DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-12, and 14-21 in the claim set filed March 5th, 2025, are pending for examination in the Application No. 18/170345 filed February 16th, 2023. In the remarks and amendments received on July 28th, 2025, claims 1, 6, 11, and 18 are amended, claims 3, 8, and 13 remain cancelled, and no claims are added. Accordingly, claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-12, and 14-21 are currently pending for examination in the application.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed July 28th, 2025, to Claims have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed May 2nd, 2025. Accordingly, the objections are withdrawn in response to the remarks and amendments filed. Examiner warmly thanks Applicant for considering the objections and the suggested amendments to be made to the disclosure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed July 28th, 2025, regarding the rejection(s) of the claims have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination of the references being used in the current rejection below.
Priority (Previously Presented)
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s status as a continuation (CON) of International
Application No. PCT/CN2021/113873, filed on August 20th, 2021, which claims priority to Chinese (CN)
Patent Application No. 202010844540.3, filed on August 20th, 2020.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
The certified copy has been filed as Chinese (CN) Patent Application No. 202010844540.3 filed on August 20th, 2020.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 9-11, 14-15, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borowski (DE 10 2019 003 786 A1) in view of Yaginuma et al. (Yaginuma; JP 2007-263605 A), and further in view of Endo et al. (Endo; JP 2014093700 A), and further more in view of Pogue et al. (Pogue; US 5,635,920 A).
Regarding claim 1, Borowski discloses a traffic signal recognition method applied to a terminal device, the method comprising:
obtaining a(n) (description, para. [0081], recites
[0018] “The infrared or infrared rays emitted by the light sources 5 of the traffic light 3…”
, where the “traffic light” is a traffic signal and the “infrared rays emitted” is an infrared light signal);
obtaining a target characteristic of the (description, para. [0006], recites
[0006] “Advantageously, the differentiation of the specific identification of the light signal is carried out via a wavelength or a frequency. This allows a variety of specific identifiers of the light signal to be generated.”
, where the “wavelength” or “frequency” of the light signal is a target characteristic);
(identifying) the target characteristic with a (n) (identification) result, wherein each of the plurality of (description, para. [0006]—see preceding citation above—, where description, paras. [0009] and [0019], further recite
[0009] “In one embodiment, the specific identifier comprises a traffic light color…”
[0019] “Fig. 2 shows an embodiment of the assignment of several traffic lights 3 , 23 , 25 , 27 to several lanes A , B , C , as they occur at road intersections… Traffic light 3 is assigned to lane A in the specific identifier and currently shows the status color yellow… The specific identifier of traffic light 25 contains the current status colour red… The specific identifier of traffic light 27 includes the current status color green…”
, where identifying a “traffic light color” is identifying the target characteristic with a characteristic description from among at least two characteristic descriptions of “traffic light color[s]” or “status” of “yellow”, “red”, or “green”); and
determining, based on the (identification) result, a target traffic operation information corresponding to the target characteristic (description, paras. [0017] and [0019], recite
[0017] “Both the camera 9 and the external microphone 11 are connected to a control unit 13 of the vehicle 1, in which these received signals are evaluated. The results of the evaluation of the control unit 13 can be wirelessly output from a transmitting/receiving device 15 to a cloud 17 for general traffic control…”
[0019] “… Traffic lights 25 and 27 are assigned to lane C in their respective specific identifiers, which allows driving straight ahead and turning right. Traffic light 25 regulates straight-ahead driving, while traffic light 27 controls right turns…”
, where “general traffic control” is target traffic operation information corresponding to the target characteristic, such as vehicle controls regulated by the traffic lights recited in para. [0019]).
Where Borowski does not specifically disclose
matching the target characteristic with a preset characteristic description from among a plurality of preset characteristic descriptions to yield a matching result, wherein each of the plurality of preset characteristic descriptions indicates a different traffic operation information;
Yaginuma teaches in the same field of endeavor of detecting traffic light signals
matching the target characteristic with a preset characteristic description from among a plurality of preset characteristic descriptions to yield a matching result, wherein each of the plurality of preset characteristic descriptions indicates a different traffic operation information (description, paras. [0024] and [0033], recite
[0024] “…That is, a traffic signal (simply referred to as a "traffic signal" in this application) 8 is equipped with a traffic signal control unit 9 that controls lighting, and emits red, green, and yellow lights using LEDs (light-emitting diodes) mainly near the center of the left driving lane 7 (within the dashed line in Figure 1) from inside the intersection to the front…”
[0033] “More specifically, the traffic light detection means 50 pre-stores in the wavelength memory means 60 the wavelength ranges of the red, blue (blue-green), and yellow illumination light of a traffic light, and the wavelength determination means 62 determines that a traffic light has been detected when the wavelength of the light detected by the light receiving unit 10 matches any of the wavelength ranges stored in the wavelength memory means 60 (wavelength determination processing).
