DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed 04/16/2026. Claims 1, 3, 5-12, 14-20 are currently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8-11, 14-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pearson (U.S. 2019/0367106 A1) in view of Ghannam et al. (U.S. 2018/0154716 A1).
Claim 1, Pearson teaches:
A method (Pearson, Figs. 1, 6) comprising:
receiving, at an electronic control unit of a vehicle, a signal indicating an action by an operator of a vehicle (Pearson, Fig. 6: 136, 138, 140, Paragraphs [0057-0058], Based on the connection of supply lead 137, i.e. an action by an operator, the respective pin in relay 136 is activated, and strobe light 138 and buzzer 140 are activated accordingly. The combination of elements 136, 138, and 140 are interpreted as an electronic control unit located in prime mover 10, i.e. the vehicle (see Pearson, Fig. 1).), the electronic control unit being communicatively connected to a vehicle control subsystem (Pearson, Fig. 6: 130, 132, 134, 137, Paragraphs [0057-0058], The combination of elements 130, 132, and 134, of alarm circuit 202 are interpreted as a vehicle control subsystem. Elements 130, 132, and 134 are communicatively connected to elements 136, 138, and 140 in alarm circuit 202.);
detecting a condition associated with a second end of an electrical cable (Pearson, Paragraphs [0057-0059], The alarm circuit of Fig. 6 can detect if the supply lead 137 is connected to trailer 14, dummy plug 134, or has been unhooked from the trailer 14 but not connected to dummy plug 134 (see Pearson, Paragraph [0059]). Thus, the portion of supply lead 137 that is either attached to a trailer 14, dummy plug 134, or unplugged from both, is interpreted as a second end.) having a first end attached to the vehicle and electrically connected to the vehicle control subsystem (Pearson, Paragraphs [0057-0058], The supply lead 137 is connected to supply 132 on one end. The end of supply lead 137 connected to supply 132 is thus a first end.) and the second end removably connectable to an electrical socket of a trailer, wherein when the second end is connected to the electrical socket of the trailer, an electrical connection is formed between the vehicle control subsystem and the trailer (Pearson, Paragraphs [0057-0058], The supply lead 137 plugs into a distribution circuit on the trailer 14 having a corresponding plug/socket for delivering power to the park lamps. The end of the supply lead 137 that plugs into the corresponding plug/socket of the trailer 14 is a second end.);
detecting, based on the detected condition associated with a second end of the electrical cable, a connection state of the electrical cable (Pearson, Fig. 6: 137) from among stowed, connected, and loose (Pearson, Paragraphs [0057-0059]), wherein the stowed connection state is associated with a first detected condition associated with a second end of the electrical cable (Pearson, Paragraphs [0057-0059], A stowed connection state is interpreted as the condition wherein supply lead 137 is plugged into Dummy Plug 134, wherein the alarm circuit 202 detects the connection via relay 136, and the flashing light and buzzer are not activated.), the connected state is associated with a second detected condition associated with a second end of the electrical cable (Pearson, Paragraphs [0057-0059], A connected state is interpreted as the condition wherein supply lead 137 is plugged into a corresponding plug/socket of trailer 14 for delivering power to the park lamps.), and the loose connection state is associated with a third detected condition associated with a second end of the electrical cable (Pearson, Paragraphs [0057-0059], A loose connection state is interpreted as a condition where supply lead 137 is disconnected from the plug/socket of trailer 14 but has not yet been connected to Dummy Plug 134. When this condition exists, the relay 136 detects current from the pressure switch 130 that delivers current to the light and buzzer of the alarm circuit 202.);
the connection state of the electrical cable is an appropriate state for the action by the operator (Pearson, Paragraphs [0058-0059], When the supply lead 137 is connected to the trailer 14 or to dummy plug 134, the supply lead 137 is in an appropriate state for the action by the operator. When the supply lead 137 is not connected to either the trailer 14 or the dummy plug 134, the flashing light 138 and buzzer 140 are activated, and the supply lead 137 is not in an appropriate state for the action by the operator.);
based on the connection state of the electrical cable is not an appropriate state for the action by the operator, generating an alert indicating that the electrical cable is not in an appropriate state for the action by the operator, wherein the alert is based on the action and the connection state of the electrical cable (Pearson, Paragraphs [0058-0059], The light 138 and the buzzer 140 is activated in the cab 12. In the cited example, the activated light 138 and buzzer 140 are based on the driver being unable to drive, i.e. the action, without hooking the cable 137 into the dummy plug 134, i.e. the connection state, when the trailer 14 is unhooked and the turnable jaws 36 are in the unlocked position.); and
