DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 8/20/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the references given in the IDS are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 8 recites “a voltage of the charging interface” and “a threshold voltage,” but line 6 already recites “a voltage of the charging interface” and “a threshold voltage.” For the purposes of compact prosecution, the examiner interprets the terms on line 8 as “the voltage of the charging interface” and “the threshold voltage,”
Claim 10, line 12 recites “a voltage of the charging interface” and “a threshold voltage,” but line 9 already recites “a voltage of the charging interface” and “a threshold voltage.” For the purposes of compact prosecution, the examiner interprets the terms on line 12 as “the voltage of the charging interface” and “the threshold voltage,”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by He Peng (CN 105305558 A, published 2016-02-03), hereinafter referred to as Peng.
Regarding independent claim 1, Peng teaches a charging circuit (Figs. 2-3), comprising a conversion circuit (Fig. 3 and ¶[66-70]: power management chip U2), wherein a first transmission end of the conversion circuit is configured to connect to a charging interface (adapter interface J1) of a terminal device (Fig. 2: charging control device of the adaptive adapter), the charging interface is configured to receive a first direct current output by an adapter (Figs. 2-3 and ¶[67]: power management chip U2 receives charging current from adapter 50 through adapter interface J1), and a second transmission end of the conversion circuit is configured to connect to a terminal battery (Fig. 3: battery connected to power management chip U2 through battery interface J2), and the conversion circuit is configured to:
when a voltage of the charging interface is greater than or equal to a threshold voltage, transmit the first direct current to the terminal battery from the charging interface , wherein the controller is configured to control the conversion circuit to modulate a voltage of the first direct current to a charging voltage to charge the terminal battery (Fig. 1 – steps S301, S200, and S300, and ¶[44-46, 49, 59]: When comparison result is within preset threshold range, charge is performed with current charging current.); or
when a voltage of the charging interface is less than a threshold voltage, transmit a second direct current from the terminal battery to the charging interface, wherein the controller is configured to control the conversion circuit to modulate a voltage of the second direct current to a first voltage, wherein the first voltage is greater than or equal to a lowest operating voltage of the adapter (alternative language used).
Regarding claim 2, Peng teaches the charging circuit according to claim 1, further comprising:
a detection circuit (Fig. 2: reading module 10), wherein one end of the detection circuit is configured to connect to the charging interface, and the other end of the detection circuit is connected to the controller (Figs. 2 and ¶[57]: reading module 10 connected to adapter);
the detection circuit is configured to:
detect the voltage of the charging interface ([57]: reading module 10 reads voltage value output of adapter 50 when adapter 50 is connected);
when the voltage of the charging interface increases from being less than the threshold voltage to being greater than or equal to the threshold voltage, send a first indication signal to the controller (Fig. 1 – steps S301, S200, and S300, and ¶[44-46, 49, 59]: When comparison result is within preset threshold range (greater than the preset lower limit), charge is performed with current charging current. The examiner interprets the comparison result being within the preset threshold range is the indication signal to the controller); or
when the voltage of the charging interface decreases from being greater than or equal to the threshold voltage to being less than the threshold voltage, send a second indication signal to the controller (alternative language used); and
the controller is further configured to:
after receiving the first indication signal, control the conversion circuit to modulate the voltage of the first direct current to the charging voltage to charge the terminal battery (Fig. 1 – steps S301 and S200, and ¶[45]: See above); or
after receiving the second indication signal, control the conversion circuit to modulate the voltage of the second direct current to the first voltage (alternative language used).
Regarding claim 3, Peng teaches the charging circuit according to claim 1, wherein the conversion circuit further comprises:
one or more direct current-direct current conversion circuits (Fig. 3 and ¶[32, 57]: direct current is provided to the USB terminal of the power management chip U2 from the adapter interface J1. Direct current is provided from the BAT terminal of the power management chip U2 to the battery interface, wherein the current to the battery interface is increased or decreased based on the comparison result of the voltage value output of the adapter 50 with the preset voltage).
