DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 14, line 8, “…rearranges data included in the first packet and data included in the second packet…” should read ““…rearranges the data included in the first packet and the data included in the second packet…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, line 10, the limitation of “the kth output end” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 1, line 13, the limitation of “ the kth group” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 1, line 16, the limitation of “the first setting to the Mth setting” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 4 (depending on claim 3 which depends on claim 2), in the first setting (paragraph 3), the first selection circuit is coupled between third input end and the second input end and the second selection circuit is coupled between fifth input end and fourth input end; however, in claim 2, the first setting is designed to connect first input to second input; third input to fourth input; fifth input to sixth input which is very different than the first setting of claim 4;
Furthermore, in the second setting of claim 4 (paragraph 4), first selection circuit is coupled to third input end and the fourth input end and the second selection circuit is coupled between fifth input end and the sixth input end; however, in claim 2, the second setting is designed to connect second input to third input; fourth input to fifth input; sixth input to seventh input. This is again very different than the second setting of claim 4. Therefore, the limitation of claim 4 is not clear.
For examining propose, examiner will treat the claims with selection of different input in circuit and add to the output with no specific input arrangement.
Regarding claim 6, 6th paragraph, the fourth selection circuit is configured to couple between the eight input and sixth input end or between the seventh input end and the ninth input end. However, refer to Fig. 27-Fig. 29, the fourth selection circuit (SWb3) is coupled to eighth input and sixth input or eighth input and ninth input. Therefore, the limitation of claim 6 is not clear.
For examining propose, examiner will treat the claims with selection of different input in circuit and add to the output with no specific input arrangement.
Regarding claim 7 (depending on claim 6 which depends on claim 5), in first setting (paragraph 3), the first selection circuit is coupled between fourth input end and the third input end; second selection circuit is coupled between fifth input end and third input end; third selection circuit is coupled between seventh input end and sixth input end; and fourth selection circuit is coupled between eight input end and sixth input end; however, in claim 5, the first setting is designed to add first input, second input and third input; fourth input, fifth input and sixth input; seventh input, eighth input and ninth input which is very different than the first setting of clam 7.
Furthermore, Similar for third setting (paragraph 5), in claim 7, the first selection circuit is coupled between fourth input and sixth input; second selection circuit is coupled between fifth input and sixth input; third selection circuit is coupled between seventh and ninth input; fourth selection circuit is coupled between eighth input and ninth input; however, in claim 5, the third setting is designed to add third input, fourth input and fifth input; sixth input, seventh input and eighth input; ninth input, tenth input and eleventh input; This is again very different than the third setting of clam 7. Therefore, the limitation of claim 7 is not clear.
For examining propose, examiner will treat the claims with selection of different input in circuit and add to the output with no specific input arrangement.
Regarding claim 14, line 5, the limitation of “the first time” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 14, line 7, the limitation of “the second time” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 15, line 4, the limitation of “the first time to the Mth time” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 16, line 2, the limitation of “the first time to the Mth time” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 17, line 3, the limitation of “the first time” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 17, line 8, the limitation of “the second time” lacks antecedent basis.
For examining propose, examiner will treat the claims 14-17 with the first time to Mth time respected to specification paragraph [0111], [0114], [0169], [0173], [0177], Fig. 12-13, Fig. 27-29 and the first time to Mth time interpreted as different range measurements.
Claims 2-3, 5, 8-13, and 18-19 are rejected due to claim dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8-13 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Druml et al. (US 20220018941 A1, hereinafter “Druml”).
