Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kienzle et al (US2013/0284558A1).
With regards to claim 1, Kienzle discloses a method for producing a cylindrical annular disc comprising the step of adhesively bonding at least one friction layer preform comprising silicon carbide (i.e., a first ceramic component) on a preform for a support body comprising silicon carbide (i.e., a second ceramic component) by means of an adhesive layer (i.e., positioning a bonding sheet between a first ceramic component and a ceramic component), followed by a step of pyrolyzing the adhesive layer to form a carbonized composite including an intermediate layer having an expansion crack microstructure (i.e., with the bonding sheet positioned between the first ceramic component and the second ceramic component, forming, via heating or chemical reaction in the bonding sheet, the pore structure comprising one or more voids or one or more channels) (Kienzle: para. [0005]-[0012] and [0031]; claim 5). The method of Kienzle further includes a step of infiltrating the intermediate layer with silicon to provide bonding (i.e., after forming the pore structure, densifying the bonding sheet between the first ceramic component and the second ceramic component with an infiltrate composition at a densification temperature to form a bonding interface comprising a ceramic material that forms the bonding interface between the first ceramic component and the second ceramic component into a unitary ceramic component) (Kienzle: para. [0005]-[0011]; claim 5). As best understood from the present specification, the claimed bonding interface is formed by the process of Kienzle, and further, a unitary ceramic component as claimed results, since the present specification notes the term “unitary” as indicating a construction which is inseparable (i.e., the construction of Kienzle is bonded in the claimed manner, and therefore, inseparable), and in addition, the process of Kienzle results in an intermediate layer located between its support body and friction layer (i.e., as best understood, a bonding interface as claimed).
With regards to claim 2, prior to positioning the bonding sheet at the bonding interface, each of the friction layer and support are formed via compressing of starting materials (i.e., the first and second ceramic components are densified components prior to positioning the bonding sheet at the bonding interface) (Kienzle: para. [0041]-[0042]).
With regards to claim 3, the infiltrate is silicon (Kienzle: claim 5).
With regards to claim 4, as best understood, the intermediate layer covers an entire surface of both the friction layer and support (i.e., the bonding sheet is positioned between an entire bonding interface defined between the first ceramic component and the second ceramic component) (Kienzle: para. [0007] and [0044]-[0045]).
With regards to claim 6, the intermediate layer includes a fabric (Kienzle: claim 6).
With regards to claim 7, the intermediate layer includes a fabric comprising carbon and silicon carbide fibers (Kienzle: claims 6 and 9).
With regards to claim 8, the carbon fiber may be viewed as a sacrificial fiber (as carbon is combustible), and the silicon carbide is considered a ceramic fiber (Kienzle: claims 6 and 9).
With regards to claim 9, the carbon fiber is dissipated prior to densifying the bonding sheet, and as best understood, the carbon fibers define channels (i.e., as the carbon fibers themselves constitute filled channels) (see above discussion). Alternatively, the formed pores/channels are located between the carbon fibers (i.e., also defined by the carbon fibers) (see above discussion).
With regards to claim 10, as best understood, the silicon carbide fiber remains within the ceramic material (see above discussion).
With regards to claim 11, the fabric comprises a woven fabric, and as best understood, the porosity is defined between the fibers thereof (see above discussion).
With regards to claim 12, alternatively, the fabric may be a non-woven fabric, and as best understood, the porosity is defined between the fibers thereof (Kienzle: para. [0011]).
With regards to claim 13, the fabric may include ceramic fibers in a non-woven form (i.e., as best understood from the present specification, a ceramic felt) (Kienzle: para. [0011]; claims 6 and 9).
With regards to claim 14, the intermediate layer comprises thermoplastic (i.e., comprises a polymer film) (Kienzle: para. [0019]).
With regards to claim 15, the intermediate layer includes ceramic powder (i.e., ceramic particles) (Kienzle: para. [0027]).
With regards to claim 16, the step of positioning the bonding sheet may comprise positioning a plurality of adhesive layers (i.e., bonding sheets) between the friction layer and porous support (Kienzle: para. [0044]-[0045]).
With regards to claim 17, Kienzle discloses a cylindrical annular disc comprising at least one friction layer preform comprising silicon carbide formed via compression (i.e., a first densified ceramic component) on a preform for a support body comprising silicon carbide formed via compression (i.e., a second densified ceramic component), with an intermediate layer comprising silicon carbide located therebetween (i.e., a ceramic material bonding the first densified ceramic component to the second ceramic component) (Kienzle: para. [0005]-[0012] and [0031]; claim 5). The intermediate layer includes an expansion crack microstructure which has been infiltrated with silicon to provide bonding (i.e., the ceramic material comprises a densified bonding sheet defining a pore structure comprising an infiltrate composition, the pore structure comprising one or more voids comprising the infiltrate composition) (Kienzle: para. [0005]-[0012] and [0031]; claim 5). As best understood from the present specification, the cylindrical annular disc of Kienzle is unitary ceramic component, since the present specification notes the term “unitary” as indicating a construction which is inseparable (i.e., the construction of Kienzle is bonded in the claimed manner, and therefore, inseparable). As best understood, the contact surface between the intermediate layer and the friction layer constitutes a joint, and since pores exist three-dimensionally, a long axis of at least one pore extends perpendicular to a plane of the joint, and further, extends vertically to the center of a joint (i.e., a pore cannot physically exist without meeting this limitation).
With regards to claim 18, the densified bonding sheet (i.e., intermediate layer) may comprise a woven fabric (see above discussion).
With regards to claim 19, the densified bonding sheet (i.e., intermediate layer) may comprise ceramic particles (see above discussion).
With regards to claim 20, the infiltrate composition comprises silicon (see above discussion).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kienzle et al as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Freeman et al (US2016/0356163A1).
With regards to claim 5, Kienzle discloses a method as applied to claim 1 above (see above discussion). However, Kienzle does not appear to specifically disclose the step of infiltration as, specifically, a step of performing chemical vapor infiltration.
Freeman is directed to a method of making a ceramic matrix composite component including the step of applying chemical vapor infiltration to an insert located between structural components (Freeman: para. [0031] and [0071]; Figs. 2-3). Freeman teaches that CVI allows for the buildup of one or more layers within the insert (i.e., on its ceramic fibers), and allows for the combination of, for example, layers of silicon carbide with layers of boron nitride, which results in a component having both improved protection and improved mechanical properties (Freeman: para. [0071]). Kienzle and Freeman are analogous art in that they are related to the same field of endeavor of methods of joining materials via infiltrating an intermediate layer with ceramic. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have selected chemical vapor infiltration for the step of infiltration according to Kienzle, in order to enable the formation of a multilayer structure (i.e., to allow the use of multiple materials) having improved protection and mechanical properties (Freeman: para. [0071]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-9, filed June 3rd, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Grasso and Mehr have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kienzle.
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on July 28th, 2026, prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.W./
Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783