DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/16/2023 and 03/06/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “mounting board” as recited in claim 1 and the “first connection portion” as claimed in claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-10 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moriya et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2019/0148055 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Moriya et al., hereinafter referred to as “Moriya,” teaches a coil component 100 (Figs. 1-5) comprising:
a core 10 that has a winding core portion 11 extending in an axial direction (x axis direction, annotated Fig. 1) and a first flange portion 12 and a second flange portion 13 at end portions (ends in x axis direction) of the winding core portion opposite to each other in the axial direction;
a first terminal electrode (terminal electrode 30 on first flange) at the first flange portion;
a second terminal electrode (terminal electrode 30 on second flange) at the second flange portion; and
at least one wire 41 and or 42 that is connected to the first terminal electrode and the second terminal electrode, and is wound around the winding core portion,
wherein each of the first flange portion and the second flange portion includes:
a mounting surface 12a facing a mounting board side (“principal surface of an electronic board” para. [0048]) during mounting,
a top surface facing 12d (Fig. 3) opposite to the mounting surface,
an inner end surface 12c that faces the winding core portion side and is at a respective one of the end portions of the winding core portion in the axial direction,
an outer end surface 12b that faces opposite to the inner end surface, the inner and outer end surfaces connecting the mounting surface and the top surface, and
a first side surface 12e (annotated Fig. 1) and a second side surface 12f that connect the inner end surface and the outer end surface, and face opposite to each other, and
the outer end surface of each of the first flange portion and the second flange portion has a first ridge 12g extending along a ridgeline 12i where the outer end surface intersects the first side surface and a second ridge 12h extending along a ridgeline 12j where the outer end surface intersects the second side surface (paras. [0046], [0057] and [0063]).
With respect to claim 2, Moriya teaches the coil component according to claim 1, wherein
the first terminal electrode and the second terminal electrode are configured of a metal plate having a thickness (thickness of the metal plate) equal to or less than protrusion heights (deep of the ridges) of the first ridge and the second ridge, and have fixing portions 32 disposed along regions 14 of the outer end surfaces where the first ridge and the second ridge are absent, the fixing portions being fixed to the first flange portion and the second flange portion with an adhesive interposed therebetween (paras. [0070], [0071] and [0093]).
With respect to claim 3, Moriya teaches the coil component according to claim 2, wherein
an adhesive layer of the adhesive fills a space between each of the first ridge and the second ridge and the fixing portion (para. [0093]).
With respect to claims 6 and 16, Moriya teaches the coil component according to claims 1 and 2, respectively, wherein
the first terminal electrode and the second terminal electrode are configured of a metal plate,
when a direction in which the first side surface and the second side surface face is defined as a width direction, a raised portion raised at a central portion in the width direction is on the mounting surface of each of the first flange portion and the second flange portion, and shoulder portions lower than the raised portion are on both sides of the raised portion in the width direction,
the first terminal electrode and the second terminal electrode have portions of the mounting surfaces of the first flange portion and the second flange portion extending along the raised portions and portions of the mounting surfaces of the first flange portion and the second flange portion extending along the shoulder portions,
each of the first terminal electrode and the second terminal electrode includes a first connection portion (connection to the board) with the mounting board which is configured by the portion extending along the raised portion, and a second connection portion (connection to the wire) with the wire which is configured by the portion extending along the shoulder portions, and
at least one of the first ridge and the second ridge is in contact with the portion of each of the first terminal electrode and the second terminal electrode extending along the shoulder portions (paras. [0046]).
With respect to claim 7, Moriya teaches the coil component according to claim 1, wherein
in the axial direction, a dimension (dimension in x axis direction) of the winding core portion is from three times to four times (by visual inspection as shown in Fig. 3) of a dimension (dimension in x axis direction) of each of the first flange portion and the second flange portion (para. [0046]).
With respect to claims 8 and 18, Moriya teaches the coil component according to claims 1 and 2, respectively, wherein
when a direction (dimension in y axis direction) in which the first side surface and the second side surface face is defined as a width direction, a total of a dimension (dimension in y axis direction) of the first ridge in the width direction and a dimension (dimension in y axis direction) of the second ridge in the width direction is 1/2 or less (by visual inspection) of a distance (distance in y axis) between the first side surface and the second side surface (para. [0063]).
With respect to claim 9, Moriya teaches the coil component according to claim 8, wherein
the total of the dimension of the first ridge in the width direction and the dimension of the second ridge in the width direction is 1/3 or less (by visual inspection) of the distance between the first side surface and the second side surface (para. [0063]).
With respect to claims 10 and 19, Moriya teaches the coil component according to claims 1 and 2, respectively, wherein
at least one third ridge 12m (annotated Fig. 1) is on the outer end surface between the first ridge and the second ridge (para. [0063]).
