DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In light of Applicant’s amendment of the claims, the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of record have been withdrawn.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-16 are pending. Claims 1, 2, 13, 15 and 16 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on May 8, 2026 with respect to rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 101 for reciting an abstract idea has been fully considered; but they are not found persuasive. Specifically, in page 10 of its reply, Applicant argues in sixth paragraph that the present claims as a whole provide an improvement to the technological environment and recites a practical application of the judicial exception. While the claims recite “a processor” and “medical image data,” the core functionality of calculating confidence scores and restricting user input based on thresholds is generic and could apply to any data analysis domain. The claims do not specify specific technical specificity on vessel extraction and structure estimations. Therefore, the claims arguments are not found persuasive.
Additionally, with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant argues, in second paragraph in page 12 that the combination of cited prior arts of record does not disclose a processor that denies the editing operation performed by a user as recited in the independent claims 1, 15 and 16. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The cited prior art reference Paraketsov discloses in ¶0108: “the user control on the user interface may be disabled (with respect to the tool that allows the user to modify the particular feature”. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “display unit” in claims 3 and 5, and “computer” in claim 16.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, these are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structures described in the applicant’s drawings: algorithms (flow charts) depicted in Fig. 1 and applicant’s specification: page 8, third paragraph: “the display 140 is a liquid crystal display, a cathode ray tube (CRT) display, or the like” and page 8, fifth paragraph: “The processing circuitry 150 is a processor that reads the computer programs from the storage circuitry 120 and executes the read computer programs, thereby implementing functions corresponding to the executed computer programs” as performing the claimed functions, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamarneh et al. (US 2014/0198979 A1) in view of Paraketsov et al. (US 2022/0079714 A1) and in further view of Ishii et al. (US 2017/0224300 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hamarneh teaches, An image processing apparatus (Hamarneh, ¶0002: “apparatus for guiding user intervention in semi-automatic image segmentation”) comprising a processor, wherein the processor is configured to (Hamarneh, ¶0018: “a processor executing the code to perform the methods described”) acquire medical image data, (Hamarneh, ¶0015: “obtaining an initial segmentation of the 3D image data”) for a plurality of regions obtained by dividing the extracted blood vessel, (Hamarneh, ¶0015: “segmenting 3D image data, the method including obtaining an initial segmentation of the 3D image data, and for each of a plurality of image regions”) a degree of certainty representing accuracy of an estimation result of the structure of the blood vessel depicted in the medical image data, (Hamarneh, ¶0015: “associating a segmentation uncertainty indicator for the initial image segmentation with the image region and assigning a strength to the segmentation uncertainty indicator”) and , (Hamarneh, ¶0131: “uncertainty values may be calculated and stored (e.g. in a look up table) in manner that they may be indexed by their respective coordinates”) the processor causes (Hamarneh, ¶0018: “processor executing the code to perform the methods”) information representing the defined region to be displayed on a display image (Hamarneh, ¶0051: “displaying, on display 46, image data 36 (or a portion thereof”) based on the medical image data, (Hamarneh, ¶0009: “segmentation applications where accuracy is paramount (e.g., medical images depicting anatomical structures”). However, Hamarneh does not explicitly teach, extract a blood vessel that includes one of a blood vessel core line and a blood vessel wall from the medical image data, estimate a structure of a blood vessel depicted in the medical image data, define a region where editing of the estimation result by a user is restricted, on the basis of the degree of certainty and when the user performs an editing operation in the defined region, the processor does not receive the editing operation.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Ishii teaches, extract a blood vessel that includes (Ishii, ¶0034: “analysis using a medical image (e.g., three-dimensional CT image data) including blood vessels”) one of a blood vessel core line (Ishii, ¶0039: “a core line of the blood vessel”) and a blood vessel wall from the medical image data, (Ishi, ¶0039: “distance from the core line to the inner wall and the distance from the core line to the outer wall”) estimate a structure of a blood vessel depicted in the medical image data (Ishii, ¶0038: “extraction function 352 extracts time-series blood vessel shape data indicating the shape of a blood vessel from the three-dimensional CT image data”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hamarneh using the teachings of Ishii to introduce extracting a blood vessel core line and blood vessel wall from a medical image to estimate a shape of the blood vessel. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of detailed reconstruction of a blood vessel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Hamarneh and Ishii to obtain the above-described limitations in claim 1. However, the combination of Hamarneh and Ishii does not explicitly teach, define a region where editing of the estimation result by a user is restricted, on the basis of the degree of certainty and when the user performs an editing operation in the defined region, the processor does not receive the editing operation.
