DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an amendment filed on 12/09/2025.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 4, 12, 15, 23 and 28 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/09/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues on pages 14-16 that current prior art does not teach the amended independent claims; therefore, this case should be allowed. In response to the applicant’s argument, examiner disagrees with the applicant. The examiner’s interpretation of claim 1 is providing a method for a user equipment (UE) for receiving a configuration information related to multiple transmission reception point operation, the configuration operation indicates a plurality of CORESETs and an indicated transmission configuration indicator (TCI) of a plurality of TCIs, receiving a reference signal (RS) based on the selection rule for at least one beam failure determination (BFD) RS set, the reference signal rule indicates that at least one BFD RS set comprises at least a source RS of the indicated TCI based on at least one CORESET of the plurality of CORESETs being associated with the indicated TCI or a source RS of a non-indicated TCI of the plurality of TCIs based on each of the plurality of CORESETs being associated with a respective TCI other than the indicated TCI, wherein at least one CORESET of the plurality of CORESETs is associated with non-indicated TCI. The examiner’s interpretation for other independent claims is identical to claim 1. KIM’s teaching in paragraph 51 about using a user terminal is equated to a UE, his teaching in paragraph 52 using ENBs are equated to multiple transmission reception point (mTRP), his teaching in paragraph 222 about performing a configuration of uplink and downlink bandwidth pard is interpreted as using mTRP operation, his teaching in paragraph 223 about broadcasting via a RRC message (by a base station) is equated to configuration information, broadcasting first system information 1 (SIB1) via a RRC message by a base station is interpreted as receiving a configuration information associated with a mTRP operation, using a CORESET for broadcasting SIB1 via the RRC message is interpreted as the configuration information indicates a CORESET, fig.5 is interpreted as using plurality of CORESETs with the configuration information for the mTRP operation, his teaching in paragraph 292 about using a TCI with a RLM and using the RLM as the first active bandwidth part with the RRC message explicitly teaches the configuration information further includes a TCI, using the configuration information RLM as the configuration of beams in units of cells (to be measured by a terminal) and including the TCI in the RLM is interpreted as using plurality of TCIs (with the beams in the units of cells), his teaching in paragraph 233 about using a UECapabilityEnquiry is equated to a selection rule for a reference signal (RS), requesting the terminal capability by a base station and determining the RRC connection configuration based on the reported terminal capability is interpreted as using the selection rule, his teaching in paragraph 234 about transmitting the RRC by the base station is interpreted as receiving based on the selection rule, paragraph 419,reference signal equated to RS set, beam failure detection is equated to beam failure determination, performing a beam failure detection by configuring a RRC message (for minimizing a cell group activation delay) is interpreted as receiving an RS based on a selection rule for at least one beam failure determination (BFD) reference signal (RS) set, his teaching in paragraph 223 about using a CORESET (for broadcasting SIB1) via the RRC message is interpreted as using a CORESET, fig.5 is interpreted as using plurality of CORESETs, his teaching in paragraph 292 about using a TCI (that is included in a beam related information) as part of the configuration information of beams in unit cells is equated to indicated TCI, his teaching in paragraphs 223 and 292 about using an indicated CORESET for broadcasting initial downlink or uplink bandwidth part (BWP) by a base station (as discussed in paragraph 223) and using (by the UE) the TCI as part of the beam related information of each bandwidth part )as discussed in paragraph 292) explicitly teaches the TCI is based on at least one CORESET of the plurality of CORESETs being associated with the indicated TCI his teaching in paragraph 419 about using the reference signal (RS) with beams in units of cells to be measured explicitly teaches using the RS as a source RS, including the RS and the TCI as part of the BFD configuration (for beams in units of cells to be measured) is interpreted as using the RS of the indicated TCI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 12, 23 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102 (a) (2) as being anticipated by Donggun KIM (hereinafter, “KIM”; 20230217306).