Regarding claim 4, Peng teaches the charging circuit according to claim 1, wherein the conversion circuit further comprises at least one of the following circuits:
a linear voltage regulator power supply circuit, a buck buck conversion circuit, a boost boost conversion circuit (alternative language used),
a buck-boost buck-boost conversion circuit (¶[57]: The examiner interprets the charging control device of the adaptive adapter with charging management module 40 as functioning as a buck-boost conversion circuit due to the controlled increase or decrease of charging current to charge the battery),
a three-level buck buck conversion circuit, a switched-capacitor conversion circuit, an inductor-inductor-capacitor (LLC) resonant conversion circuit, a dual active full-bridge direct current-direct current (DAB) conversion circuit, a forward conversion circuit, a flyback conversion circuit, a half-bridge push-pull circuit, a full-bridge push-pull circuit, and a full-bridge phase-shift conversion circuit (alternative language used).
Regarding independent claim 5, Peng teaches a charging circuit (Figs. 2-3 and ¶[66]: charging control device of the adaptive adapter with charging management module 40 and adapter 50) comprising:
a conversion circuit (Fig. 3 and ¶[66-70]: power management chip U2), wherein a first transmission end of the conversion circuit is configured to connect to a charging interface (adapter interface J1) of a terminal device (Fig. 2: charging control device of the adaptive adapter), the charging interface is configured to receive a first direct current output by an adapter (Figs. 2-3 and ¶[67]: power management chip U2 receives charging current from adapter 50 through adapter interface J1), and a second transmission end of the conversion circuit is configured to connect to a terminal battery (Fig. 3: battery connected to power management chip U2 through battery interface J2);
the conversion circuit is configured to:
transmit the first direct current to the terminal battery from the charging interface (¶[67, 69]: power management chip U2 charges the battery through battery interface J2); and
a controller (¶[56] and Fig. 2: reading module 10, comparison and judgement module 20, and control module 30) configured to:
control the conversion circuit to modulate a voltage of the first direct current to a charging voltage to charge the terminal battery (¶[57, 69-70]: control module 30 charges battery at a charging current with a presumed charging voltage), and
when a voltage of the charging interface decreases from being greater than or equal to a threshold voltage to being less than the threshold voltage, control the conversion circuit to decrease a charging current provided to the terminal battery (¶[43-44, esp. 49, 54] and Fig. 1: At step S200, voltage output by the adapter is compared with the preset voltage. If the comparison result is less than the preset lower limit, the preset charging current is reduced), to maintain the voltage of the charging interface to be greater than or equal to a lowest operating voltage of the adapter (The examiner interprets any charging voltage that charges the battery is greater than or equal to the lowest operating voltage of the adapter).
Regarding claim 6, Peng teaches the charging circuit according to claim 5, further comprising:
a detection circuit (Fig. 2: reading module 10), wherein one end of the detection circuit is connected to the first transmission end (Figs. 2 and ¶[57]: reading module 10 connected to adapter), and the other end of the detection circuit is connected to the controller (Figs. 2 and ¶[57]: reading module 10 connected to control module 30 through comparison and judgment module 20);
the detection circuit is configured to:
detect the voltage of the charging interface ([57]: reading module 10 reads voltage value output of adapter 50 when adapter 50 is connected);
when the voltage of the charging interface decreases from being greater than or equal to the threshold voltage to being less than the threshold voltage, send a third indication signal to the controller (Fig. 1 - steps S200 and S301, and ¶[43-44, esp. 49, 54]: Voltage output by the adapter is compared with the preset voltage. ¶[57]: The comparison and judgment module 20 compares the voltage value output of the adapter 50 with the preset voltage and then the control module sets the charging current according result of the comparison. If the comparison result is less than the preset lower limit, the preset charging current is reduced. The examiner interprets the comparison result being less than the preset lower limit is the indication signal to the controller); and
the controller is further configured to:
after receiving the third indication signal, control the conversion circuit to decrease the charging current provided to the terminal battery (¶[57]: see above).
