DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7 and 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230247687 A1 herein Hori in view of US 20220322288 A1 herein Xu in view of US 20220322289 A1 herein Apple.
Claim 1, Hori discloses A method of data communication (Figs. 4, 9 and 13), comprising:
configuring, by a network node, a first mapping between a dedicated radio bearer and a protocol data unit session for a mobile device, wherein the first mapping enables data communication with the mobile device in a point-to-point mode (0055);
configuring, by the network node, a second mapping between a multicast broadcast service radio bearer and a multicast broadcast service session for one or more mobile devices including the mobile device, wherein the second mapping enables data communication with the mobile device in a point-to-multipoint mode (0231-0232 and 0236); and
providing user data to the mobile device using one of (1) the point-to-point mode, (2) the point-to-multipoint mode (0230), or (3) a combination of the point-to-point mode and the point-to-multipoint mode, wherein the first mapping includes a quality of service (QoS) flow mapped to the dedicated radio bearer and the second mapping includes a quality of service (QoS) flow mapped to the multicast broadcast service radio bearer (0231 and 0245-0246), and wherein the QoS flow of the first mapping is identical to the QoS flow of the second mapping (0055).
Hori may not explicitly disclose wherein the providing user data to the mobile device using the combination of the point- to-point mode and the point-to-multipoint mode includes transmitting the user data in the point- to-point mode and the point-to-multipoint mode simultaneously.
Xu discloses disclose wherein the providing user data to the mobile device using the combination of the point- to-point mode and the point-to-multipoint mode includes transmitting the user data in the point- to-point mode and the point-to-multipoint mode simultaneously (0005, 0186, 0197, simultaneous reception of MBMS in PTM and Unicast/PTP modes). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hori to include simultaneous reception/transmission of MBMS on point to point and point to multi-point modes as taught by Xu so as to fulfill desired improvements in the art (0003).
Hori in view of Xu may not explicitly disclose wherein the receiving the user data using the point-to-point communication and the point- to-multipoint communication simultaneously includes receiving, at the mobile device, the user data packets of a same QoS flow that are simultaneously transmitted on a dedicated radio bearer and on a multicast broadcast service radio bearer, wherein packet data convergence protocol sequence numbers associated with the QoS flow on the dedicated radio bearer and on the multicast broadcast service radio bearer are aligned.
Apple discloses wherein the receiving the user data using the point-to-point communication and the point- to-multipoint communication simultaneously includes receiving, at the mobile device, the user data packets of a same QoS flow (0138, the PTM and PTP link may be linked together with the same MRB PDCP entity; retransmission of missing PDUs on both the PTM and PTP links) that are simultaneously transmitted on a dedicated radio bearer and on a multicast broadcast service radio bearer (0138, retransmission of missing PDUs on both the PTM and PTP), wherein packet data convergence protocol sequence numbers associated with the QoS flow on the dedicated radio bearer and on the multicast broadcast service radio bearer are aligned (0138, PDCP reordering window for the missing PDUs). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hori in view of Xu to include PDCP PDU reordering as taught by Apple so as to provide reliable delivery of packets.
Claim 2, Hori discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the using the at least one of the point-to-point mode or the point-to-multipoint mode comprises: transmitting the user data to the mobile device in the point-to-point mode; transmitting the user data to the mobile device in the point-to-multipoint mode; and switching between the point-to-point mode and the point-to-multipoint mode (0230-0232).
Claim 3, Hori discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the multicast broadcast service session includes one or more quality of service (QoS) flows mapped to one or more multicast broadcast radio bearers (0231).
Claim 4, Hori discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the first mapping between the dedicated radio bearer and the protocol data unit session for a mobile device applies to all of the one or more mobile devices including the mobile device (0055).
Claim 6, Hori discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the providing the user data to the mobile device using a combination of the point-to-point mode and/or the point-to-multipoint mode includes transmitting the user data in the point-to-point mode and the point-to-multipoint mode simultaneously (0230, usage of PTP and PTM of transferring data).