In response to claim 1,
KIM teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (paragraph 51,user terminal is equated to a UE), comprising:
receiving configuration information associated with a multiple transmission reception point (mTRP) operation, the configuration information indicating a plurality of CORESETs (paragraph 52, ENBs are equated to multiple transmission reception point (mTRP), paragraph 222, configuration of uplink and downlink bandwidth pard is interpreted as using mTRP operation, paragraph 223, broadcasting via a RRC message (by a base station) is equated to configuration information, broadcasting first system information 1 (SIB1) via a RRC message by a base station is interpreted as receiving a configuration information associated with a mTRP operation, using a CORESET for broadcasting SIB1 via the RRC message is interpreted as the configuration information indicates a CORESET, fig.5 is interpreted as using plurality of CORESETs with the configuration information for the mTRP operation), and the configuration information further including an indicated transmission configuration indicator (TCI), of a plurality of TCIs (paragraph 292, using a TCI with a RLM and using the RLM as the first active bandwidth part with the RRC message explicitly teaches the configuration information further includes a TCI, using the configuration information RLM as the configuration of beams in units of cells (to be measured by a terminal) and including the TCI in the RLM is interpreted as using plurality of TCIs (with the beams in the units of cells)); and
receiving an RS based on a selection rule for at least one beam failure determination (BFD) reference signal (RS) set (paragraph 233, UECapabilityEnquiry is equated to a selection rule for a reference signal (RS), requesting the terminal capability by a base station and determining the RRC connection configuration based on the reported terminal capability is interpreted as using the selection rule, paragraph 234, transmitting the RRC by the base station is interpreted as receiving based on the selection rule, paragraph 419,reference signal equated to RS set, beam failure detection is equated to beam failure determination, performing a beam failure detection by configuring a RRC message (for minimizing a cell group activation delay) is interpreted as receiving an RS based on a selection rule for at least one beam failure determination (BFD) reference signal (RS) set), the selection rule indicating that the at least one BFD RS set comprises at least one of:
a source RS of the indicated TCI based on at least one CORESET of the plurality of CORESETs being associated with the indicated TCI (paragraph 223, using a CORESET (for broadcasting SIB1) via the RRC message is interpreted as using a CORESET, fig.5 is interpreted as using plurality of CORESETs, paragraph 292,TCI (that is included in a beam related information) as part of the configuration information of beams in unit cells is equated to indicated TCI, paragraphs 223 and 292, using an indicated CORESET for broadcasting initial downlink or uplink bandwidth part (BWP) by a base station (as discussed in paragraph 223) and using (by the UE) the TCI as part of the beam related information of each bandwidth part )as discussed in paragraph 292) explicitly teaches the TCI is based on at least one CORESET of the plurality of CORESETs being associated with the indicated TCI, paragraph 419, using the reference signal (RS) with beams in units of cells to be measured explicitly teaches using the RS as a source RS, including the RS and the TCI as part of the BFD configuration (for beams in units of cells to be measured) is interpreted as using the RS of the indicated TCI), or a source RS of a non-indicated TCI of the plurality of TCIs based on each of the plurality of CORESETs being associated with a respective TCI other than the indicated TCI, wherein at least one CORESET of the plurality of CORESETs is associated with non-indicated TCI.
In response to claim 12,
KIM teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a network node (paragraph 52, ENBs are interpreted as using a network nodes), comprising:
transmitting configuration information associated with a multiple transmission reception point (mTRP) operation, the configuration information indicating a plurality of CORESETs (paragraph 222, configuration of uplink and downlink bandwidth pard is interpreted as using mTRP operation, paragraph 223, broadcasting via a RRC message (by a base station) is equated to configuration information, broadcasting first system information 1 (SIB1) via a RRC message by a base station is interpreted as transmitting a configuration information associated with a mTRP operation, using a CORESET for broadcasting SIB1 via the RRC message is interpreted as the configuration information indicates a CORESET, fig.5 is interpreted as using plurality of CORESETs with the configuration information for the mTRP operation), and the configuration information further including an indicated transmission configuration indicator (TCI), of a plurality of TCIs (paragraph 292, using a TCI with a RLM and using the RLM as the first active bandwidth part with the RRC message explicitly teaches the configuration information further includes a TCI, using the configuration information RLM as the configuration of beams in units of cells (to be measured by a terminal) and including the TCI in the RLM is interpreted as using plurality of TCIs (with the beams in the units of cells)); and