In this way, by storing the wavelength ranges of each lighting color in advance and using coincidence with these as a criterion, it is possible to detect traffic signals with high accuracy using a simple method.”
, where “matches any of the wavelength ranges stored in the wavelength memory” is matching the target characteristic with a preset characteristic description from among at least two preset characteristic descriptions of the “wavelength ranges” of “red, blue (blue-green), [or] yellow” for a red, green, and yellow traffic light);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the presently filed invention to modify the system of Borowski to incorporate, as the identification result, a matching result yielded by matching the target characteristic with a preset target characteristic description from among at least two present characteristic descriptions to detect traffic signals with high accuracy using a simple method as taught by Yaginuma (see para. [0033] above, where para. [0032] further recites
[0032] “…In this way, by receiving the light from the traffic light using a light receiving element or the like, the traffic light can be easily detected using simple means, and high reliability can be achieved at low cost.”
).
Where Borowski in view of Yaginuma does not specifically disclose
…wherein the target characteristic comprises at least one of a shape or a pulse form, wherein the shape or pulse form is of the emitted ;
Endo teaches in the same field of endeavor of detecting traffic light signals
…wherein the target characteristic comprises at least one of a shape or a pulse form, wherein the shape or pulse form is of the emitted ;
(description, paras. [0016], [0029], [0031], and [0033], recite
[0016] “When transmitting information, the light emission control device 1 outputs the information to be transmitted from the information input unit 11 to the modulation unit 12 .
This information includes road information, local information, weather information, and other information. For example, in the case of road information, it includes location information of the traffic light SIG1, timing information for the red, green, and yellow signal lights 2 to light up, or traffic volume information and accident information for the intersection where the traffic light is located.
…Based on this modulation signal, the light emitting unit 13 causes a specific LED 21s of a signal lamp that has been specified in advance to emit light intermittently, that is, blink at high speed, and transmits the emitted light as an optical signal.
In this example, a red signal light 2r out of the three colored signal lights is used as an example, and among the many LEDs 21 that make up this signal light 2r, a plurality of LEDs arranged to form a unique pattern shape, in this case a diamond pattern, i.e., the LEDs filled in black in Figure 2, are designated as specific LEDs 21s, and these specific LEDs 21s are made to flash. …”
[0029] “In the embodiment, the visible light emitted by the LED of the signal light is used as it is to recognize the traffic light and perform optical communication, but infrared light may also be used.
For example, in the case of a red traffic light according to the embodiment, the specific LED 21s is configured as an LED that emits red light containing infrared light.
On the other hand, in an automobile CAR, the imaging device CAM is configured as an imaging device capable of capturing images in a wavelength range including visible light and infrared light, and the signal recognition unit 31 of the vehicle ECU 3 acquires only the pixels that capture infrared light from the bright spots obtained by imaging as brightness data.
Alternatively, a filter that transmits only infrared light may be provided in the image capture device CAM so that only the specific LEDs 21s that emit infrared light are captured.
In the same way, pixel coordinates are determined based on the obtained brightness data, and the brightness pattern obtained from this coordinate array is compared with a preset pattern to recognize the traffic light.
Furthermore, it goes without saying that in traffic lights, the specific LED 21s can be configured to be optically modulated and blink based on the information to be transmitted, and then transmitted as an optical signal.”
[0031] “In the embodiment, a diamond pattern is shown as an example of the shape of the brightness pattern formed by the specific LEDs in the signal light of a traffic signal, but the LEDs may be configured to emit light in a pattern other than a diamond as long as the pattern shape is unique.
In particular, when multiple traffic lights are captured by an automobile's imaging device, it is necessary to compare the brightness patterns of these traffic lights with each other to recognize the target traffic light, so it is preferable to use patterns that are as simple as possible so that the differences when compared are clear.