presenting the alert at an operator interface (Pearson, Paragraphs [0058-0059], The light 138 and the buzzer 140 is activated in the cab 12.),
wherein the stowed connection state indicates the second end of the electrical cable is stowed at a storage socket on a tractor (Pearson, Paragraph [0059], When the supply lead 137 is plugged into dummy plug 134, which is functionally equivalent to a storage socket, it is effectively stowed at a storage socket. The dummy plug 134 is located on prime mover 10 (see Pearson, Paragraph [0058]), which is a tractor (see Pearson, Paragraph [0034]).), the connected connection state indicates the second end of the electrical cable is connected to the electrical socket of the trailer (Pearson, Paragraph [0057], When the supply lead 137 is plugged into a distribution circuit on the trailer 14, e.g. for delivering power to the park lamps, the supply lead 137 provides power to the trailer 14 which is indicates that the second end of the electrical cable is connected to the electrical socket of the trailer.), and the loose connection state indicates that the second end of the electrical cable is neither stowed at the storage socket on the tractor nor connected to the electrical socket of the trailer (Pearson, Paragraph [0059], When the trailer 14 is unhooked, a circuit is created in the pressure switch 130 that allows current to be delivered to the light 138 and buzzer 140. The operator is then required to plug lighting cable 137, i.e. supply lead 137, into dummy plug 134 to trigger a voltage to relay 136 to prevent power to pass to the light 138 and buzzer 140. Therefore, when the trailer 14 is unhooked and the lighting cable 137 is not plugged into dummy plug 134, thereby activating light 138 and buzzer 140, the lighting cable 137 is in a loose connection state.).
Pearson does not explicitly teach:
Determining, based on the detected resistance of the electrical cable, a connection state of the electrical cable;
determining whether the connection state of the electrical cable is an appropriate state for the action by the operator;
based on a determination that the connection state of the electrical cable is not an appropriate state for the action by the operator, generating an alert indicating that the electrical cable is not in an appropriate state for the action by the operator, wherein the alert is based on the action and the connection state of the electrical cable.
Ghannam teaches:
A computer determines whether the trailer is mechanically disconnected and the socket is in an electrically disengaged state (Ghannam, Paragraph [0044]) and an action by the operator (Ghannam, Paragraph [0047], An example action by the operator is the driving of the vehicle 100.) and detecting an electrical resistance between two electric contacts (Ghannam, Paragraph [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system of Pearson by integrating the teaching of a computer, as taught by Ghannam.
The motivation would be to prevent unsafe driving when the mechanical and/or electrical connection of the trailer is incorrectly connected (see Ghannam, Fig. 10, Paragraph [0047]).
Claim 6, Pearson in view of Ghannam further teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the connection state of the electrical cable is not an appropriate state if the connection state is connected and the action of the operator is indicative of decoupling of the trailer (Ghannam, Paragraph [0046], The condition where the socket 115 is in the electrically engaged state and the trailer 140 is mechanically disconnected to the vehicle is equivalent to an electrical cable being connected and the action of the operator is indicative of decoupling of the trailer.).
Claim 8, Pearson in view of Ghannam further teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the connection state of the electrical cable is not an appropriate state if the connection state is loose and the action of the operator is indicative of the operator driving the vehicle (Ghannam, Paragraph [0044], The computer 110 can determine that the vehicle speed is above a predetermined speed threshold, i.e. the operator is driving the vehicle, while the socket 115 is in an electrically disengaged state. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for a disconnected socket 115 to include instances where the electrical cable is in a loose connection state, i.e. not connected to the trailer or a dummy plug.).
Claim 9, Pearson in view of Ghannam further teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: based on a determination that the connection state of the electrical cable is not an appropriate state for the action by the operator, preventing the action by the operator (Ghannam, Paragraph [0047], The computer 110 may be programmed to inhibit a drive mode of the vehicle 100 in response to determining that the trailer 140 and the vehicle 100 satisfy one of the conditions (see Ghannam, Paragraph [0046]) indicative of the electrical cable not being in an appropriate state.).
