DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to Applicant’s Amendment ("Response”) received on April 22, 2026 in response to the Office Action dated January 22, 2026. This action is made Final.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the case.
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are independent claims.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Applicant’s Response
In Applicant’s Response, Applicant amended claims 1, 6, 8, 13, 15, and 20, and submitted arguments against the prior art in the Office Action dated January 22, 2026.
Based on the Applicant’s amendments, the Examiner withdraws the objections to claims 6, 13, and 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1: Independent claims 1, 8, and 15 are directed towards a method, system, and program product (see Spec. para. 0057 on CRMs), respectively. Therefore, these claims, as well as their dependent claims, are directed towards one of the four statutory categories (process, machine (i.e. apparatus), manufacture, or composition of matter.
With respect to claim 1:
2A Prong 1:
Claim 1 recites the following judicial exceptions:
determining a set of drifted records during payload time ... wherein the drifted records are those records that have not been seen ... prior to payload time (mental process –can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (e.g. a person may identify records that have drifted during a model runtime.).
determining that the drifted records have a first set of records for a first feature, and a second set of records for a second feature, wherein the first feature has a greater importance than the second feature; and selecting a greater percentage of the first set of records in comparison to the second set of records (mental process –can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (e.g. a person may identify records that have drifted, determining records corresponding to particular features of differing importance, and select records based on the importance.).
2A Prong 2: The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Additional elements:
a computer-implemented method, the computer-implemented method comprising: (mere instructions to apply the exception or implement the exception on a computer (e.g. – implementing a method or process using a computer; see MPEP §2106.05(f).). The additional elements do not effectively integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. 2B: revisiting the additional elements, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception – recited high level of generality and corresponds to storing and retrieving information in memory.).
training a machine learning model ... of the machine learning model ... by the machine learning model ... to retrain the machine learning model (generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (e.g. using setting up and maintaining a machine learning model; see MPEP §2106.05(h).). The additional elements do not effectively integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. 2B: revisiting the additional elements, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception – recited high level of generality and corresponds to storing and retrieving information and performing calculations.).
Claim 2:
2A Prong 1:
Claim 2 recites the following judicial exceptions:
obtaining a model confidence distribution for the first record (mental process –can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (e.g. a person may calculate or obtain model confidence data.).
determining whether the first record is an outlier with respect to the model confidence distribution by using a model confidence of the first record (mental process –can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (e.g. a person may calculate or obtain model confidence data and identifier outliers.).
outputting the first record as a relabeling candidate based on the determination (mental process –can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (e.g. a person may calculate or obtain model confidence data and identifier outliers and put forward specific data for relabeling or reannotating.).
2A Prong 2: The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Additional elements:
receiving a first record flagged as drifted, the first record belonging to an existing category or interval which has a number of records smaller than a predetermined threshold (mere instructions to apply the exception or implement the exception on a computer (e.g. – implementing a method or process using a computer to send or receive particular data; see MPEP §2106.05(f).). The additional elements do not effectively integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. 2B: revisiting the additional elements, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception – recited high level of generality and corresponds to storing and retrieving information in memory and performing calculations).
in a training data of the machine learning model ... at training time of the machine learning model ... at the payload time of the machine learning model (generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (e.g. using setting up and maintaining a machine learning model; see MPEP §2106.05(h).). The additional elements do not effectively integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. 2B: revisiting the additional elements, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception – recited high level of generality and corresponds to storing and retrieving information and performing calculations.).
Claim 3:
2A Prong 1:
Claim 3 recites the following judicial exceptions:
obtaining feature importance vector of the input features (mental process –can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (e.g. a person may receive particular records flagged as drifted and produce characteristic or feature importance structures.).
selecting proportionate number of the second records from each feature, based on the feature importance vector (mental process –can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (e.g. a person may receive particular records flagged as drifted and produce characteristic or feature importance structures and select records based thereon.).
2A Prong 2: The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Additional elements:
receiving a plurality of second records flagged as drifted, the second records belonging to a new category or interval which is not seen in the training data (mere instructions to apply the exception or implement the exception on a computer (e.g. – implementing a method or process using a computer to send or receive particular data; see MPEP §2106.05(f).). The additional elements do not effectively integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. 2B: revisiting the additional elements, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception – recited high level of generality and corresponds to storing and retrieving information in memory and performing calculations).
of the machine learning model ... of the machine learning model (generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (e.g. using setting up and maintaining a machine learning model; see MPEP §2106.05(h).). The additional elements do not effectively integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. 2B: revisiting the additional elements, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception – recited high level of generality and corresponds to storing and retrieving information and performing calculations.).