transmitting an RS based on a selection rule for at least one beam failure determination (BFD) reference signal (RS) set (paragraph 233, UECapabilityEnquiry is equated to a selection rule for a reference signal (RS), requesting the terminal capability by a base station and determining the RRC connection configuration based on the reported terminal capability is interpreted as using the selection rule, paragraph 234, transmitting the RRC by the base station is interpreted as receiving based on the selection rule, paragraph 419,reference signal equated to RS set, beam failure detection is equated to beam failure determination, performing a beam failure detection by configuring a RRC message (for minimizing a cell group activation delay) is interpreted as receiving an RS based on a selection rule for at least one beam failure determination (BFD) reference signal (RS) set), the selection rule indicating that the at least one BFD RS set comprises at least one of:
a source RS of the indicated TCI based on at least one CORESET of the plurality of CORESETs being associated with the indicated TCI (paragraph 223, using a CORESET (for broadcasting SIB1) via the RRC message is interpreted as using a CORESET, fig.5 is interpreted as using plurality of CORESETs, paragraph 292,TCI (that is included in a beam related information) as part of the configuration information of beams in unit cells is equated to indicated TCI, paragraphs 223 and 292, using an indicated CORESET for broadcasting initial downlink or uplink bandwidth part (BWP) by a base station (as discussed in paragraph 223) and using (by the UE) the TCI as part of the beam related information of each bandwidth part )as discussed in paragraph 292) explicitly teaches the TCI is based on at least one CORESET of the plurality of CORESETs being associated with the indicated TCI, paragraph 419, using the reference signal (RS) with beams in units of cells to be measured explicitly teaches using the RS as a source RS, including the RS and the TCI as part of the BFD configuration (for beams in units of cells to be measured) is interpreted as using the RS of the indicated TCI), or a source RS of a non-indicated TCI of the plurality of TCIs based on each of the plurality of CORESETs being associated with a respective TCI other than the indicated TCI, wherein at least one CORESET of the plurality of CORESETs is associated with non-indicated TCI.
In response to claim 23,
KIM teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; a transceiver; and one or more processors coupled to the memory and the transceiver and configured to cause the UE to (paragraph 942, RF processor is equated to a transceiver, paragraph 943, base band processor is equated to a processor, paragraph 945 storage is equated to a memory, these paragraphs together teach this limitation):
receive, via the transceiver, configuration information associated with a multiple transmission reception point (mTRP) operation, the configuration information indicating a plurality of CORESETs, and the configuration information further including an indicated transmission configuration indicator (TCI), of a plurality of TCIs; and receive, via the transceiver, an RS based on a selection rule for at least one beam failure determination (BFD) reference signal (RS) set, the selection rule indicating that the at least one BFD RS set comprises at least one of: a source RS of the indicated TCI based on at least one CORESET of the plurality of CORESETs being associated with the indicated TCI, or a source RS of a non-indicated TCI of the plurality of TCIs based on each of the plurality of CORESETs being associated with a respective TCI other than the indicated TCI, wherein at least one CORESET of the plurality of CORESETs is associated with non-indicated TCI (these limitations are identical to claim 1, therefore, these limitations are rejected as claim 1).
In response to claim 28,
KIM teaches a network node for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; a transceiver; and one or more processors coupled to the memory and the transceiver and configured to cause the network node to (paragraph 955, RF processor is equated to a transceiver, paragraph 956, base band processor is equated to a processor, paragraph 958, storage is equated to an memory, these three paragraphs together teach this limitation):
transmit configuration information associated with a multiple transmission reception point (mTRP) operation, the configuration information indicating a plurality of CORESETs, and the configuration information further including an indicated transmission configuration indicator (TCI), of a plurality of TCIs; and transmit an RS based on a selection rule for at least one beam failure determination (BFD) reference signal (RS) set, the selection rule indicating that the at least one BFD RS set comprises at least one of: a source RS of the indicated TCI based on at least one CORESET of the plurality of CORESETs being associated with the indicated TCI, or a source RS of a non-indicated TCI of the plurality of TCIs based on each of the plurality of CORESETs being associated with a respective TCI other than the indicated TCI, wherein at least one CORESET of the plurality of CORESETs is associated with non-indicated TCI (these limitations are identical to claim 12, therefore, these limitations are rejected as claim 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7, 10-11, 17-18, 21-22, 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 (a) as being unpatentable over Donggun KIM (hereinafter, “KIM”; 20230217306) in view of MIngju LI (hereinafter, “LI”; 20250151102A1).
