DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s amendments and arguments filed 01/21/2026. Claims 1 and 4-17 are currently pending for examination on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Betsui (US 5,037,336) (of record).
Regarding claim 1, Betsui discloses a connector assembly (title; see Fig. 1). Examiner notes that the limitation “for a battery pack” in the preamble is merely intended use language that fails to require any structure not already present in the connector assembly disclosed by Betsui. What’s more, the connector assembly disclosed by Betsui is not limited to any specific application and, thus, would be capable of being used for a battery pack. Betsui further discloses that the connector assembly comprises a first housing (not shown) with accommodating chambers that support a first terminal (male terminals) (Col. 3, lines 30-37), reading on the claimed limitation that the first housing is configured to support a first terminal. Betsui further discloses a second housing (10) with accommodating chambers (11) designed to fit a second terminal (100) (see Figs. 1 and 4A; Col. 3, lines 3-7; Col. 4, lines 50-52), reading on the claimed limitation that that second housing is configured to support the second terminal. Betsui further discloses that the second terminal (100) can be electrically connected to the first terminal (Col. 4, lines 50-58), and that the second housing (10) can be coupled to the first housing (Col. 3, lines 30-33). Betsui further discloses a fixing member (50) detachably coupled to the second housing (10) (see Figs. 1 and 2; Col. 3, line 52-Col. 4, line 19), wherein the fixing member (50) is designed to be selectively disposed in a first position (temporary retaining position) (see Figs. 4A, 5A, 6, and 8A; Col. 4, lines 22-49) and a second position (regular retaining position) (see Figs. 4E, 5E, 7, and 8D; Col. 5, lines 24-40). Furthermore, the instant specification states that the fixing member is configured to align the second housing and the second terminal in the first position by including first insertion portions that guide the second terminal in an accurate position inside the second housing (see [0075]-[0076] of the instant specification). Thus, since Betsui discloses that the fixing member (50) includes first insertion portions (52) that act as guides for the second terminal (100) to be in an accurate position inside the second housing (10) in the first position (temporary retaining position) (see Figs. 1, 4A, 5A, and 8A; Col. 4, lines 23-68), it is clear that Betsui reads on the limitation that the fixing member is configured to align the second housing and the second terminal with each other in the first position. Additionally, the instant specification states that the fixing member is configured to prevent the first housing and the second housing from being separated from each other in a second position by including second insertion portions that can be inserted into a locking unit on the second housing to limit deformation of the locking unit (see [0074] and [0079] of the instant specification). Thus, since Betsui discloses that the fixing member (50) includes second insertion portions (59) that can be inserted into a locking unit (27) on the second housing (10) in the second position (regular retaining position) in a way that limits movement of the locking unit (27) (see Fig. 8D; Col. 3, lines 64-67; Col. 5, lines 37-40), it is clear that Betsui reads on the limitation that the fixing member is configured to prevent the first housing and the second housing from being separated from each other in the second position. Betsui further discloses that the fixing member (50) includes a first guide portion (61) configured to prevent the fixing member (50) from deviating from the first position (temporary retaining position) by engaging with the second housing (10) (see Figs. 1, 2, and 6; Col. 3, line 67-Col. 4, line 2; Col. 4, lines 27-33). Betsui further discloses that the first guide portion (61) has a groove shape (see Modified Figure 1 below), and the second housing (10) includes an insertion protrusion inserted into the first guide portion (see Modified Figure 6 below; Col. 4, lines 27-33).
Modified Figure 1
Modified Figure 6
Regarding claim 4, Betsui discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 3, Betsui further discloses that the fixing member (50) includes a second guide portion (63) configured to prevent the fixing member (50) from deviating from the second position (regular retaining position) by engaging with the insertion protrusion (17) (see Figs. 4E and 5E; Col. 4, lines 2-5; Col. 5, lines 24-40). Examiner notes that since the insertion protrusion identified in claim 3 and the insertion protrusion (17) identified here are integrally formed (see Fig. 1; Col. 3, lines 3-13), they can reasonably be identified as the same insertion protrusion. Thus, Betsui reads on all of the limitations in claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, Betsui discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 4. Betsui further discloses that the fixing member (50) is configured to be coupled to the second housing (10) in a first direction through use of, at least, the first guide portion (61) (see Figs. 1 and 2; Col. 4, lines 27-33), and the first guide portion (61) and the second guide portion (63) are disposed in the first direction (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Betsui discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Betsui further discloses that the second housing (10) has an opening (11) configured to accommodate the second terminal (100) (see Figs. 1 and 4A; Col. 3, lines 3-7; Col. 4, lines 50-52), and the fixing member (50) further includes a first insertion portion (52) configured to be inserted into the opening (11) (see Figs. 1, 4A, 5A, and 8A; Col. 4, lines 23-68), wherein the first insertion portion (52) is inserted into the opening (11) when the fixing member (50) is positioned at the first position or the second position (see Figs. 2, 4A, and 4E; Col. 4, lines 23-68; Col. 5, lines 24-40).