Claim 10, Pearson in view of Ghannam further teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: based on a determination that the connection state of the electrical cable is not an appropriate state for the action by the operator, preventing the operator from driving the vehicle (Ghannam, Paragraph [0047], The computer 110 may be programmed to inhibit a drive mode of the vehicle 100 in response to determining that the trailer 140 and the vehicle 100 satisfy one of the conditions (see Ghannam, Paragraph [0046]) indicative of the electrical cable not being in an appropriate state.).
Claim 11, Pearson teaches;
A method (Pearson, Figs. 1, 6) comprising:
receiving, at an electronic control unit of a vehicle, a signal indicating an action by an operator of a vehicle (Pearson, Fig. 6: 136, 138, 140, Paragraphs [0057-0058], Based on the connection of supply lead 137, i.e. an action by an operator, the respective pin in relay 136 is activated, and strobe light 138 and buzzer 140 are activated accordingly. The combination of elements 136, 138, and 140 are interpreted as an electronic control unit located in prime mover 10, i.e. the vehicle (see Pearson, Fig. 1).), the electronic control unit being communicatively connected to a vehicle control subsystem (Pearson, Fig. 6: 130, 132, 134, 137, Paragraphs [0057-0058], The combination of elements 130, 132, and 134, of alarm circuit 202 are interpreted as a vehicle control subsystem. Elements 130, 132, and 134 are communicatively connected to elements 136, 138, and 140 in alarm circuit 202.), the action being an action indicating intended operation of the vehicle (Pearson, Fig. 6: 136, 138, 140, Paragraphs [0057-0058], The connecting or disconnecting of the trailer 14 is indicative of the user intending to operate the prime mover 10 with or without the trailer 14, respectively.);
detecting a condition associated with a second end of an electrical cable (Pearson, Paragraphs [0057-0059], The alarm circuit of Fig. 6 can detect if the supply lead 137 is connected to trailer 14, dummy plug 134, or has been unhooked from the trailer 14 but not connected to dummy plug 134 (see Pearson, Paragraph [0059]). Thus, the portion of supply lead 137 that is either attached to a trailer 14, dummy plug 134, or unplugged from both, is interpreted as a second end.) having a first end attached to the vehicle and electrically connected to the vehicle control subsystem (Pearson, Paragraphs [0057-0058], The supply lead 137 is connected to supply 132 on one end. The end of supply lead 137 connected to supply 132 is thus a first end.) and the second end removably connectable to an electrical socket of a trailer, wherein when the second end is connected to the electrical socket of the trailer (Pearson, Paragraphs [0057-0058], The supply lead 137 plugs into a distribution circuit on the trailer 14 having a corresponding plug/socket for delivering power to the park lamps. The end of the supply lead 137 that plugs into the corresponding plug/socket of the trailer 14 is a second end.), wherein detecting the condition of the electrical cable includes:
detecting, using a first proximity sensor, whether the second end of the electrical cable is stowed at a storage socket on a tractor (Pearson, Paragraphs [0057-0058], The connecting of the supply lead 37 to a dummy plug 134 of the prime mover 10 is functionally equivalent to a storage socket on a tractor, because the prime mover 10 can be a tractor (see Pearson, Paragraph [0034]). The relay 136 includes terminal 86, which receives a positive 12-volt signal when the supply lead 137 is connected to dummy plug 134. The portions of the relay 136, e.g. terminal 86, that are capable of detecting the voltage due to the supply lead 137 being connected to the dummy plug 134 is functionally equivalent to a first proximity sensor for sensing the 12-volt signal.), the storage socket on the tractor including the first proximity sensor (Pearson, Fig. 6: 134, 136, Paragraphs [0057-0058], The term “including” is interpreted as the storage socket “having/connected to” the first proximity sensor.);
detecting, using a second proximity sensor, whether the second end of the electrical cable is connected to the electrical socket of the trailer, thereby forming an electrical connection between the vehicle control subsystem and the trailer (Pearson, Paragraphs [0057-0058], The supply lead 137 is plugged into the distribution circuit on the trailer to power the park lamps via supply 132. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the distribution circuit on the trailer 14 to have a component for detecting the supply 132 being connected to the distribution circuit in order to deliver power to the park lamps on the trailer 14. For example, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to duplicate the components of relay 136 in the distribution circuit on the trailer 14 for detecting the 12 volts supplied by supply 132. Such a modification would not change the principal operation of the system, as a whole, and would yield predictable results. See MPEP 2144.04.), the electrical socket of the trailer including the second proximity sensor (Pearson, Paragraphs [0057-0058], The term “including” is interpreted as the electrical socket “having/connected to” the second proximity sensor.);
