DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim objection of claim 9 is withdrawn in light of the amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-16 and 18-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,2, 7, 9-14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by XUE; Yisheng et al. US PGPUB 20230171815 A1
Regarding claim 1. Xue teaches Transceiver of a wireless communication system, (Fig. 5, 510 Transceiver)
wherein the transceiver is configured to operate in a sidelink in-coverage, out of coverage or partial coverage scenario, ([0070] ProSe communication may support different operational scenarios, such as in-coverage, out-of-coverage, and partial coverage.) in which resources are pre-configured by the wireless communication system or allocated or scheduled autonomously by the transceiver, ([0038] In some examples, access to the air interface may be scheduled, wherein a scheduling entity 108 (e.g., a base station) allocates resources for communication among some or all devices and equipment within its service area or cell.)
wherein the transceiver is configured to receive a first control message, ([0088] In Mode 2, a wireless communication device may schedule sidelink communication (e.g., PC5) by use of a sidelink control information (SCI) message. SCI may be produced in two stages. Stage 1 sidelink control information may be referred to as SCI-1 herein. Stage 2 sidelink control information may be referred to as SCI-2 herein.)
wherein the transceiver is configured to receive a second control message, (Id.)
wherein the second control message is linked to the first control message by an identifier, ID, or indication, ([0089] As indicated, SCI-1 may also include information about the SCI-2 message, for example, SCI-1 may disclose the size of SCI-2 by indicating an amount of time-frequency resources that are allotted for SCI-2, a number of a PSSCH DMRS port(s), and a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) index. SCI-1 may include other information that is useful for establishing and decoding a PSSCH resource.)
wherein the first control message and the second control message together grant or assign a resource to the transceiver for a communication of the transceiver, ([0089] … SCI-1 may include other information that is useful for establishing and decoding a PSSCH resource.
[0090] … SCI-2 may include other information that is useful for establishing and decoding a PSSCH resource.)
wherein the communication is a sidelink communication, ([0102] A control messages may include a grant of an allocation of the licensed and/or unlicensed spectrum to the wireless communication device 500. Control messages may include sidelink control information (SCI) messages, including stage 1 SCI (SCI-1) messages and stage 2 SCI (SCI-2) messages.)
wherein the first control message is received via a physical sidelink control channel, PSCCH, or a physical sidelink shared channel, PSSCH, ([0089] SCI-1 may be transmitted on a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH).)
wherein the second control message is received via a physical sidelink control channel, PSCCH, or a physical sidelink shared channel, PSSCH. ([0090] SCI-2 may also be transmitted on the PSCCH and may contain information for decoding the PSSCH.)
Regarding claim 2. Xue teaches Transceiver of a wireless communication system, wherein the transceiver is configured to transmit a first control message, wherein the transceiver is configured to transmit a second control message, (see [0089] SCI-1 and [0090] SCI-2)
wherein the first control message and the second control message together grant or assign a resource to another transceiver for a communication of the other transceiver. ([0089] … SCI-1 may include other information that is useful for establishing and decoding a PSSCH resource.
[0090] … SCI-2 may include other information that is useful for establishing and decoding a PSSCH resource.)
Regarding claim 7. Xue teaches Transceiver according to claim 1, wherein the first control message comprises a first control information or a first control configuration, ([0089] SCI-1 may include information for resource allocation of a sidelink resource and for decoding of the second stage of sidelink control information (i.e., SCI-2). SCI-1 may identify a priority level of a payload. ) and/or wherein the second control message comprises a second control information or a second control configuration. ([0090] [0090] SCI-2 may also be transmitted on the PSCCH and may contain information for decoding the PSSCH. According to some aspects, SCI-2 includes a 16-bit layer 1 (L1) destination identifier (ID), an 8-bit L1 source ID, a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process ID, a new data indicator (NDI), and a redundancy version (RV). SCI-2 may include other information that is useful for establishing and decoding a PSSCH resource.)
Regarding claim 9. Xue teaches Transceiver according to claim 1, wherein at least one out of the first control message and the second control message comprises a control information indicating the resource granted/assigned to the transceiver for the communication, ([0102] . A control messages may include a grant of an allocation of the licensed and/or unlicensed spectrum to the wireless communication device 500. Control messages may include sidelink control information (SCI) messages, including stage 1 SCI (SCI-1) messages and stage 2 SCI (SCI-2) messages.) and/or
wherein at least one out of the first control message and the second control message comprises a control information or control configuration indicating at least one communication parameter to be used for the communication. ([0089] SCI-1 may identify a priority level of a payload. For example, ultra-reliable-low-latency communication (URLLC) traffic has a higher priority than text message traffic (e.g., short message service (SMS) traffic). SCI-1 may also include a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) resource assignment and a resource reservation period (if enabled). Additionally, SCI-1 may include a PSSCH demodulation reference signal (DMRS) pattern (if more than one pattern is configured).)