With respect to claim 17, Moriya teaches the coil component according to claim 2, wherein
in the axial direction, a dimension of the winding core portion is from three times to four times (by visual inspection as seen in Fig. 3) of a dimension (dimension in x axis direction) of each of the first flange portion and the second flange portion (para. [0063]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 11-13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moriya.
With respect to claim 4, Moriya teaches the coil component according to claim 3, wherein
first rounded surfaces 12R1 (annotated Fig. 4) are at an end edge of the second side surface side of the first ridge and at an end edge of the first side surface side of the second ridge, and second rounded surfaces 12R2 are at an end edge of the first side surface side of the first ridge and at an end edge of the second side surface side of the second ridge (para. [0052]).
Moriya does not expressly teach a radius of curvature defining the first rounded surface is smaller than a radius of curvature defining the second rounded surface. However, it would be within the skill of a person with ordinary skill in the art to change the radius as claimed to reduce corner sharpness. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the claimed radius to reduce corner sharpness to improve ease of handling during assembly.
With respect to claim 11, Moriya teaches the coil component according to claim 10. Moriya does not expressly teach when a direction in which the first side surface and the second side surface face is defined as a width direction, a dimension of the region of the outer end surface in the width direction where none of the first ridge, the second ridge, and the third ridge are present is larger than a dimension of the winding core portion in the width direction. However, it would be within the skill of a person with ordinary skill in the art to change the ridge dimension as claimed to provide sufficient space for the terminal electrodes. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to change the ridge dimension as claimed to provide extra space for the terminal electrode to improve ease of installing the terminal electrodes on the outer end surface.
With respect to claims 12 and 20, Moriya teaches the coil component according to claims 10 and 11, respectively. Moriya does not expressly teach
when a direction in which the first side surface and the second side surface face is defined as a width direction, a total of a dimension of the first ridge in the width direction, a dimension of the second ridge in the width direction, and a dimension of the third ridge in the width direction is 1/2 or less of a distance between the first side surface and the second side. However, it would be within the skill of a person with ordinary skill in the art to change the ridge dimension as claimed to provide sufficient space for the terminal electrodes. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to change the ridge dimension as claimed to provide extra space for the terminal electrode to improve ease of installing the terminal electrodes on the outer end surface.
With respect to claim 13, Moriya teaches the coil component according to claim 12. Moriya does not expressly teach the total of the dimension of the first ridge in the width direction, the dimension of the second ridge in the width direction, and the dimension of the third ridge in the width direction is 1/3 or less of the distance between the first side surface and the second side surface. However, it would be within the skill of a person with ordinary skill in the art to have to change the ridge dimension as claimed to provide sufficient space for the terminal electrodes. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to change the ridge dimension as claimed to provide extra space for the terminal electrode to improve ease of installing the terminal electrodes on the outer end surface.
Claims 5, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moriya, as applied to claim 2 above, in view of Kitagawa et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,100,782).
With respect to claim 5, Moriya teaches the coil component according to claim 2. Moriya does not expressly teach
when a direction in which the first side surface and the second side surface face is defined as a width direction, a dimension in the width direction of the region of the outer end surface where the first ridge and the second ridge are absent is larger than a dimension in the width direction of the winding core portion.
Kitagawa et al., hereinafter referred to as “Kitagawa,” teaches a coil component (FIG. 1), wherein
when a direction (horizontal direction) in which the first side surface 12a (annotated FIG. 1) and the second side surface 12b face is defined as a width direction, a dimension in the width direction of the region 12c of the outer end surface where the first ridge 12d and the second ridge 12e are absent is larger than a dimension in the width direction of the winding core portion 11 (col. 2, lines 21-30).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the winding core portion dimension as taught by Kitagawa to the coil component of Moriya to reduce size.
With respect to claims 14 and 15, Moriya teaches the coil component according to claims 3 and 4, respectively, wherein
when a direction (horizontal direction) in which the first side surface and the second side surface face is defined as a width direction, and a dimension of the region of the outer end surface in the width direction where the first ridge and the second ridge are absent is larger than a dimension of the winding core portion in the width direction.
Kitagawa teaches a coil component (FIG. 1), wherein
when a direction in which the first side surface 12a (annotated FIG. 1) and the second side surface 12b face is defined as a width direction, and a dimension (dimension of region 12c) of the region 12c of the outer end surface in the width direction where the first ridge 12d and the second ridge 12e are absent is larger than a dimension of the winding core portion11 in the width direction (col. 2, lines 21-30). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the winding core portion dimension as taught by Kitagawa to the coil component of Moriya to reduce size.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form PTO-892.
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837