detecting, based on the detected condition associated with a second end of the electrical cable, a connection state of the electrical cable (Pearson, Fig. 6: 137) from among stowed, connected, and loose (Pearson, Paragraphs [0057-0059]), wherein the stowed connection state is associated with a first detected condition associated with a second end of the electrical cable (Pearson, Paragraphs [0057-0059], A stowed connection state is interpreted as the condition wherein supply lead 137 is plugged into Dummy Plug 134, wherein the alarm circuit 202 detects the connection via relay 136, and the flashing light and buzzer are not activated.), the connected state is associated with a second detected condition associated with a second end of the electrical cable (Pearson, Paragraphs [0057-0059], A connected state is interpreted as the condition wherein supply lead 137 is plugged into a corresponding plug/socket of trailer 14 for delivering power to the park lamps.), and the loose connection state is associated with a third detected condition associated with a second end of the electrical cable (Pearson, Paragraphs [0057-0059], A loose connection state is interpreted as a condition where supply lead 137 is disconnected from the plug/socket of trailer 14 but has not yet been connected to Dummy Plug 134. When this condition exists, the relay 136 detects current from the pressure switch 130 that delivers current to the light and buzzer of the alarm circuit 202.);
the connection state of the electrical cable is an appropriate state for the action by the operator (Pearson, Paragraphs [0058-0059], When the supply lead 137 is connected to the trailer 14 or to dummy plug 134, the supply lead 137 is in an appropriate state for the action by the operator. When the supply lead 137 is not connected to either the trailer 14 or the dummy plug 134, the flashing light 138 and buzzer 140 are activated, and the supply lead 137 is not in an appropriate state for the action by the operator.);
based on the connection state the electrical cable in not an appropriate state for the action by the operator, generating an alert indicating that the electrical cable is in not in an appropriate state for the action by the operator, wherein the alert is based on the action and the connection state of the electrical cable (Pearson, Paragraphs [0058-0059], The light 138 and the buzzer 140 is activated in the cab 12. In the cited example, the activated light 138 and buzzer 140 are based on the driver being unable to drive, i.e. the action, without hooking the cable 137 into the dummy plug 134, i.e. the connection state, when the trailer 14 is unhooked and the turnable jaws 36 are in the unlocked position.); and
presenting the alert at an operator interface (Pearson, Paragraphs [0058-0059], The light 138 and the buzzer 140 is activated in the cab 12.),
wherein the stowed connection state indicates the second end of the electrical cable is stowed at a storage socket on a tractor (Pearson, Paragraph [0059], When the supply lead 137 is plugged into dummy plug 134, which is functionally equivalent to a storage socket, it is effectively stowed at a storage socket. The dummy plug 134 is located on prime mover 10 (see Pearson, Paragraph [0058]), which is a tractor (see Pearson, Paragraph [0034]).), the connected connection state indicates the second end of the electrical cable is connected to the electrical socket of the trailer (Pearson, Paragraph [0057], When the supply lead 137 is plugged into a distribution circuit on the trailer 14, e.g. for delivering power to the park lamps, the supply lead 137 provides power to the trailer 14 which is indicates that the second end of the electrical cable is connected to the electrical socket of the trailer.), and the loose connection state indicates that the second end of the electrical cable is neither stowed at the storage socket on the tractor nor connected to the electrical socket of the trailer (Pearson, Paragraph [0059], When the trailer 14 is unhooked, a circuit is created in the pressure switch 130 that allows current to be delivered to the light 138 and buzzer 140. The operator is then required to plug lighting cable 137, i.e. supply lead 137, into dummy plug 134 to trigger a voltage to relay 136 to prevent power to pass to the light 138 and buzzer 140. Therefore, when the trailer 14 is unhooked and the lighting cable 137 is not plugged into dummy plug 134, thereby activating light 138 and buzzer 140, the lighting cable 137 is in a loose connection state.).
Pearson does not explicitly teach:
Determining, based on the detected condition associated with a second end of the electrical cable, a connection state of the electrical cable;
determining whether the connection state of the electrical cable is an appropriate state for the action by the operator;
based on a determination that the connection state of the electrical cable is not an appropriate state for the action by the operator, generating an alert indicating that the electrical cable is in not in an appropriate state for the action by the operator, wherein the alert is based on the action and the connection state of the electrical cable; and
presenting the alert at an operator interface.