Furthermore, in order to simplify and speed up the process of recognizing the closest traffic light by comparing the recognized pattern shapes with each other, it is preferable to make the brightness pattern of a distant traffic light, whose brightness pattern is small and is captured in an image, blurred so that the coordinates cannot be determined, and to exclude this brightness pattern from the comparison target. …”
[0033] “In the embodiment, the optical signal is generated by blinking a specific LED using pulse code modulation, but the modulation method is not limited to this, and for example, the optical signal may be transmitted by changing the luminous intensity of a specific LED. …”
, where the “shape of the brightness pattern formed by the specific LEDs in the light signal” is at least the target characteristic of a shape form (e.g., “emit light in a pattern”) and the “optical signal” transmitted by traffic lights by “optically modulat[ing] and blink[ing]” the “specific LEDs” is at least the target characteristic of a pulse form (e.g., “pulse code modulation”); wherein the “specific LEDs” include using “infrared light” for emitting and/or transmitting the target characteristics is the shape or pulse form being an infrared light signal emitted by the traffic signal in the infrared spectrum).
Since Borowski and Endo each disclose a target characteristic corresponding to different traffic operation information and determining a target traffic operation information based on the target characteristic (see paras. [0009] and [0019] of Borowski in claim 1 limitation “matching the target characteristic…” above; and description, para. [0032], of Endo:
[0032] “…the luminance patterns of the respective traffic lights may be set to different pattern shapes.
In this case, the vehicle's signal recognition unit can be configured to store multiple different patterns in advance, and by comparing the brightness pattern obtained by capturing an image with the stored pattern, it can determine which pattern matches the other, and recognize the target traffic light based on this determined pattern.”
), a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the “wavelength” or “frequency” of Borowski in view of Yaginuma could have been substituted for the shapes or pulse forms (e.g., “pattern[s]” or “pulse code modulation[s]”) of Endo because both the “wavelength” or ”frequency” and the shapes or pulse forms serve the purpose of providing a target characteristic of traffic light signals for determining different traffic operation information corresponding to the target characteristic. Furthermore, since Borowski also discloses the traffic light signals emit infrared light, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the substitution without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of Borowski in view of Yaginuma since the substitution achieves the predictable result of determining a target traffic operation information corresponding to the target characteristic for a traffic signal emitting infrared light signals.
Where Borowski, as modified by Yaginuma and Endo, does not specifically disclose
obtaining a near infrared light signal emitted by a traffic signal;
Pogue teaches in the same field of endeavor of detecting traffic light signals
obtaining a near infrared light signal emitted by a traffic signal (abstract, lines 23-38 of col. 5, and lines 38-55 of col. 6, recite
[abstract] “…Transmitters of highly directional energy are installed at the traffic lights and/or signs while receivers for this radiant energy are installed on each vehicle. False warnings are avoided by transmitting at least two simultaneous coded signals from the traffic light/sign. A first signal, called a direction signal, indicates the presence of a light/sign while a second signal, called a status signal, indicates the status of the traffic light/sign, e.g. red, yellow, green, "Railroad Crossing", etc. The two signals may be transmitted using two different kinds of radiant energy, e.g. infrared and laser beams.”
[lines 23-38 of col. 5] “The transmitted infrared signal of FIG. 10A is received by receiver-demodulators such as block 14 in FIG. 3 located in approaching vehicles. …The GP1U52X is presented only as an example of a type of element which can perform the required functions of a receiver-demodulator. Obviously, the receiver-demodulator could be built using other hardware components. The GP1U52X is a hybrid IC/infrared detector with a photo diode that has its peak sensitivity in the near infrared range and has a built-in filter to block visible light. FIG. 9 shows a block diagram of the internal operation of the GP1U52X. FIG. 9 shows a block diagram of the internal operation of the GP1U52X. The output of photo diode 90 feeds into preamplifier 91 and limiter 92 to provide a clean signal to the rest of the circuit. Band pass filter 93 rejects all signals outside the band pass. …”
[lines 38-55 of col. 6] “Once the vehicle is receiving a proper Direction signal, i.e a signal with the correct wavelength, correct carrier frequency and correct direction encode frequency, and is also simultaneously receiving a Status signal having a correct wavelength and correct carrier frequency, the demodulated Status signal is presented simultaneously to red, yellow, green and/or other warning decoders. This can be seen in FIG. 3 where the demodulated output of Status Receiver/Demodulator 18 is fed simultaneously to decoders 20, 22, 24, 26 and 28. These decoders check the encode frequency of the demodulated status signal to determine whether it corresponds to the red, yellow, green or other encode frequency. If one of the decoders finds a proper encode frequency, the corresponding alarm is activated. For example, if Red Decoder 20 receives its encode signal, Red Alarm 30 will light. The red, yellow, green, etc. decoders of FIG. 3 perform their functions in the same way as Direction Decoder 16 shown in FIG. 8 described above.”