Regarding claim 1, Druml teaches a signal processing device (Druml; Fig. 11A, element 24) configured to process a plurality of intermittently input signals (Druml; Fig. 2, element 15), the signal processing device comprising:
a plurality of input ends configured to input the plurality of signals (Druml; Fig. 11A, [0106], the receiver circuit 24 is selectively coupled to sub-pixels 1 according to configuration control signals received from the system controller 23. The configuration control signals provide sub-sub-pixel and sub-pixel clustering information for selectively grouping sub-sub-pixels into sub-pixels and for selectively grouping sub-pixels into pixels; [0107], the sum of electrical signals (e.g. current) from each sub-sub-pixel of a respective sub-pixel is received as a sub-pixel current; subpixel 1 current to subpixels n current equivalent to a plurality of signals), respectively;
first to Nth output ends respectively associated with first to Nth groups (N is an integer of not less than two), each of the first to Nth groups including M (M is an integer of not less than two) consecutive input ends (Druml; Fig. 11A, [0108], each select and sum circuit 31-1 to 31-n selects which subpixel currents (subpixel 1 current to subpixel n current equivalent to M consecutive inputs ends) to add among those received and applies a summing algorithm to sum the selected sub-pixels current together to generate a pixel current for the corresponding pixel. The respective pixel currents are passing to TIA (converts the pixel current into a voltage signal) and ADC (converts the analog voltage signal into a digital signal) and then transmitted on a readout channel as pixel data from the receiver circuit 24 to the system controller 23 for further processing; pixel 1 Data to pixel n Data equivalent to first to Nth output ends and obviously from Fig. 11A, n is equal or larger than 2); and
a control circuit configured to output, to the kth output end, a signal based on a signal obtained by adding a plurality of signals respectively input to the M consecutive input ends of the kth group (k an integer of not less than 1 and not more than N), the control circuit being configured to switch combinations of input ends as the M input ends to set different combinations at the first setting to the Mth setting (Druml; Fig. 6, [0098]-[0101], illustrates pixel averaging of pixel A represented in Fig. 5A-5D. Pixel data average for each pixel over a plurality of frames can be generated; Fig. 11A, [0108], each select and sum circuits 31-1, 31-2, …., and 31-n selects which sub-pixel currents to add among those received and applies a summing algorithm to sum the selected sub-pixels current together to generate a pixel current for the corresponding pixels; [0107], the sub-pixel currents are received at selected select and sum circuits 31-1 to 31-n, each corresponding to an assigned pixel based on sub-pixel clustering information. Thus, the sub-pixel currents are grouped into assigned pixels based on their assignment to a particular select and sum circuits; equivalent to the control circuit being configured to switch combinations of input ends as the M input ends to set different combinations).
Regarding claim 8, Druml teaches a light detector (Druml; Fig. 1-2, [0044], a schematic diagram of a Lidar scanning system with receiver path including segmented pixel sensor 15 and receiving circuit 24 (Fig. 11A, [0106])) comprising:
the signal processing device defined in claim 1 (please see above mapping of claim 1); and a plurality of light detection elements respectively coupled to the plurality of input ends (Druml; Fig. 2, Fig. 3A-3B, [0083], 12 microcells 2 are included. Thus, a SiPM 1 has 12 SPADs arranged in an array. The output of the pixel 5 formed by the 4x4 SiPM array is cumulative according to the electrical signals generated by the SPADs 3. The segmented pixels sensor is coupled to receiver circuit 24; Fig. 11A-11B, [0107], [0109], the sum of electrical signals form each sub-sub-pixel of a respective sub-pixel is received as a sub-pixel current (equivalent to a plurality of light detection elements respectively coupled to the plurality of input ends)).
Regarding claim 9, Druml teaches a light detector of claim 8, wherein each of the light detection elements include an avalanche photodiode (Druml; Fig. 2, Fig. 3A-3B, [0083], 12 microcells 2 are included. Thus, a SiPM 1 has 12 SPADs (avalanche photodiode [0035]) arranged in an array. The output of the pixel 5 formed by the 4x4 SiPM array is cumulative according to the electrical signals generated by the SPADs 3. The segmented pixels sensor is coupled to receiver circuit 24).
Regarding claim 10, Druml teaches a light detector of claim 9, wherein at each of the first setting to the Mth setting, a voltage higher than a voltage at an anode of the avalanche photodiode is applied to a cathode of the avalanche photodiode (Druml; [0048], SPADs, like avalanche photodiode (APDs), exploit the incident radiation triggered avalanche current of a p-n junction when reverse biased. The fundamental different between SPADs and APDs is that SPADs are specifically designed to operate with a reverse-bias voltage well above its breakdown voltage. This kind of operation is also called Geiger-mode).