Regarding claim 10. Xue teaches Transceiver according to claim 1, wherein the second control message is transmitted in a time interval between the reception of the first control message and the resource granted or assigned to the transceiver. (Fig. 11, step 1116 to 1120, see [0172-0173)
Regarding claim 11. Xue teaches Transceiver according to claim 1, wherein the first control message is received in a first resource, wherein the second control message is received in a second resource, wherein the second resource occurs in a time interval between the first resource and the resource granted or assigned to the transceiver. (Fig. 11, step 1116 to 1120, see [0172-0173)
Regarding claim 12. Xue teaches Transceiver according to claim 1, wherein the second control message comprises a second control information or control configuration that is differentially encoded with respect to a first control information or control configuration of the first control message. ([0113] A first wireless communication device (not shown) (referred to herein as SL UE1) conducting sidelink communication and a second wireless communication device (not shown) (referred to herein as SL UE2) conducting sidelink communication may each monitor, for example, a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) to identify and decode a sidelink control information (SCI) message. More particularly, SL UE1 and SL UE2 may each monitor, for example, the PSCCH to identify and perform blind decoding of a stage 1 sidelink control information (SCI-1) message. An SCI-1 message may include a grant for time-frequency resources for sidelink communications.)
Regarding claim 13. Xue teaches Transceiver according to claim 12, wherein the second control message grants or assigns a further resource to the transceiver for a further communication.([0102] A control messages may include a grant of an allocation of the licensed and/or unlicensed spectrum to the wireless communication device 500. Control messages may include sidelink control information (SCI) messages, including stage 1 SCI (SCI-1) messages and stage 2 SCI (SCI-2) messages. In addition, the control channel monitoring circuitry 542 may be configured to decode such messages using blind decoding (e.g., for SCI-1 messages) and/or decoding of one message using data obtained from another message (e.g., decoding an SCI 2 message with data obtained from an SCI-1 message).)
Regarding claim 14. Xue teaches teaches Transceiver according to claim 12, wherein the first control message grants or assigns the resource to the transceiver. ([0102] A control messages may include a grant of an allocation of the licensed and/or unlicensed spectrum to the wireless communication device 500. Control messages may include sidelink control information (SCI) messages, including stage 1 SCI (SCI-1) messages and stage 2 SCI (SCI-2) messages. In addition, the control channel monitoring circuitry 542 may be configured to decode such messages using blind decoding (e.g., for SCI-1 messages) and/or decoding of one message using data obtained from another message (e.g., decoding an SCI 2 message with data obtained from an SCI-1 message).)
Regarding claim 17. Xue teaches Transceiver according to claim 1, wherein the transceiver is configured to operate in an in-coverage scenario or relay scenario, in which resources are scheduled by the wireless communication system, and/or wherein the transceiver is configured to operate in a sidelink in-coverage, out of coverage or partial coverage scenario, ([0070] ProSe communication may support different operational scenarios, such as in-coverage, out-of-coverage, and partial coverage.) in which resources are pre-configured by the wireless communication system or allocated or scheduled autonomously by the transceiver. ([0038] In some examples, access to the air interface may be scheduled, wherein a scheduling entity 108 (e.g., a base station) allocates resources for communication among some or all devices and equipment within its service area or cell.)
Regarding claim 18. Xue teaches Method for operating a transceiver, the method comprising steps performed in claim 1.
Regarding claim 19. Xue teaches Method for operating a transceiver, the method comprising:
operating in a sidelink in-coverage, out of coverage or partial coverage scenario ([0070] ProSe communication may support different operational scenarios, such as in-coverage, out-of-coverage, and partial coverage.) in which resources are pre-configured by the wireless communication system or allocated or scheduled autonomously by the transceiver, ([0038] In some examples, access to the air interface may be scheduled, wherein a scheduling entity 108 (e.g., a base station) allocates resources for communication among some or all devices and equipment within its service area or cell.)
transmitting a first control message, ([0088] In Mode 2, a wireless communication device may schedule sidelink communication (e.g., PC5) by use of a sidelink control information (SCI) message. SCI may be produced in two stages. Stage 1 sidelink control information may be referred to as SCI-1 herein. Stage 2 sidelink control information may be referred to as SCI-2 herein.)
