Claim Interpretation
Claims 15-20 recite:
A means for engaging a latch pin, which is interpreted to be a latch hook.
A means for receiving a latch pin, which is interpreted to be a second recess.
A means for locking, which is interpreted to be a pawl.
A means for resetting, which is interpreted to be a reset link
A means for connecting, which is interpreted to be a connector.
A means for actuating, which is interpreted to be an actuation handle.
A means for receiving the means for locking, which is interpreted to be a first recess.
NOTE: Applicant’s arguments that the limitations of claim 15 previously not interpreted under 112f are persuasive and therefore are currently interpreted under USC 112(f)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-9 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20230340809 to Choi.
Regarding claim 8, Choi discloses:
An apparatus, comprising: a pawl (72) movably coupled to a reset link (73), the reset link to rotate about a first joint (73a) of a primary latch actuation handle (6, via 75), the primary latch actuation handle to cause latching of a door (5), the pawl including a first portion (portion to the right of 72a) and a second portion (portion to the left of 72a) coupled at a second joint (72a); and a latch hook (71) positioned to receive the pawl (fig 9), the door stabilized against further movement when the pawl engages the latch hook (fig 9b), the latch hook having a first recess (71d) and a second recess (71b), the second recess including a first edge surface (right edge of 71b as seen in fig 9b) and a second edge surface (back end of 71b as seen in fig 9b), a protrusion (72d) of the pawl contact the second edge surface (via 71d, fig 9b) when entering the first recess, the protrusion positioned between the second joint and a spring (71c, see fig 9b).
Regarding claim 9, Choi discloses:
The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the pawl includes a post (72b), the post to transition within a slot of the reset link (73b).
Regarding claim 12, Choi discloses:
The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the latch hook is to engage a latch pin (31a) when the door is closed.
Regarding claim 13, Choi discloses:
The apparatus of claim 12, wherein the latch hook includes a first recess (71d) to receive the pawl.
Regarding claim 14, Choi discloses:
The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the latch hook includes a second recess (71b) to receive the latch pin.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-11, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230340809 to Choi in view of US 20160245000 to Ottino et al (Ottino).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses:
An apparatus, comprising: a pawl (72) having a protrusion (72d), the pawl including a first portion (portion to the right of 72a) and a second portion (portion to the left of 72a) coupled at a joint (72a); and a latch hook (71) having a first recess (71d) to receive the protrusion of the pawl and a second recess (71b) to receive a latch pin (31) when the cabin door (5) closes (Note: The term cabin is treated as a title), the second recess including a first edge surface (right edge of 71b as seen in fig 9b) and a second edge surface (back end of 71b as seen in fig 9b) to receive the latch pin, the protrusion to contact the second edge surface (via 71d, fig 9b) when entering the first recess, the protrusion positioned between the second joint and the spring (see fig below, 72d is between the left end of the spring and the joint).
Choi does not explicitly disclose: the pawl coupled to an over-center spring, the over- center spring connected to a frame of a cabin door. However, Ottino teaches that is well known in the art for a pawl (92) to an over-center spring (122), the over-center spring connected to a frame of a cabin door (door of the car. Note: The term cabin is treated as a title). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ottino into Choi at least because doing so would provide added safety over the lock by providing the security of an over-centered biasing member.
Regarding claim 2, Choi (in view of Ottino) discloses:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the pawl is pivotally coupled to a reset link (73).
Regarding claim 3, Choi (in view of Ottino) discloses:
The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the reset link includes a slot (73b) to receive a connector (72b) that translates within the slot (see figs 9b and 9c).
Regarding claim 4, Choi (in view of Ottino) discloses:
The apparatus of claim 3, wherein the connector is movably coupled to a main latch handle (6, via 75).
Regarding claim 5, Choi (in view of Ottino) discloses:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the latch pin is positioned within a latch pin fitting (78), the latch pin fitting coupled to the frame of the cabin door (see paragraph 0091).