Regarding claim 7, Betsui discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Betsui further discloses that the second housing (10) comprises a body portion (see 25 and 33) configured to accommodate the second terminal through the openings (11) (see Figs. 1 and 4A; Col. 3, lines 3-7; Col. 4, lines 50-52), and a locking unit (27) formed to be elastically deformable and configured to engage with the first housing (see Fig. 1; Col. 3, lines 22-33).
Regarding claim 8, Betsui discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 7. Betsui further discloses that the locking unit (27) comprises a hook (28) configured to hang on the first housing (see Fig. 1; Col. 3, lines 22-33), and a lever (29) connected to the hook (28) (see Fig. 1; Col. 3, lines 22-33; Col. 6, lines 15-17).
Regarding claim 9, Betsui discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. Betsui further discloses that the fixing member (50) includes a second insertion portion (59) inserted into a gap between the lever (29) and the body portion (see 25 and 33) to prevent a movement of the lever (29) (see Fig. 8D; Col. 3, lines 64-67; Col. 5, lines 37-40).
Regarding claim 10, Betsui discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 9. Betsui further discloses that the fixing member (50) has a state in which the second insertion portion (59) is not inserted into the gap in the first position (temporary retaining position) (see Fig. 8A; Col. 4, lines 44-49), and has a state in which the second insertion portion (59) is inserted into the gap in the second position (regular retaining position) (see Fig. 8D; Col. 5, lines 34-40).
Regarding claim 11, Betsui discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. Betsui further discloses that the first housing includes a hook protrusion engaging with the hook (28) (Col. 3, lines 30-33).
Regarding claim 12, Betsui discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Betsui further discloses that the second housing (10) includes a locking unit (27) configured to engage with the first housing (see Fig. 1; Col. 3, lines 22-33), and the fixing member (50) comprises a first insertion portion (52) configured to be in contact with the second terminal (100) (see Fig. 4E; Col. 4, lines 23-68; Col. 5, lines 41-54), and a second insertion portion (59) configured to be in contact with the locking unit (27) (see Fig. 8D; Col. 3, lines 64-67; Col. 5, lines 37-40), wherein the first insertion portion (52) and the second insertion portion (59) are integrally formed (see Fig. 1; Col. 3, lines 52-67).
Regarding claim 13, Betsui discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 12. Betsui further discloses that the fixing member (50) is configured to be coupled to the second housing (10) in the first direction through use of, at least, a first guide portion (61) (see Figs. 1 and 2; Col. 4, lines 27-33), and the first insertion portion (52) and the second insertion portion (59) are disposed in a second direction, perpendicular to the first direction (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, Betsui discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 13. Betsui further discloses that as the fixing member (50) is inserted in the first direction, the first insertion portion (52) and the second insertion portion (59) are configured to be inserted into different positions of the second housing (10) (see Figs. 1, 2, 4A, 8A, and 8D), and the first insertion portion (52) is configured to be inserted into the second housing (10) before the second insertion portion (59) (see Figs. 1, 2, 4A, 8A, and 8D; Col. 4, lines 23-49).
Regarding claim 15, Betsui discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 13. Betsui further discloses that a length of the first insertion portion (52) in the first direction is longer than a length of the second insertion portion (59) in the first direction (see Figs. 1, 4A, and 8A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2018/0190965) (Lee) (of record) in view of Betsui (US 5,037,336) (of record).
Regarding claim 16, Lee discloses a battery pack (title) comprising a connector assembly (50, 500) (see Figs. 1 and 7; [0046]) and a plurality of battery cells electrically connected to a first terminal (15) of the connector assembly (50, 500) ([0040]-[0042]). Lee fails to disclose, however, the connector assembly according to claim 1.