In response to claims 6 and 17,
KIM does not teach explicitly about claims 6 and 17.
LI in view of KIM teaches wherein an order of selection associated with the plurality of CORESETs is based on at least one of a synchronization set monitoring periodicity or a CORESET identifier (ID) associated with each CORESET of the plurality of CORESETs (paragraph 90 is interpreted as using multiple CORESETs, paragraph 92, using index ID of the CORESEY based on priority explicitly teaches using an order of selection associated with the plurality of CORESETs is based on a CORESET identifier (ID) associated with each CORESET of the plurality of CORESETs).
It would have been obvious within the scope of a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KIM for an order of selection associated with the plurality of CORESETs is based on a CORESET identifier (ID) associated with each CORESET of the plurality of CORESETs as taught by LI because it would allow determining a failure detection of a resource for a TCI configuration according to a CORESET of different CORESET sets.
In response to claims 7 and 18,
KIM does not teach explicitly about claims 7 and 18.
LI in view of KIM teaches wherein a first CORESET is associated with a first BFD RS set of the at least one BFD RS set based on the first CORESET comprising a first selected CORESET based on the order of selection and a second CORESET is associated with a second BFD RS set of the at least one BFD RS set based on the second CORESET comprising a second selected CORESET based on the order of selection (paragraph 106, CORESET #4 according to the third priority selection rule is equated to first CORESET and COREST#3 is equated to second CORESET, using reference signals (corresponding to the TCI states) of CORESET#4 and CORESET#3 for determining beam failure detection explicitly teaches this limitation).
It would have been obvious within the scope of a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KIM for using a first CORESET is associated with a first BFD RS set of the at least one BFD RS set based on the first CORESET comprising a first selected CORESET based on the order of selection and a second CORESET is associated with a second BFD RS set of the at least one BFD RS set based on the second CORESET comprising a second selected CORESET based on the order of selection as taught by LI because it would allow determining a failure detection of a resource for a TCI configuration according to a CORESET of different CORESET sets.
In response to claims 10, 21 and 27,
KIM does not teach explicitly about claims 10, 21 and 27,
LI in view of KIM teaches wherein the plurality of CORESETs is associated with a first BFD RS set of the at least one BFD RS set based on the plurality of TCIs, associated with the plurality of CORESETs, being associated with a TRP corresponding to the first BFD RS (paragraph 34, network device is equated to a TRP, paragraph 90 explicitly teaches using plurality of CORESET, paragraph 106, reference signal is interpreted as using, a set of reference signal using reference signals corresponding to the TCI states (of CORESET#4 and CORESET#3) for determining beam failure detection explicitly teaches plurality of CORESETs is associated with a first BFD RS set of the at least one BFD RS set based on the plurality of TCIs, associated with the plurality of CORESETs being associated with a TRP corresponding to the first BFD RS).
It would have been obvious within the scope of a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KIM for using plurality of CORESETs is associated with a first BFD RS set of the at least one BFD RS set based on the plurality of TCIs, associated with the plurality of CORESETs, being associated with a TRP corresponding to the first BFD RS as taught by LI because it would allow determining a failure detection of a resource for a TCI configuration according to a CORESET of different CORESET sets.
In response to claims 11 and 22,
KIM teaches further comprising receiving a communication that indicates that the plurality of TCIs is associated with the TRP, the communication comprising at least one of a radio resource control (RRC) message, a medium access control control element (MAC CE), or a downlink control information (DCI) transmission (paragraph 233, transmitting a RRC message by the base station (for inquiring about the capability of the UE) explicitly teaches receiving a communication that is associated with the TRP and the communication comprising at least one of a radio resource control (RRC) message, figure 1 explicitly teaches using plurality of gNBs or TRPs in different cells, paragraph 292 ,performing RLM to minimize a cell group activation delay in a first bandwidth part that is configured by the RRC message and using TCI as part of beam related information with the RLM configuration information of beams in units of cells explicitly teaches using plurality of TCI for the TRPs in different cells).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 8-9, 13-16, 19-20, 24-25 and 29-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As for dependent claims 2, 13, 24 and 29, these claims are objected, because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitations “the selection rule indicating that the at least one BFD RS set comprises the source RS of the non-indicated TCI further based on a maximum quantity of RSs associated with the at least one BFD RS set having a maximum quantity value of one.”