Claim 4:
2A Prong 1:
Claim 4 recites the following judicial exceptions:
obtaining feature importance vector of the input features (mental process –can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (e.g. a person may receive particular records flagged as drifted and produce characteristic or feature importance structures.).
selecting or ignoring the third records based on the feature importance vector (mental process –can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (e.g. a person may receive particular records flagged as drifted and produce characteristic or feature importance structures and select records based thereon.).
2A Prong 2: The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Additional elements:
receiving a plurality of third records flagged as drifted, the third records belonging to an existing category or interval which has a number of records equal to or greater than the predetermined threshold in the training data (mere instructions to apply the exception or implement the exception on a computer (e.g. – implementing a method or process using a computer to send or receive particular data; see MPEP §2106.05(f).). The additional elements do not effectively integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. 2B: revisiting the additional elements, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception – recited high level of generality and corresponds to storing and retrieving information in memory and performing calculations).
of the machine learning model ... of the machine learning model (generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (e.g. using setting up and maintaining a machine learning model; see MPEP §2106.05(h).). The additional elements do not effectively integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. 2B: revisiting the additional elements, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception – recited high level of generality and corresponds to storing and retrieving information and performing calculations.).
Claim 5:
2A Prong 1:
Claim 5 recites the following judicial exceptions:
wherein the set of drifted records result at least from production datasets at payload time having different characteristics from training datasets during the training (mental process –can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (e.g. a person may analyze particular records flagged as drifted.).
Claim 6:
2A Prong 1:
Claim 6 recites the following judicial exceptions:
wherein the set of drifted production records at payload time are pruned for relabeling with categories or intervals having an occurrence less than a predetermined threshold in training data by using a model confidence distribution (mental process –can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (e.g. a person may analyze particular records flagged as drifted and remove or isolate the particular records for specific actions.).
Claim 7:
2A Prong 1:
Claim 7 recites the following judicial exceptions:
wherein drifted production records at payload time are pruned for relabeling with unseen categories or ranges in training data by using feature importance (mental process –can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (e.g. a person may analyze particular records flagged as drifted and remove or isolate the particular records for specific actions based on characteristic or feature importance.).
Claim 8:
Claim 8 substantially corresponds to claim 1 and rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 9:
Claim 9 substantially corresponds to claim 2 and rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 10:
Claim 10 substantially corresponds to claim 3 and rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 11:
Claim 11 substantially corresponds to claim 4 and rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 12:
Claim 12 substantially corresponds to claim 5 and rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 13:
Claim 13 substantially corresponds to claim 6 and rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 12:
Claim 12 substantially corresponds to claim 5 and rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 14:
Claim 14 substantially corresponds to claim 7 and rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 15:
Claim 15 substantially corresponds to claim 1 and rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 16:
Claim 16 substantially corresponds to claim 2 and rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 17:
Claim 17 substantially corresponds to claim 3 and rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 18:
Claim 18 substantially corresponds to claim 4 and rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 19:
Claim 19 substantially corresponds to claim 5 and rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 20:
Claim 20 substantially corresponds to claim 6 and rejected under the same rationale.
2B continued: After considering all claim elements individually and as an ordered combination, it is determined that the claims do not include any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hans et al., US Publication 2021/0097052 (“Hans”), in view of Asher et al., US Publication 2019/0138946 (“Asher”), and further in view of Cmielowski et al., US Publication 2021/0295231 (“Cmielowski”).
Claim 1:
Hans discloses a computer-implemented method, the computer-implemented method comprising:
training a machine learning model (see para. 0019 - automatic drift detection is applied to live payload data for a machine learning model; para. 0021 - deployed machine learning model);
determining a set of drifted records during payload time of the machine learning model, wherein the set of drifted records are those records that have not been seen by the machine learning model prior to the payload time; determining the drifted records (see Fig. 1, 2; para. 0004 – drift detection for multi-variate raw data; para. para. 0019 - automatic drift detection is applied to live payload data for a machine learning model; para. 0020 - automatic drift detection in live payload data for a machine learning model; para. 0021 – Payload data 114 (e.g., live, or real-time, payload data to be fed into deployed machine learning model) is provided to the anomaly detection module 110, as well as constraint(s) 106 that are pertinent to payload data 114; para. 0023 - quality analysis module 210 computes quality of new data 214 ( e.g., data being imported into a database) relative to a base dataset 202.).