Ghannam teaches:
A computer determines whether the trailer is mechanically disconnected and the socket is in an electrically disengaged state (Ghannam, Paragraph [0044]) and an action by the operator (Ghannam, Paragraph [0047], An example action by the operator is the driving of the vehicle 100.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system of Pearson by integrating the teaching of a computer, as taught by Ghannam.
The motivation would be to prevent unsafe driving when the mechanical and/or electrical connection of the trailer is incorrectly connected (see Ghannam, Fig. 10, Paragraph [0047]).
Claim 14, Pearson in view of Ghannam further teaches:
The method of claim 11, further comprising: based on a determination that the connection state of the electrical cable is not an appropriate state for the action by the operator, preventing the action by the operator (Ghannam, Paragraph [0047], The computer 110 may be programmed to inhibit a drive mode of the vehicle 100 in response to determining that the trailer 140 and the vehicle 100 satisfy one of the conditions (see Ghannam, Paragraph [0046]) indicative of the electrical cable not being in an appropriate state.).
Claim 15, Pearson in view of Ghannam further teaches:
The method of claim 11, further comprising: based on a determination that the connection state of the electrical cable is not an appropriate state for the action by the operator, preventing the operator from driving the vehicle (Ghannam, Paragraph [0047], The computer 110 may be programmed to inhibit a drive mode of the vehicle 100 in response to determining that the trailer 140 and the vehicle 100 satisfy one of the conditions (see Ghannam, Paragraph [0046]) indicative of the electrical cable not being in an appropriate state.).
Claim 16, Pearson in view of Ghannam further teaches:
A vehicle (Pearson, Figs. 1, 6), comprising:
an electronic control unit (Pearson, Fig. 6: 136, 138, 140) communicatively connected to a vehicle control subsystem (Pearson, Fig. 6: 130, 132, 134, 137), the electronic control unit configured to:
receive a signal indicating an action by an operator of the vehicle (Pearson, Fig. 6: 136, 138, 140, Paragraphs [0057-0058], Based on the connection of supply lead 137, i.e. an action by an operator, the respective pin in relay 136 is activated, and strobe light 138 and buzzer 140 are activated accordingly. The combination of elements 136, 138, and 140 are interpreted as an electronic control unit located in prime mover 10, i.e. the vehicle (see Pearson, Fig. 1).);
detecting a condition associated with a second end of an electrical cable (Pearson, Paragraphs [0057-0059], The alarm circuit of Fig. 6 can detect if the supply lead 137 is connected to trailer 14, dummy plug 134, or has been unhooked from the trailer 14 but not connected to dummy plug 134 (see Pearson, Paragraph [0059]). Thus, the portion of supply lead 137 that is either attached to a trailer 14, dummy plug 134, or unplugged from both, is interpreted as a second end.), the electrical cable having a first end electrically connected to the vehicle control subsystem (Pearson, Paragraphs [0057-0058], The supply lead 137 is connected to supply 132 on one end. The end of supply lead 137 connected to supply 132 is thus a first end.) and the second end removably connectable to an electrical socket of a trailer, wherein when the second end is connected to the electrical socket of the trailer, an electrical connection is formed between the vehicle control subsystem and the trailer (Pearson, Paragraphs [0057-0058], The supply lead 137 plugs into a distribution circuit on the trailer 14 having a corresponding plug/socket for delivering power to the park lamps. The end of the supply lead 137 that plugs into the corresponding plug/socket of the trailer 14 is a second end.);
detecting, based on the detected condition associated with a second end of the electrical cable, a connection state of the electrical cable (Pearson, Fig. 6: 137) from among stowed, connected, and loose (Pearson, Paragraphs [0057-0059]), wherein the stowed connection state is associated with a first detected condition associated with a second end of the electrical cable (Pearson, Paragraphs [0057-0059], A stowed connection state is interpreted as the condition wherein supply lead 137 is plugged into Dummy Plug 134, wherein the alarm circuit 202 detects the connection via relay 136, and the flashing light and buzzer are not activated.), the connected state is associated with a second detected condition associated with a second end of the electrical cable (Pearson, Paragraphs [0057-0059], A connected state is interpreted as the condition wherein supply lead 137 is plugged into a corresponding plug/socket of trailer 14 for delivering power to the park lamps.), and the loose connection state is associated with a third detected condition associated with a second end of the electrical cable (Pearson, Paragraphs [0057-0059], A loose connection state is interpreted as a condition where supply lead 137 is disconnected from the plug/socket of trailer 14 but has not yet been connected to Dummy Plug 134. When this condition exists, the relay 136 detects current from the pressure switch 130 that delivers current to the light and buzzer of the alarm circuit 202.);