, where the “directional signal” and “status signal” are “near infrared light signals” used to match a target characteristic (e.g., “wavelength”, “frequency”, etc.) with a preset characteristic description (e.g., “red, yellow, or green”) of a traffic light);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the presently filed invention to obtain the infrared light signal emitted by a traffic signal indication apparatus of Borowski, as modified by Yaginuma and Endo, as a near infrared signal to reduce erroneous infrared signal detection by obtaining a clean infrared signal blocking visible light as taught by Pogue (lines 23-38 of col. 5--—see citation above).
Regarding claim 4, Borowski, as modified by Yaginuma, Endo, and Pogue, discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein Endo further teaches the plurality of preset characteristic descriptions describe different shapes (description, paras. [0016] and [0032], recite
[0016] “…This information includes road information, local information, weather information, and other information. For example, in the case of road information, it includes location information of the traffic light SIG1, timing information for the red, green, and yellow signal lights 2 to light up, or traffic volume information and accident information for the intersection where the traffic light is located. …”
[0032] “Furthermore, although the embodiment shows an example in which the luminance patterns of the signal lights of a plurality of different traffic lights are all set to the same diamond-shaped pattern, the luminance patterns of the respective traffic lights may be set to different pattern shapes.
In this case, the vehicle's signal recognition unit can be configured to store multiple different patterns in advance, and by comparing the brightness pattern obtained by capturing an image with the stored pattern, it can determine which pattern matches the other, and recognize the target traffic light based on this determined pattern.”
, where setting the “luminance patterns of the respective traffic lights” to “different pattern shapes” is having the at least two preset characteristic descriptions (e.g., traffic light colors such as “red, green, and yellow signal lights”) respectively describe different shapes).
Regarding claim 5, Borowski, as modified by Yaginuma, Endo, and Pogue, discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein Endo further teaches the plurality of preset characteristic descriptions describe different pulse forms (description, para. [0016] and [0033]—see citations in claim 1 above—, where description, para. [0024], further recites:
[0024] “Next, when the vehicle ECU 3 recognizes the luminance pattern P1 of the signal light of the closest traffic light, here the signal light SIG1, the vehicle ECU 3 outputs the luminance data of the luminance pattern P1 to the demodulation unit 32.
The demodulation unit 32 demodulates the optical signal based on the blinking of the input brightness data to obtain information.
This demodulation is achieved by decoding a pulse code signal, which is the pulse signal position on the time axis when the specific LED 21s constituting the brightness pattern P1 blinks, as shown in FIG. 4(c). …”
, where “timing information” for different respective traffic light signals of “red, green, and yellow signal lights” is based on a “pulse code signal” is the plurality of preset descriptions further comprising different pulse forms).
Regarding claim 6, the claim differs from claim 1 in that the claim is in the form of a terminal comprising: a near infrared signal detector and a processor, wherein the near infrared signal detector and processor are configured to perform the method of claim 1. Borowski, as modified by Yaginuma, Endo, and Pogue, discloses said terminal comprising: a near infrared signal detector and a processor (Borowski; description, para. [0017], recites
[0017] “Both the camera 9 and the external microphone 11 are connected to a control unit 13 of the vehicle 1, in which these received signals are evaluated. The results of the evaluation of the control unit 13 can be wirelessly output from a transmitting/receiving device 15 to a cloud 17 for general traffic control. It is also possible to transmit the evaluation signals 19 to following vehicles 21.”
, where the “camera 9” is a near infrared signal detection apparatus and the “control unit 13 of the vehicle 1” comprises a processor for evaluating the received signals). Therefore, claim 6 recites similar limitations to claim 1 and is rejected for similar rationale and reasoning (see the analysis for claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 4 and is rejected for similar rationale and reasoning (see the analysis for claim 4 above).
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 5 and is rejected for similar rationale and reasoning (see the analysis for claim 5 above).