Regarding claim 11, Druml teaches a light detector of claim 8, further comprising a column selector, wherein
the plurality of light detection elements respectively coupled to the plurality of input ends are classified into a plurality of cell units including at least one light detection element (Druml; Fig. 5A-5D, [0091], illustrate a dynamic formation of pixels that move across a segmented pixel sensor according to one or more embodiments; [0092], an illumination area 16 that is larger than the respective utilized sensor area of segment pixel sensor is used. Provided are activated pixel 5a (comprising a 4x4 area of sub-pixels are fully within the sensor arear), deactivated pixels 5b (only partially within the sensor area), and deactivated sub-pixels that are arranged between activated and/or deactivated pixels. The activated/deactivated area is equivalent to cell units which including 4x4 area of sub-pixel; Fig. 11A, [0107], the sum of electrical signal from each sub-sub-pixel of a respective subpixel is received as a sub-pixel current and are received at selected select and sum circuits 31-1 to 31-n, each corresponding to an assigned pixel based on sub-pixel clustering information. Additional multiplexers and summing circuit may be used for grouping and summing sub-sub-pixels into sub-pixel currents based on sub-sub-pixel clustering information and directing the sub-pixel current to assigned select and sum circuit according to the sub-pixel clustering information), and
the column selector is configured to selectively couple each of the plurality of input ends to at least one of the associated cell units (same as above).
Regarding claim 12, Druml teaches a light detector of claim 11, wherein the column selector is configured to switch combinations of the input ends (Druml; Fig. 5A-5D, [0091], illustrate a dynamic formation of pixels that move across a segmented pixel sensor (equivalent to switch combinations of the input ends) according to one or more embodiments; [0092], an illumination area 16 that is larger than the respective utilized sensor area of segment pixel sensor is used. Provided are activated pixel 5a (comprising a 4x4 area of sub-pixels are fully within the sensor arear), deactivated pixels 5b (only partially within the sensor area), and deactivated sub-pixels that are arranged between activated and/or deactivated pixels. The activated/deactivated area is equivalent to cell units which including 4x4 area of sub-pixel; Fig. 11A, [0107], the sum of electrical signal from each sub-sub-pixel of a respective subpixel is received as a sub-pixel current and are received at selected select and sum circuits 31-1 to 31-n, each corresponding to an assigned pixel based on sub-pixel clustering information. Additional multiplexers and summing circuit may be used for grouping and summing sub-sub-pixels into sub-pixel currents based on sub-sub-pixel clustering information and directing the sub-pixel current to assigned select and sum circuit according to the sub-pixel clustering information).
Regarding claim 13, Druml teaches a distance measuring device (Druml; Fig. 1-2, [0044], a schematic diagram of a Lidar scanning system with receiver path including segmented pixel sensor 15 and receiving circuit 24 (Fig. 11A, [0106])) comprising:
the light detector defined in claim 8 (please see above mapping of claim 8);
a light source configured to emit a light signal (Druml; Fig. 1-2, [0049], the illumination unit 10 includes multiple light sources transmit light for scanning the FOV for objects); and
a measurement circuit configured to detect reflected light of the light signal based on a signal output from the light detector, the detection circuit being configured to calculate a distance value by using a time at which the light source emits the light signal and a time at which the reflected light is detected (Druml; Fig. 2, [0044], the receiver may further include receiver circuitry, such as data acquisition/redout circuitry and data processing circuitry; [0057], multiple scans may be used to generate distance and depth maps, as well as 3D images by a processing unit; [0059], the segmented pixel sensor 15 generates digital measurement signal based on received light. The digital measurement signals may be used for generating a 3D map of the environment and/or other object data based on the reflected light (e.g., via TOF calculations and processing); [0061], the segmented pixel sensor 15 receives reflective light pulses as the receiving line RL and generates digital electrical signals in response thereto. A time-of-flight computation using the electrical signals can determine the distance of objects from the segmented pixel sensor; [0063], multiple time measurements are averages and calculates the distance to the target at that particular filed position).
Regarding claim 15, Druml teaches the distance measuring device of claim 13, wherein the image processing circuit generates N × M pixels based on data of a plurality of distance values corresponding to the first time to the Mth time (Druml; Fig. 13A, [0128], two consecutive laser shots 17 and 18 (correspond to any two consecutive steps) into the FOV; Fig. 13B-13C, [0129], different possible pixel positions at which laser shots 17 and 18 may be received on the segmented pixel sensor 15 based on a time-of-flight of each laser shot 17 and 18; [0063], multiple time measurements are averages and calculates the distance to the target at that particular filed position; [0040], differences in return times for each light pulse across multiple pixels of the pixel array can then be used to make digital 3D representation of an environment or to generate other sensor data. Since each shot has plurality of pixels (says N pixels) and two different shot (17 and 18; means M=2), the image processing circuit can generate NxM pixels as expected).
