DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-26 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 9, 14, 16-18, 22 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lam et al (Ensemble CNN for Classifying Holograms, 2019) in view of Rivenson et al (Phase recovery, 2018).
Regarding claims 1, 14 and 26, Lam teaches a computer-implemented method for object identification and/or classification, comprising:
receiving digital hologram data of a digital hologram of an object, the digital hologram data comprising phase information and magnitude information; and
processing the digital hologram data based on a neural-network-based ensemble model to identify and/or classify the object,
(Lam, Fig. 2, digital histogram generation followed by magnitude CNN and phase CNN; Fig. 4, a CNN based ensemble model for hologram object classification; inputs of the CNN ensemble model are magnitude component and phase component of the hologram; “Through an ensemble decision maker, the CNN that outputs a class identity with a higher matching score will be selected as the identity of the input hologram”, p5; “obtain the identity of an object in a hologram”, p2)
wherein the digital hologram data is associated with wavefront from the object, the wavefront being complex-valued,
(Lam, Fig. 2, “digital hologram” data is represented by magnitude and phase, meaning that the digital hologram data is complex data; the complex hologram data is the wavefront data as compared with the conventional light signals based only on intensity)
wherein the neural-network-based ensemble model comprises a first neural network arranged to process the magnitude information, and a second neural network arranged to process the phase information,
(Lam, Figs. 2 and 4, magnitude CNN and phase CNN)
wherein the computer-implemented method further comprises training, testing and/or validating the neural-network-based ensemble model based on data for training, testing and/or validating, the data for training, testing and/or validating comprising digital wavefront data of multiple digital wavefronts of each object, and
(Lam, Fig. 2, “a large set of augmented holograms is generated, and applied to train a deep-learning network that is implemented with a pair of CNNs. One of the CNNs receive the magnitude component of the holograms as the input data, while the other accepts the phase component”, “holograms of handwritten characters are employed to train, and to test the CNN”, p3)
Lam does not expressly disclose but Rivenson teaches:
wherein the digital wavefront data includes defective, flawed or incomplete data, and
(Rivenson, “These results highlight that challenging problems in imaging science can be overcome through machine learning, providing new avenues to design powerful computational imaging systems”, [abstract]; “the twin-image artifact of the in-line holography, which is a result of the lost phase information, is strong and severely obstructs the spatial features of the sample in both the amplitude and phase channels, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 2”, p2:c2; Fig. 2, “These images are contaminated with twin-image and self-interference-related spatial artifacts due to the missing phase information in the hologram detection process”, “The yellow arrows point to artifacts in f, g, n, o (due to out-of-focus dust particles or other unwanted objects) ...”; using digital hologram data that is "contaminated" with artifacts and "dust particles" (defective/flawed) for training a neural network. It would be obvious to train the classifier of D1 on the "flawed" biological data of D2 to achieve robust classification of real-world samples)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Rivenson into the system or method of Lam in order to train the classifier of Lam on the "flawed" biological data of Rivenson to achieve robust classification of real-world samples. The combination of Lam and Rivenson also teaches other enhanced capabilities.
The combination of Lam and Rivenson further teaches:
wherein the data for training. testing and/or validating is obtained by capturing from biological samples using a laser-based optical system.
(Rivenson, “We validated this method by reconstructing the phase and amplitude images of various samples, including blood and Pap smears and tissue sections”, [abstract]; “In this work, we chose to demonstrate the proposed framework using lens-free digital in-line holography of transmissive samples, including human tissue sections and blood and Pap smears”, p2:c2; “Phase recovery from intensity-only measurements forms the heart of coherent imaging techniques and holography”, [abstract]; “Under plane wave illumination, we can assume that A has zero phase at the detection plane, without loss of generality, that is, A= |A|”, p5:c2; capturing data from biological samples (blood, Pap smears, tissue) using a coherent optical system (plane wave illumination/holography), which implies a laser or similar coherent source; practically all conventional holography requires lasers as light sources to ensure the light is coherent, meaning the waves are in phase and have a consistent frequency to produce clear interference patterns)
Regarding claims 3 and 16, the combination of Lam and Rivenson teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
The combination further teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the neural-network-based ensemble model comprises a convolutional-neural-network-based ensemble model, model, and the first neural network and the second neural network are a first convolutional neural network and a second convolutional neural network respectively.
(Lam, Fig. 4)
Regarding claims 4 and 17, the combination of Lam and Rivenson teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
The combination further teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the neural-network-based ensemble model further comprises a concatenate unit arranged to combine magnitude features extracted by the first neural network and phase features extracted by the second neural network for identification and/or classification of the object.
(Lam, Fig. 4; “Through an ensemble decision maker, the CNN that outputs a class identity with a higher matching score will be selected as the identity of the input hologram”, p5; obviously, it can be considered that the ensemble decision block acts like a concatenated unit in a way that it combines/groups the outputs of the magnitude CNN and the phase CNN together, and selects one of these two outputs as the ensemble classification output based on which output has the higher matching score)
Regarding claims 5 and 18, the combination of Lam and Rivenson teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
The combination further teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
obtaining the digital hologram data of the digital hologram of the object, the obtaining comprises:
receiving a hologram of the object obtained using an imaging device; and
processing the hologram by performing a digital signal processing operation to obtain the digital hologram data.