Betsui teaches a connector assembly according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Betsui further teaches that this connector assembly helps to prevent an electric terminal from falling out either in the direction of insertion or in the opposite direction (Col. 1, lines 6-12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the connector assembly disclosed by Lee with the connector assembly taught by Betsui because they would have had a reasonable expectation that doing so would help to prevent the electric terminal from falling out either in the direction of insertion or in the opposite direction.
Regarding claim 17, modified Lee discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 16. Modified Lee further discloses that the battery pack comprises a battery module (Lee: 1) including a module housing (Lee: 20) configured to accommodate the plurality of battery cells (Lee: see Figs. 1 and 3; [0038]-[0040]), and a pack housing (Lee: 5) configured to accommodate the battery module (Lee: 1) (Lee: see Fig. 10; [0088]). Lee further discloses that the housings of the connector assembly (Lee: 50, 500) are exposed to the outside of the module housing (Lee: 20) (Lee: see Figs. 1, 7, 8, and 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the first housing and the second housing (Betsui: 10) in modified Lee to also be exposed to the outside of the module housing (Lee: 20). Thus, modified Lee satisfies all of the limitations in claim 17.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 11/04/2025.
Applicant's arguments filed 01/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s arguments against the Betsui reference, examiner respectfully disagrees. First, applicant argues that Betsui’s disclosed temporary retaining position and regular retaining position do not map onto the claimed first position and second position because Betsui does not specifically mention the claimed functions of the first position and second position. However, this is not persuasive. Indeed, as set forth in the above rejection, Betsui either explicitly or inherently discloses the same functions as required by the claimed first and second positions as well as the necessary structure in order to perform the functions. For instance, Betsui clearly states that in the temporary retaining position (corresponding to the claimed first position), “the opening of terminal accommodating chamber 11… and the opening on both front and rear end surfaces of cavity 56 of latching member 50 are aligned” (Col. 4, lines 36-39; see Figs. 2 and 4A). Furthermore, due to this alignment, the second terminal (100) is able to pass through the cavity (56) and be inserted into the terminal accommodating chamber (11) of the second housing (10) (Col. 4, lines 50-52; see Fig. 4A). Thus, Betsui clearly shows that in the temporary retaining position, the second housing (10) and the second terminal (100) are aligned. What’s more, Betsui includes further structure, such as the latching arms (52), that aid in aligning the second terminal (100) and the second housing (10) (see Figs. 1, 4A, 5A, and 8A; Col. 4, lines 23-68). These latching arms (52) clearly correspond to the “first insertion portions 410” mentioned in the instant specification as performing the claimed function of aligning the second terminal and the second housing (see [0075]-[0076] of the instant specification). With respect to the claimed second position, the instant specification states that the fixing member prevents the first housing and the second housing from being separated from each other by including second insertion portions that can be inserted into a locking unit on the second housing to limit deformation of the locking unit (see [0074] and [0079] of the instant specification). Thus, since Betsui discloses that the fixing member (50) includes second insertion portions (59) that can be inserted into a locking unit (27) on the second housing (10) in the regular retaining position in a way that limits movement of the locking unit (27) (see Fig. 8D; Col. 3, lines 64-67; Col. 5, lines 37-40), it is clear that Betsui’s regular retaining position performs the same function as the claimed second position. While Betsui does not explicitly mention this function, given that Betsui includes the same structure that the instant specification requires in order to perform the function, it is considered inherent that Betsui’s regular retaining position would lead to the same outcome as the claimed second position.
Applicant further argues that Betsui’s elastic latching part (61) cannot reasonably be interpreted as having a groove shape in which an insertion protrusion of the second housing (10) can be inserted. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Indeed, the broadest reasonable interpretation of a groove shape is merely a channel cut into another object. Thus, as can be seen in the latching part (61) disclosed by Betsui, the space between the base of the latching part (61) and the tip of the hook (62) protruding from the base can be easily interpreted as a channel (see Modified Figure 1 below). In fact, protrusions (like the hook 62) and grooves that define protrusions are merely negatives of each other and do not necessarily require different structure. Thus, where a protrusion is present, as in this case, one of ordinary skill in the art can also reasonably interpret a groove to be present as the space cut away in order to create the protrusion. Furthermore, with this understanding, the insertion protrusion disposed on the second housing (10) can also reasonably be interpreted as being inserted into the groove shape of the latching part (61) because it clearly engages the area needed to be cut away in order to create the hook (62) (see Modified Figure 6 below). Thus, applicant’s arguments against the Betsui reference are not persuasive.
Modified Figure 1
Modified Figure 6
As such, claims 1 and 4-17 stand rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.C.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/SUSAN D LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754