRS resource determined based on a full bandwidth of the resource pool according to a predetermined order of the frequency allocation units, (Table 5, discloses the use of the entire bandwidth and allocation according to Time and or Frequency as assigned or allocated on the initial transmission ), and any combination of: a starting frequency allocation unit of the SL-PRS resource (Table 5 discloses index for indicating starting frequency of allocation unit of sidelink resources… The bits number of this field depends on the number of SL-PRS resource configurations for transmission configured by the higher layer parameter. Time offset between SL-PRS transmission and If the transmission of both SL-PRS and SL data are SCI format 1-A (the first SL data resource) triggered SL-PRS frequency resource assignment indicate the number of contiguously allocated sub- channels for each resource and the starting sub-channel indexes of resources ), a time span of the SL-PRS resource, a starting time allocation unit of the SL-PRS resource.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bao by incorporating the teachings of Li because the method and device allow for various modes of configuration of sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) for the services (Li, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 20 Bao and Li teach the wireless communication device of claim 19, Bao teaches…wherein: the frequency allocation units correspond to subchannels, and the bandwidth of the SL-PRS resource is determinable based on: a pre-configured bandwidth stored in a storage of the wireless communication device, a configured bandwidth provided by a network entity(Fig. 13, Col. 31, SL slot configuration 1300 in accordance with aspects of the disclosure. In FIG. 13, PSCCH and PSSCH are transmitted in the same slot. The PSCCH duration is (pre)configured to 2 or 3 symbols, and the PSCCH is (pre-) configured to span {10, 12, 15, 20, 25} PRBs, limited within a single subchannel ), or an assigned bandwidth indicated in positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration information.
Regarding claim 21 Bao and Li teach the wireless communication device of claim 19, Bao teaches…wherein: the frequency allocation units correspond to physical resource blocks (PRBs) (Col. 21, Lns. 22-30 discloses… 87) A collection of resource elements that are used for transmission of PRS is referred to as a “PRS resource.” The collection of resource elements can span multiple PRBs in the frequency domain and N (e.g., 1 or more) consecutive symbol(s) 460 within a slot 430 in the time domain. In a given OFDM symbol 460, a PRS resource occupies consecutive PRBs. A PRS resource is described by at least the following parameters: PRS resource identifier (ID), sequence ID, comb size-N, resource element offset in the frequency domain), Li teaches…and the bandwidth of the SL-PRS resource is further determined based on: a range from the starting frequency allocation unit of the SL-PRS resource (Fig. 6, P. 115), according to a predetermined order of the PRBs, to an end of the resource pool in the frequency domain, a pre-configured size stored in a storage of the wireless communication device, a configured size provided by a network entity, or a comb size provided by the network entity.
Regarding claim 22 Bao and Li teach the wireless communication device of claim 19, wherein: the frequency allocation units correspond to subchannels or physical resource blocks (PRBs) (Col 31, Lns. 34-44), and the starting frequency allocation unit of the SL-PRS resource is determinable based on: a pre-configured frequency domain location stored in a storage of the wireless communication device, a configured frequency domain location provided by a network entity (Fig. 15, Col. 32, Lns. 9-18 ), a mapping between frequency domain locations and the bandwidth of the SL-PRS resource, an assigned frequency domain location indicated in positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration information, or a signaled frequency domain location indicated in a message from the peer wireless communication device that transmit the SL-PRS transmission in a case that the wireless communication device is configured to receive the SL-PRS transmission.
Regarding claim 25 Bao teaches…a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer- executable instructions that, when executed by a wireless communication device, cause the wireless communication device to (Col. 45, Lns. 40-50): engage (note: engaged was interpreted as participating/involved ) in a sidelink positioning procedure with a peer wireless communication device(Col. 2, Lns. 65-67); and transmit to the peer wireless communication device or receive from the peer wireless communication device a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) transmission for the sidelink positioning procedure over an SL-PRS resource within a resource pool (Col. 31, Lns 43-52 discloses… SL resources are defined in resource pools. For example, an RRC configuration of an SL resource pool can be pre-configured (e.g., preloaded on UE) or configured (e.g. by gNB). In some designs, the minimum unit of a resource pool is one slot (time-domain) and one sub-channel (frequency-domain). Some physical slots can be unavailable for sidelink, e.g., consecutive sidelink logic slots can be discontinuous physical slots. The subchannel side can be pre-configured or configured to be {10, 15, 20, 25, 50, 75, 100} PRBs. (129) FIG. 12 illustrates SL communications 1200 in accordance with aspects of the disclosure. In Mode 1, BS 304 provides, at 1202, an allocation of resources for sidelink communications 1204 between UEs 1 and 2.), the resource pool being dedicated to SL-PRS, the resource pool being defined in frequency allocation units in a frequency domain or in time allocation units in a time domain, and the SL-PRS resource being identifiable based on(Col. 31, Lns. 35-40P. 98 discloses… SL resources are defined in resource pools. For example, an RRC configuration of an SL resource pool can be pre-configured (e.g., preloaded on UE) or configured (e.g. by gNB). In some designs, the minimum unit of a resource pool is one slot (time-domain) and one sub-channel (frequency-domain)):but does not teach…a bandwidth of the SL-PRS resource determined based on a full bandwidth of the resource pool according to a predetermined order of the frequency allocation units, and any combination of: a starting frequency allocation unit of the SL-PRS resource, a time span of the SL-PRS resource, a starting time allocation unit of the SL-PRS resource.