Hans does not explicitly disclose have a first set of records for a first feature, and a second set of records for a second feature, wherein the first feature has greater importance than the second feature; and selecting a greater percentage of the first set of records in comparison to the second set of records to retrain the machine learning model.
Asher teaches or suggests have a first set of records for a first feature, and a second set of records for a second feature, wherein the first feature has greater importance than the second feature; and selecting a greater percentage of the first set of records in comparison to the second set of records (see para. 0036 - whether too high or too low of a correlation between the predicted values and the subset of features exist. In such an instance, for example, the database server 210 may remove the feature of the subset from the predictive learning machine, which may result in fewer data outliers and, subsequently, a more-accurate prediction model; para. 0037 - server 210 may adjust a sampling rate of the data to balance out relative representations of the data. For example, the database server 210 may oversample data that predicts underrepresented predictive value. For example, if a relatively small set of the data set is predictive of one predictive outcome, then this small set of data may be oversampled with respect to other data in the data set such that the predictive model is not biased towards the predictive outcome represented by the relatively larger set of data. This automatic balancing of the data may result in a more accurate predictive model; para. 0047 - the data within certain fields (e.g., prediction fields) may cause an overrepresentation in the predictive nature of the model. As such, the data may be over-sampled or under-sampled with respect to other portions of the data to yield a more balanced ratio of positive and negative examples.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Hans, to include have a first set of records for a first feature, and a second set of records for a second feature, wherein the first feature has greater importance than the second feature; and selecting a greater percentage of the first set of records in comparison to the second set of records for the purpose of efficiently adjusting a dataset based on the nature of features present in the dataset and impact on model outputs, improving model accuracy, as taught by Asher (0036, 0037, and 0047).
Cmielowski further teaches or suggests to retrain the machine learning model (see para. 0023 – identify training outliers 116 of the scored transactions 114, and generate re-training data 118; para. 0024 – training outliers 116 can represent a subset of the scored transactions 114 that impact the specific metric goal. In other words, by removing the training outliers 116 from the scored transactions 114, the metric value can achieve the requested goal. In an example set of scored transactions, the ML model manager 108 can determine that removing a specific set of scored transactions with comparatively lower confidence values can improve the mean confidence of the remaining scored transactions by a predetermined amount; para. 0025 - client may generate re training data 118 by re-labeling the training outliers 116. Alternatively, the ML model manager 108 can provide an interface (not shown) to re-label the training outliers 116. Re-labeling the training outliers 116 can involve selecting a new classification for the training outlier 116. Accordingly, the machine learning model 104 can retrain the classifier 110 with the re-labeled transactions in the re-training data 118. In this way, the classifier 110 can learn to make different classifications on the training outliers 116, thus correcting the confidence, for example, in the machine learning model 104. According to some embodiments of the present disclosure, confidence is merely one potential metric goal. Other metric goals may include uncertainty, drift, fairness, and the like.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Hans, to include to retrain the machine learning model for the purpose of efficiently optimizing model metric goals by removing specific training data or relabeling the specific training data and then retraining the model, improving model performance, as taught by Cmielowski (0024 and 0025).
Claim(s) 8 and 15:
Claim(s) 8 and 15 correspond to Claim 1, and thus, Hans, Asher, and Cmielowski teach or suggest the limitations of claim(s) 8 and 15 as well.
Claim(s) 2, 5, 6, 9, 12, 13, 16, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hans, in view of Asher, in view of Cmielowski, and further in view of Brandes et al., US Publication 2020/0364520 (“Brandes”).
