DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to applicant’s response to election submitted January 12, 2026. The claims filed February 16, 2023 are examined herein. This application was filed February 16, 2023.
Claims 1-23 are pending in this application.
Election
Applicant’s election of
and SEQ ID 8 in the reply filed January 12, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 21 was found free of the prior art with respect to the specific mRNA SEQ ID 8 as recited, thus the election was expanded to SEQ ID 1, which is also free of prior art. The election was expanded to mRNA comprising from 5' to 3', an interleukin 12 subunit ß (IL12B) polypeptide coding sequence and an interleukin 12 subunit α (IL12A) polypeptide coding sequence as recited by instant claim 1.
Upon discovery of additional species during search, the election was expanded to include the following species:
which are encompassed by claims 1-6, 11-16, and 21-23.
Claims 7-10 and 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the election requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1-6, 11-16, and 21-23 are encompassed by the elected species and examined herein.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the X-axis labels on Figures 1-2 have overlapping texts, rendering X-axis labels illegible.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Structures in the table on pages 8-9 are blurry, rendering them illegible, specifically GL-Cap-9 (pgs. 8-9).
The circles surrounding base units in structural formulas are unclear if they are meant to be dotted lines or solid lines, could present an issue of clarity, for example:
(pgs. 3, 6, formula (I), pg. 7, formula (IA), pg. 8, formula (IB),
Appropriate correction is required.
The use of the term CleanCap® (abstract, pg. 2, para. 3 for example) (CLEANCAP, trademark registry, USPTO, 2018, cited on PTO-892), which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 the circles surrounding base units in structural formulas are unclear if they are meant to be dotted lines or solid lines, could present an issue of clarity, for example:
. (see also withdrawn claims 8 and 11).
In claim 15 the last structure is b blurry, rendering it illegible (pgs. 8-9).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (b)
Claims 1-6, 11-16, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-6, 11-16, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: Connectivity between the 5’ Cap analog and mRNA.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted steps are: The claim recites a method of synthesizing the mRNA modified with 5’-cap analog of claim 1 in vitro without reciting any active steps.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 15, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ekambareswara (US 2023/0250127, IDS filed October 14, 2025, effectively filed November 24, 2021) in view of Frederick (WO 2017/201325, cited on PTO-892).
Regarding claims 1-6, 15, and 22-23: Ekambareswara teaches mRNA 5’ cap analogs and methods of making and using them (pg. 1, para. 0006). Ekambareswara also teaches mRNA containing the 5’ cap analogs (pg. 1, para. 0007). Ekambareswara teaches the 5’-cap analogs of the invention can improve transcription, mRNA stability, and mRNA translation efficiency and durability (pg. 1, para. 0007). Ekambareswara teaches the preparation of mRNA cap analog with the following structure:
which is identical to the elected mRNA cap analog (pgs. 67-68, para. 0343, example 18). Ekambareswara teaches methods of synthesizing an mRNA molecule in vitro with incorporation of the 5’ caps of the invention (pgs. 2-3, para. 0038). Ekambareswara teaches the mRNA capped molecules can be administered in formulations for in vivo evaluation (i.e. a compositions, pgs. 69-70, para. 0355, 0363).
Ekambareswara does not teach wherein the mRNA comprises from 5' to 3', an interleukin 12 subunit ß (IL12B) polypeptide coding sequence and an interleukin 12 subunit α (IL12A) polypeptide coding sequence from either mice or human.
However, Frederick teaches methods for the preparation of immunomodulatory polynucleotides (e.g., mRNAs) encoding an immune response primer polypeptide (e.g., an interleukin 23 (IL-23) polypeptide (abstract). Frederick also teaches the polynucleotide can encode an IL-12 polypeptide which comprises IL12B and IL12A subunits (pgs. 81-82, para. 320). The IL-12 polypeptide comprises human or murine IL-12 polypeptide (pg. 82, para. 321). Frederick teaches the mRNA encoding an IL-12 polypeptide can further include a 5’ terminal cap (pg. 83, para. 0324). Frederick teaches 5’ caps are useful to increase mRNA stability (pg. 239, para. 714). Frederick teaches acceptable caps include synthetic 5’ cap analogs (pg. 239, para. 716). Frederick teaches exemplary cap structures which are comparable to the 5’ cap structures claimed (pgs. 240-241, para. 723, i.e. canonical 5'-5'-triphosphate linkage between the 5'-terminal nucleotide of a polynucleotide and a guanine cap nucleotide).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the incorporate the cap analog of Ekambareswara to the preparation of immunomodulatory mRNA comprising IL12B and IL12A from murine or human as taught by Frederick. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success as incorporation of cap analogs into this type of mRNA is known in the art in order to improve transcription, mRNA stability, and mRNA translation efficiency and durability of the IL12 mRNA for immunomodulatory purposes.