Regarding claim 16, Druml teaches the distance measuring device of claim 13, wherein the control circuit repeatedly executes processing at the first time to the Mth time and transmits, to the measurement circuit, information based on outputs from the first output end to the Nth output end at each of the first time to the Mth time for every processing at the Mth time (Druml; Figs. 5A-5D, [0091], illustrate a dynamic formation of pixels that move across a segmented pixel sensor. Figs. 5A-5D represent a sequential order of laser shooting events (e.g., four steps of four consecutive laser transmission or laser shoots) of a Lissajous scanning operation; Fig. 6, [0098], illustrates pixels averaging of pixel A represented in Figs. 5A-5D. The system controller 23 receives the pixel measurement signal from pixel A in each of the sequential steps and applies an equally weighed averaging to generate an averaged pixel measurement signal. The same averaging can be applied to each of the pixels A-E to generate averaged pixel data for each of the pixels across multiple frames. Similar executing processing and readout can be seen in Fig. 7-10).
Regarding claim 17, Druml teaches the distance measuring device of claim 13, wherein
when calculating a distance value at a measurement point of a target at the first time, the measurement circuit is configured to use measurement results at a plurality of measurement points included in a first range including the measurement point (Druml; [0059], the segmented pixel sensor 15 generates digital measurement signal based on received light. The digital measurement signals may be used for generating a 3D map of the environment and/or other object data based on the reflected light (e.g., via TOF calculations and processing)); and
when calculating a distance value of a measurement point of a target at the second time, the measurement circuit is configured to use measurement results at a plurality of measurement points included in a second range shifted from the first range by at least half of a pixel in a vertical direction (same as above; Druml; Fig. 13A, [0128], two consecutive laser shots 17 and 18 (correspond to any two consecutive steps) into the FOV. The two consecutive laser shots 17 and 18 overlap by a pixel (equivalent to the second range shifted from the first range by at least half of a pixel, seen Fig. 13 A the illuminated area pixel A, B, C, D for shot 17, and pixel C, E, F, G for shot 18); Fig. 13B-13C, [0129], different possible pixel positions at which laser shots 17 and 18 may be received on the segmented pixel sensor 15 based on a time-of-flight of each laser shot 17 and 18. Equivalent to plurality of distance value related to different time; [0057], multiple scans may be used to generate distance and depth maps, as well as 3D images by a processing unit).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Druml alone.
Regarding claim 2, Druml teaches the signal processing device of claim 1, wherein if M = 2,
the plurality of input ends include first to (N × 2 + 1)th inputs (Druml; Fig. 11A, [0107], the sub-pixel currents are received at selected select and sum circuits 31-1 to 31-n. Subpixel 1 current to subpixel n current equivalent to the plurality of input ends; Fig. 3A-3B shows a SiPM sub-pixel 1 included in the pixel 5 of the segmented pixel sensor 15 (at least 16 subpixel 1 is showing in the sensor 15, equivalent to first to (Nx2+1)th inputs)), and
the control circuit is configured to (Druml; Fig. 11A, [0107], the sub-pixel currents are grouped into assigned pixels based on their assignment to a particular select and sum circuits 31-1 to 31-n (equivalent to control circuits)):
output a signal based on a signal obtained by adding a plurality of signals respectively input to the (k × 2 -1)th input end and the (k × 2)th input end to the kth output end at the first setting (Druml; Fig. 11A, [0108], each select and sum circuits 31-1 to 31-n selects which sub-pixel currents to add among those received and applies a summing algorithm to sum the selected sub-pixels current together to generate a pixel current for the corresponding pixel. The respective pixel currents are passing to TIA (converts the pixel current into a voltage signal) and ADC (converts the analog voltage signal into a digital signal) and then transmitted on a readout channel as pixel data from the receiver circuit 24 to the system controller 23 for further processing; pixel 1 Data to pixel n Data equivalent to first to Nth groups and obviously from Fig. 11A, n is larger than 2); and
output a signal based on a signal obtained by adding a plurality of signals respectively input to the (k × 2)th input end and the (k × 2 + 1)th input end to the kth output end at the second setting (same as above).