Claim 2:
Cmielowski further teaches or suggests receiving a first record flagged as drifted, the first record belonging to an existing category or interval ... in a training data of the machine learning model, obtaining a model confidence distribution for the first record at a training time of the machine learning model; determining whether the first record is an outlier with respect to the model confidence distribution by using a model confidence of the first record at the payload time of the machine learning model; and outputting the first record as a relabeling candidate based on the determination (see para. 0020 - classifier 110 can select the classification for each of multiple input transactions and update the transactions 112 to include the selected classification; para. 0016 - metrics for representing the accuracy can include drift, confidence, and uncertainty. Drift can refer to a scenario where the model may develop a growing bias in favor or disfavor of certain classifications; para. 0022 - if the machine learning model 104 begins to drift; para. 0023 - metrics that are based on the accuracy of predictions and/or the probability of accurate predictions. Accordingly, the ML model manager 108 can generate scored transactions 114, identify training outliers 116 of the scored transactions 114; para. 0024 - Scoring the transactions 112 can involve determining a metric, such as the confidence and/or uncertainty for each of the transactions 112. These and/or other metrics can describe how well the classifier 110 of the machine learning model 104 is performing its classifications. The training outliers 116 can represent a subset of the scored transactions 114 that impact the specific metric goal; para. 0025 – may generate re-training data 118 by re-labeling the training outliers 116. Alternatively, the ML model manager 108 can provide an interface (not shown) to re-label the training outliers 116. Re-labeling the training outliers 116 can involve selecting a new classification for the training outlier 116. metric goals may include uncertainty, drift, fairness, and the like.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Hans, to include receiving a first record flagged as drifted, the first record belonging to an existing category or interval ... in a training data of the machine learning model, obtaining a model confidence distribution for the first record at a training time of the machine learning model; determining whether the first record is an outlier with respect to the model confidence distribution by using a model confidence of the first record at the payload time of the machine learning model; and outputting the first record as a relabeling candidate based on the determination for the purpose of efficiently optimizing model metric goals by removing specific training data or relabeling the specific training data and then retraining the model, improving model performance, as taught by Cmielowski (0024 and 0025).
Hans does not explicitly disclose which has a number of records smaller than a predetermined threshold.
Brandes teaches or suggests which has a number of records smaller than a predetermined threshold (see Fig. 3, 4; para. 0005 - in the training data sets only a small number of examples occur, or the examples are very much underrepresented compared to other cases; para. 0023 - e.g., in 98+% of all predictions 9 of 10 classes are always predicted, this may have two reasons: ... or (ii) the training model underlying the classifier does not "see" the last class because it has not been reflected accordingly in the training data set; para. 0040 - underrepresented class' may denote a class of a classifier which may more or less never-or close to never-be predicted because the underlying machinelearning model has not been trained enough for this class because the training data set has too few examples of the underrepresented class; para. 0054 – q classes (q<n) are underrepresented in the training data set, i.e., (the number of samples in the class <the number of overall samples/(n* (Imean-medianl)), also called rare cases. Different thresholds may be used to define a rare case and the Imean-medianl) factor is one example for an implementation; para. 0058 - it is determined by the evaluator engine 306 that the case is a rare case, the input data are forwarded to the rare case extractor 310. This module is used to potentially enlarge the corpus of training data; para. 0066 - modify the underlying machine-learning model for the classifier 302 so that in future a recognition, also of rare cases is enhanced.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Hans, to include which has a number of records smaller than a predetermined threshold for the purpose of efficiently causing a machine learning model to detect rare or underrepresented cases and to take actions to improve training on the rare or underrepresented cases, improving model performance , as taught by Brandes (0023, 0040, 0054, 0066).
Claim(s) 9 and 16:
Claim(s) 9 and 16 correspond to Claim 2, and thus, Hans, Asher, Cmielowski, and Brandes teach or suggest the limitations of claim(s) 9 and 16 as well.
Claim 5:
Cmielowski further teaches or suggests wherein the set of drifted records result at least from production data sets at payload time (see para. 0016 - metrics for representing the accuracy can include drift, confidence, and uncertainty. Drift can refer to a scenario where the model may develop a growing bias in favor or disfavor of certain classifications; para. 0020 - classifier 110 can select the classification for each of multiple input transactions and update the transactions 112 to include the selected classification; para. 0022 - if the machine learning model 104 begins to drift; para. 0023 - metrics that are based on the accuracy of predictions and/or the probability of accurate predictions. Accordingly, the ML model manager 108 can generate scored transactions 114, identify training outliers 116 of the scored transactions 114; para. 0024 - Scoring the transactions 112 can involve determining a metric, such as the confidence and/or uncertainty for each of the transactions 112. These and/or other metrics can describe how well the classifier 110 of the machine learning model 104 is performing its classifications. The training outliers 116 can represent a subset of the scored transactions 114 that impact the specific metric goal; para. 0025 – metric goals may include uncertainty, drift, fairness, and the like.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Hans, to include wherein the set of drifted records result at least from production data sets at payload time for the purpose of efficiently optimizing model metric goals by removing specific training data or relabeling the specific training data and then retraining the model, improving model performance, as taught by Cmielowski (0024 and 0025).
