DETAILED ACTION
The first inventor to file provisions of the Leahy-Smith America Invents Act (AIA ) apply to any application for patent, and to any patent issuing thereon, that contains or contained at any time—
(A) a claim to a claimed invention that has an effective filing date on or after March 16, 2013 wherein the effective filing date is:
(i) if subparagraph (ii) does not apply, the actual filing date of the patent or the application for the patent containing a claim to the invention; or
(ii) the filing date of the earliest application for which the patent or application is entitled, as to such invention, to a right of priority under 35 U.S.C. 119, 365(a), or 365(b) or to the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c); or
(B) a specific reference under 35 U.S.C. 120 , 121, or 365(c), to any patent or application that contains or contained at any time a claim as defined in paragraph (A), above.
Status of the Claims
Claim(s) 18-21, 25-26, and 29-30 is/are pending. Claim(s) 1-17, 22-24, and 27-28 is/are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 7/8/2026, with respect to the claim warnings have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim warnings of claims 19-20, 22, 24, and 27-28 has/have been withdrawn due to the Applicant’s amendments.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 7/8/2026, with respect to the Double Patenting Rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Double Patenting Rejections of claims 18-29 has/have been withdrawn due to the Applicant’s filing of a terminal disclaimer on 7/8/2026, which was approved on 7/8/2026.
Applicant's arguments filed 7/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the prior art, Applicant argues the amended claim language is not taught. Further, Applicant argues the rejection of claim 27 does not meet the amended claim language as the prior art does not teach a peripheral portion with an open end and an inner surface between the peripheral portion’s open end and a free and closed distal end of the of the peripheral portion. (Applicant’s Response on 7/8/2026, pages 5-6).
Annotated Figure 35(2) below shows three locations as follows.
Location #1: open end where the optic portion and peripheral portion are coupled (see also Figure 33)
Location #2: an inner surface of the peripheral portion
Location #3: free and closed end of the peripheral portion; box added to further show section where arrow points.
Applicant’s arguments directed to the groove axially anterior of the noted arrow location are moot as this location was/is not indicated as part of the closed, free end.
Location is a free end as this radially outermost end is not attached to another feature and is closed as it is solid.
The inner surface at location #2 is at a radial distance between the distances of locations #1 and #3. Further, location #2 is between locations #1 and #3 as indicated below in Figure 35(3) at the location of #2 at the arrow tip.
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18-19, 21, and 25-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stevens (US 2013/0331937 A1).
Regarding Claim 18, Stevens teaches an intraocular lens (e.g. abstract), comprising:
an optic portion (e.g. Figure 33, #70; top element in Figure 35); and
a peripheral portion (e.g. Figure 33, #72; bottom element in Figure 35),
wherein an outer periphery of the optic portion has a peripheral surface (e.g. Figure 33), wherein the peripheral surface has a depression (e.g. annotated Figure 35(1) below), that is not symmetrical about an axis orthogonal to an optical axis of the optic portion (e.g. annotated Figure 35(1) below, about axis that is the dotted line shown), and wherein a radially inner portion of the peripheral portion of the intraocular lens has an inner surface (e.g. Figures 33, 35),
wherein the peripheral surface is directly adjacent to the inner surface and does not directly extend from the inner surface (e.g. Figure 33), and
wherein at least a portion of the inner surface is disposed in the depression (e.g. Figure 33),
wherein the inner surface (e.g. annotated Figure 35(2) below, label #2) is disposed between a location where the peripheral portion extends from the optic portion (e.g. annotated Figure 35(2) below, label #1; see also Figure 33, which shows the position of the optic relative to location #1, the peripheral portion extends radially outward from the optic at this location) and a free and closed distal end of the peripheral portion (e.g. annotated Figure 35(2) below, label #3; location #3 is the axially straight end where the arrow is located; a box is added for further clarity) (the inner surface at location #2 is at a radial distance between the distances of locations #1 and #3; further, location #2 is between locations #1 and #3 as indicated below in Figure 35(3) below at the location of #2 at the arrow tip) .
Annotated Figure 35(1), Stevens
Annotated Figure 35(2), Stevens
Annotated Figure 35(3), Stevens
Regarding Claims 19, the depression is defined such that a portion of the peripheral surface is set radially inward relative to another portion of the peripheral surface along an anterior-to-posterior direction (e.g. Figure 33).
Regarding Claim 21, the portion of the inner surface is disposed in the depression when the intraocular lens is in an at-rest configuration (e.g. Figure 33).
Regarding Claim 25, the inner surface that is disposed in the depression is disposed axially between an anterior-most location of the optic portion and a posterior-most location of the optic portion (e.g. Figure 33).
Regarding Claim 26, the inner surface is spaced away from and around the outer periphery of the optic portion from a location where the peripheral portion extends from the optic portion (e.g. Figure 33).
Regarding Claim 29, the inner surface that is disposed in the depression has a height in an anterior-to-posterior direction that is less than a greatest height dimension of the peripheral portion (e.g. Figure 33; the inner surface height is less that the total height (greatest height) of the peripheral portion).
Regarding Claim 30, the peripheral surface comprises a plurality of depressions spaced apart around the outer periphery of the optic portion (e.g. Figure 33, # 862 in #76s; Figure 12A shows that #s 76 are spaced apart lugs).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stevens (US 2013/0331937 A1) as discussed supra and further in view of Smiley, et al (Smiley) (US 2013/0131794 A1).
Regarding Claim 20, Stevens discloses the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach the intraocular lens is a fluid-filled intraocular lens, wherein the optic portion comprises an optic fluid chamber, and wherein the peripheral portion comprises at least one peripheral fluid chamber in fluid communication with the optic fluid chamber.
Smiley teaches an IOL having optic (e.g. Figure 1C, #12) and peripheral portions (e.g. Figure 1C, #s 14) and the intraocular lens is a fluid-filled intraocular lens (e.g. Figures 1A-H, [0049]), wherein the optic portion comprises an optic fluid chamber (e.g. Figure 1C, #12), and wherein the peripheral portion comprises at least one peripheral fluid chamber in fluid communication with the optic fluid chamber (e.g. Figure 1C, [0049]).
Smiley and Stevens are concerned with the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, namely IOLs having optic and peripheral components.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stevens such that the optic and haptic portions are fluid elements that communicate with one another as taught by Smiley in as it is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143(I)). Here, the results are predictable because each claimed element performs in the same manner in the combination as it does separately. Specifically, the fluid provides a means of transferring the forces of the eye muscles to the optic portion, which results in the needed accommodation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LESLIE A LOPEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774 8/27/2026