transmitting a second control message, (Id.)
wherein the second control message is linked to the first control message by an identifier, ID, or indication ([0089] As indicated, SCI-1 may also include information about the SCI-2 message, for example, SCI-1 may disclose the size of SCI-2 by indicating an amount of time-frequency resources that are allotted for SCI-2, a number of a PSSCH DMRS port(s), and a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) index. SCI-1 may include other information that is useful for establishing and decoding a PSSCH resource.)
wherein the first control message and the second control message together grant or assign a resource to another transceiver for a communication of the other transceiver, ([0089] … SCI-1 may include other information that is useful for establishing and decoding a PSSCH resource.
[0090] … SCI-2 may include other information that is useful for establishing and decoding a PSSCH resource.)
wherein the communication is a sidelink communication, ([0102] A control messages may include a grant of an allocation of the licensed and/or unlicensed spectrum to the wireless communication device 500. Control messages may include sidelink control information (SCI) messages, including stage 1 SCI (SCI-1) messages and stage 2 SCI (SCI-2) messages.)
wherein the first control message is transmitted via a physical sidelink control channel, PSCCH, or a physical sidelink shared channel, PSSCH, ([0089] SCI-1 may be transmitted on a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH).)
wherein the second control message is transmitted via a physical sidelink control channel, PSCCH, or a physical sidelink shared channel, PSSCH. ([0090] SCI-2 may also be transmitted on the PSCCH and may contain information for decoding the PSSCH.)
Regarding claim 20. Xue teaches A non-transitory digital storage medium having a computer program stored thereon to perform the method for operating a transceiver, the method comprising steps performed in claim 1. It is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4, 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of AKKARAKARAN; Sony et al. US PGPUB 20180310333 A1 (hereinafter Akk).
Regarding claim 4. Xue teaches Transceiver according to claim 1, but it does not teach
wherein the second control message is configured to one or more out of modify the first control message, form a new control message, extend the first control message, replace the first control message, revoke the first control message
However, Akk teaches wherein the second control message is configured to one or more out of modify the first control message, form a new control message, extend the first control message, replace the first control message, revoke the first control message. ([0095] a grant (e.g., a downlink assignment or uplink grant) may be scheduled using multiple control signals, where subsequent control signals may modify one or more properties of the grant.)
In order to improve the efficiency of both the UE and the network, since the number of mobility messages that need to be exchanged between the UE and the network may be reduced. ([0060])
Xue and Akk are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Xue with control message modification in Akk in order to improve the efficiency of both the UE and the network.
Regarding claim 5. Xue and Akk teach The transceiver according to claim 4, Xue does not teach
wherein the transceiver is configured, in case that the second control message modifies the first control message, to perform the communication, in dependence on the second control message, in the resource granted or assigned to the transceiver or a new resource granted or assigned to the transceiver by a modified version of the first control message modified by the second control message, or
wherein the transceiver is configured, in case that the second control message replaces the first control message, to perform the communication, in dependence on the second control message, in a new resource granted or assigned to the transceiver by the second control message, or
wherein the transceiver is configured, in case that the second control message forms the new message, to perform the communication in a new resource granted or assigned to the transceiver by the new control message, or wherein the transceiver is configured, in case that the second control message revokes the first control message, to not perform the communication. or
wherein the transceiver is configured, in case that the second control message extends the first control message, to add at least one parameter to the second control message to the first control message and/or to combine at least one parameter of the second control message with a corresponding parameter of the first control message
However, Akk teaches
wherein the transceiver is configured, in case that the second control message modifies the first control message, to perform the communication, in dependence on the second control message, in the resource granted or assigned to the transceiver or a new resource granted or assigned to the transceiver by a modified version of the first control message modified by the second control message, or
wherein the transceiver is configured, in case that the second control message replaces the first control message, to perform the communication, in dependence on the second control message, in a new resource granted or assigned to the transceiver by the second control message, or
wherein the transceiver is configured, in case that the second control message forms the new message, to perform the communication in a new resource granted or assigned to the transceiver by the new control message, or wherein the transceiver is configured, in case that the second control message revokes the first control message, to not perform the communication. or
wherein the transceiver is configured, in case that the second control message extends the first control message, to add at least one parameter to the second control message to the first control message and/or to combine at least one parameter of the second control message with a corresponding parameter of the first control message
([0095] For example, the grant may be modified to add a packet to the grant for transmission on a different set of time-frequency resources or a different set of one or more MIMO layers within the same slot, modify a time-frequency resource allocation of the grant, modify the waveform utilized for the grant, modify the transmit-diversity scheme utilized for the grant, or indicate specific processing for the packet.