In another analogous field of endeavor, Paraketsov teaches, and define a region where editing of the estimation result by a user is restricted, (Paraketsov, ¶0108: “locking the related teeth/region in the user interface to prevent the user, e.g., technician, dental professional, etc., from modifying the related teeth, gingiva and/or region”) on the basis of the degree of certainty. (Paraketsov, ¶0022: “locking in the regions or features… that are verified”) and when the user performs an editing operation in the defined region, the processor does not receive the editing operation. (Paraketsov, ¶0108: “the user control on the user interface may be disabled (with respect to the tool that allows the user to modify the particular feature”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hamarneh in view of Ishii using the teachings of Paraketsov to introduce a region locking mechanism. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of preventing a user from editing a verified region. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Hamarneh, Ishii and Paraketsov to obtain the invention in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Hamarneh in view of Ishii and in further view of Paraketsov teaches, The image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor causes information indicating whether the editing is necessary (Hamarneh, ¶0074: “determine if the newly generated image segmentation 52 is acceptable”) to be displayed on the display image based on the medical image data. (Hamarneh, ¶0016: “a display operatively coupled to the controller, and a user interface operatively coupled to the controller. The controller is configured to obtain an initial segmentation of the 3D image data. The uncertainty indicator generator is configured to, for each of a plurality of image regions, associate a segmentation uncertainty”).
Regarding claim 8, Hamarneh in view of Ishii and in further view of Paraketsov teaches, The image processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the information indicating whether the editing is necessary is a numerical value or classification (Hamarneh, ¶0129: “Segmentation 234 may be expressed as a segmentation classifier y(x) defined over the set of coordinates”) representing a degree of recommendation for editing. (Hamarneh, ¶0008: “segmentation techniques can be characterized by the degree of user interaction they require”).
Regarding claim 9, Hamarneh in view of Ishii and in further view of Paraketsov teaches, The image processing apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the numerical value representing the degree of recommendation for editing is the degree of certainty or a numerical value calculated from the degree of certainty by a conversion process. (Hamarneh, ¶0007: “assign every voxel in a 3D image a probability value in the range of 0 to 1 to indicate that probability that the voxel belongs to a particular object”).
Regarding claim 15, it recites a method with steps corresponding to the elements of the apparatus recited in claim 1. Therefore, the recited steps of method claim 15 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements in apparatus claim 1. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Hamarneh, Ishii and Paraketsov presented in rejection of claim 1, apply to this claim. In addition, Hamarneh teaches, An image processing method comprising: acquiring (Hamarneh, ¶0033: “Method 30 begins in block 32, which involves obtaining an initial image segmentation 34 for 3D image data”).
Regarding claim 16, it recites a computer readable medium including program instructions corresponding to the elements of the apparatus recited in claim 1. Therefore, the recited instructions of the computer readable medium of claim 16 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements of the apparatus claim 1. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Hamarneh, Ishii and Paraketsov presented in rejection of claim 1, apply to this claim. In addition, Hamarneh teaches, A computer program product having a computer readable medium including programmed instructions, wherein the instructions, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to execute: (Hamarneh, ¶0169: “controller 406 may be implemented on a programmed computer system comprising one or more processors, user input apparatus, displays and the like”).
Claims 3-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamarneh et al. (US 2014/0198979 A1) in view of Paraketsov et al. (US 2022/0079714 A1), in further view of Ishii et al. (US 2017/0224300 A1) and still in further view of Kobayashi et al. (US 2024/0049944 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Hamarneh in view of Ishii and in further view of Paraketsov teaches, The image processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein, the processor defines at least one of a first region where the editing by the user is restricted and a second region where the editing by the user is recommended, (Hamarneh, ¶0017: “recommending the low-confidence region to be the image region for which further user input would be desirable”) in the structure of the blood vessel, on the basis of a distribution of the degree of certainty in the structure of the blood vessel, (Hamarneh, ¶0017: “assigning a strength to the uncertainty indicator; identifying a low-confidence region in the 3D image data based at least in part on proximity of the low-confidence region to the image regions and strengths of the corresponding uncertainty indicators”) and (Hamarneh, ¶0016: “controller may be configured to cause the display to display an indication of the low-confidence region, to obtain an image segmentation for the low-confidence region based on user input entered at the user interface”). However, the combination of Hamarneh, Ishii and Paraketsov does not explicitly teach, display superimposed information.