DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because in view of the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 14-20 and 23-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C103 as being unpatentable over Ganesan 20230262601 in view Yao 20200053649.
As to claim 1, Ganesan discloses a user equipment (UE) [200,102] for wireless communications, comprising:
Memory [204]; and
one or more processors [202] coupled with the memory and configured to cause the UE to (see par. 0041-0043):
receive, by a first radio [main or second receiver] of the UE that is operating in a first power state [active or on duration], control signaling indicating at least one configuration for a wake-up radio of the UE for monitoring for wake-up signaling [802, 902] from a network entity [300,104] (see par. 0039), the first radio cycling between the first power state and a second power state that uses less power than the first power state (see par. 0114, 0121-0122);
receive, by the wake-up radio of the UE when the first radio is operating in the second power state, a wake-up signal in accordance with the first configuration, the wake-up signal indicating to transition the first radio from the second power state to the first power state [804-806] (see par. 0074, 0084, 0114); and
monitor, by the first radio of the UE that is operating in the first power state, for a message in response to the wake-up radio of the UE receiving the wake-up signal [810] (see par. 0114). Ganesan fails to disclose transmit, to the network entity. In an analogous art, Yao discloses transmit [negotiate], to the network entity [AP], a control message indicating a first configuration of the at least one configuration for the wake-up radio of the UE for monitoring for wake-up signaling from the network entity, the first configuration [description of a relationship which do not need to modify the configuration: associated with indicating a first-time duration corresponding to the first radio transitioning from the second power state to the first power state after reception of a wake-up signal] [the secondary module listens to the wake-up signal in a manner required by the parameter] (see par. 0090, 0092, 0100). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of allowing to select the best possible configuration, thereby, saving power, minimizing channel use, etc.
As to claim 14, Ganesan discloses the UE of claim 1, the control message further indicates a second time duration associated with the first radio transitioning from the first power state to the second power state and the UE starting monitoring for the wake-up signaling by the wake-up radio [DRX parameters] (see par. 0094-0095). Ganesan disclose the limitation in multiple embodiments. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine embodiments to maximize power savings.
As to claim 15, Ganesan discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein to transmit the control message, the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to: transmit the control message comprising an indication of a desired configuration of the at least one configuration or a type of the wake-up signaling (see par. 0075-0076, 0094-0095). Ganesan disclose the limitation in multiple embodiments. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine embodiments to maximize power savings.
As to claim 16, Ganesan discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the first radio transitions to the second power state in response to transmitting the control message (see par. 0114, 0121-0122). Ganesan disclose the limitation in multiple embodiments. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine embodiments to maximize power savings.
As to claim 17, Ganesan discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the wake-up signal indicates the first configuration (see par. 0073).
As to claim 18, Ganesan discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one configuration is based at least in part on a preferred configuration of one or more other UEs, a class of the wake-up radio, or both (see par. 0079).
As to claim 19, Ganesan discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: transmit, to the network entity by the first radio or by the wake-up radio, an indication of a size of a guard band [GAP] for the wake-up signal, wherein receiving the wake-up signal is based at least in part on transmitting the indication (see par. 0081, 0094-0095). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine embodiments to maximize power savings.
As to claim 20, Ganesan discloses the UE of claim 19, wherein to transmit the indication, the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to: transmit the indication via one or more time-frequency resources that are scheduled for uplink transmission, radio resource control signaling, a medium access control [typo: control] element, a UE assistance information message, a feedback message, a scheduling request, a buffer status report, a random access channel message, or any combination thereof [remote units 102 transmit on the uplink (“UL”) using a single-carrier frequency division multiple access (“SC-FDMA”) scheme or an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (“OFDM”) scheme] (see par. 0037, 0094-0095).
As to claim 23, Ganesan discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the wake-up radio is an ambient internet of things radio (see par. 0035, 0052).
As to claim 24, Ganesan discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: operate the wake-up radio according to a discontinuous reception cycle (see abstract, par. 0075).
As to claim 25, Ganesan discloses the UE of claim 24, wherein to monitor for the message, the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to: monitor for the message during an active time of the discontinuous reception cycle (see par. 0075).
As to claim 26, Ganesan discloses the UE of claim 24, wherein to monitor for the message, the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to: monitor one or more resource sets during an active time of the discontinuous reception cycle, each resource set of the one or more resource sets comprising at least one resource for receiving wake-up signaling (see par. 0039, 0047, 0075, 0081).
As to claim 27, Ganesan discloses the UE of claim 24, wherein, to monitor for the message, the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to: monitor for the message during an active time of a first discontinuous reception cycle, wherein the message comprises a first type of message; or monitor for the message during an active time of a second discontinuous reception cycle, wherein the message comprises a second type of message, wherein the first type of message comprises a wake-up signal, control information, or both and the second type of message comprises a reference signal, a synchronization signal, or both (see par. 0039, 0047, 0075, 0081, 0083, 0102).
As to claim 28, Ganesan discloses a network entity [300,104] for wireless communication, comprising:
Memory [304]; and
one or more processors [302] coupled with the memory and configured to cause the UE to (see par. 0050):
transmit, to a first radio of a user equipment (UE) that is operating a first power state, control signaling indicating at least one configuration for a wake-up radio of the UE for monitoring for wake-up signaling from the network entity (see par. 0039), the first radio of the UE cycling between the first power state and a second power state that uses less power than the first power state (see par. 0114, 0121-0122);
transmit, to the wake-up radio of the UE when the first radio of the UE is operating in the second power state, a wake-up signal in accordance with a first configuration of the at least one configuration, the wake-up signal indicating to transition the first radio from the second power state to the first power state [804-806] (see par. 0074, 0084, 0114); and
communicate a message with the UE in response to transmitting the wake- up signal in accordance with the first configuration [810] (see par. 0114). Ganesan fails to disclose receive, from the UE, a control message indicating a first-time duration. In an analogous art, Hu discloses receive, from the UE, a control message indicating a first time duration corresponding to the first radio transitioning from the second power state to the first power state after reception of a wake-up signal [time offset required for the low-power receiver to wake up the main radio… the terminal device determines the first time offset by itself, and then sends the first time offset to the network device.] (see par. 0081-0084). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of giving enough time for the main receiver to turn on and allowing a correct reception of the signal.
Regarding claims 29-30, are the respective method claim of device claims 1 and 28. Therefore, claims 29-30 is rejected for the same reason as shown above.
Conclusion
MARCOS L. TORRES
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/MARCOS L TORRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647