The examiner notes that the teaching would read on modifying, replacing, extending, or performing the communication in a new resource as cited above)
In order to improve the efficiency of both the UE and the network, since the number of mobility messages that need to be exchanged between the UE and the network may be reduced. ([0060])
Xue and Akk are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Xue with control message modification in Akk in order to improve the efficiency of both the UE and the network.
Regarding claim 15. Xue teaches Transceiver according to claim 14, but it does not teach wherein the second control message encodes changes of at least one transmission parameter of the further communication and/or further resource compared to at least one corresponding transmission parameter of the communication and/or resource.
However, Akk teaches
wherein the second control message encodes ([0062] In order for transmissions over the radio access network 200 to obtain a low block error rate (BLER) while still achieving very high data rates, channel coding may be used. That is, wireless communication may generally utilize a suitable error correcting block code. In a typical block code, an information message or sequence is split up into code blocks (CBs), and an encoder (e.g., a CODEC) at the transmitting device then mathematically adds redundancy to the information message. Exploitation of this redundancy in the encoded information message can improve the reliability of the message, enabling correction for any bit errors that may occur due to the noise.) changes of at least one transmission parameter of the further communication and/or further resource compared to at least one corresponding transmission parameter of the communication and/or resource. ([0095] In accordance with various aspects of the present disclosure, to provide flexibility in scheduling downlink transmissions and uplink transmissions in next generation (e.g., 5G) wireless communication networks, a grant (e.g., a downlink assignment or uplink grant) may be scheduled using multiple control signals, where subsequent control signals may modify one or more properties of the grant. In some examples, a grant for a packet indicated in first DCI of a first PDCCH may be modified by transmitting subsequent control information (e.g., second DCI) on a subsequent control channel (e.g., a second PDCCH). For example, the grant may be modified to add a packet to the grant for transmission on a different set of time-frequency resources or a different set of one or more MIMO layers within the same slot, modify a time-frequency resource allocation of the grant, modify the waveform utilized for the grant, modify the transmit-diversity scheme utilized for the grant, or indicate specific processing for the packet.)
In order to improve the efficiency of both the UE and the network, since the number of mobility messages that need to be exchanged between the UE and the network may be reduced. ([0060])
Xue and Akk are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Xue with control message modification in Akk in order to improve the efficiency of both the UE and the network.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of YUAN; Shitong et al. US 20210218620 A1.
Regarding claim 8. Xue teaches Transceiver according to claim 1, it does not teach wherein the first control configuration is a radio resource control, RRC, configuration.
However, Yuan teaches first control configuration is a radio resource control, RRC, configuration. ([0101] If the IAB node receives the following configuration information (an RRC message) in step 2, the parent node can quickly configure/modify the transmission parameter of the IAB node by including the TransmissionMode-Id in the DCI or the MAC CE.)
In order to reduces a transmission delay and improves transmission performance by using lower layer signaling such as DCI by avoiding large quantity of parameters during RRC transmission ([0010])
Xue and Yuan are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the Transceiver in Xue with the technique of DCI / RRC configuration modification in Yuan in order to reduces a transmission delay and improves transmission performance.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of PELLETIER; Ghyslain et al. US PGPUB 20170013565 A1.
Regarding claim 16. Xue teaches Transceiver according to claim 12, but it does not teach wherein the first control message granting or assigning the resource for the communication to the transceiver forms a current base grant, wherein the second control message granting or assigning the further resource for the further communication to the transceiver forms a new candidate base grant, wherein the new candidate base grant replaces the current base grant.
However, Pelletier teaches
wherein the first control message granting or assigning the resource for the communication to the transceiver forms a current base grant, ([0209] 4. Configured alternative grant: The WTRU may be configured (e.g. by RRC) with a semi-static alternative grant (e.g. some form of persistent alternative grant).) wherein the second control message granting or assigning the further resource for the further communication to the transceiver forms a new candidate base grant, wherein the new candidate base grant replaces the current base grant. ([0180] [0180] Possible approach for handling other control information from a base grant when replacing with an alternative grant: The WTRU may comply with some of the downlink control information received in the DCI that contains the base grant even if the transmission for PUSCH is performed using the alternative grant.)
in order to dynamically prioritize traffic based on WTRU resources. ([0006])
Xue and Pelletier are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus in Xue with the technique of grant replacement in order to dynamically prioritize traffic based on WTRU resources.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHAOHUI YANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468