DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–11 are pending.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2023/0268605 A1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicants' amendments have overcome the rejections of claims 1–11 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoneda et al. (EP 2355206 A1, hereinafter Yoneda).
Regarding claim 1, Yoneda discloses a battery module (FIG. 2, [0017]) comprising:
a plurality of battery cells (1) which are received in an interior of a housing (2) of the battery module (FIG. 2, [0017]) and
the plurality of battery cells (1) are electrically conductively connected to one another in series and/or in parallel (FIG. 2, [0017]),
wherein the housing (2) comprises an opening (25B) which is designed to guide a voltage tap (31) of the battery module from the interior of the housing (2, [0066]),
the opening (25B) defined within an exterior surface of the housing (2, [0065]), and
the battery module further comprises a tapping element (5), which is designed to contact the voltage tap (31) of the battery module from an environment of the battery module (FIG. 19, [0066]),
wherein the housing (2) and the tapping element (5) are connected to one another in a fluid-tight manner with respect to the environment (FIG. 19, [0063]),
wherein a sealing element (25D) of the housing (2) extending directly from the exterior surface in a direction away from the interior of the housing (2) and surrounding an entire perimeter of the opening (25B).
Regarding claim 3, Yoneda discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery module:
wherein the housing (2) forms the sealing element (25D, [0063]).
Regarding claim 10, Yoneda discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery module:
wherein the plurality of battery cells (1), are lithium-ion battery cells (FIG. 3, [0027]).
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2018/0083237 A1, hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a battery module (FIG. 1, [0032]) comprising:
a plurality of battery cells which are received in an interior of a housing (11) of the battery module (see battery pack, [0032]) and
the plurality of battery cells are electrically conductively connected to one another in series and/or in parallel (see battery pack, [0032]),
wherein the housing (11) comprises an opening which is designed to guide a voltage tap (14) of the battery module from the interior of the housing (11, [0038]),
the opening defined within an exterior surface of the housing (11, [0038]), and
the battery module further comprises a tapping element (24), which is designed to contact the voltage tap (14) of the battery module from an environment of the battery module (FIG. 2, [0035]),
wherein the housing (11) and the tapping element (24) are connected to one another in a fluid-tight manner with respect to the environment (FIG. 2, [0038]),
wherein a sealing element (16) of the housing (11) extending directly from the exterior surface in a direction away from the interior of the housing (11) and surrounding an entire perimeter of the opening (FIG. 1, [0032]).
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery module:
wherein the housing (11) forms the sealing element (16, [0032]).
Claims 1 and 3–9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Qi (CN 109921235 A).
Regarding claim 1, Qi discloses a battery module (FIG. 1, [0061]) comprising:
a plurality of battery cells which are received in an interior of a housing (1) of the battery module (see battery pack, [0061]) and
the plurality of battery cells are electrically conductively connected to one another in series and/or in parallel (see battery pack, [0061]),
wherein the housing (1) comprises an opening (25) which is designed to guide a voltage tap (22) of the battery module from the interior of the housing (1, [0067]),
the opening (25) defined within an exterior surface of the housing (1, [0067]), and
the battery module further comprises a tapping element (7), which is designed to contact the voltage tap (22) of the battery module from an environment of the battery module (FIG. 1, [0067]),
wherein the housing (1) and the tapping element (7) are connected to one another in a fluid-tight manner with respect to the environment (FIG.1, [0069]),
wherein a sealing element (21) of the housing (1) extending directly from the exterior surface in a direction away from the interior of the housing (1) and surrounding an entire perimeter of the opening (25, [0069]).
Regarding claim 3, Qi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery module:
wherein the housing (1) forms the sealing element (21, [0032]).
Regarding claim 4, Qi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery module:
wherein the tapping element (7) and the housing (1) are connected to one another by a plurality of screw connections (31, [0063]),
wherein the screw connections (31) each comprise a screw receptacle (32), in each of which a screw is received (see screw, [0063]),
wherein a bearing surface (3) of the screw receptacle is raised relative to a second surface of the housing (1, [0061]),
wherein the second surface is arranged so as to directly surround the screw receptacle (32, [0063]).
Regarding claim 5, Qi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery module:
wherein the bearing surface (3) of the screw receptacle (32) and the tapping element (7) of the battery module are directly connected (FIG. 3, [0061]).
Regarding claim 6, Qi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery module:
wherein the screw receptacles (32) are each designed as screw domes (FIG. 3, [0063]).
Regarding claim 7, Qi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery module:
wherein a screw connection (31) and the sealing element (21) are arranged spaced apart from one another in such a way that capillary effects to the sealing element (21) are avoided (FIG. 3, [0069]).
Regarding claim 8, Qi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery module:
wherein the surface of the housing (1) and/or the second surface (101) of the housing (1) are formed in a sloping manner in a direction pointing away from the sealing element (21, [0061]).
Regarding claim 9, Qi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery module:
wherein the plurality of screw connections (31) is arranged outside of the sealing element (21, [0061]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qi (CN 109921235 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sugeno et al. (US 2016/0149177 A1, hereinafter Sugeno).
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Wang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery module:
wherein the housing is made of a metal material; and
wherein the housing is made of aluminum, and
wherein the housing of the battery module is designed as an aluminum die-cast housing.
Sugeno discloses a battery module (1) comprising a housing (20) made of a metal material (see metal plate, [0092]); and wherein the housing (20) is made of aluminum (see metal plate, [0092]), and wherein the housing of the battery module is designed as an aluminum die-cast housing (see metal plate, [0092]) to improve the heat release properties of the housing (see outer casing, [0092]). Qi and Sugeno are analogous because they are directed to battery modules. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the housing of Qi with aluminum as taught by Sugeno in order to improve the heat release properties of the housing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1–11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725