Though the prior art does not specific the detail of how to select the subpixel current to the output pixel Data. The selection of the subpixel current with different combination would be obvious to try because (1) combing multiple signals is a recognized need to average multiple reading cycle to obtain a good signal-to-noise ratio; (2) there exits only a finite set of ways to connect multiple signals (for instance, the input pixel taught by Druml has finite pixels shown in Fig. 3A-3B and predictably only a finite set of ways combining multiple signals); (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the selection of the subpixel current to combine would be obvious to try with known variations (like exploring different parameters in a range or substituting known equivalent) to arrive at the claimed invention, even if no single reference explicitly states it. MPEP § 2143 (E) “Obvious to try-choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with reasonable expectation of success”.
Regarding claim 3, Druml teaches the signal processing device as recited in claim 2, further comprising a first selection circuit and a second selection circuit (Druml; Fig. 11A, [0108], each select and sum circuit 31-1 to 31-n (equivalent to a first selection circuit (31-1) and second selection circuit (31-2)) selects which sub-pixel currents to add among those received and applies a summing algorithm to sum the selected sub-pixel current together to generate a pixel current for the corresponding pixel), wherein
if M = 2,
the (k × 2)th input end is coupled to the kth output end (Druml; Fig. 11A, clearly see the subpixel 1 current to subpixel n current (equivalent to (k x 2)th input end) is coupled to pixel 1 data to pixel n data (equivalent to kth output end)),
the first selection circuit is configured to couple between the third input end and the second input end or between the third input end and the fourth input end (Druml; Fig. 11A, [0108], each select and sum circuits 31-1 to 31-n selects which sub-pixel currents to add among those received and applies a summing algorithm to sum the selected sub-pixels current together to generate a pixel current for the corresponding pixel. The respective pixel currents are passing to TIA (converts the pixel current into a voltage signal) and ADC (converts the analog voltage signal into a digital signal) and then transmitted on a readout channel as pixel data from the receiver circuit 24 to the system controller 23 for further processing), and
the second selection circuit is configured to couple between the fifth input end and the fourth input end or between the fifth input end and the sixth input end (same as above).
Though the prior art does not specific the detail of how to select the subpixel current to the output pixel Data. The selection of the subpixel current with different combination would be obvious to try because (1) combing multiple signals is a recognized need to average multiple reading cycle to obtain a good signal-to-noise ratio; (2) there exits only a finite set of ways to connect multiple signals (for instance, the input pixel taught by Druml has finite pixels shown in Fig. 3A-3B and predictably only a finite set of ways combining multiple signals); (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the selection of the subpixel current to combine would be obvious to try with known variations (like exploring different parameters in a range or substituting known equivalent) to arrive at the claimed invention, even if no single reference explicitly states it. MPEP § 2143 (E) “Obvious to try-choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with reasonable expectation of success”.
Regarding claim 4, Druml teaches the signal processing device as recited in claim 3, wherein if M = 2,
the control circuit is configured to: couple between the third input end and the second input end by controlling the first selection circuit, and couple between the fifth input end and the fourth input end by controlling the second selection circuit at the first setting (Druml; Fig. 11A, [0108], each select and sum circuits 31-1 to 31-n selects which sub-pixel currents to add among those received and applies a summing algorithm to sum the selected sub-pixels current together to generate a pixel current for the corresponding pixel. The respective pixel currents are passing to TIA (converts the pixel current into a voltage signal) and ADC (converts the analog voltage signal into a digital signal) and then transmitted on a readout channel as pixel data from the receiver circuit 24 to the system controller 23 for further processing); and
couple between the third input end and the fourth input end by controlling the first selection circuit and couple between the fifth input end and the sixth input end by controlling the second selection circuit at the second setting (same as above).
Though the prior art does not specific the detail of how to select the subpixel current to the output pixel Data. The selection of the subpixel current with different combination would be obvious to try because (1) combing multiple signals is a recognized need to average multiple reading cycle to obtain a good signal-to-noise ratio; (2) there exits only a finite set of ways to connect multiple signals (for instance, the input pixel taught by Druml has finite pixels shown in Fig. 3A-3B and predictably only a finite set of ways combining multiple signals); (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the selection of the subpixel current to combine would be obvious to try with known variations (like exploring different parameters in a range or substituting known equivalent) to arrive at the claimed invention, even if no single reference explicitly states it. MPEP § 2143 (E) “Obvious to try-choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with reasonable expectation of success”.