Regarding claim 7, Peng teaches the charging circuit according to claim 6, wherein the detection circuit is further configured to:
when the voltage of the charging interface increases from being less than the threshold voltage to being greater than or equal to the threshold voltage, send a fourth indication signal to the controller (Fig. 1 – steps S301, S200, and S300, and ¶[44-46, 49, 59]: When comparison result is within preset threshold range, charge is performed with current charging current. When comparison result is greater than the preset upper limit, the preset charging current is increased. The examiner interprets the comparison result being within the preset threshold range or greater than the preset upper limit is the indication signal to the controller); and
the controller is further configured to:
after receiving the fourth indication signal, control the conversion circuit to increase the charging current provided to the terminal battery (Fig. 1 – steps S301 and S200, and ¶[45]: See above).
Regarding claim 8, Peng teaches the charging circuit according to claim 5, wherein the conversion circuit further comprises:
one or more direct current-direct current conversion circuits (Fig. 3 and ¶[32, 57]: direct current is provided to the USB terminal of the power management chip U2 from the adapter interface J1. Direct current is provided from the BAT terminal of the power management chip U2 to the battery interface, wherein the current to the battery interface is increased or decreased based on the comparison result of the voltage value output of the adapter 50 with the preset voltage).
Regarding claim 9, Peng teaches the charging circuit according to claim 5, wherein the conversion circuit further comprises:
at least one of the following circuits:
a linear voltage regulator power supply circuit, a buck buck conversion circuit, a boost boost conversion circuit (alternative language used),
a buck-boost buck-boost conversion circuit (¶[57]: The examiner interprets the charging control device of the adaptive adapter with charging management module 40 as functioning as a buck-boost conversion circuit due to the controlled increase or decrease of charging current to charge the battery),
a three-level buck buck conversion circuit, a switched-capacitor conversion circuit, an inductor-inductor-capacitor LLC resonant conversion circuit, a dual active full-bridge direct current-direct current DAB conversion circuit, a forward conversion circuit, a flyback conversion circuit, a half-bridge push-pull circuit, a full-bridge push-pull circuit, and a full-bridge phase-shift conversion circuit (alternative language used).
Regarding independent claim 10, Peng teaches a terminal device (Figs. 2-3 and ¶[66]: charging control device of the adaptive adapter with charging management module 40 and adapter 50) comprising:
a charging interface (Figs. 2-3 and ¶[66]: adapter interface J1);
a charging circuit (Figs. 2-3: power management chip U2); and
a terminal battery, wherein the charging circuit is separately connected to the charging interface and the terminal battery (Fig. 3: adapter interface J1 connected to power management chip U2, and battery separately connected to power management chip U2 through battery interface J2);
the charging interface is configured to receive a first direct current output by an adapter (¶[57, 69-70]: control module 30 charges battery at a charging current with a presumed charging voltage); and
the charging circuit is configured to:
when a voltage of the charging interface is greater than or equal to a threshold voltage, transmit the first direct current to the terminal battery from the charging interface, and modulate a voltage of the first direct current to a charging voltage to charge the terminal battery (Fig. 1 – steps S301, S200, and S300, and ¶[44-46, 49, 59]: When comparison result is within preset threshold range, charge is performed with current charging current.); or
when a voltage of the charging interface is less than a threshold voltage, transmit a second direct current from the terminal battery to the charging interface, and modulate a voltage of the second direct current to a first voltage, wherein the first voltage is greater than or equal to a lowest operating voltage of the adapter (alternative language used).