Regarding claim 11, the claim differs from claim 1 in that the claim is in the form of a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, comprising computer-readable instructions, wherein when the computer-readable instructions are run on a computer, the computer is enabled to perform the method of claim 1. Therefore, claim 11 recites similar limitations to claim 1 and is rejected for similar rationale and reasoning (see the analysis for claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 14, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 4 and is rejected for similar rationale and reasoning (see the analysis for claim 4 above).
Regarding claim 15, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 5 and is rejected for similar rationale and reasoning (see the analysis for claim 5 above).
Regarding claim 20, Borowski, as modified by Yaginuma, Endo, and Pogue, discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein Borowski further discloses the target characteristic additionally comprises a wavelength (description, para. [0006]—see citation in claim 1 limitation “obtaining a target characteristic…” above).
Regarding claim 21, Borowski, as modified by Yaginuma, Endo, and Pogue, discloses the method according to claim 20, wherein Yaginuma further teaches some of the plurality of preset characteristic descriptions describe near infrared light wavelength ranges that do not overlap each other (para. [0033]—see citation in claim 1 above above—, where having wavelength ranges for different types of color related to colors of a traffic light is having light signal wavelength ranges that do not overlap each other).
Claims 2, 7, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borowski, as modified by Yaginuma, Endo, and Pogue, as applied to claim(s) 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Vallespi-Gonzalez et al. (Vallespi-Gonzalez; US 2019/0332875 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Borowski, as modified by Yaginuma, Endo, and Pogue, discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein Vallespi-Gonzalez teaches in the same field of endeavor of detecting traffic light signals based on a target characteristics of at least a shape form of the traffic light signals the plurality of preset characteristic descriptions indicate at least two types of traffic operations including "forbidden to pass", "warning", or "permitted to pass" (para. [0044], recites
[0044] “In some embodiments, the one or more states of the one or more traffic signals can include an on state (e.g., a traffic light of the one or more traffic signals are illuminated) associated with a traffic signal being active; an off state (e.g., a traffic light of the one or more traffic signals is not illuminated) associated with a traffic signal being inactive; a green state indicating the vehicle can proceed; a red state indicating the vehicle should stop (e.g., stop at an intersection or crosswalk until the one or more traffic signals change to a state that is not the red state); a yellow (e.g., amber or orange) state indicating the vehicle can proceed with caution; a flashing state to modify what another state of the one or more states of the one or more traffic signals is indicating (e.g., a flashing red state in which the traffic signal alternates between the red state and the off state can indicate that the vehicle should stop before proceeding instead of just stopping as indicated by the red state that is not flashing); a straight arrow state to indicate the vehicle can proceed straight ahead; a left turn state to indicate that the vehicle can turn left (e.g., turn left at an intersection); a right turn state to indicate that the vehicle can turn right (e.g., turn right at an intersection); a pedestrian walking state to indicate a pedestrian can cross a road; a pedestrian stopping state to indicate that a pedestrian should not cross a road; an unknown state indicating that a state cannot be determined with a confidence greater than a predetermined threshold value; and/or a conflicting state indicating that a difference between two most likely states is less than a predetermined threshold value.”
, where the preset characteristic description of red, yellow, and green each indicate the types of traffic operation information of ‘forbidden to pass’ (i.e., “stop”), ‘warning’ (i.e., “caution”), and ‘permitted to pass’ (i.e., “proceed”), respectively).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the presently filed invention that the plurality of preset characteristic descriptions of Borowski, as modified by Yaginuma, Endo, and Pogue, (i.e., “traffic light color[s]” or “status” of “yellow”, “red”, or “green” as disclosed in description, paras. [0009] and [0019] of Borowski—see citations in claim 1 limitation “matching the target characteristic…” above) would indicate at least two types of traffic operations including "forbidden to pass", "warning", or "permitted to pass" because the target characteristics of traffic light colors of “red”, “yellow”, and “green” indicate the traffic operations of “forbidden to pass”, “warning”, and “permitted to pass”, respectively, as taught by Vallespi-Gonzalez above.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 2 and is rejected for similar rationale and reasoning (see the analysis for claim 2 above).
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 2 and is rejected for similar rationale and reasoning (see the analysis for claim 2 above).