Regarding claim 5, Druml teaches the signal processing device as recited in claim 1, wherein if M = 3,
the plurality of input ends include first to (N × 3 + 2)th input ends (Druml; Fig. 11A, [0107], the sub-pixel currents are received at selected select and sum circuits 31-1 to 31-n. Subpixel 1 current to subpixel n current equivalent to the plurality of input ends; Fig. 3A-3B shows a SiPM sub-pixel 1 included in the pixel 5 of the segmented pixel sensor 15 (at least 16 subpixel 1 is showing in the sensor 15, equivalent to first to (Nx3+2)th input)) and
the control circuit is configured (Druml; Fig. 11A, [0107], the sub-pixel currents are grouped into assigned pixels based on their assignment to a particular select and sum circuits 31-1 to 31-n (equivalent to control circuits)) to:
output, to the kth output end, a signal based on a signal obtained by adding a plurality of signals respectively input to the (k × 3 – 2)th input end, the (k × 3 – 1)th input end, and the (k × 3)th input end at the first setting (Druml; Fig. 11A, [0108], each select and sum circuits 31-1 to 31-n selects which sub-pixel currents to add among those received and applies a summing algorithm to sum the selected sub-pixels current together to generate a pixel current for the corresponding pixel. The respective pixel currents are passing to TIA (converts the pixel current into a voltage signal) and ADC (converts the analog voltage signal into a digital signal) and then transmitted on a readout channel as pixel data from the receiver circuit 24 to the system controller 23 for further processing);
output, to the kth output end, a signal based on a signal obtained by adding a plurality of signals respectively input to the (k × 3 - 1)th input end, the (k × 3)th input end, and the (k × 3 + 1)th input end at the second setting (same as above); and
output, to the kth output end, a signal based on a signal obtained by adding a plurality of signals respectively input to the (k × 3)th input end, the (k × 3 + 1)th input end, and the (k × 3 + 2)th input end at the third setting (same as above).
Though the prior art does not specific the detail of how to select the subpixel current to the output pixel Data. The selection of the subpixel current with different combination would be obvious to try because (1) combing multiple signals is a recognized need to average multiple reading cycle to obtain a good signal-to-noise ratio; (2) there exits only a finite set of ways to connect multiple signals (for instance, the input pixel taught by Druml has finite pixels shown in Fig. 3A-3B and predictably only a finite set of ways combining multiple signals); (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the selection of the subpixel current to combine would be obvious to try with known variations (like exploring different parameters in a range or substituting known equivalent) to arrive at the claimed invention, even if no single reference explicitly states it. MPEP § 2143 (E) “Obvious to try-choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with reasonable expectation of success”.
Regarding claim 6, Druml teaches the signal processing device as recited in claim 5, further comprising a first selection circuit to a fourth selection circuit (Druml; Fig. 11A, [0108], each select and sum circuit 31-1 to 31-n (equivalent to a first selection circuit (31-1) to nth selection circuit (31-n); because the subpixel is at least 16 (Fig. 3A-3B), the selection circuit would be expected to more than four selected circuit) selects which sub-pixel currents to add among those received and applies a summing algorithm to sum the selected sub-pixel current together to generate a pixel current for the corresponding pixel), wherein if M =3,
the (k × 3)th input end is coupled to the kth output end (Druml; Fig. 11A, clearly see the subpixel 1 current to subpixel n current (equivalent to (k x 3)th input end) is coupled to pixel 1 data to pixel n data (equivalent to kth output end)),
the first selection circuit is configured to couple between the fourth input end and third input end or between the fourth input end and the sixth input end (Druml; Fig. 11A, [0108], each select and sum circuits 31-1 to 31-n selects which sub-pixel currents to add among those received and applies a summing algorithm to sum the selected sub-pixels current together to generate a pixel current for the corresponding pixel. The respective pixel currents are passing to TIA (converts the pixel current into a voltage signal) and ADC (converts the analog voltage signal into a digital signal) and then transmitted on a readout channel as pixel data from the receiver circuit 24 to the system controller 23 for further processing),
the second selection circuit is configured to couple between the fifth input end and third input end or between the fifth input end and the sixth input end (same as above),
the third selection circuit is configured to couple between the seventh input end and sixth input end or between the seventh input end and the ninth input end (same as above), and
the fourth selection circuit is configured to couple between the eighth input end and sixth input end or between the seventh input end and the ninth input end (same as above).