Claim 7, Hori discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining, by the network node, whether mobile devices in a network satisfy a predetermined condition that requires configuring a multicast broadcast radio bearer to be shared by the mobile devices in a point-to-multipoint mode (0069), wherein the second mapping between the multicast broadcast service radio bearer and the multicast broadcast service session for the one or more mobile devices including the mobile device is configured upon determination that the mobile devices in a network satisfy the predetermined condition (0069, interest from a UE for a MBS).
Claim 9, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 1.
Claim 10, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 1.
Claim 11, Hori discloses The method of claim 9, wherein the signal reception through the point-to-multipoint communication satisfies the predetermined condition upon a determination that a quality of a signal reception through the point-to-multipoint communication is superior to a quality of a signal reception through the point-to-point communication (0180-0182, handover to another RAT (radio access technology)).
Claim 12, Hori discloses The method of claim 9, wherein the signal reception through the point-to-multipoint communication fails to satisfy the predetermined condition upon a determination that a quality of a signal reception through the point-to-multipoint communication is inferior to a quality of a signal reception through the point-to-point communication (0130).
Claim 13, Hori discloses The method of claim 9, further comprising switching between the point-to-multipoint communication and the point-to-point communication based on the notification in receiving the user data associated with the multicast broadcast service session (0130).
Claim 14, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 6.
Claim 15, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 1.
Claim 16, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 1.
Claim 17, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 11.
Claim 18, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claims 1 and 4.
Claim 19, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claims 1 and 3.
Claim 20. Hori discloses The method of claim 15, further comprising: transmitting a notification, by the mobile device, to the network node that the point-to-multipoint communication fails to satisfy the predetermined condition; and resuming the receiving of the user data associated with the multicast broadcast service session using the point-to-point communication (0130, retransmission request in order to ensure quality of service).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hori in view of Xu in view of Apple in view of US 20230025675 A1 herein Jia.
Claim 5, Hori discloses The method of claim 1. Hori may not explicitly disclose wherein user data associated with the protocol data unit session and user data associated with the multicast broadcast service session are transmitted through a shared tunnel such that packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) sequence numbers associated with the protocol data unit session and the multicast broadcast service session are aligned.
Jia discloses wherein user data associated with the protocol data unit session and user data associated with the multicast broadcast service session are transmitted through a shared tunnel (0117; delivering MBMS on an existing PDU session, thus MNMS and user data) such that packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) sequence numbers associated with the protocol data unit session and the multicast broadcast service (intended result – the clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited, MPEP 2111.04).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hori in view of Xu in view of Apple in view of US 20060094408 A1 herein Hu.
Claim 8, Hori discloses The method of claim 7. Hori may not explicitly disclose wherein the predetermined condition is associated with at least one of: a comparison between a total number of mobile devices in a network area and a predetermined threshold value; or a location of the mobile device in the network area relative to a center of the network area.
Hu discloses wherein the predetermined condition is associated with at least one of: a comparison between a total number of mobile devices in a network area and a predetermined threshold value (Fig. 2: setting a number of total users in order to switch from PTP (point to point) to PTM (point to multipoint; Claim 5); or a location of the mobile device in the network area relative to a center of the network area (Fig. 2: setting a number of total users in order to switch from PTP (point to point) to PTM (point to multipoint; Claim 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hori to include counting the number of users as taught by Hu so as to take full advantage of the resources (0023).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20230353986 A1 - An apparatus and a method for optimal delivery of a multicast/broadcast service (MBS) are provided. A method of an MBS user equipment (UE) includes determining a first indication message to be transmitted to a network, wherein the first indication message includes a UE status associated with an MBS and/or a need for switching an MBS delivery mode. The method further includes receiving a second indication message carrying an optimal delivery mode configuration such as the scheduling information of the switched MBS delivery mode, the frequency, and/or identity of the neighboring cells or the areas that broadcast the same service that the UE is receiving before switching the delivery mode. This can solve issues in the prior art, provide a dynamic, reliable, and/or efficient MBS delivery mode switching, support service continuity, provide a good communication performance, and/or provide high reliability.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Mehmood B. Khan whose telephone number is (571)272-9277. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:30 am-6:30 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nishant Divecha can be reached at (571) 270-3125. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Mehmood B. Khan/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468