Li teaches… a bandwidth of the SL-PRS resource determined based on a full bandwidth of the resource pool according to a predetermined order of the frequency allocation units, (Table 5, discloses the use of the entire bandwidth and allocation according to Time and or Frequency as assigned or allocated on the initial transmission ), and any combination of: a starting frequency allocation unit of the SL-PRS resource (Table 5 discloses index for indicating starting frequency of allocation unit of sidelink resources… The bits number of this field depends on the number of SL-PRS resource configurations for transmission configured by the higher layer parameter. Time offset between SL-PRS transmission and If the transmission of both SL-PRS and SL data are SCI format 1-A (the first SL data resource) triggered SL-PRS frequency resource assignment indicate the number of contiguously allocated sub- channels for each resource and the starting sub-channel indexes of resources ), a time span of the SL-PRS resource, a starting time allocation unit of the SL-PRS resource.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bao by incorporating the teachings of Li because the method and device allow for various modes of configuration of sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) for the services (Li, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 26 Bao and Li teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 25, Bao teaches…wherein: the frequency allocation units correspond to subchannels (Fig. 7), and the bandwidth of the SL-PRS resource is determinable based on: a pre-configured bandwidth stored in a storage of the wireless communication device, a configured bandwidth provided by a network entity(Fig. 13, Col. 31, SL slot configuration 1300 in accordance with aspects of the disclosure. In FIG. 13, PSCCH and PSSCH are transmitted in the same slot. The PSCCH duration is (pre)configured to 2 or 3 symbols, and the PSCCH is (pre-) configured to span {10, 12, 15, 20, 25} PRBs, limited within a single subchannel ), or an assigned bandwidth indicated in positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration information.
Regarding claim 27 Bao and Li teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 25, Bao teaches…wherein: the frequency allocation units correspond to physical resource blocks (PRBs) (Col. 21, Lns. 22-30 discloses… 87) A collection of resource elements that are used for transmission of PRS is referred to as a “PRS resource.” The collection of resource elements can span multiple PRBs in the frequency domain and N (e.g., 1 or more) consecutive symbol(s) 460 within a slot 430 in the time domain. In a given OFDM symbol 460, a PRS resource occupies consecutive PRBs. A PRS resource is described by at least the following parameters: PRS resource identifier (ID), sequence ID, comb size-N, resource element offset in the frequency domain), Li teaches…and the bandwidth of the SL-PRS resource is further determined based on: a range from the starting frequency allocation unit of the SL-PRS resource, according to a predetermined order of the PRBs, to an end of the resource pool in the frequency domain (Fig. 6. P. 115), a pre-configured size stored in a storage of the wireless communication device, a configured size provided by a network entity(P. 118 discloses… the slot 606 of a sub-channel only allocates a subset of its consecutive symbols (pre-)configured for sidelink communications. The subset of SL symbols per slot is indicated with a starting symbol and a number of consecutive symbols, where these two parameters are (pre-)configured per the resource pool. The number of consecutive SL symbols can vary between 7 and 14 symbols depending on the physical channels which are carried within a slot), or a comb size provided by the network entity.
Regarding claim 28 Bao and Li teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 25, Bao teaches…wherein: the frequency allocation units correspond to subchannels or physical resource blocks (PRBs) (Col 31, Lns. 34-44),, and the starting frequency allocation unit of the SL-PRS resource is determinable based on: a pre-configured frequency domain location stored in a storage of the wireless communication device, a configured frequency domain location provided by a network entity (Fig. 15, Col. 32, Lns. 9-18 ), a mapping between frequency domain locations and the bandwidth of the SL-PRS resource, an assigned frequency domain location indicated in positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration information, or a signaled frequency domain location indicated in a message from the peer wireless communication device that transmit the SL-PRS transmission in a case that the wireless communication device is configured to receive the SL-PRS transmission.
Claim(s) 7-12, 17, 18, 23, 24, 29, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11671224 B2 to Bao et al., from hereon Bao and US-20240397472-A1 to Li et al., from hereon Li in view of WO-2023049575-A1 to Nam et al., from hereon Nam.