Claims 1-6, 11-16, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (WO 2022/086140 IDS filed October 14, 2025,) in view of Frederick (WO 2017/201325, cited on PTO-892). The English translation of Kim has been provided.
Regarding claims 1-6, 11-16, and 22-23: Kim teaches the a novel oligonucleotide primer used for the synthesis of 5’-capped RNA (English translation, abstract). Kim teaches the primer of formula 1 can be utilized in the fields of nucleic acid therapeutic agents or vaccines (English translation, abstract). Kim teaches a compound of formula 1 includes the following species
(Original document pg. 6, compound 5, English translation, pg. 14, last sentence, English translation, pg. 17, last structure 5). Kim teaches pharmaceutical formulations for RNA therapeutics or vaccines may be formulated for administration (i.e. a composition, English translation, pg. 25, paras. 5-7). Kim teaches the incorporation of the primer for RNA capping can be performed in vitro (English translation, pg. 24, paras. 2, 9). Kim teaches the novel oligonucleotide of the present invention is utilized for the synthesis of 5’-capped RNA to improve the RNA production process and efficacy of a nucleic acid therapeutic of vaccine (English translation, pg. 25, para. 9).
Kim does not teach wherein the mRNA comprises from 5' to 3', an interleukin 12 subunit ß (IL12B) polypeptide coding sequence and an interleukin 12 subunit α (IL12A) polypeptide coding sequence from either mice or human.
However, Frederick teaches methods for the preparation of immunomodulatory polynucleotides (e.g., mRNAs) encoding an immune response primer polypeptide (e.g., an interleukin 23 (IL-23) polypeptide (abstract). Frederick also teaches the polynucleotide can encode an IL-12 polypeptide which comprises IL12B and IL12A subunits (pgs. 81-82, para. 320). The IL-12 polypeptide comprises human or murine IL-12 polypeptide (pg. 82, para. 321). Frederick teaches the mRNA encoding an IL-12 polypeptide can further include a 5’ terminal cap (pg. 83, para. 0324). Frederick teaches 5’ caps are useful to increase mRNA stability (pg. 239, para. 714). Frederick teaches acceptable caps include synthetic 5’ cap analogs (pg. 239, para. 716). Frederick teaches exemplary cap structures which are comparable to the 5’ cap structures claimed (pgs. 240-241, para. 723, i.e. canonical 5'-5'-triphosphate linkage between the 5'-terminal nucleotide of a polynucleotide and a guanine cap nucleotide).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the incorporate the cap analog of Kim to the preparation of immunomodulatory mRNA comprising IL12B and IL12A from murine or human as taught by Frederick. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success as incorporation of cap analogs into this type of mRNA is known in the art in order RNA to improve the RNA production process and efficacy of the IL12 mRNA for immunomodulatory purposes.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 11-16, and 22-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18057714 (US 20230250127, cited on IDS filed October 14, 2025) in view of Frederick (WO 2017/201325, cited on PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claims 1-6, 11-16, and 22-23: The copending claims teach the following compound
and
(copending claim 15). The copending claims teach an RNA molecule in which the 5’ end comprises a compound, including the compounds above (claim 16). The copending claims teach a method of capping an RNA transcript using a compound (copending claim 21). The copending claims teach a kit comprising the compound, the RNA molecule, and a polymerase (copending claims 18-20). This kit necessarily results in a composition comprising the compound.
The copending claims do not teach wherein the mRNA comprises from 5' to 3', an interleukin 12 subunit ß (IL12B) polypeptide coding sequence and an interleukin 12 subunit α (IL12A) polypeptide coding sequence from either mice or human.
However, Frederick teaches methods for the preparation of immunomodulatory polynucleotides (e.g., mRNAs) encoding an immune response primer polypeptide (e.g., an interleukin 23 (IL-23) polypeptide (abstract). Frederick also teaches the polynucleotide can encode an IL-12 polypeptide which comprises IL12B and IL12A subunits (pgs. 81-82, para. 320). The IL-12 polypeptide comprises human or murine IL-12 polypeptide (pg. 82, para. 321). Frederick teaches the mRNA encoding an IL-12 polypeptide can further include a 5’ terminal cap (pg. 83, para. 0324). Frederick teaches 5’ caps are useful to increase mRNA stability (pg. 239, para. 714). Frederick teaches acceptable caps include synthetic 5’ cap analogs (pg. 239, para. 716). Frederick teaches exemplary cap structures which are comparable to the 5’ cap structures claimed (pgs. 240-241, para. 723, i.e. canonical 5'-5'-triphosphate linkage between the 5'-terminal nucleotide of a polynucleotide and a guanine cap nucleotide).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the incorporate the cap analog of the copending claims to the preparation of immunomodulatory mRNA comprising IL12B and IL12A from murine or human as taught by Frederick. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success as incorporation of cap analogs into this type of mRNA is known in the art in order to improve mRNA stability of the IL12 mRNA for immunomodulatory purposes.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed in this action.
/S.L.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1693
/ANDREA OLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693