the connection state of the electrical cable is an appropriate state for the action by the operator (Pearson, Paragraphs [0058-0059], When the supply lead 137 is connected to the trailer 14 or to dummy plug 134, the supply lead 137 is in an appropriate state for the action by the operator. When the supply lead 137 is not connected to either the trailer 14 or the dummy plug 134, the flashing light 138 and buzzer 140 are activated, and the supply lead 137 is not in an appropriate state for the action by the operator.);
based on the connection state the electrical cable is not an appropriate state for the action by the operator, generate an alert indicating that the electrical cable is not in an appropriate state for the action by the operator (Pearson, Paragraphs [0058-0059], The light 138 and the buzzer 140 is activated in the cab 12.), and wherein the alert includes a loose cable alert when the electrical cable is in the loose connection state and the action includes driving the vehicle when the tractor is not coupled to the trailer (Pearson, Paragraphs [0057-0059], A loose connection state is interpreted as a condition where supply lead 137 is disconnected from the plug/socket of trailer 14 but has not yet been connected to Dummy Plug 134. When this condition exists, the relay 136 detects current from the pressure switch 130 that delivers current to the light and buzzer of the alarm circuit 202. Therefore, in the loose state, the supply lead 137 is not in the appropriate state for the driver to drive the tractor because the supply lead 137 must first be connected to the dummy plug 134 prior to the tractor being driven.); and
present the alert at an operator interface (Pearson, Paragraphs [0058-0059], The light 138 and the buzzer 140 is activated in the cab 12.),
wherein the stowed connection state indicates the second end of the electrical cable is stowed at a storage socket on a tractor (Pearson, Paragraph [0059], When the supply lead 137 is plugged into dummy plug 134, which is functionally equivalent to a storage socket, it is effectively stowed at a storage socket. The dummy plug 134 is located on prime mover 10 (see Pearson, Paragraph [0058]), which is a tractor (see Pearson, Paragraph [0034]).), the connected connection state indicates the second end of the electrical cable to connected to the electrical socket of the trailer (Pearson, Paragraph [0057], When the supply lead 137 is plugged into a distribution circuit on the trailer 14, e.g. for delivering power to the park lamps, the supply lead 137 provides power to the trailer 14 which is indicates that the second end of the electrical cable is connected to the electrical socket of the trailer.), and the loose connection state indicates that the second end of the electrical cable is neither stowed at the storage socket on the tractor nor connected to the electrical socket of the trailer (Pearson, Paragraph [0059], When the trailer 14 is unhooked, a circuit is created in the pressure switch 130 that allows current to be delivered to the light 138 and buzzer 140. The operator is then required to plug lighting cable 137, i.e. supply lead 137, into dummy plug 134 to trigger a voltage to relay 136 to prevent power to pass to the light 138 and buzzer 140. Therefore, when the trailer 14 is unhooked and the lighting cable 137 is not plugged into dummy plug 134, thereby activating light 138 and buzzer 140, the lighting cable 137 is in a loose connection state.).
Pearson does not explicitly teach:
Determine, based on the detected resistance of the electrical cable, a connection state of the electrical cable;
determine whether the connection state of the electrical cable is an appropriate state for the action by the operator;
based on a determination that the connection state of the electrical cable in not an appropriate state for the action by the operator, generate an alert indicating that the electrical cable is in not in an appropriate state for the action by the operator, wherein the alert includes a safety alert when the electrical cable is in the connected connection state and the action includes decoupling the tractor from the trailer; and
present the alert at an operator interface.
Ghannam teaches:
A computer determines whether the trailer is mechanically disconnected and the socket is in an electrically disengaged state (Ghannam, Paragraph [0044]) and an action by the operator (Ghannam, Paragraph [0047], An example action by the operator is the driving of the vehicle 100.), and whether the trailer is mechanically connected XOR electrically connected to generate a message (Ghannam, Paragraphs [0046-0047]), When the electrical socket 115 is in the electrically engaged state, i.e. the connected connection state, the driver may not want to decouple the trailer 140 because he/she intends on driving, but has merely forgotten to mechanically connect the trailer. Therefore, in the case where the socket 115 is electrically engaged, the respective message is equivalent to an alert wherein it is not appropriate for the driver to decouple the trailer 140, but instead is reminded to check the mechanical connection.) and detecting an electrical resistance between two electric contacts (Ghannam, Paragraph [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system of Pearson by integrating the teaching of a computer, as taught by Ghannam.