Brandes further teaches or suggests having different characteristics from training datasets during the training (see Fig. 3, 4; para. 0005 - in the training data sets only a small number of examples occur, or the examples are very much underrepresented compared to other cases; para. 0023 - e.g., in 98+% of all predictions 9 of 10 classes are always predicted, this may have two reasons: ... or (ii) the training model underlying the classifier does not "see" the last class because it has not been reflected accordingly in the training data set; para. 0040 - underrepresented class' may denote a class of a classifier which may more or less never-or close to never-be predicted because the underlying machinelearning model has not been trained enough for this class because the training data set has too few examples of the underrepresented class; para. 0054 – q classes (q<n) are underrepresented in the training data set, i.e., (the number of samples in the class <the number of overall samples/(n* (Imean-medianl)), also called rare cases. Different thresholds may be used to define a rare case and the Imean-medianl) factor is one example for an implementation; para. 0058 - it is determined by the evaluator engine 306 that the case is a rare case, the input data are forwarded to the rare case extractor 310. This module is used to potentially enlarge the corpus of training data; para. 0066 - modify the underlying machine-learning model for the classifier 302 so that in future a recognition, also of rare cases is enhanced.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Hans, to include having different characteristics from training datasets during the training for the purpose of efficiently causing a machine learning model to detect rare or underrepresented cases and to take actions to improve training on the rare or underrepresented cases, improving model performance , as taught by Brandes (0023, 0040, 0054, 0066).
Claim(s) 12 and 19:
Claim(s) 12 and 19 correspond to Claim 5, and thus, Hans, Asher, Cmielowski, and Brandes teach or suggest the limitations of claim(s) 12 and 19 as well.
Claim 6:
Cmielowski further teaches or suggests wherein the set of drifted production records at payload time are pruned for relabeling ... by using model confidence distribution (see para. 0016 - metrics for representing the accuracy can include drift, confidence, and uncertainty. Drift can refer to a scenario where the model may develop a growing bias in favor or disfavor of certain classifications; para. 0020 - classifier 110 can select the classification for each of multiple input transactions and update the transactions 112 to include the selected classification; para. 0022 - if the machine learning model 104 begins to drift; para. 0023 - metrics that are based on the accuracy of predictions and/or the probability of accurate predictions. Accordingly, the ML model manager 108 can generate scored transactions 114, identify training outliers 116 of the scored transactions 114; para. 0024 - Scoring the transactions 112 can involve determining a metric, such as the confidence and/or uncertainty for each of the transactions 112. These and/or other metrics can describe how well the classifier 110 of the machine learning model 104 is performing its classifications. The training outliers 116 can represent a subset of the scored transactions 114 that impact the specific metric goal; para. 0025 – may generate re-training data 118 by re-labeling the training outliers 116. Alternatively, the ML model manager 108 can provide an interface (not shown) to re-label the training outliers 116. Re-labeling the training outliers 116 can involve selecting a new classification for the training outlier 116. metric goals may include uncertainty, drift, fairness, and the like.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Hans, to include wherein the set of drifted production records at payload time are pruned for relabeling ... by using model confidence distribution for the purpose of efficiently optimizing model metric goals by removing specific training data or relabeling the specific training data and then retraining the model, improving model performance, as taught by Cmielowski (0024 and 0025).