Regarding claim 16, Borowski, as modified by Yaginuma, Endo, and Pogue, discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein Vallespi-Gonzalez teaches in the same field of endeavor of detecting traffic light signals based on a target characteristics of at least a shape form of the traffic light signals the different shapes comprise at least two of a triangle, a rhombus, or a cross (paras. [0095-0097], recite
[0095] “…can include a section of a traffic signal device that is used to indicate different states using a color and/or shape. The colors of the section… can include a red state. …Further, the section… can be in the form of various shapes including circular, square, rectangular, triangular, an arrow (e.g., a straight ahead arrow, a left-turn arrow, or a right-turn arrow), cross-shaped (e.g., a plus sign), or x-shaped.”
[0096] “…can include a section of a traffic signal device that is used to indicate different states using a color and/or shape. The colors of the section… can include a yellow state (e.g., an amber state or orange state). …Further, the section… can be in the form of various shapes including circular, square, rectangular, triangular, an arrow (e.g., a straight ahead arrow, a left-turn arrow, or a right-turn arrow), cross-shaped (e.g., a plus sign), or x-shaped.”
[0097] “…can include a section of a traffic signal device that is used to indicate different states using a color and/or shape. The colors of the section… can include a green state. …Further, the section… can be in the form of various shapes including circular, square, rectangular, triangular, an arrow (e.g., a straight ahead arrow, a left-turn arrow, or a right-turn arrow), cross-shaped (e.g., a plus sign), or x-shaped.”
).
Since Endo also teaches that the plurality of preset characteristic descriptions of different traffic light signals describe different shapes such as at least a rhombus shape (see paras. [0016] and [0032] of Endo in claim 4 above, where a “diamond” is a rhombus), a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the different shapes can further comprise of at least two of a triangle, a rhombus, or a cross as taught by Vallespi-Gonzalez to yield the predictable result of recognizing the target traffic light amongst different traffic light signals based on the determined target characteristic as taught by Endo (see para. [0032] in claim 4 above).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borowski, as modified by Yaginuma, Endo, and Pogue, as applied to claim 5 above, and further more in view of Nagamine et al. (Nagamine; JP 2009-78687 A).
Regarding claim 17, Borowski, as modified by Yaginuma, Endo, and Pogue, discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein Nagamine teaches in the same field of endeavor of pulse forms the different pulse forms comprise, within a preset duration, at least (description, paras. [0001], [0006], [0017], and [0018], recite
[0001] “…In this specification, railway signals refer to railway color light signals, signs, or special signal lights.”
[0006] “…The second problem that the present invention aims to solve is to reliably eliminate the effects of external light caused by sunlight and external light sources in a device that uses infrared rays to check the visual acceptance of railway signals.
In this specification, infrared rays refer to electromagnetic waves having a wavelength of 0.7 μm to 1000 μm, including near infrared rays, mid infrared rays, and far infrared rays.”
[0017] “FIG. 3 is a flow chart showing the operation of the infrared emitter 2 constituting the device for checking visual recognition of railway signals according to the embodiment of the present invention.
That is, the pattern signal generating circuit 22 of the infrared emitter 2 generates a first N-bit pattern signal (101), and the infrared light emitting element 21 emits light in accordance with the first N-bit pattern signal (102).
Then, the pattern signal generating circuit 22 generates a second N-bit pattern signal (103), the infrared light emitting element 21 emits light in accordance with the second N-bit pattern signal (104), and the process returns to the initial step 101.”
[0018] “As described above, the first confirmation bit pattern is "01010101", and the second confirmation bit pattern is "00010001".
In short, when the power switch is turned on, the infrared emitter 2 first emits infrared light in a blinking pattern according to the first confirmation bit pattern "01010101", i.e., "off", "on", "off", "on", "off", "off", "on", "off", "on", then blinks according to the second confirmation bit pattern "00010001", i.e., "off", "off", "off", "off", "off", "on", and so on, repeating the infrared light emission of the first confirmation bit pattern and the second confirmation bit pattern.”
, where the differentiation of emitted “infrared light” including “near infrared rays” of a “railway color light signals” is determined using different “N-bit pattern signals” is having different near infrared light signal pulse forms comprise, withing a preset duration, as at least a first bit pattern of 4 pulses (i.e., each ‘1’ in the bit pattern “01010101” is a pulse) and a second bit pattern of 2 pulses (i.e., each ‘1’ in the bit pattern “00010001” is a pulse”)).
Since Endo also teaches different pulse forms for different respective traffic light signal colors (see claim 5 above), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the presently filed invention to modify the system of Borowski, as modified by Yaginuma, Endo, and Pogue, to incorporate different pulse forms within a preset duration of at least three, four, or seven pulses to differentiate “color light signals” as taught by Nagamine above.