The closet prior art in the record Donggun KIM (hereinafter, 20230217306) teaches in paragraph 222 about configuring uplink and downlink bandwidth part, he teaches in paragraph 223 about using a RRC message for broadcasting a configuration information and using a CORESET for broadcasting SIB1 via the RRC message, he teaches in paragraph 233 about suing a UE capability information and requesting the capability information by the base station for determining the RRC connection, and he also teaches in paragraph 292 about using a TCI with a radio link message (RLM) and using the RLM as the first active bandwidth part with the RRC message, but he fails to teach the above cited limitation.
As for dependent claims 3, 14, 25 and 30, these claims are objected, because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitations “the selection rule further indicating that the at least one BFD RS set comprises, based on a maximum quantity of RSs associated with the at least one BFD RS set having a maximum quantity value of greater than one, at least one additional source RS associated with at least one additional CORESET, of the plurality of CORESETS, associated with at least one additional TCI, of the plurality of TCIs, that is different from the indicated TCI.”
The closet prior art in the record Donggun KIM (hereinafter, 20230217306) teaches in paragraph 222 about configuring uplink and downlink bandwidth part, he teaches in paragraph 223 about using a RRC message for broadcasting a configuration information and using a CORESET for broadcasting SIB1 via the RRC message, he teaches in paragraph 233 about suing a UE capability information and requesting the capability information by the base station for determining the RRC connection, and he also teaches in paragraph 292 about using a TCI with a radio link message (RLM) and using the RLM as the first active bandwidth part with the RRC message, but he fails to teach the above cited limitation.
Dependent claims 4-5 and 15-16 are objected, because these claims dependent on claims 3 and 14.
As for dependent claims 8 and 19, these claims are objected, because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitations “wherein the mTRP operation comprises a multiple downlink control information (mDCI) mTRP operation, the configuration information indicating a control resource set (CORESET) pool having a first CORESET pool identifier (ID) and comprising the plurality of CORESETs and an additional CORESET pool having a second CORESET pool ID and comprising an additional plurality of CORESETs, and wherein the selection rule is applied to the first CORESET pool ID, for a first BFD RS set of the at least one BFD RS set, and the second CORESET pool ID, for a second BFD RS set of the at least one BFD RS set.”
The closet prior art in the record Donggun KIM (hereinafter, 20230217306) teaches in paragraph 222 about configuring uplink and downlink bandwidth part, he teaches in paragraph 223 about using a RRC message for broadcasting a configuration information and using a CORESET for broadcasting SIB1 via the RRC message, he teaches in paragraph 233 about suing a UE capability information and requesting the capability information by the base station for determining the RRC connection, and he also teaches in paragraph 292 about using a TCI with a radio link message (RLM) and using the RLM as the first active bandwidth part with the RRC message, but he fails to teach the above cited limitation.
As for dependent claims 9 and 20, these claims are objected, because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitations “wherein the mTRP operation comprises a single downlink control information (sDCI) mTRP operation, the configuration information indicating a plurality of TRP identifiers (IDs), wherein the plurality of CORESETs is associated with a first TRP ID of the plurality of TRP IDs and an additional plurality of CORESETs is associated with a second TRP ID of the plurality of TRP IDs, and wherein the selection rule is applied to the first TRP ID, for a first BFD RS set of the at least one BFD RS set, and the second TRP ID, for a second BFD RS set of the at least one BFD RS set.”
The closet prior art in the record Donggun KIM (hereinafter, 20230217306) teaches in paragraph 222 about configuring uplink and downlink bandwidth part, he teaches in paragraph 223 about using a RRC message for broadcasting a configuration information and using a CORESET for broadcasting SIB1 via the RRC message, he teaches in paragraph 233 about suing a UE capability information and requesting the capability information by the base station for determining the RRC connection, and he also teaches in paragraph 292 about using a TCI with a radio link message (RLM) and using the RLM as the first active bandwidth part with the RRC message, but he fails to teach the above cited limitation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABUSAYEED M HAQUE/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466