Though the prior art does not specific the detail of how to select the subpixel current to the output pixel Data. The selection of the subpixel current with different combination would be obvious to try because (1) combing multiple signals is a recognized need to average multiple reading cycle to obtain a good signal-to-noise ratio; (2) there exits only a finite set of ways to connect multiple signals (for instance, the input pixel taught by Druml has finite pixels shown in Fig. 3A-3B and predictably only a finite set of ways combining multiple signals); (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the selection of the subpixel current to combine would be obvious to try with known variations (like exploring different parameters in a range or substituting known equivalent) to arrive at the claimed invention, even if no single reference explicitly states it. MPEP § 2143 (E) “Obvious to try-choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with reasonable expectation of success”.
Regarding claim 7, Druml teaches the signal processing device as recited in claim 6, wherein if M = 3,
the control circuit is configured (Druml; Fig. 11A, [0107], the sub-pixel currents are grouped into assigned pixels based on their assignment to a particular select and sum circuits 31-1 to 31-n (equivalent to control circuits)) to:
couple between the fourth input end and the third input end by controlling the first selection circuit, couple between the fifth input end and the third input end by controlling the second selection circuit, couple between the seventh input end and the sixth input end by controlling the third selection circuit, and couple between the eight input end and the sixth input end by controlling the fourth selection circuit at the first setting (Druml; Fig. 11A, [0108], each select and sum circuits 31-1 to 31-n selects which sub-pixel currents to add among those received and applies a summing algorithm to sum the selected sub-pixels current together to generate a pixel current for the corresponding pixel. The respective pixel currents are passing to TIA (converts the pixel current into a voltage signal) and ADC (converts the analog voltage signal into a digital signal) and then transmitted on a readout channel as pixel data from the receiver circuit 24 to the system controller 23 for further processing);
couple between the fourth input end and the third input end by controlling the first selection circuit, couple between the fifth input end and the sixth input end by controlling the second selection circuit, couple between the seventh input end and the sixth input end by controlling the third selection circuit, and couple between the eight input end and the ninth input end by controlling the fourth selection circuit at the second setting (same as above); and
couple between the fourth input end and the sixth input end by controlling the first selection circuit, couple between the fifth input end the sixth input end by controlling the second selection circuit, couple between the seventh input end and the ninth input end by controlling the third selection circuit, and couple between the eighth input end and the ninth input end by controlling the fourth selection circuit at the third setting (same as above).
Though the prior art does not specific the detail of how to select the subpixel current to the output pixel Data. The selection of the subpixel current with different combination would be obvious to try because (1) combing multiple signals is a recognized need to average multiple reading cycle to obtain a good signal-to-noise ratio; (2) there exits only a finite set of ways to connect multiple signals (for instance, the input pixel taught by Druml has finite pixels shown in Fig. 3A-3B and predictably only a finite set of ways combining multiple signals); (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the selection of the subpixel current to combine would be obvious to try with known variations (like exploring different parameters in a range or substituting known equivalent) to arrive at the claimed invention, even if no single reference explicitly states it. MPEP § 2143 (E) “Obvious to try-choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with reasonable expectation of success”.
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Druml, modified in view of Hattori (US 6570672 B1, hereinafter “Hattori”).
Regarding claim 14, Druml teaches the distance measuring device of claim 13, further comprising an image processing circuit (Druml; [0063], a comparator IC recognizes the pulse and sends a digital signal to the TDC to stop the timer. The TDC then sends the serial data of the differential time between the start and stop digital signals to the microcontroller to filters out any error reads, averages multiple time measurements and calculates the distance to the target at the at particular field position. [0057], two scans are used for each scanning period. Multiple scans may be used to generate the distance and depth maps, as well as 3D images by a processing unit. This implies a image processing circuit to process the signals data), wherein
the measurement circuit transmits, to the image processing circuit, a first packet including data of a plurality of distance values corresponding to the first time and a second packet including data of a plurality of distance values corresponding to the second time (Druml; Fig. 13A, [0128], two consecutive laser shots 17 and 18 (correspond to any two consecutive steps) into the FOV. Fig. 13B-13C, [0129], different possible pixel positions at which laser shots 17 and 18 may be received on the segmented pixel sensor 15 based on a time-of-flight of each laser shot 17 and 18. Equivalent to plurality of distance value related to different time), and
Druml does not teach,
the image processing circuit rearranges data included in the first packet and data included in the second packet so as to cause data output from the same output end to be consecutively arranged.