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Kobayashi teaches, display superimposed information. (Kobayashi, ¶0166: “displays the recognition image of the blood vessel portion recognized by the special light image to be superimposed on the normal light image”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hamarneh in view of Ishii, in further view of Paraketsov using the teachings of Kobayashi to introduce displaying superimposed information. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of displaying the restricted region on the medical image to the user. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Hamarneh, Ishii, Paraketsov and Kobayashi to obtain the invention in claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Hamarneh in view of Ishii and in further view of Paraketsov and still in further view of Kobayashi teaches, The image processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the first region includes at least one of a third region where the editing by the user is prohibited (Paraketsov, ¶0022: “locking in the regions or features (e.g., surface regions, segmentation”; third region is interpreted as a region relying on fully automatic segmentation) and a fourth region where an amount of the editing by the user is suppressed within a specified range. (Hamarneh, ¶0051: “obtaining user segmentation input 44 for more than one low-confidence region. In some embodiments, the user segmentation input 44 obtained in block 42 may comprise semi-automatically generated segmentation”; fourth region is interpreted as a region relying on semi-automatic segmentation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hamarneh in view of Ishii, in further view of Paraketsov and still in further view of Kobayashi using the teachings of Paraketsov to introduce a region locking mechanism. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of preventing a user from editing a verified region. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Hamarneh, Ishii, Paraketsov and Kobayashi to obtain the invention in claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, Hamarneh in view of Ishii and in further view of Paraketsov and still in further view of Kobayashi teaches, The image processing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the processor does not receive an editing operation of the user for a range included in the third region in the structure of the blood vessel displayed on the display unit, (Paraketsov, ¶0108: “the user control on the user interface may be disabled (with respect to the tool that allows the user to modify the particular feature”) receives an editing operation of the user for a range included in the fourth region only when the amount of the editing is within the specified range, (Hamarneh, ¶0076: “generates image segmentation 52 using increasing amounts of user input”) and receives an editing operation of the user for a range not included in the first region. (Hamarneh, ¶0079: “low-confidence region(s) to be an optimal region for receiving user segmentation input”). The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining Hamarneh, Ishii and Paraketsov references presented in the rejection of claim 1, apply to claim 5 and are incorporated herein by reference. Thus, the apparatus recited in claim 5 is met by Hamarneh, Ishii, Paraketsov and Kobayashi.
Regarding claim 6, Hamarneh in view of Ishii and in further view of Paraketsov and still in further view of Kobayashi teaches, The image processing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the processor reduces an amount of movement of an edit target in response to an editing operation of the user (Hamarneh, ¶0010: “semi-automated segmentation processes may involve automatically generating a segmentation in a first iteration and then obtaining user input for second and subsequent iterations”) for a range included in the fourth region and receives the reduced amount of movement of the edit target. (Hamarneh, ¶0076: “in successive iterations of loop 54, block 50 generates image segmentation 52 using increasing amounts of user input 44”; therefore, the first user input is a reduced amount).
Regarding claim 7, Hamarneh in view of Ishii and in further view of Paraketsov and still in further view of Kobayashi teaches, The image processing apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the processor changes a reduction rate of the amount of movement on the basis of the degree of certainty. (Hamarneh, ¶0008: “segmentation techniques can be characterized by the degree of user interaction they require”).
Regarding claim 10, Hamarneh in view of Ishii and in further view of Paraketsov teaches, The image processing apparatus according to claim 1. However, the combination of Hamarneh, Ishii and Paraketsov does not explicitly teach, wherein the processor estimates, as the structure, running of the blood vessel depicted in the medical image data, and the degree of certainty is a path search cost for each section of the blood vessel in estimating the running of the blood vessel.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Kobayashi teaches, wherein the processor estimates, as the structure, running of the blood vessel depicted in the medical image data, (Kobayashi, ¶0143: “control unit 201 displays the blood vessel portion estimated by the predicted running pattern”) and the degree of certainty is a path search cost for each section of the blood vessel in estimating the running of the blood vessel. (Kobayashi, ¶0142: “control unit 201 extracts a pixel in which the probability of the label output from the softmax layer 313 of the first learning model 310 is less than the first threshold value (for example, less than 70%) and is greater than or equal to a second threshold value (for example, 50% or greater), and predicts the running pattern of the blood vessel”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hamarneh in view of Ishii and in further view of Paraketsov using the teachings of Kobayashi to introduce estimating the running pattern of blood vessel. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of automatic recognition of elements in medical images. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Hamarneh, Ishii, Paraketsov and Kobayashi to obtain the invention in claim 10.