Regarding claim 6, Choi (in view of Ottino) discloses:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the latch pin is to cause the latch hook to rotate when receiving the latch pin in a receiver (movement between figs 9c and 9b).
Regarding claim 7, Choi (in view of Ottino) discloses:
he apparatus of claim 1, wherein the over-center spring is to cause the pawl to transition into a fully unlatched position (fig 9b) when a primary latch actuation handle (6, via 75) is engaged and the latch hook is disengaged.
Regarding claim 10, Choi does not explicitly disclose:
The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the post of the pawl is coupled to a spring.
However, Ottino teaches that is well known in the art for a post of a pawl (92) to be coupled to a spring (122). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ottino into Choi at least because doing so would provide added control over the pawl and latch system by introducing a biasing member.
Regarding claim 11, Choi (in view of Ottino) discloses:
The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the spring is to cause the pawl to fully unlatch when the primary latch actuation handle is engaged (122 causes 92 to fully unlatch when the handle is engaged, Ottino).
Regarding claim 15, Choi discloses:
An apparatus, comprising: means for engaging (71) a latch pin (31), the means for engaging the latch pin having means for receiving the latch pin (71b/d); the means for engaging the latch pin including a first portion (right half of 71) and a second portion (left half of 71) coupled at a joint (71a), the means for receiving the latch pin having a first recess (71d) and a second recess (71b), the second recess including a first edge surface (right edge of 71b as seen in fig 9b) and a second edge surface (back end of 71b as seen in fig 9b) to receive the latch pin, a protrusion (72d) of the means for engaging the latch pin contact the second edge surface (via 71d, fig 9b) when entering the first recess, the protrusion positioned between the second joint and a spring (72c, see fig produced above, 72d is between the left end of the spring and the joint); and means for locking (72) the means for engaging the latch pin, the means for locking having means for connecting (72b) to a means for resetting (73), the means for resetting pivotally coupled to a means for actuating (75) a primary latch actuation handle (6).
Choi does not explicitly disclose the spring being an over-center spring.
However, Ottino teaches that is well known in the art for a pawl (92) to have an over-center spring (122). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ottino into Choi at least because doing so would provide added safety over the lock by providing the security of an over-centered biasing member.
Regarding claim 16, Choi in view of Ottino discloses:
The apparatus of claim 15, wherein the means for engaging the latch pin is configured to rotate relative to the latch pin for the latch pin to translate into the means for receiving the latch pin (see figs 9b and 9c).
Regarding claim 17, Choi in view of Ottino discloses:
The apparatus of claim 15, wherein the means for locking the means for engaging the latch pin is configured to rotate relative to the means for resetting (see figs 9b-9d).
Regarding claim 18, Choi in view of Ottino discloses:
The apparatus of claim 15, wherein the means for engaging the latch pin includes means for receiving (71d) the means for locking when the means for engaging a latch hook is engaged (fig 9b).
Regarding claim 19, Choi in view of Ottino discloses:
The apparatus of claim 18, wherein the means for locking is coupled to the over-center spring (72c as per the combination), the spring to force the means for locking to translate into the means for receiving the means for locking (72c biases 72 to the position of fig 9b).
Regarding claim 20, Choi in view of Ottino discloses:
The apparatus of claim 15, wherein the latch pin is to cause the means for locking to disengage from the means for engaging the latch pin when the means for engaging the latch pin translates in a direction opposite from the latch pin (fig 9c).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding Applicant’s arguments that the first protrusion of Choi does not contact the second edge surface, Examiner respectfully disagrees. While the protrusion does not directly come in contact with the second edge surface, the protrusion contacts it through 71d. Similar to how the protrusion of the claimed invention does not directly contact the second edge surface as seen in fig 3a and contacts it via 238, Choi teaches this in fig 9B (see interpretation in claim 1). Therefore, Rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Y.S./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675