(Lam, Fig. 4, preprocessing stage; “A hologram acquisition system, such as one based on optical scanning holography [2] or phase shifting holography [3], is used to capture digital holograms of physical objects”, p2)
Regarding claims 9 and 22, the combination of Lam and Rivenson teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
The combination further teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising outputting or displaying the identification and/or classification result.
(Lam, Fig. 4, obviously, the output of class identity of the hologram object may be displayed in a screen for human monitoring)
Claim(s) 2 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lam et al (Ensemble CNN for Classifying Holograms, 2019) in view of Rivenson et al (Phase recovery, 2018) and further in view of Cella et al (US2022/0187847).
Regarding claims 2 and 15, the combination of Lam and Rivenson teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
The combination does not expressly disclose but Cella teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the neural-network-based ensemble model comprises an attention based transformer model.
(Cella, “transformer-based, encoder-decoder architectures using attention mechanisms may be used in conjunction with or in place of convolutional neural networks”, [1801])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Cella into the modified system or method of Lam and Rivenson in order to use an attention based transformer model in place of a CNN for utilizing self-attention mechanisms to capture global dependencies and relations between image patches directly. The combination of Lam, Rivenson and Cella also teaches other enhanced capabilities.
Claim(s) 6 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lam et al (Ensemble CNN for Classifying Holograms, 2019) in view of Rivenson et al (Phase recovery, 2018) and further in view of Johnson (US2010/0172001).
Regarding claims 6 and 19, the combination of Lam and Rivenson teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
The combination does not expressly disclose but Johnson teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 5, wherein the digital signal processing operation comprises:
performing a Fourier transform operation on the hologram;
(Johnson, “the image is the Fourier transform of the hologram”, [0007])
after the Fourier transform operation, extracting hologram data associated with the object; and
after the extraction, performing an inverse Fourier transform operation on the extracted hologram data to obtain the digital hologram data.
(Johnson, “it is possible to define a desired image, for example symbols for a display or a frame for a video sequence, and to compute the inverse Fourier transform of the desired image to determine a hologram”, [0007]; the desired image containing symbols may be extracted from the image from the Fourier transform of the input hologram; the desired image is then, via inverse Fourier transform, converted to a feature specific hologram)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Johnson into the modified system or method of Lam and Rivenson in order to use Fourier transform and inverse Fourier transform to generate a feature specific hologram. The combination of Lam, Rivenson and Johnson also teaches other enhanced capabilities.
Claim(s) 7-8, 10-13, 20-21 and 23-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lam et al (Ensemble CNN for Classifying Holograms, 2019) in view of Rivenson et al (Phase recovery, 2018) and further in view of Cuche et al (US6262818).
Regarding claims 7 and 20, the combination of Lam and Rivenson teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
The combination does not expressly disclose but Cuche teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 5, the imaging device comprises a camera associated with an interferometer.
(Cuche, “FIG. 2A is a view showing diagrammatically one of the possible configuration for the recording of an off-axis hologram”, c5:25-35; “The advantage of a configuration based on a standard interferometer configuration is that it allows the recording of off-axis holograms with very small angles between the directions of propagation of the object and reference waves. This feature is important when low-resolution media such as a CCD camera are used as image acquisition systems”, c11:1-10)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Cuche into the modified system or method of Lam and Rivenson in order to use an off-axis interferometer for holography with the advantage of reconstructing images from a single hologram without a twin image which is the case for in-line holography. It allows for retrieving both amplitude and phase information of an object wave. The combination of Lam, Rivenson and Cuche also teaches other enhanced capabilities.
Regarding claims 8 and 21, the combination of Lam, Rivenson and Cuche teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
The combination further teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 7, wherein the interferometer is an off-axis interferometer and the hologram is an off-axis hologram.
(Cuche, see comments on claim 7)
Regarding claims 10 and 23, the combination of Lam and Rivenson teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
The combination of Lam, Rivenson and Cuche teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the object comprises a biological tissue sample.
(Cuche, “a semi-transparent specimen (e.g. biological cells or tissues)”, c3:65-end)
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Lam, Rivenson and Cuche teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
The combination further teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 10,
wherein the biological tissue sample is sized for microscopy; and/or
(Cuche, “a semi-transparent specimen (e.g. biological cells or tissues)”, c3:65-end; the biological cells or tissues may be studied in microscopy using hologram techniques)
Regarding claims 12 and 24, the combination of Lam and Rivenson teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
The combination of Lam, Rivenson and Cuche teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the digital hologram data is associated with an electromagnetic wavefront from the object.
(Cuche, “The present invention is not restricted to the optical domain and can be applied for the numerical reconstruction of holograms recorded with any kind of electromagnetic (e.g. X-ray) or non-electromagnetic (e.g. acoustics or heats) waves”; c6:45-55)
Regarding claims 13 and 25, the combination of Lam and Rivenson teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
The combination of Lam, Rivenson and Cuche teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the digital hologram data is associated with an acoustic wavefront from the object.
(Cuche, “The present invention is not restricted to the optical domain and can be applied for the numerical reconstruction of holograms recorded with any kind of electromagnetic (e.g. X-ray) or non-electromagnetic (e.g. acoustics or heats) waves”; c6:45-55)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/15/2025 with respect to one or more of the pending claims have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
/JIANXUN YANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2662 1/25/2026