Where Borowski, as modified by Yaginuma, Endo, and Pogue, does not specifically disclose
the different near infrared light signal pulse forms comprise, within a preset duration, at least two of three, four, or seven pulses;
it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try including at least two of different number of pulse forms, such as at least two of the claimed three, four, or seven pulses, for different near infrared signal pulse forms in the system of Borowski, as modified by Yaginuma, Endo, Pogue, and Nagamine, because Nagamine teaches using different “N-bit pattern signals” to differentiate “color light signals” as disclosed in the citations above.
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borowski, as modified by Yaginuma, Endo, and Pogue, as applied to claim 6 above, and further more in view of Takisawa et al. (Takisawa; JP 2017-21487 A).
Regarding claim 18, Borowski, as modified by Yaginuma, Endo, and Pogue, discloses the terminal according to claim 6, wherein Borowski further discloses the near infrared signal detector includes a light filter apparatus and a(n) (description, para. [0015], recites
[0015] “…In addition, each light source 5 has a light source (not shown) which emits a signal 7 in the infrared range. This signal 7 is detected by a camera 9 of the vehicle 1…”
, where “camera 9” which detects “signal 7 in the infrared range” is an infrared imaging sensor; and
lines 23-38 of col. 5 of Pogue—see citation in claim 1 above—teaches the near infrared signal detection apparatus includes a light filter apparatus (i.e., a “band pass filter”)).
Borowski, as modified by Yaginuma, Endo, and Pogue, does not specifically disclose
…a near infrared imaging sensor;
Takisawa teaches in the same field of endeavor of detecting traffic light signals
a near infrared imaging sensor (description, paras. [0007] and [0043], recite
[0007] “An object of the present invention is to provide an image processing device capable of accurately reproducing the color of a traffic light contained in a captured image of the area around the traffic light, a traffic management system including the same, and an image processing method.”
[0043] “…Near-infrared light is used in infrared cameras and the like, taking advantage of the fact that it has characteristics similar to visible light…”
, where the “infrared cameras” are near infrared imaging sensor).
Since Borowski discloses an infrared imaging camera, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the infrared imaging camera of Borowski, as modified by Yaginuma, Endo, and Pogue, can be a near infrared imaging sensor to enable image capture even in dark conditions as taught by Takisawa (para. [0043]—see citation above—and para. [0002] further recites:
[0002] “…Generally, such captured images are infrared images obtained by irradiating a subject such as a vehicle with near-infrared rays and capturing the reflected light. This is to enable images to be captured even in dark conditions such as at night.”
).
Regarding claim 19, Borowski, as modified by Yaginuma, Endo, Pogue, and Takisawa, discloses the terminal according to claim 18, wherein Pogue further teaches the light filter apparatus comprises a band-pass light filter (lines 23-38 of col. 5—see citation in claim 1 above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee (KR 20200072583 A) discloses in the abstract and description, paras. [0032], [0036], and [0041]:
[abstract] “A traffic light information providing device according to one embodiment of the present invention includes an infrared LED, a traffic light installed at a crosswalk or intersection to indicate a traffic signal, and a control unit that controls the blinking pattern of the infrared LED to output an infrared signal corresponding to the location coordinates of the location where the traffic light is installed.”
[0032] “A red light (11), a yellow light (12), a left turn light (13), and a green light (14) are each electrically connected to the output side of the control unit (20).”
[0036] “In the above embodiment, it is described that infrared LEDs are installed in each indicator light (11A, 12A, 13A, 14A) of the traffic light (10), but it is not limited thereto.
It is possible to install the infrared LED in any one of the indicator lights (11A, 12A, 13A, 14A) of the traffic light (10), or it may be installed separately in another location where no indicator light is installed in the traffic light (10).”
[0041] “Even if the infrared LED blinks, the infrared signal it outputs is in the infrared range and is not recognized by the human eye. As will be described later, it can only be recognized by a device installed in the vehicle that receives and analyzes infrared signals.
Accordingly, the traffic light (10) is displayed in the same manner as in the conventional method, but the device installed in the vehicle can recognize the GPS location coordinates of the traffic light (10) corresponding to the infrared signal.”
/J.Z.Y./Examiner, Art Unit 2666
/EMILY C TERRELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2666