DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teshigahara et al. (US 2016/0064645) in view of Bartzsch et al. (US 2016/0369390).
With respect to claim 1, Teshigahara et al. discloses a piezoelectric film, comprising scandium aluminum nitride, carbon, and oxygen, wherein concentration of the carbon is 2.5 atomic percent or less (Abstract) while a concentration of the oxygen is 0.35 atomic percent or less (wherein a concentration of 0 falls within this range).
Teshigahara et al. does not disclose that the concentration of the oxygen is greater than 0 atomic percent.
Bartzsch et al. teaches a piezoelectric film including an aluminum nitride based piezoelectric material in which the concentration of oxygen is greater than 0 atomic percent (Paragraph 28).
Before the effective filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the oxygen content of Bartzsch et al. with the piezoelectric film of Teshigahara et al. for the benefit of facilitating the manufacturing process of the piezoelectric thin film, as oxygen is part of the rection environment (Paragraph 28 of Bartzsch et al.).
With respect to claim 2, the combination of Teshigahara et al. and Bartzsch et al. discloses the piezoelectric film according to claim 1. Teshigahara et al. discloses that the concentration of the carbon is 2.5 atomic percent or less (Abstract) while the concentration of the oxygen is 0.1 atomic percent or less (wherein a concentration of 0 falls within this range).
With respect to claim 3, the combination of Teshigahara et al. and Bartzsch et al. discloses the piezoelectric film according to claim 1. Teshigahara et al. discloses that the concentration of carbon is 1.0 atomic percent or less (Abstract) while the concentration of oxygen is 0.2 atomic percent or less (wherein a concentration of 0 falls within this range).
With respect to claim 4, the combination of Teshigahara et al. and Bartzsch et al. discloses the piezoelectric film according to claim 1. Teshigahara et al. discloses that the concentration of the carbon is 0.3 atomic percent or less (Abstract) while the concentration of the oxygen is 0.1 atomic percent or less (wherein a concentration of 0 falls within this range).
With respect to claim 5, the combination of Teshigahara et al. and Bartzsch et al. discloses the piezoelectric film according to claim 1. Teshigahara et al. discloses that the concentration of the carbon is 0.7 atomic percent or less (Abstract) while the concentration of the oxygen is 0.1 atomic percent or less (wherein a concentration of 0 falls within this range).
With respect to claim 9, the combination of Teshigahara et al. and Bartzsch et al. discloses the piezoelectric film according to claim 1. Teshigahara et al. discloses that a composition of the piezoelectric film is ScxAl1-xN, where x is greater than or equal to 0.3 and less than 1 (Paragraph 27).
With respect to claim 12, the combination of Teshigahara et al. and Bartzsch et al. discloses the piezoelectric film according to claim 1. Teshigahara et al. discloses that the concentration of the carbon is greater than 0 atomic percent (Abstract).
With respect to claim 13, the combination of Teshigahara et al. and Bartzsch et al. discloses the piezoelectric film according to claim 1. Bartzsch et al. discloses that the concentration of the oxygen is 0.01 atomic percent or more (Paragraph 28).
With respect to claim 14, the combination of Teshigahara et al. and Bartzsch et al. discloses the piezoelectric film according to claim 1, wherein the concentration of the oxygen in atomic percent (at%) is defined as a ratio of a number of oxygen atoms relative to a total number of scandium atoms, aluminum atoms, and nitrogen atoms in the scandium aluminum nitride, the total number of the scandium atoms, the aluminum atoms, and the nitrogen atoms being taken as 100 at% (Abstract of Teshigahara et al. and paragraph 28 of Bartzsch et al., wherein this language merely states a definition of terms and does not further limit the features of the claim).
With respect to claim 15, the combination of Teshigahara et al. and Bartzsch et al. discloses the piezoelectric film according to claim 1. The language “wherein a piezoelectric strain constant d33 of the piezoelectric film is greater than or equal to 17 [pC/N]” is merely a statement of an inherent material property. Because the prior art discloses each of the claimed structural features of the claimed composition, any material properties are presumed to be inherent.
With respect to claim 16, the combination of Teshigahara et al. and Bartzsch et al. discloses the piezoelectric film according to claim 1. The language “wherein a piezoelectric strain constant d33 of the piezoelectric film is greater than or equal to 19 [pC/N]” is merely a statement of an inherent material property. Because the prior art discloses each of the claimed structural features of the claimed composition, any material properties are presumed to be inherent.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teshigahara et al. in view of Bartzsch et al. and Grosh et al. (US 2015/0350792).
With respect to claim 10, Teshigahara et al. discloses the piezoelectric film according to claim 1.
Teshigahara et al. does not disclose that the piezoelectric film is disposed above a diaphragm portion of a micro-electro-mechanical systems (MEMS) sensor, the MEMS sensor including a substrate and the diaphragm portion, the diaphragm portion being disposed above the substrate.
Grosh et al. teaches a piezoelectric device in which the piezoelectric film is disposed above a diaphragm portion of a micro-electro-mechanical systems (MEMS) sensor, the MEMS sensor including a substrate and the diaphragm portion, the diaphragm portion being disposed above the substrate (Paragraph 8).
Before the effective filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the MEMS sensor device of Grosh et al. and the piezoelectric film of Teshigahara et al. for the benefit of providing a commonly used application of piezoelectric films (Paragraph 3 of Grosh et al.).
With respect to claim 11, Teshigahara et al. discloses the piezoelectric film according to claim 1.
Teshigahara et al. does not disclose that the piezoelectric film is disposed above a substrate of a micro-electro-mechanical systems (MEMS) sensor.
Grosh et al. teaches a piezoelectric device in which the piezoelectric film is disposed above a substrate of a micro-electro-mechanical systems (MEMS) sensor (Paragraph 8).
Before the effective filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the MEMS sensor device of Grosh et al. and the piezoelectric film of Teshigahara et al. for the benefit of providing a commonly used application of piezoelectric films (Paragraph 3 of Grosh et al.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 14 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Bartzsch et al. does not disclose the claimed concentration of oxygen being greater than zero, arguing that Bartzsch aims to reduce the amount of oxygen in the composition. However, whether or not Bartzsch aims to reduce the amount of oxygen does not change the fact that oxygen is present in a small amount. In paragraph 28, Bartzsch et al. discloses the amount of oxygen with the quantity Z in the formula AlxNyOz, with z being in the range 0.001≤z≤0.1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEREK J ROSENAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837