Regarding claim 11, Peng teaches the terminal device according to claim 10, wherein the charging circuit further comprises:
a conversion circuit and a controller, a first transmission end of the conversion circuit is configured to connect to the charging interface of the terminal device, and a second transmission end of the conversion circuit is configured to connect to the terminal battery (Fig. 3: adapter interface J1 connected to power management chip U2, and battery separately connected to power management chip U2 through battery interface J2);
the conversion circuit is configured to:
when the voltage of the charging interface is greater than or equal to the threshold voltage, transmit the first direct current to the terminal battery from the charging interface (Fig. 1 – steps S301, S200, and S300, and ¶[44-46, 49, 59]: When comparison result is within preset threshold range (greater than preset lower limit), charge is performed with current charging current. The examiner interprets the comparison result being within the preset threshold range is the indication signal to the controller. When comparison result is within preset threshold range, charge is performed with current charging current.); or
when the voltage of the charging interface is less than the threshold voltage, transmit the second direct current from the terminal battery to the charging interface (alternative language used); and
the controller is configured to:
when the voltage of the charging interface is greater than or equal to the threshold voltage, control the conversion circuit to modulate the voltage of the first direct current to the charging voltage (Fig. 1 – steps S301, S200, and S300, and ¶[44-46, 49, 59]: When comparison result is within preset threshold range, charge is performed with current charging current.); or
when the voltage of the charging interface is less than the threshold voltage, control the conversion circuit to modulate the voltage of the second direct current to the first voltage (alternative language used).
Regarding claim 12, Peng teaches the terminal device according to claim 11, wherein the charging circuit further comprises:
a detection circuit (Fig. 2: reading module 10), one end of the detection circuit is configured to connect to the charging interface (Figs. 2 and ¶[57]: reading module 10 connected to adapter), and the other end of the detection circuit is connected to the controller (Figs. 2 and ¶[57]: reading module 10 connected to control module 30 through comparison and judgment module 20);
the detection circuit is configured to:
detect the voltage of the charging interface ([57]: reading module 10 reads voltage value output of adapter 50 when adapter 50 is connected);
when the voltage of the charging interface increases from being less than the threshold voltage to being greater than or equal to the threshold voltage, send a first indication signal to the controller (Fig. 1 – steps S301, S200, and S300, and ¶[44-46, 49, 59]: When comparison result is within preset threshold range, charge is performed with current charging current. When comparison result is greater than the preset upper limit, the preset charging current is increased. The examiner interprets the comparison result being within the preset threshold range or greater than the preset upper limit is the indication signal to the controller); or
when the voltage of the charging interface decreases from being greater than or equal to the threshold voltage to being less than the threshold voltage, send a second indication signal to the controller (alternative language used); and
the controller is further configured to:
after receiving the first indication signal, control the conversion circuit to modulate the voltage of the first direct current to the charging voltage (Fig. 1 – steps S301 and S200, and ¶[45]: See above); or
after receiving the second indication signal, control the conversion circuit to modulate the voltage of the second direct current to the first voltage (alternative language used).
Regarding claim 13, Peng teaches the terminal device according to claim 11, wherein the conversion circuit further comprises:
one or more direct current-direct current conversion circuits (Fig. 3 and ¶[32, 57]: direct current is provided to the USB terminal of the power management chip U2 from the adapter interface J1. Direct current is provided from the BAT terminal of the power management chip U2 to the battery interface, wherein the current to the battery interface is increased or decreased based on the comparison result of the voltage value output of the adapter 50 with the preset voltage).
Regarding claim 14, Peng teaches the terminal device according to claim 11, wherein the conversion circuit further comprises:
at least one of the following circuits:
a linear voltage regulator power supply circuit, a buck buck conversion circuit, a boost boost conversion circuit (alternative language used),
a buck-boost buck-boost conversion circuit (¶[57]: The examiner interprets the charging control device of the adaptive adapter with charging management module 40 as functioning as a buck-boost conversion circuit due to the controlled increase or decrease of charging current to charge the battery),
a three-level buck buck conversion circuit, a switched-capacitor conversion circuit, an inductor-inductor-capacitor (LLC) resonant conversion circuit, a dual active full-bridge direct current-direct current (DAB) conversion circuit, a forward conversion circuit, a flyback conversion circuit, a half-bridge push-pull circuit, a full-bridge push-pull circuit, and a full-bridge phase-shift conversion circuit (alternative language used).
Conclusion
/Ryu-Sung P. Weinmann/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 February 8, 2026
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859