Brandes further teaches or suggests with categories or intervals having an occurrence less than a predetermined threshold in training data (see Fig. 3, 4; para. 0005 - in the training data sets only a small number of examples occur, or the examples are very much underrepresented compared to other cases; para. 0023 - e.g., in 98+% of all predictions 9 of 10 classes are always predicted, this may have two reasons: ... or (ii) the training model underlying the classifier does not "see" the last class because it has not been reflected accordingly in the training data set; para. 0040 - underrepresented class' may denote a class of a classifier which may more or less never-or close to never-be predicted because the underlying machinelearning model has not been trained enough for this class because the training data set has too few examples of the underrepresented class; para. 0054 – q classes (q<n) are underrepresented in the training data set, i.e., (the number of samples in the class <the number of overall samples/(n* (Imean-medianl)), also called rare cases. Different thresholds may be used to define a rare case and the Imean-medianl) factor is one example for an implementation; para. 0058 - it is determined by the evaluator engine 306 that the case is a rare case, the input data are forwarded to the rare case extractor 310. This module is used to potentially enlarge the corpus of training data; para. 0066 - modify the underlying machine-learning model for the classifier 302 so that in future a recognition, also of rare cases is enhanced.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Hans, to include with categories or intervals having an occurrence less than a predetermined threshold in training data for the purpose of efficiently causing a machine learning model to detect rare or underrepresented cases and to take actions to improve training on the rare or underrepresented cases, improving model performance , as taught by Brandes (0023, 0040, 0054, 0066).
Claim(s) 13 and 20:
Claim(s) 13 and 20 correspond to Claim 6, and thus, Hans, Asher, Cmielowski, and Brandes teach or suggest the limitations of claim(s) 13 and 20 as well.
Claim(s) 3, 7, 10, 14, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hans, in view of Asher, in view of Cmielowski, in view of Brandes, and further in view of Jain et al., US Publication 2023/0351252 (“Jain”).
Claim 3:
Hans teaches or suggests receiving a plurality of second records flagged as drifted, the second records belonging to a new category or interval which is not seen in the training data of the machine learning model (see Fig. 1, 2; para. 0004 – drift detection for multi-variate raw data; para. para. 0019 - automatic drift detection is applied to live payload data for a machine learning model; para. 0020 - automatic drift detection in live payload data for a machine learning model; para. 0021 – Payload data 114 (e.g., live, or real-time, payload data to be fed into deployed machine learning model) is provided to the anomaly detection module 110, as well as constraint(s) 106 that are pertinent to payload data 114; para. 0023 - quality analysis module 210 computes quality of new data 214 ( e.g., data being imported into a database) relative to a base dataset 202; para. 0040 - new dataset ( e.g., a data file or document) includes information for an IT Company named 'Company D', then a new node under the 'IT companies' node will be created for Company D as there is no existing node for such a company. Constraints are learnt from each new dataset (e.g., from a set of training datasets or based on new datasets). The constraints are then added to the respective nodes in the constraint repository.).
Jain further teaches or suggests obtaining a feature importance vector of input features of the machine learning model; based on the feature importance vector (see para. 0092 - predictor vector X obtained by considering each feature, x; para. 0134 – feature weights obtained by server 2111, e.g., as determined locally and/or aggregated from or with client feature weights may be used to select which features are important for the model outputs. this information may be used to improve the local model, e.g., by changing the data that is collected, and thus by adding one or more features to the client training data. This does not necessarily have to imply that existing client training data needs to be extended with the new feature; instead one could use the new feature for new training samples that are added to the client training set; para. 0144 - to selected training samples, e.g., an explainability algorithm, and obtain sample feature weights, indicating the importance of the features for the selected training samples.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Hans, to include obtaining a feature importance vector of input features of the machine learning model; based on the feature importance vector for the purpose of efficiently selecting training samples based on feature importance, improving model training, as taught by Jain (0134 and 0144).
Asher further teaches or suggests and selecting proportionate number of the second records from each feature, based on the feature importance (see para. 0036 - whether too high or too low of a correlation between the predicted values and the subset of features exist. In such an instance, for example, the database server 210 may remove the feature of the subset from the predictive learning machine, which may result in fewer data outliers and, subsequently, a more-accurate prediction model; para. 0037 - server 210 may adjust a sampling rate of the data to balance out relative representations of the data. For example, the database server 210 may oversample data that predicts underrepresented predictive value. For example, if a relatively small set of the data set is predictive of one predictive outcome, then this small set of data may be oversampled with respect to other data in the data set such that the predictive model is not biased towards the predictive outcome represented by the relatively larger set of data. This automatic balancing of the data may result in a more accurate predictive model; para. 0047 - the data within certain fields (e.g., prediction fields) may cause an overrepresentation in the predictive nature of the model. As such, the data may be over-sampled or under-sampled with respect to other portions of the data to yield a more balanced ratio of positive and negative examples.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Hans, to include and selecting proportionate number of the second records from each feature, based on the feature importance for the purpose of efficiently adjusting a dataset based on the nature of features present in the dataset and impact on model outputs, improving model accuracy, as taught by Asher (0036, 0037, and 0047).