The motivation would be to prevent unsafe driving when the mechanical and/or electrical connection of the trailer is incorrectly connected (see Ghannam, Fig. 10, Paragraph [0047]).
Claim 17, Pearson in view of Ghannam further teaches:
The vehicle of claim 16, further comprising:
the storage socket for stowing the second end of the electrical cable when the second end of the electrical cable is not connected to the electrical socket of the trailer (Pearson, Paragraphs [0057-0058], The connecting of the supply lead 137 to a dummy plug 134 of the prime mover 10 is functionally equivalent to a storage socket on a tractor, because the prime mover 10 can be a tractor (see Pearson, Paragraph [0034]).).
Claim 19, Pearson in view of Ghannam further teaches:
The vehicle of claim 16, wherein the electronic control unit is further configured to:
based on a determination that the connection state of the electrical cable is not an appropriate state for the action by the operator, prevent the action by the operator (Ghannam, Paragraph [0047], The computer 110 may be programmed to inhibit a drive mode of the vehicle 100 in response to determining that the trailer 140 and the vehicle 100 satisfy one of the conditions (see Ghannam, Paragraph [0046]) indicative of the electrical cable not being in an appropriate state.).
Claim 20, Pearson in view of Ghannam further teaches:
The vehicle of claim 16, wherein the electronic control unit is further configured to:
based on a determination that the connection state of the electrical cable is not an appropriate state for the action by the operator, prevent the operator from driving the vehicle (Ghannam, Paragraph [0047], The computer 110 may be programmed to inhibit a drive mode of the vehicle 100 in response to determining that the trailer 140 and the vehicle 100 satisfy one of the conditions (see Ghannam, Paragraph [0046]) indicative of the electrical cable not being in an appropriate state.).
Claims 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pearson (U.S. 2019/0367106 A1) in view of Ghannam et al. (U.S. 2018/0154716 A1), in view of Nagel (U.S. 2018/0345804 A1).
Claim 3, Pearson in view of Ghannam further teaches:
The method of claim 1.
Pearson in view of Ghannam does not specifically teach:
Wherein the storage socket is configured to use heat produced by a resistive element to reduce moisture in the second end of the electrical cable when the second end of the electrical cable is stowed at the storage socket.
Nagel teaches:
A charging socket configured to use heat produced by a resistive element (Nagel, Paragraph [0021]) to reduce moisture in the socket (Nagel, Paragraph [0012], It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the charging socket to be capable of eliminating ice or snow after the charging cable is inserted. Such a modification would ensure that the charging socket and the charging cable function according to its intended purpose.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the teachings of Pearson in view of Ghannam by integrating the teaching of a heating element as taught by Nagel.
The motivation would be to ensure that a plug may be inserted into its respective socket during low temperature situations (see Nagel, Paragraphs [0012-0013]).
Claim 18, Pearson in view of Ghannam further teaches:
The vehicle of claim 17.
Pearson in view of Ghannam does not specifically teach:
Wherein the storage socket is configured to reduce moisture in the second end of the electrical cable when the second end of the electrical cable is stowed in the storage socket.
Nagel teaches:
A charging socket configured to use heat produced by a resistive element (Nagel, Paragraph [0021]) to reduce moisture in the socket (Nagel, Paragraph [0012], It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the charging socket to be capable of eliminating ice or snow after the charging cable is inserted. Such a modification would ensure that the charging socket and the charging cable function according to its intended purpose.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the teachings of Pearson in view of Ghannam by integrating the teaching of a heating element as taught by Nagel.
The motivation would be to ensure that a plug may be inserted into its respective socket during low temperature situations (see Nagel, Paragraphs [0012-0013]).
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pearson (U.S. 2019/0367106 A1) in view of Ghannam et al. (U.S. 2018/0154716 A1), in view of Lesesky et al. (U.S. 5,677,667).
Claim 5, Pearson in view of Ghannam further teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the connection state of the electrical cable is not an appropriate state if the connection state is not connected (Pearson, Paragraphs [0057-0058]).
Pearson in view of Ghannam does not specifically teach:
The action of the operator involves supplying air to the trailer.
Lesesky teaches:
Monitoring air hoses connected between a tractor and a trailer (Lesesky, Col. 3, Lines 18-28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Pearson in view of Ghannam by integrating the teaching of air hoses for operating pneumatic brake lines, as taught by Lesesky.