Regarding claim 7 Bao and Li teach the method of claim 1, Bao teaches…wherein: the time allocation units correspond to slots or symbols, and the time span of the SL-PRS resource is determinable based on : a pre-configured time span stored in a storage of the wireless communication device (Fig. 13, Col. 31-32, Lns. 60-10) but do not teach…, a configured time span provided by a network entity, or an assigned time span indicated in positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration information.
Nam teaches…, a configured time span provided by a network entity (P.81 ), or an assigned time span indicated in positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration information (P.80 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bao and Li by incorporating the teachings of Nam because the method and device allow for various modes of configuration multiplexed sidelink positioning reference signal for configuration of transmit and receive resources in frequency and time domain (Nam, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 8 Bao and Li teach the method of claim 1, but do not teach…wherein: the time allocation units correspond to slots or symbols, and the starting time allocation unit of the SL-PRS resource is determinable based on: an assigned time domain location indicated in positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration information, or a signaled time domain location indicated in a message from the peer wireless communication device that transmit the SL-PRS transmission in a case that the wireless communication device is configured to receive the SL-PRS transmission.
Nam teaches… wherein: the time allocation units correspond to slots or symbols (P.115 ), and the starting time allocation unit of the SL-PRS resource is determinable based on: an assigned time domain location indicated in positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration information (P. 147), or a signaled time domain location indicated in a message from the peer wireless communication device that transmit the SL-PRS transmission in a case that the wireless communication device is configured to receive the SL-PRS transmission.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bao and Li by incorporating the teachings of Nam because the method and device allow for various modes of configuration multiplexed sidelink positioning reference signal for configuration of transmit and receive resources in frequency and time domain (Nam, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 9 Bao and Li teach the method of claim 1, but do not teach…wherein: the wireless communication device is configured to transmit the SL-PRS transmission over the SL-PRS resource to the peer wireless communication device, and the method further comprises sending a message to the peer wireless communication device, the message indicating a signaled time domain location that is the starting time allocation unit of the SL-PRS resource.
Nam teaches… wherein: the wireless communication device is configured to transmit the SL-PRS transmission over the SL-PRS resource to the peer wireless communication device, and the method further comprises sending a message to the peer wireless communication device, the message indicating a signaled time domain location that is the starting time allocation unit of the SL-PRS resource(P.85 discloses… the bandwidth of the sidelink control block 225 may be fixed (e.g., one sub-channel) and/or (pre)configured. The FDRA (e.g., the starting sub-channel and the number of allocated sub-channel(s)) may be indicated in SCI-1 and/or SCI-2 in the sidelink control block 225. In some examples, the sidelink control block 225 may carry or otherwise convey an indication that the slot (e.g., the offset between the sidelink control block 225 and SL-PRS burst 230) and bandwidth of the SL-PRS burst 230 (e.g., the TDRA, FDRA, etc., for the SL-PRS burst 230) ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bao and Li by incorporating the teachings of Nam because the method and device allow for various modes of configuration multiplexed sidelink positioning reference signal for configuration of transmit and receive resources in frequency and time domain (Nam, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 10 Bao and Li teach the method of claim 9, Nam teaches…wherein the message is a first-stage sidelink control information (SCI-1) message (P.85 ).
Regarding claim 11 Bao and Li teach the method of claim 1, but do not teach…wherein: the time allocation units correspond to slots, and the resource pool is further defined in the time domain as a subset of symbols within each slot based on: a starting symbol within each slot.
Nam teaches… wherein: the time allocation units correspond to slots, and the resource pool is further defined in the time domain as a subset of symbols within each slot based on: a starting symbol within each slot(P. 85).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bao and li by incorporating the teachings of Nam because the method and device allow for various modes of configuration multiplexed sidelink positioning reference signal for configuration of transmit and receive resources in frequency and time domain (Nam, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 12 Bao, Li, and Nam teach the method of claim 11, Nam teaches…wherein the resource pool is further defined in the time domain as the subset of symbols within each slot based on: a number of consecutive symbols within each slot (P.96 and 103 ).
Regarding claim 17 Bao and Li teach the wireless communication device of claim 13, but do not teach… wherein: the time allocation units correspond to slots or symbols, and the time span of the SL-PRS resource is determinable based on: a pre-configured time span stored in a storage of the wireless communication device, a configured time span provided by a network entity, or an assigned time span indicated in positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration information.
Nam teaches… wherein: the time allocation units correspond to slots or symbols, and the time span of the SL-PRS resource is determinable based on: a pre-configured time span stored in a storage of the wireless communication device, a configured time span provided by a network entity (P.81 ), or an assigned time span indicated in positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration information (P.80 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bao and Li by incorporating the teachings of Nam because the method and device allow for various modes of configuration multiplexed sidelink positioning reference signal for configuration of transmit and receive resources in frequency and time domain (Nam, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 18 Bao and Li teach the wireless communication device of claim 13, but not teach…wherein: the time allocation units correspond to slots or symbols, and the starting time allocation unit of the SL-PRS resource is determinable based on: an assigned time domain location indicated in positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration information, or a signaled time domain location indicated in a message from the peer wireless communication device that transmit the SL-PRS transmission in a case that the wireless communication device is configured to receive the SL-PRS transmission.