Claim(s) 10 and 17:
Claim(s) 10 and 17 correspond to Claim 3, and thus, Hans, Asher, Cmielowski, Brandes, and Jain teach or suggest the limitations of claim(s) 10 and 17 as well.
Claim 7:
Cmielowski further teaches or suggests wherein the drifted production records at payload time are pruned for relabeling (see para. 0016 - metrics for representing the accuracy can include drift, confidence, and uncertainty. Drift can refer to a scenario where the model may develop a growing bias in favor or disfavor of certain classifications; para. 0020 - classifier 110 can select the classification for each of multiple input transactions and update the transactions 112 to include the selected classification; para. 0022 - if the machine learning model 104 begins to drift; para. 0023 - metrics that are based on the accuracy of predictions and/or the probability of accurate predictions. Accordingly, the ML model manager 108 can generate scored transactions 114, identify training outliers 116 of the scored transactions 114; para. 0024 - Scoring the transactions 112 can involve determining a metric, such as the confidence and/or uncertainty for each of the transactions 112. These and/or other metrics can describe how well the classifier 110 of the machine learning model 104 is performing its classifications. The training outliers 116 can represent a subset of the scored transactions 114 that impact the specific metric goal; para. 0025 – may generate re-training data 118 by re-labeling the training outliers 116. Alternatively, the ML model manager 108 can provide an interface (not shown) to re-label the training outliers 116. Re-labeling the training outliers 116 can involve selecting a new classification for the training outlier 116. metric goals may include uncertainty, drift, fairness, and the like.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Hans, to include wherein the drifted production records at payload time are pruned for relabeling for the purpose of efficiently optimizing model metric goals by removing specific training data or relabeling the specific training data and then retraining the model, improving model performance, as taught by Cmielowski (0024 and 0025).
Brandes further teaches or suggests with unseen categories or ranges in the training data (see Fig. 3, 4; para. 0005 - in the training data sets only a small number of examples occur, or the examples are very much underrepresented compared to other cases; para. 0023 - e.g., in 98+% of all predictions 9 of 10 classes are always predicted, this may have two reasons: ... or (ii) the training model underlying the classifier does not "see" the last class because it has not been reflected accordingly in the training data set; para. 0040 - underrepresented class' may denote a class of a classifier which may more or less never-or close to never-be predicted because the underlying machinelearning model has not been trained enough for this class because the training data set has too few examples of the underrepresented class; para. 0054 – q classes (q<n) are underrepresented in the training data set, i.e., (the number of samples in the class <the number of overall samples/(n* (Imean-medianl)), also called rare cases. Different thresholds may be used to define a rare case and the Imean-medianl) factor is one example for an implementation; para. 0058 - it is determined by the evaluator engine 306 that the case is a rare case, the input data are forwarded to the rare case extractor 310. This module is used to potentially enlarge the corpus of training data; para. 0066 - modify the underlying machine-learning model for the classifier 302 so that in future a recognition, also of rare cases is enhanced.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Hans, to include with unseen categories or ranges in the training data for the purpose of efficiently causing a machine learning model to detect rare or underrepresented cases and to take actions to improve training on the rare or underrepresented cases, improving model performance , as taught by Brandes (0023, 0040, 0054, 0066).
Jain further teaches or suggests by using a feature importance of the machine learning model (see para. 0092 - predictor vector X obtained by considering each feature, x; para. 0134 – feature weights obtained by server 2111, e.g., as determined locally and/or aggregated from or with client feature weights may be used to select which features are important for the model outputs. this information may be used to improve the local model, e.g., by changing the data that is collected, and thus by adding one or more features to the client training data. This does not necessarily have to imply that existing client training data needs to be extended with the new feature; instead one could use the new feature for new training samples that are added to the client training set; para. 0144 - to selected training samples, e.g., an explainability algorithm, and obtain sample feature weights, indicating the importance of the features for the selected training samples.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Hans, to include by using a feature importance of the machine learning model for the purpose of efficiently selecting training samples based on feature importance, improving model training, as taught by Jain (0134 and 0144).
Claim(s) 14:
Claim(s) 14 correspond to Claim 7, and thus, Hans, Asher, Cmielowski, Brandes, and Jain teach or suggest the limitations of claim(s) 14 as well.