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamarneh et al. (US 2014/0198979 A1) in view of Paraketsov et al. (US 2022/0079714 A1), in further view of Ishii et al. (US 2017/0224300 A1) and still in further view of Petroff et al. (US 2022/0061670 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Hamarneh in view of Ishii and in further view of Paraketsov teaches, The image processing apparatus according to claim 1. However, the combination of Hamarneh, Ishii and Paraketsov does not explicitly teach, wherein the processor estimates, as the structure, a contour of an outer wall of the blood vessel depicted in the medical image data, and in estimating a contour of a lumen of the blood vessel, the degree of certainty represents, for each pixel, an accuracy of estimating the contour of the lumen.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Petroff teaches, wherein the processor estimates, as the structure, a contour (Petroff, ¶0260: “vessel contour information and/or other information determined by system 10”) of an outer wall of the blood vessel depicted in the medical image data, (Petroff, ¶0299: “a uniform vessel wall illumination allowed precise visualization of the individual tissue layers”) and in estimating a contour of a lumen of the blood vessel, (Petroff, ¶0260: “system 10 is configured to provide blood vessel lumen contour images and/or other information”) the degree of certainty represents, for each pixel, an accuracy of estimating the contour of the lumen. (Petroff, ¶0181: “Confidence can be determined in several ways, for example the proportion of unambiguous lumen detected in a single frame (for example, at least 75% of the circumference should be unambiguous for high confidence”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hamarneh in view of Ishii and in further view of Paraketsov using the teachings of Petroff to introduce detection of blood vessel lumen. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of automatic recognition of elements in medical images. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Hamarneh, Ishii, Paraketsov and Petroff to obtain the invention in claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, Hamarneh in view of Ishii and in further view of Paraketsov teaches, The image processing apparatus according to claim 1, (Hamarneh, ¶0119: “Where E.sub.UI(i,P) is the cost contribution associated with the i.sup.th uncertainty indicator”) of a region boundary surface in the region boundary estimation method. (Hamarneh, ¶0109: “contours are determined using the Livewire 2D segmentation process, the edge strength f.sub.j may be based on the Livewire local edge cost”). However, the combination of Hamarneh, Ishii and Paraketsov does not explicitly teach, wherein the processor estimates, as the structure, a contour of a lumen of the blood vessel depicted in the medical image data by a region boundary estimation method.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Petroff teaches, wherein the processor estimates, as the structure, a contour of a lumen of the blood vessel depicted in the medical image data (Petroff, ¶0260: “system 10 is configured to provide blood vessel lumen contour images and/or other information”) by a region boundary estimation method (Petroff, ¶0178: “data can be analyzed to identify one or more of the following: lumen boundaries”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hamarneh in view of Ishii and in further view of Paraketsov using the teachings of Petroff to introduce detection of boundaries. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of automatic detection of image elements using the detected boundary of the element. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Hamarneh, Ishii, Paraketsov and Petroff to obtain the invention in claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, Hamarneh in view of Ishii and in further view of Paraketsov teaches, The image processing apparatus according to claim 1. However, the combination of Hamarneh, Ishii and Paraketsov does not explicitly teach, wherein the structure of the blood vessel includes at least one of a blood vessel region, a blood vessel contour, and the blood vessel core line.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Petroff teaches, wherein the structure of the blood vessel includes at least one of a blood vessel region, a blood vessel contour, and the blood vessel core line. (Petroff, ¶0314: “image reader identified regions of interest (ROI) containing atherosclerotic disease using previously established criteria for fibrotic, fibrocalcific and necrotic core plaques”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hamarneh in view of Ishii and in further view of Paraketsov using the teachings of Petroff to introduce detection of blood vessel core. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of automatically inspecting blood vessels. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Hamarneh, Ishii, Paraketsov and Petroff to obtain the invention in claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, Hamarneh in view of Ishii and in further view of Paraketsov teaches, The image processing apparatus according to claim 1. However, the combination of Hamarneh, Ishii and Paraketsov does not explicitly teach, wherein the processor extracts at least one of a lumen of the blood vessel and a plaque in the blood vessel from the medical image data.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Petroff teaches, wherein the processor extracts at least one of a lumen of the blood vessel (Petroff, ¶0260: “system 10 is configured to provide blood vessel lumen contour images and/or other information”) and a plaque in the blood vessel from the medical image data. (Petroff, ¶0314: “system 10 image reader identified regions of interest (ROI) containing atherosclerotic disease using previously established criteria for fibrotic, fibrocalcific and necrotic core plaques”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hamarneh in view of Ishii and in further view of Paraketsov using the teachings of Petroff to introduce plaque recognition. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of automatically detect plaque buildup insode the lumen of blood vessels. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Hamarneh, Ishii, Paraketsov and Petroff to obtain the invention in claim 14.
Conclusion
/MEHRAZUL ISLAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2662
/AMANDEEP SAINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2662