Nam teaches… wherein: the time allocation units correspond to slots or symbols (P.115 ), and the starting time allocation unit of the SL-PRS resource is determinable based on: an assigned time domain location indicated in positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration information (P. 147), or a signaled time domain location indicated in a message from the peer wireless communication device that transmit the SL-PRS transmission in a case that the wireless communication device is configured to receive the SL-PRS transmission.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bao and Li by incorporating the teachings of Nam because the method and device allow for various modes of configuration multiplexed sidelink positioning reference signal for configuration of transmit and receive resources in frequency and time domain (Nam, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 23 Bao and Li teach the wireless communication device of claim 19, but wherein :the time allocation units correspond to slots or symbols, and the time span of the SL-PRS resource is determinable based on: a pre-configured time span stored in a storage of the wireless communication device, a configured time span provided by a network entity, or an assigned time span indicated in positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration information.
Nam teaches… wherein: the time allocation units correspond to slots or symbols (P.115 ), and the time span of the SL-PRS resource is determinable based on: a pre-configured time span stored in a storage of the wireless communication device, a configured time span provided by a network entity (P. 147), or an assigned time span indicated in positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bao and Li by incorporating the teachings of Nam because the method and device allow for various modes of configuration multiplexed sidelink positioning reference signal for configuration of transmit and receive resources in frequency and time domain (Nam, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 24 Bao and Li teach the wireless communication device of claim 19, but do not teach…wherein: the time allocation units correspond to slots or symbols, and the starting time allocation unit of the SL-PRS resource is determinable based on: an assigned time domain location indicated in positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration information, or a signaled time domain location indicated in a message from the peer wireless communication device that transmit the SL-PRS transmission in a case that the wireless communication device is configured to receive the SL-PRS transmission.
Nam teaches… wherein: the time allocation units correspond to slots or symbols, and the starting time allocation unit of the SL-PRS resource is determinable based on: an assigned time domain location indicated in positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration information (P.81 ), or a signaled time domain location indicated in a message from the peer wireless communication device that transmit the SL-PRS transmission in a case that the wireless communication device is configured to receive the SL-PRS transmission.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bao and Li by incorporating the teachings of Nam because the method and device allow for various modes of configuration multiplexed sidelink positioning reference signal for configuration of transmit and receive resources in frequency and time domain (Nam, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 29 Bao and Li teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 25, but do not teach…wherein: the time allocation units correspond to slots or symbols, and the time span of the SL-PRS resource is determinable based on: a pre-configured time span stored in a storage of the wireless communication device, a configured time span provided by a network entity, or an assigned time span indicated in positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration information.
Nam teaches… wherein: the time allocation units correspond to slots or symbols, and the time span of the SL-PRS resource is determinable based on (P. 98, Lns. 8-18): a pre-configured time span stored in a storage of the wireless communication device (Fig. 14, P. 114), a configured time span provided by a network entity (P. 81), or an assigned time span indicated in positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration information (P. 80).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bao and Li by incorporating the teachings of Nam because the method and device allow for various modes of configuration multiplexed sidelink positioning reference signal for configuration of transmit and receive resources in frequency and time domain (Nam, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 30 Bao and Li teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 25, but do not teach…wherein: the time allocation units correspond to slots or symbols, and the starting time allocation unit of the SL-PRS resource is determinable based on: an assigned time domain location indicated in positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration information, or a signaled time domain location indicated in a message from the peer wireless communication device that transmit the SL-PRS transmission in a case that the wireless communication device is configured to receive the SL-PRS transmission.
Nam teaches… wherein: the time allocation units correspond to slots or symbols (P. 115), and the starting time allocation unit of the SL-PRS resource is determinable based on: an assigned time domain location indicated in positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration information (P. 147), or a signaled time domain location indicated in a message from the peer wireless communication device that transmit the SL-PRS transmission in a case that the wireless communication device is configured to receive the SL-PRS transmission.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bao and Li by incorporating the teachings of Nam because the method and device allow for various modes of configuration multiplexed sidelink positioning reference signal for configuration of transmit and receive resources in frequency and time domain (Nam, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO form PTO-892: US-20250142292-A1 to Hoang, US-20240276428-A1 to Keating, KR-20230161964-A to Bao, WO-2023049551-A1 to Wu disclose SL-PRS procedures via peer UE's and US-20230171750-A1 to Lee.
/L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2476
/AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476