Claim(s) 4, 11, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hans, in view of Asher, in view of Cmielowski, in view of Brandes, , in view of Jain, and further in view of Vandikas et al., US Publication 2024/0357380 (“Vandikas”).
Claim 4:
Cmielowski further teaches or suggests receiving a plurality of third records flagged as drifted (see para. 0016 - metrics for representing the accuracy can include drift, confidence, and uncertainty. Drift can refer to a scenario where the model may develop a growing bias in favor or disfavor of certain classifications; para. 0020 - classifier 110 can select the classification for each of multiple input transactions and update the transactions 112 to include the selected classification; para. 0022 - if the machine learning model 104 begins to drift; para. 0023 - metrics that are based on the accuracy of predictions and/or the probability of accurate predictions. Accordingly, the ML model manager 108 can generate scored transactions 114, identify training outliers 116 of the scored transactions 114; para. 0024 - Scoring the transactions 112 can involve determining a metric, such as the confidence and/or uncertainty for each of the transactions 112. These and/or other metrics can describe how well the classifier 110 of the machine learning model 104 is performing its classifications. The training outliers 116 can represent a subset of the scored transactions 114 that impact the specific metric goal; para. 0025 – may generate re-training data 118 by re-labeling the training outliers 116. Alternatively, the ML model manager 108 can provide an interface (not shown) to re-label the training outliers 116. Re-labeling the training outliers 116 can involve selecting a new classification for the training outlier 116. metric goals may include uncertainty, drift, fairness, and the like.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Hans, to include receiving a plurality of third records flagged as drifted for the purpose of efficiently optimizing model metric goals by removing specific training data or relabeling the specific training data and then retraining the model, improving model performance, as taught by Cmielowski (0024 and 0025).
Vandikas further teaches or suggests the third records belonging to an existing category or interval which has a number of records equal to or greater than the predetermined threshold in the training data of the machine learning model (see para. 0004 - to select and balance imbalanced datasets from different communication devices for the decentralized autoencoder to learn from. As used herein an "imbalanced dataset" refers to a dataset that includes more than one class of data, e.g. two classes, and distribution of samples of data across the classes, or within a class, is not uniform. The classes include a "majority class" having a greater number of samples and a "minority class" having a fewer number of samples than the majority class. The distribution of samples can range from a slight imbalance to a more severe imbalance (e.g., where there is one sample in the minority class and hundreds, thousands, millions, etc. of samples in the majority class; para. 0073 - shares information with communication device 101 about the number of samples it has and the label distribution or the number of samples that are marked as a minority dataset class (e.g., sleeping) and the number of samples that are marked as a majority dataset class (e.g., non-sleeping). Once that is received, communication device 101 (e.g., a parameter server (PS)) computes 305 the expected size and label distribution for a training dataset.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Hans, to include the third records belonging to an existing category or interval which has a number of records equal to or greater than the predetermined threshold in the training data of the machine learning model for the purpose of efficiently ascertaining data imbalance and undertaking specific training data set actions based on the imbalance information, improving model training and performance, as taught by Vandikas (0004 and 0073).
Jain further teaches or suggests obtaining a feature importance vector of input features of the machine learning model; and selecting or ignoring the third records based on the feature importance vector (see para. 0092 - predictor vector X obtained by considering each feature, x; para. 0134 – feature weights obtained by server 2111, e.g., as determined locally and/or aggregated from or with client feature weights may be used to select which features are important for the model outputs. this information may be used to improve the local model, e.g., by changing the data that is collected, and thus by adding one or more features to the client training data. This does not necessarily have to imply that existing client training data needs to be extended with the new feature; instead one could use the new feature for new training samples that are added to the client training set; para. 0144 - to selected training samples, e.g., an explainability algorithm, and obtain sample feature weights, indicating the importance of the features for the selected training samples.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Hans, to include obtaining a feature importance vector of input features of the machine learning model; and selecting or ignoring the third records based on the feature importance vector for the purpose of efficiently selecting training samples based on feature importance, improving model training, as taught by Jain (0134 and 0144).
Claim(s) 11 and 18:
Claim(s) 11 and 18 correspond to Claim 4, and thus, Hans, Asher, Cmielowski, Brandes, Jain, and Vandikas teach or suggest the limitations of claim(s) 11 and 18 as well.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s further arguments have been considered but are not persuasive because the arguments do not correspond to the rationales as used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW T MCINTOSH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2144