The motivation would be to allow the driver of the tractor/trailer to monitor the integrity and conditions of the trailer and its contents (see Lesesky, Col. 8, Lines 40-43).
Claim 7, Pearson in view of Ghannam further teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the connection state of the electrical cable is not an appropriate state if the connection state is connected and the action of the operator involves driving the vehicle (Ghannam, Paragraph [0044], The computer 110 can determine that the vehicle speed is above a predetermined speed threshold, i.e. the operator is driving the vehicle, which the socket 115 is in an electrically disengaged state.).
Pearson in view of Ghannam does not specifically teach:
The action of the operator involves driving the vehicle without supplying air to the trailer.
Lesesky teaches:
Monitoring air hoses connected between a tractor and a trailer (Lesesky, Col. 3, Lines 18-28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Pearson in view of Ghannam by integrating the teaching of air hoses for operating pneumatic brake lines, as taught by Lesesky.
The motivation would be to allow the driver of the tractor/trailer to monitor the integrity and conditions of the trailer and its contents (see Lesesky, Col. 8, Lines 40-43).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pearson (U.S. 2019/0367106 A1) in view of Ghannam et al. (U.S. 2018/0154716 A1), in view of LYUTSKANOV et al. (WO 2018/077749 A1).
Claim 12, Pearson in view of Ghannam further teaches:
The method of claim 11.
Pearson in view of Ghannam does not specifically teach:
Wherein the first proximity sensor includes one of a near-field communication sensor, a sonar sensor, or a capacitance sensor.
LYUTSKANOV teaches:
Wherein the first proximity sensor includes one of a near-field communication sensor, a sonar sensor, or a capacitance sensor (LYUTSKANOV, Page 6: “In one example, it may be the same RFID and/or NFC tag that is used to detect if the charging cable is in the vehicle”. The Examiner further notes that the system is further capable of detecting “via corresponding sensors, if the charging cable is connected to the socket and thus detect whether the charging cable is in the vehicle 10” (see LYUTSKANOV, Page 10). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the system of LYUTSKANOV to utilize a combination of corresponding sensors, e.g. including the RFID/NFC tag, for purposes of determining whether the charging cable is connected to the socket and/or in the vehicle 10.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system of Pearson in view of Ghannam by integrating the teaching of an RFID/NFC tag and corresponding sensors, as taught by LYUTSKANOV.
The motivation would be to ensure the presence of the charging/power cable (see LYUTSKANOV, Page 1: “The object of the invention is to… provide a solution, in particular a forgetting or lying or removing [of] the charging cable… and possibly facilitates the retrieval”.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). With respect to the Applicant’s argument on Page 9-10 that the Ghannam reference fails to teach three different resistances, as amended by the Applicant, the Examiner maintains that the cited references, in combination, teach Applicant’s claimed invention. As recited in the rejection above, the Pearson reference teaches the steps of detecting conditions which are functionally equivalent to Applicant’s claimed stowed, connected, and loose. Each of the conditions taught in Pearson require the supply lead 137 (see Pearson, Fig. 6) to be connected to a specific component, e.g. dummy plug 134 or a distribution circuit on the trailer, or to be disconnected. The Pearson reference, however, does not teach that these conditions are detected by detecting a resistance, as amended by the Applicant. Ghannam discloses the computer 110 being programmed to determine that a socket 115 is in an electrically disengaged state by determining whether an electrical resistance between two electric contacts are greater than an electrical resistance threshold (see Ghannam, Paragraph [0040]). Thus, the combination of Pearson in view of Ghannam teaches the application of the electrical resistance of Ghannam, into the specific conditions taught by Pearson. Although the Applicant’s claimed invention claims first, second, and third detected resistances, the claims do not define these resistances to be different resistances, and also do not define each of the first, second, and/or third resistances to correspond directly with a particular connection state, e.g. if the first resistance is a specific range of values that is detected, then the system automatically assumes a first connection state. The claims, as amended, do not inherently or explicitly define the claims away from “instances of detected resistance”, for example.
In response to the Applicant’s argument on Pages 9-10 regarding “proximity sensors”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 11 does not inherently or explicitly define the required elements of proximity sensors, only that the proximity sensors are used in detecting the condition of the electrical cable. Claim 12, as amended, further defines the Applicant’s intended definition of a “proximity sensor”, and thus requires a new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES J YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686