Hattori disclosed in Fig. 9, column 12, line 5, two consecutive lines of image data are rearranged into A0, B0, A1 and B1 in one line; Fig. 10, column 12, line 14, two consecutive lines of image data are retrieved from the original image data left, rearranged alternately in the sequence of RAM1, RAM2, RAM1, RAM2…, in one-and-the-same line.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measuring device taught by Druml to include the image processing circuit rearranges data included in the first packet and data included in the second packet so as to cause data output from the same output end to be consecutively arranged taught by Hattori with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is combining two set of image data from two different measurements to a single images data for further processing.
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Druml, modified in view of Kubota et al. (US 20170363740 A1, hereinafter “Kubota”).
Regarding claim 18, Druml teaches the distance measuring device of claim 17.
Druml does not teach, wherein the measurement circuit is configured to:
accumulate measurement results at the plurality of measurement points included in the first range;
detect at least one peak of a signal included in the accumulated measurement results; and
decide a distance value at a measurement point of the target from at least one detected peak based on information of reliability.
Kubota disclosed in Fig. 27, paragraph [0177], an example of time-division integrated values saved in the plurality of buffers 354. As shown in Fig. 27, in a buffer n-11, outputs of the plurality of light receiving elements 314 corresponding to reflected light n-2, n-1 and n are accumulated. In a buffer n, outputs of the plurality of light receiving element 314 corresponding to reflected lights n-1, n, and n+1 are accumulated; [0179], the plurality of buffers 354 retain the time-division integration results at the plurality of point in time. Consequently, reliability of a measurement result is calculated. Therefore, it is possible to detect a plurality of peak position at different points in time from one light receiving element 314; [0169]-[0170], subsequently, the measurement processing circuitry 320 calculates, as reliability, a ratio of the magnitude of the peak calculated second and the magnitude of the peak calculated first. When the ratio, which is the reliability, is equal to or larger than a threshold, the measurement processing circuity 320 adopts, as a measured distance, the position of the peak calculated second. When the ratio is smaller than the threshold, the measurement processing circuitry 320 discards the position of the peak.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measuring device taught by Druml to include accumulate measurement results at the plurality of measurement points included in the first range, detect at least one peak of a signal included in the accumulated measurement results; and decide a distance value at a measurement point of the target from at least one detected peak based on information of reliability taught by Kubota with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is accumulating measurements result, calculating a ratio of the magnitude of the peak in between first and second peak. Compare the ratio of the peak with threshold value to determine if the measurement data is reliable or not for true distance measurement (Kubota; [0169]-[0170]; [0177]-[0179]).
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Druml, modified in view of LaChapelle et al. (US 20180306926 A1, hereinafter “LaChapelle”).
Regarding claim 19, Druml teaches the distance measuring device of claim 13.
Druml does not teach,
further comprising a revolving mirror having two reflecting surfaces, wherein
the revolving mirror is configured to:
reflect a light signal emitted from the light source to an outside; and
reflects the light signal reflected from an external target object to the light detector.
LaChapelle teaches,
further comprising a revolving mirror having two reflecting surfaces (LaChapelle; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0086], the scanner 120/162 includes two mirrors 180-1, 180-2 which may be a flat mirror, a curved mirror, or a polygon mirror with two or more reflective surface; [0087], a polygon mirror may have two or more reflective surfaces, and may be continuously rotated in one direction so that the output beam 170 is reflected sequentially from each of the reflective surfaces), wherein
the revolving mirror (LaChapelle; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0086]-[0087], mirrors 180-1, 180-2) is configured to:
reflect a light signal emitted from the light source to an outside (LaChapelle; Fig. 1, [0039], the light source 110 emits an output beam of light 125 (passing through scanner 120) reaches the target 130, the target may reflect at least a portion of light (input beam 135) form the output beam 125 return back the lidar system 100. Input beam 135 passes through the scanner 120 and redetected to receiver 145); and
reflects the light signal reflected from an external target object to the light detector (same as above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measuring device taught by Druml to include further comprising a revolving mirror having two reflecting surfaces, wherein the revolving mirror is configured to: reflect a light signal emitted from the light source to an outside; and reflects the light signal reflected from an external target object to the light detector taught by LaChapelle with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using revolving mirror to reflect a light signal emitted from the light source to the target and reflects the light signal reflected back from the target for measuring the distance in between the Lidar sensor and the target (TOF measurement) (LaChapelle; [0039], [0048]).
Conclusion
/CHIA-LING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645